Ontario Weeds: Clasping-leaved dogbane

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Leaves
  7. Flowers and Fruit
  8. Habitat
  9. Similar Species
  10. Caution
  11. Related Links

Name: Clasping-leaved dogbane Apocynum sibiricum Jacq.,

Other Names: apocyn a feuilles embrassantes, Indian hemp, Prairie dogbane, chanvre sauvage

Family: Dogbane Family (Apocynaceae)

General Description: Resembles both Spreading dogbane and Indian hemp and before flowering is easily confused with Common milkweed. Perennial from deeply penetrating and widely spreading coarse roots, these often 20-30cm (8-12in.) below the surface.

Photos and Pictures

Clasping-leaved dogbane, showing deep perennial root from which 4 shoots emerged.

Clasping-leaved dogbane, showing deep perennial root from which 4 shoots emerged.

Clasping leaved dogbane. C. 3 shoots forma deep, coarse perennial root (dotted line represents ground surface), and leaves on lower portion of 1 shoot.

Clasping leaved dogbane. C. 3 shoots forma deep, coarse perennial root (dotted line represents ground surface), and leaves on lower portion of 1 shoot.

Stems & Roots: Stems coarse, erect, up to 1m (40in.) tall, arising from buds on the roots; the main stem with branches throughout its length, smooth and hairless, green or with a slight pinkish cast.

Leaves: Leaves usually opposite but occasionally alternate, mostly sessile or with very short petioles (usually not more than 3-5mm, 1/8-1/5in. long), up to 5cm (2in.) wide and 12cm (4¾in.) long or sometimes larger, oblong to broadly elliptic with a somewhat abruptly pointed tip and a broadly rounded to heart-shaped base, smooth and hairless on both surfaces, the undersurface lighter green than the upper; the basal lobes of the larger leaves somewhat clasping the stem.

Flowers and Fruit: Inflorescence, flowers and seedpods similar to those of Spreading dogbane except that the calyx lobes of Clasping-leaved dogbane are narrow and 3-5 times longer than wide, and its corolla is white and usually only 3-6mm (1/8-¼in.) long. All parts of the plant contain milky juice. Flowers from July to September.

Habitat: Clasping-leaved dogbane is also a native plant with much the same distribution and abundance as Spreading dogbane

Similar Species: It is distinguished from both Spreading dogbane and Indian hemp by the lower leaves on its main stem and lower branches having heart-shaped bases that more or less clasp the stem, and the petioles of all leaves being very short or almost absent; and, from Spreading dogbane by the undersides of its leaves being virtually hairless, even along the midribs, as well as by its smaller white flowers having very narrow sepals. It is distinguished from Common milkweed by its lighter green leaves having abruptly pointed tips and being virtually hairless (those of milkweed being somewhat bluish-green, more rounded at the tip, and finely velvety hairy on the undersurface); by its loosely branching inflorescence (not an umbel) with small white flowers, and by its pencil-thin seedpods.

Caution: May be poisonous to livestock.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Apocyn à feuilles embrassantes

Nom : Apocyn à feuilles embrassantes, Apocynum sibiricum Jacq.,

Autres Noms : APCVE, clasping-leaved dogbane, chanvre sauvage, Indian hemp, prairie dogbane.

Famille : famille des Apocynacées - Apocyn

Description générale : Semblable à l'apocyn à feuilles d'androsème et à l'apocyn chanvrin, et avant la floraison, facilement confondu avec l'asclépiade de Syrie (fig. 134). Plante vivace se propageant par ses racines robustes (d) qui s'enfoncent profondément (souvent à 20-30 cm, soit 8-12 po, sous la surface du sol) et se développent très loin.

Photos et illustrations

Apocyn à feuilles embrassantes. La profonde racine vivace à produit 4 rejets.

Apocyn à feuilles embrassantes. La profonde racine vivace à produit 4 rejets.

Apocyn à feuilles embrassantes. C. 3 pousses émises par une souche vivace robuste, profonde (les pointillés représentent la surface du sol), et feuilles inférieures d'une pousse.

Apocyn à feuilles embrassantes. C. 3 pousses émises par une souche vivace robuste, profonde (les pointillés représentent la surface du sol), et feuilles inférieures d'une pousse.

Tiges et rhizomes : tiges robustes, dressées, jusqu'à 1 m (40 po) de hauteur, issues de bourgeons (e) racinaires; tige principale ramifiée sur toute sa longueur, lisse et glabre, verte ou avec un léger reflet rosâtre.

Feuilles : feuilles surtout opposées (f), mais parfois alternes (g), la plupart du temps sessiles ou à très court pétiole (en général, 3-5 mm, 1/8-1/5 po de longueur au plus), mesurant jusqu'à 5 cm (2 po) de largeur et 12 cm (4 3/4 po) de longueur, parfois plus, oblongues ou largement elliptiques, se rétrécissant assez brutalement en pointe et à base largement arrondie ou cordée, lisses et glabres sur les deux faces, la face du dessous d'un vert plus clair que celle du dessus; lobes basilaires des grandes feuilles embrassant légèrement la tige.

Flowers and Fruit: inflorescence, fleurs et follicules semblables à ceux de l'apocyn à feuilles d'androsème, sauf que les lobes du calice sont étroits et de 3 à 5 fois plus longs que larges, et la corolle est blanche, ne mesurant en général que de 3 à 6 mm (1/8-1/4 po) de longueur. Toutes les parties de la plante contiennent un suc laiteux. Floraison de juillet à septembre.

Habitat : L'apocyn à feuilles embrassantes est également une plante indigène de même répartition et abondance environ que l'apocyn à feuilles d'androsème.

Espèces similaires : Il se différencie de l'apocyn à feuilles d'androsème et de l'apocyn chanvrin par la base cordée, embrassant plus ou moins la tige, des feuilles inférieures de la tige principale et des ramifications inférieures, et par le pétiole très court ou pratiquement absent chez toutes les feuilles. Il se distingue de l'apocyn à feuilles d'androsème par le dessous des feuilles pratiquement glabres, même le long de la nervure médiane, ainsi que par ses fleurs blanches plus petites à sépales très étroits. Il diffère de l'asclépiade de Syrie par ses feuilles d'un vert plus clair, dont l'extrémité se termine abruptement en pointe, et pratiquement glabres (celles de l'asclépiade de Syrie étant plutôt bleu-vert, à bout arrondi, à revers finement velu), par son inflorescence à ramifications lâches (non pas une ombelle), ses petites fleurs blanches et ses follicules linéaires.

Mise en garde: il se peut qu'il soit toxique pour le bétail.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 28 octobre 2004
Dernière révision : 28 octobre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca