Ontario Weeds: Common milkweed

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Similar Species
  9. Caution
  10. Related Links

Name: Common milkweed, Asclepias syriaca L.,

Other Names: asclépiade de Syrie, cotonnier, petit-cochon

Family: Milkweed Family (Asclepiadaceae)

General Description: Perennial, reproducing by seed and by horizontally spreading underground roots which produce new leafy stems.

Photos and Pictures

Common milkweed.

Common milkweed.

Common milkweed.

Common milkweed.

Common milkweed. A. Top of flowering plant. B. Seedpods with 1 open and showing its layers of seeds with their tufts of long silky hairs.

Common milkweed. A. Top of flowering plant. B. Seedpods with 1 open and showing its layers of seeds with their tufts of long silky hairs.

Stems & Roots: Stems erect, 1-2m (3-6½ft) high, stout, unbranched or sometimes with 1 or 2 branches near the top, usually several stems close together from the underground root system; leaves opposite (2 per node) or whorled (3 or more per node), oblong with a rounded or tapered base and a rounded to somewhat pointed tip, without teeth, underside covered with fine velvety hair, upper surface usually without hair and deeper green.

Flowers & Fruit: Flowers in dense, nearly spherical clusters or umbels at tip of stem and from axils of upper leaves, each flower 8-10mm (¼-2/5in.) across, greenish to purplish or whitish, with 5 thin sepals and 5 larger petal lobes bent back along the flower stalk and an unusual arrangement of 5 hoods and horns forming a crown or corona around the top of each flower. The flowers are uniquely adapted for insect pollination, having waxy pollen in tiny wishbone-shaped structures which hook onto an insect's leg but come off when transferred to the flower of a different plant. Fruits at first green, fleshy, 7-10cm (2½-4in.) long and ¼ to ½ as wide, covered with soft, warty protuberances, later turning brown, splitting lengthwise along a single opening and releasing numerous seeds; usually only 1 or 2 (rarely up to 5) seedpods develop from the many flowers of a single flower cluster; seed flat, oval, with a tuft of long silky hair at one end. The whole plant, root, stem, leaves, flowers and fruit, contain abundant, thick, white, milky juice. Flowers from mid-June to August, and matures seed from August to October.

Habitat: Common milkweed occurs throughout southern Ontario in pastures, meadows, waste places, roadsides and cultivated land. It is especially common in the Manitoulin Islands and the east-central portions of southern Ontario, but it seems to be increasing in most other portions of the province as well.

Similar Species: It is distinguished by its pairs of broad, oval, softly hairy leaves, umbels of purplish to whitish flowers with their peculiar arrangement of parts, and the large, thick, softly warty seedpods.

Caution: Other species of milkweed have been found to be highly toxic to livestock, and circumstantial evidence suggests Common milkweed may, under some circumstances, also be toxic.

 

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

 

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 June 2002
Last Reviewed: 01 November 2003

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Asclépiade de Syrie

Nom : Asclépiade de Syrie, Asclepias syriaca L.,

Autres Noms : ASCSY, common milkweed, cotonnier, petit-cochon, asclépiade commune, asclépiade de Cornut, cochons de lait.

Famille : famille des Asclépiadacées - Asclépiade

Description générale : Plante vivace se reproduisant par graines (germination) et par racines souterraines qui s'étendent horizontalement et produisent de nouvelles tiges feuillues.

Photos et illustrations

Asclépiade de Syrie

Asclépiade de Syrie

Asclépiade de Syrie

Asclépiade de Syrie

Asclépiade de Syrie. A. Sommité florifère. B. Follicules, dont 1 est en déhiscence, laissant voir les couches successives de graines surmontées de longues touffes de poils soyeux.

Asclépiade de Syrie. A. Sommité florifère. B. Follicules, dont 1 est en déhiscence, laissant voir les couches successives de graines surmontées de longues touffes de poils soyeux.

 

Tiges et rhizomes : Tiges dressées, de 1 à 2 m (3-6 1/2 pi) de hauteur, trapues, simples ou portant quelquefois 1 ou 2 rameaux près du sommet; habituellement, plusieurs tiges, serrées les unes contre les autres, lèvent de la souche souterraine.

Feuilles : feuilles opposées (2 par noeud) ou verticillées (3 ou plus par noeud), oblongues à base arrondie ou rétrécie et à sommet arrondi ou légèrement pointu, à bord lisse (sans dents), à face inférieure couverte d'un fin duvet velouté et à face supérieure habituellement glabre et vert plus foncé.

Fleurs et fruits : fleurs en ombelles compactes presque sphériques à l'extrémité de la tige et aux aisselles des feuilles supérieures; chaque fleur de 8 à 10 mm (1/4-2/5 po) de diamètre, verdâtre, violette ou blanchâtre, à 5 sépales minces et 5 lobes de pétales plus grands (a), repliés le long du pédoncule, sépales et pétales disposés autour du sommet de chaque fleur en une couronne (b) à 5 capuchons garnis chacun d'une corne. Les fleurs sont particulièrement bien adaptées à la pollinisation par les insectes : leur pollen gluant est contenu dans de minuscules structures qui adhèrent aux pattes des insectes, mais s'en détachent une fois déposés par ceux-ci sur la fleur d'un plant différent. Fruits (B) d'abord verts, charnus, de 7 à 10 cm (2 1/2-4 po) de long, de 2 à 4 fois plus longs que larges, couverts de protubérances molles et verruqueuses (c), virant plus tard au brun et s'ouvrant en une seule fente longitudinale pour libérer de nombreuses graines; habituellement 1 ou 2 follicules (B) (rarement plus de 4) se développent à partir des nombreuses fleurs d'une seule grappe; graine plate, ovale, munie d'une touffe de longs poils soyeux à une extrémité. Toutes les parties de la plante (racine, tige, feuilles, fleurs et fruits) contiennent un abondant suc laiteux et épais. Floraison de la mi-juin à août et fructification d'août à octobre.

Habitat : L'asclépiade de Syrie se rencontre partout dans le sud de l'Ontario dans les pâturages, les prairies, les terrains incultes, les terres cultivées et les bords de routes. Elle est particulièrement commune dans les îles Manitoulin et la région centre-est du sud de l'Ontario, mais elle semble être en progression dans la plupart des autres régions de la province.

Espèces similaires : On la reconnaît à ses grandes feuilles ovales arrangées en paires, couvertes de poils doux, à ses ombelles de fleurs violacées ou blanchâtres dont les parties sont disposées de façon très particulière et à ses grands follicules (B) épais, souples et bosselés (c).

Mise en garde: D'autres espèces d'asclépiades sont hautement toxiques pour le bétail et tout indique que l'asclépiade de Syrie puisse elle aussi, dans certaines circonstances, être toxique.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 28 octobre 2004
Dernière révision : 28 octobre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca