Ontario Weeds: Creeping bellflower

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Related Links

Name: Creeping bellflower, Campanula rapunculoides L.,

Other Names: Campanule fausse raiponce, Bellflower, Rover bellflower, campanule raiponce

Family: Harebell or Bellflower Family (Campanulacae

General Description: Perennial, reproducing by seed and by the extremely persistent, widely spreading, fleshy, whitish underground rhizomes and thickened storage tubers. Non-flowering plants are distinguished by their many heart-shaped, irregularly toothed leaves arising from at or below the ground surface, the whitish, fleshy, underground rhizomes and tubers; flowering plants have characteristic bell-shaped blue flowers with a 5-pointed rim, and their seedpods develop between corolla and main stem.

Photos and Pictures

Creeping bellflower. A. Mass of leaves covering hte ground surface in early summer. B. Several leaves and shoots from underground roots. C. Spike of flowers in late summer.
A. Mass of leaves covering the ground surface in early summer. B. Several leaves and shoots from underground roots. C. Spike of flowers in late summer.

Creeping bellflower.


Creeping bellflower. Flowers.


Creeping bell flower. A. Stemless plant with cluster of radical leaves from upturned rhizome.
Creeping bell flower. A. Stemless plant with cluster of radical leaves from upturned rhizome.

B. Basal leaves and short leafy stem from horizontal rhizome.

B. Basal leaves and short leafy stem from horizontal rhizome.

C. Top of flowering stem.


C. Top of flowering stem.

Stems & Roots: Stems, when present, erect, up to 1 m (40 in.) high, smooth or finely hairy, usually without branches; leaves mostly arising singly or in clusters directly from rhizomes below the ground surface, these long-stalked and called "radical" leaves (root leaves); the blades round to nearly heart-shaped at the base, ovate, pointed towards the tip, irregularly toothed, usually finely hairy; leaves on developing stems alternate (1 per node), similar to radical leaves but stalks progressively shorter and blades smaller, less heart-shaped and more regularly toothed; uppermost leaves narrow and stalkless.

Flowers & Fruit: Flowers in elongating racemes at the ends of the stems, blue, bell-shaped, 2 - 3 cm (4/5 - 1¼ in.) across, ending in 5 uniform points; flower stalks frequently curved and giving the whole inflorescence an attractive 1-sided appearance; seedpods formed below the calyx and corolla, somewhat spherical containing many very fine seeds. Flowers from June until autumn.

Habitat: Creeping bellflower occurs throughout Ontario in lawns, gardens, fence lines, roadsides, waste places and occasionally in cultivated fields. It is sometimes planted in ornamental gardens but spreads into adjacent areas by underground rhizomes as well as by seed and is a very persistent weed.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Contro

 

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 June 2002
Last Reviewed: 01 November 2003

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Campanule fausse raiponce

Nom : Campanule fausse raiponce, Campanula rapunculoides L.,

Autres Noms : CMPRA, creeping bellflower, campanule raiponce, campanule, clochettes, raiponce, bellflower, rover bellflower.

Famille : famille des Campanulacées - Campanule

Description générale : Plante vivace se reproduisant à partir de graines (germination), de rhizomes (a) blanchâtres, charnus, très étendus et extrêmement résistants et de tubercules épais (pl. 121B) contenant des substances de réserve. On reconnaît les plantes non florifères à leurs nombreuses feuilles, cordées et irrégulièrement dentées, prenant naissance à la surface du sol ou en dessous (A), à leurs rhizomes (a) charnus et blanchâtres et à leurs tubercules; les plantes florifères portent des fleurs bleues caractéristiques, en forme de cloches (campanulées) à 5 pointes (d), et leurs capsules se développent entre la corolle et la tige.

Photos et illustrations

A. Masse foliaire recourvrant le sol au début de l'été. B. Plusieurs feuilles et pousses issues des racines souterraines. C. Fleurs en grappes spiciformes à la fin de l'été

Campanule fausse raiponce

A. Masse foliaire recourvrant le sol au début de l'été. B. Plusieurs feuilles et pousses issues des racines souterraines. C. Fleurs en grappes spiciformes à la fin de l'été


Campanule fausse raiponce

Campanule fausse raiponce. A. Plante sans tige pourvue d'un groupe de feuilles racinaires (issues du rhizome).
Campanule fausse raiponce. A. Plante sans tige pourvue d'un groupe de feuilles racinaires (issues du rhizome).

B. Feuilles basilaires et courte tige feuillue issue d'un rhizome horizontal

B. Feuilles basilaires et courte tige feuillue issue d'un rhizome horizontal.


C. Sommet d'une tige florifère.


C. Sommet d'une tige florifère.

 

Tiges et rhizomes : Tiges, lorsqu'il y en a, dressées, pouvant atteindre 1 m (40 po) de hauteur, lisses ou pubescentes, habituellement sans rameaux; feuilles racinaires le plus souvent solitaires mais parfois groupées (b), longuement pétiolées (A, pl. 121A, B); limbes orbiculaires ou presque cordés à la base, ovés, se terminant en pointe, irrégulièrement dentés, habituellement pubescents; feuilles caulinaires (c) alternes (1 par noeud) (B), à pétioles progressivement plus courts vers le haut et à limbes plus petits, moins cordés et plus régulièrement dentés que les feuilles racinaires; les feuilles les plus hautes (d) étroites et sessiles.

Fleurs et fruits : fleurs en grappes allongées (racêmes) à l'extrémité des tiges, bleues, en forme de cloche, de 2 à 3 cm (4/5-1 1/4 po) de diamètre, se terminant en 5 pointes identiques (e); pédicelles souvent incurvés, donnant à toute l'inflorescence une apparence spectaculaire; capsules (f) formées sous le calice et la corolle, à peu près sphériques, contenant un grand nombre de très petites graines. Floraison de juin jusqu'à l'automne.

Habitat : On trouve la campanule fausse raiponce partout en Ontario, dans les pelouses, les jardins, les terrains incultes, le long des clôtures, au bord des routes et parfois dans les champs cultivés. On l'utilise parfois dans les jardins comme plante ornementale; elle s'étend toutefois rapidement par l'intermédiaire de ses rhizomes et par ses graines; c'est une mauvaise herbe très tenace.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 19 novembre 2004
Dernière révision : 19 novembre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca