Ontario Weeds: Cocklebur

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Similar Species
  9. Caution
  10. Related Links

Name: Cocklebur, Xanthium strumarium L.,

Other Names: lampourde glouteron, Bur, Clotbur, glouteron

Family: Composite or Aster Family (Compositae

General Description: Annual, reproducing only by seed.

Photos and Pictures

Cocklebur (A - clusters of burs in leaf axils; B - young plant).

Cocklebur (A - clusters of burs in leaf axils; B - young plant).

Cocklebur

Cocklebur

Cocklebur

Cocklebur. A. Plant. B. Seedling.

Cocklebur. A. Plant. B. Seedling.

Stems & Roots: Stems erect, usually much-branched, 30-120cm (12-48in.) high, rough-hairy, often with lengthwise ridges and spotted; cotyledons (seed leaves) long, narrow, smooth, often persisting at the base of a developing stem and sometimes still present at maturity; leaves stalked, oval or triangular, somewhat angular heart-shaped at the base with the edges of the lowermost main branching veins usually exposed in a broad V or M (not enclosed within the leaf blade as in the leaves of most other plants), margins coarsely toothed and surfaces harsh or rough-hairy; lower leaves frequently opposite (2 per node), but upper leaves alternate (1 per node);

Flowers & Fruit: Flower heads clustered in axils of leaves and at ends of branches; sexes in separate heads but both sexes on the same plant; heads of male (pollen-producing) flowers small, more or less spherical, not spiny, usually several in small clusters above the larger, spiny heads of female (seed-producing) flowers; seedpod or "bur" actually 1 complete flower head containing 2 female flowers, becoming very hard and woody, covered with numerous slender, hooked spines and terminating in 2 very hard, hooked, beak-like spines, and turning brown at maturity. Each bur contains 2 seeds, usually 1 a bit larger than the other. Flowers from August to October.

Habitat: Cocklebur occurs throughout Ontario around farmyards, in fields, along roadsides and river flats. It is particularly common in low areas which may be wet only during spring and fall, and is usually more common in fine-textured soils such as clays and clay loams than on coarser soils.

Similar Species: Mature plants of Cocklebur are readily distinguished by the large coarse burs and their harsh leaves. Young and non-flowering plants are distinguished by their oval or broadly triangular, rough-textured leaves which have the characteristic V- or M-shaped base with the edges of the main lower branch veins exposed; the lowermost leaves opposite, upper ones alternate. Seedlings of Cocklebur are distinguished by their large, long, narrow, smooth cotyledons (seed leaves) and by the remnant of the bur usually attached to the root at or below the ground surface. Plants of Cocklebur are highly variable in height, amount of branching, overall shape of leaves, arrangements of inflorescences and size and shape of each bur. This group is not well understood taxonomically so, although several botanical names have been used for various groups of cockleburs, all of the Ontario plants can be referred to as Xanthium strumarium in the broad sense.

Caution: Seedlings of Cocklebur are poisonous to livestock, especially to young pigs which seem to relish their taste.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Lampourde glouteron

Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario

Table des matières

Nom : Lampourde glouteron, Xanthium strumarium L.,

Autres Noms : XANST, cocklebur, glouteron, bur, clotbur.

Famille : famille des composées ou Astéracées  - Marguerite

Description générale : Plante annuelle se reproduisant seulement par germination (graines).

Photos et illustrations

Lampourde glouteron (A - Grappes de glouterons aux aisselles des feuilles. B - jeune plante).
Lampourde glouteron (A - Grappes de glouterons aux aisselles des feuilles. B - jeune plante).

Lampourde glouteron

Lampourde glouteron

Lampourde glouteron

Lampourde glouteron. A. Plante. B. Plantule.

Lampourde glouteron. A. Plante. B. Plantule.

 

Tiges et rhizomes : Tiges dressées, habituellement très ramifiées, de 30 à 120 cm (12-48 po) de hauteur, velues, rugueuses, souvent tachetées et striées; cotylédons (feuilles embryonnaires) (a) longs, minces, lisses, persistant à la base d'une nouvelle tige et parfois encore présents sur la tige parvenue à maturité; feuilles rugueuses ou couvertes de poils rêches sur les deux faces, pétiolées, ovées ou triangulaires, cordées à la base, bas des nervures principales longeant la bordure du limbe pour former un V ou un M (b), à bords grossièrement dentés; feuilles du bas opposées (2 par noeud), celles du haut alternes (1 par noeud).

Fleurs et fruits : capitules groupés aux aisselles des feuilles et au bout des branches, unisexués, mais les deux sexes sur une même plante; capitules mâles (c) (producteurs de pollen) petits, plus ou moins sphériques, non épineux, en petits groupes au-dessus des capitules femelles (producteurs de graines), plus grands et épineux; capsule (d) ou « bardane » étant en fait un capitule qui renferme 2 fleurs femelles et devient, à maturité, brune, dure et ligneuse, couverte d'aiguillons crochus (e) et se terminant par 2 épines très dures en forme de bec recourbé (f). Chaque capsule produit 2 graines, l'une plus grosse que l'autre. Floraison d'août à octobre.

Habitat : On trouve la lampourde glouteron partout en Ontario dans les cours de ferme, les champs, le long des cours d'eau et au bord des routes. Elle est très répandue dans les dépressions qui ne sont humides qu'au printemps et à l'automne et préfère les sols à texture fine, comme les argiles et les limons argileux, aux sols grossiers.

Espèces similaires : La lampourde glouteron adulte se reconnaît facilement à ses grosses capsules (d) et à ses feuilles rugueuses. La jeune plante et la plante non florifère se distinguent par leurs feuilles rugueuses, opposées dont les nervures forment à la base un V ou un M caractéristique qui longe le limbe (b). La plantule se reconnaît à ses gros cotylédons (a) longs, étroits et lisses, et au reste de la capsule (g) fixé à la racine, en surface ou sous la surface du sol. Chez la lampourde, la hauteur, la ramification, la forme des feuilles, la disposition des inflorescences, la grosseur et la forme des capsules varient considérablement. La taxonomie de ce genre n'est pas encore fixée. De nombreux noms botaniques désignent en effet diverses espèces de lampourdes, mais celui de Xanthium strumarium regroupe celles qui croissent en Ontario.

Mise en garde: Les plantules (B) de la lampourde glouteron sont toxiques pour le bétail, surtout pour les jeunes porcs qui semblent en aimer le goût.

 

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 22 novembre 2004
Dernière révision : 22 novembre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca