Ontario Weeds: Catnip

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication


Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Similar Species
  9. Related Links

Name: Catnip, Nepeta cataria L.,

Other Names: herebe à chat, chataire, népète chataire

Family: Mint Family (Labiatae)

General Description: Perennial, reproducing by seed and by very short underground rhizomes.

Photos and Pictures

Catnip

Catnip.

Catnip.

Catnip.

Catnip.  Leaves.

Stems & Roots: Stems erect, 40-100cm (16-40in.) high, square, densely white-hairy; leaves opposite (2 per node) on different sides of the square stem at successive nodes, heart-shaped, longer than wide, densely covered with short, soft, white hair, especially on the underside; margins coarsely toothed, each tooth with rounded sides and a blunt point; petioles about half as long as leaf blades;

Flowers & Fruit: Flowers dull white, in dense, whorled clusters in axils of leaves near ends of stems and branches; calyx short, tubular, of 5 united sepals forming a short tube with 15 parallel veins and ending in 5 narrow, sharply pointed soft teeth; corolla dull white with purplish dots, formed from 5 united petals, 10-12mm (2/5-½in.) or sometimes longer and about 6mm (¼in.) wide, irregular, trumpet-shaped but 2-lipped at the end, the upper lip with 2 lobes, the lower lip with 3 lobes; each flower producing a cluster of 4 nutlets ("seeds") which are smooth, reddish-brown with 2 white spots at the lower end. All parts of the plant have a characteristic odour resembling mint, and the whole plant is frequently gray-green due to a dense covering of fine white hair. Flowers from July to September.

Habitat: Catnip was widely cultivated throughout Ontario and has escaped from cultivation in all parts of the province so it now occurs in open forests, meadows, pastures, waste places, roadsides, around buildings and in gardens.

Similar Species: It is distinguished by its erect habit of growth, square stems, the opposite, stalked, coarsely toothed, heart-shaped leaves, its dense, whorled clusters of dull white flowers, its prominent trumpet-shaped 5-lobed corolla about 12mm (½in.) or longer, and its distinctive odour that is so attractive to cats.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario : Herbe à chat

Nom : Herbe à chat, Nepeta cataria L.,

Autres Noms : NEPCA, catnip, cataire commune, chataire népète

Famille : famille des Labiées - Menthe

Description générale : Plante vivace se reproduisant par germination (graines) et au moyen de très courts rhizomes souterrains.

Photos et illustrations

Herbe à chat

Herbe à chat

Herbe à chat

Herbe à chat

Herbe à chat. Feuilles

Tiges et rhizomes : Tiges dressées, de 40 à 100 cm (16-40 po) de hauteur, quadrangulaires, couvertes de poils blancs; feuilles opposées (2 par noeud), changeant de facettes à chaque noeud de la tige, cordiformes, à pétiole deux fois plus long que large, recouvertes d'une fine pilosité blanche, surtout sur le dessous; bord muni de grosses dents à côtés arrondis et à pointe obtuse.

Fleurs et fruits : fleurs blanc mat, en grappes verticillées très fournies aux aisselles des feuilles du haut des tiges et des rameaux; calice court, formé de 5 sépales soudés en un tube court à 15 nervures parallèles et surmonté de 5 dents souples, étroites et très pointues; corolle blanc mat ponctuée de pourpre, formée de 5 pétales soudés, faisant de 10 à 12 mm (2/5-1/2 po) de longueur ou parfois plus, et environ 6 mm (1/4 po) de largeur, irrégulière, en forme de trompette mais bilabiée à son sommet, lèvre supérieure bilobée (a), lèvre inférieure trilobée; chaque fleur produit une grappe de 4 nucules (« graines ») lisses, brun rougeâtre dont le dessous porte 2 taches blanches. Toutes les parties de la plante dégagent une odeur caractéristique qui rappelle la menthe et ont souvent un reflet gris-vert à cause de sa dense pilosité fine et blanche. Floraison de juillet à septembre.

 

Habitat : Largement cultivée autrefois partout en Ontario, l'herbe à chat est aujourd'hui à l'état adventice dans toutes les régions de la province; on la trouve donc maintenant dans les bois dégagés, les prairies, les pâturages, les terrains incultes et les jardins, autour des bâtiments et en bordure des routes.

Espèces similaires : Elle se distingue par son port dressé, ses tiges carrées, ses feuilles opposées, cordiformes, pétiolées, munies de grosses dents, ses verticilles compacts de grappes de fleurs blanc terne, sa corolle 5-lobée en entonnoir, d'environ 12 mm (1/2 po) de longueur ou plus et son odeur typique très recherchée par les chats.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 02 novembre 2004
Dernière révision : 02 novembre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca