Ontario Weeds: Common burdock

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Similar Species
  9. Related Links

Name: Common burdock, Arctium minus (Hill) Bernh.,

Other Names: petite bardane, Burdock, Burs, Clotbur, Lesser burdock, Wild burdock, Wild rhubarb, bardane mineure, rapace, rhubarbe sauvage, toques

Family: Composite or Aster Family (Compositae

General Description: Biennial, reproducing only by seed.

Photos and Pictures

Burdock, first-year rosette.
Burdock, first-year rosette.
Burdock, second-year plant beginning to flower.
Burdock, second-year plant beginning to flower.

Common burdock.
Common burdock.

Common burdock. A. Rosette of leavfes.
Common burdock. A. Rosette of leaves.
B. End of flowering branch.
B. End of flowering branch.

Stems & Roots: Stems erect, 60-180cm (2-6ft) high, often widely branched, thick, hollow, grooved lengthwise; first leaves in a basal rosette, becoming large (up to 50cm, 20in. long, and 30cm, 12in. wide), with heart-shaped base, coarse, resembling a clump of cultivated rhubarb, but the undersides of the leaf blades are white woolly and the stout leafstalks are hollow; lower leaves on the stem of second-year plants similar to basal leaves, smaller, alternate (1 per node); middle and upper leaves gradually smaller with shorter, slender stalks and the blade tending to be less heart-shaped and more pointed towards both ends, especially among the flower heads.

Flowers & Fruit: Flower heads globular, numerous, borne singly on short stalks or in small clusters at ends of branches and from axils of leaves; each head about 2cm (4/5in.) in diameter, densely covered with purplish, hooked bristles; ray florets absent; disk florets purple or occasionally white, closely packed in the centre of the head; at maturity the head or bur (hence the common name "burdock") easily breaks off its stalk and clings to clothing and animal fur, gradually scattering the brownish angular seeds, each about 6mm (1/4in.) long. Flowers from July to September.

Habitat: Common burdock occurs throughout Ontario in waste places, pastures, open woods, roadsides, fencerows and barnyards but seldom in cultivated land.

Similar Species: It is distinguished by its rosette of very large heart-shaped leaves resembling Rhubarb but woolly on the undersurface and with hollow leafstalks, and its tall, branched stem in the second year with many short-stalked flower heads or burs densely covered with hooked spines and borne singly or in small clusters at ends of stems and from leaf axils, these turning brown at maturity.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

 

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 June 2002
Last Reviewed: 01 November 2003

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario : Petite bardane

Nom : Petite bardane, Arctium minus (Hill) Bernh.,

Autres Noms : ARFMI, common burdock, bardane mineure, toques, graquias, crakia, rhubarbe sauvage, artichaut, rapace, tabac du diable, burdock, burs, clotbur, lesser burdock, wild burdock, wild rhubarb, graquias.

Famille : famille des composées ou Astéracées - Marguerite   

Description générale : Plante bisannuelle se reproduisant seulement par germination (graines).

Photos et illustrations

Petite bardane, rosette de l'année.
Petite bardane, rosette de l'année.
Petite bardane, plante de deuxième année commençant à fleurir
Petite bardane, plante de deuxième année commençant à fleurir

Petite bardane
Petite bardane

Petite bardane A. Feuilles en rosette
Petite bardane A. Feuilles en rosette
B. Sommité florifère.
B. Sommité florifère.

 

Tiges et rhizomes : Tiges dressées, de 60 à 180 cm (2-6 pi) de hauteur, à ramifications souvent très lâches, épaisses, creuses, cannelées; premières feuilles en rosette basilaire (A) devenant très grandes (jusqu'à 50 cm ou 20 po de longueur et 30 cm ou 12 po de largeur), à base cordée, épaisses, ressemblant à une touffe de rhubarbe cultivée, mais à revers blanc et laineux et à gros pétioles creux; la deuxième année, feuilles caulinaires inférieures semblables aux feuilles basilaires, mais plus petites, alternes (1 par noeud); feuilles médianes et supérieures de plus en plus petites, moins cordées et plus pointues vers les deux bouts, à pétioles plus minces et plus courts.

Fleurs et fruits : capitules globuleux, nombreux, portés sur des pédoncules courts ou réunis en petites grappes au bout des branches ou à l'aisselle des feuilles; chaque capitule faisant environ 2 cm (4/5 po) de diamètre, couvert de piquants (a) crochus et pourpres; pas de rayons; disque (b) à fleurons pourpres, parfois blancs, très serrés au centre; à maturité, le capitule (bardane) se détache et s'accroche aux vêtements et au pelage des animaux, libérant des graines brunâtres et anguleuses d'environ 6 mm (1/4 po) de longueur. Floraison de juillet à septembre.

Habitat : On trouve la petite bardane partout en Ontario, dans les lieux incultes, les pâturages, les bois ouverts, les cours de fermes, le long des clôtures et des routes, mais rarement dans les terres cultivées.

Espèces similaires : Elle se reconnaît à sa rosette constituée de très grandes feuilles cordées, ressemblant à celle de la rhubarbe, mais à revers laineux et à pétioles creux, à sa haute tige ramifiée la deuxième année, portant des capitules nombreux, à pédoncules courts, couverts de piquants (a) crochus, solitaires ou en petites grappes à l'extrémité des tiges et à l'aisselle des feuilles.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 24 novembre 2004
Dernière révision : 24 novembre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca