Ontario Weeds: Canada thistle

 

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Similar Species
  8. Related Links

Name: Canada thistle, Cirsium arvense (L.) Scop.,

Other Names: chardon des champs, Canadian thistle, Creeping thistle, Field thistle, chardon du Canada

Family: Composite or Aster Family (Compositae

General Description: Perennial, reproducing by seed and by horizontal roots which produce new shoots, often forming dense patches.

Photos and Pictures

Canada Thistle

Canada Thistle

A - nodding thistle; B - bull thistle; C - Canada thistle (purple-flowered male plant); D - Canada thistle (purple-flowered female plant); E - Canada thistle (white-flowered male plant).

A - nodding thistle; B - bull thistle; C - Canada thistle (purple-flowered male plant); D - Canada thistle (purple-flowered female plant); E - Canada thistle (white-flowered male plant).

Canada thistle. A. Horizontal root with 2 aboveground shoot. B. Flowering stem.

Canada thistle. A. Horizontal root with 2 aboveground shoot. B. Flowering stem.

Stems & Roots: Stems erect, 30-150cm (1-5ft) high, usually branched, slender, smooth or occasionally with a few, narrow, spiny-margined leaf-like wings on the lower part; leaves more or less lobed and spiny, alternate (1 per node), elliptic to oblong in outline, stalkless and often clasping the stem; the wide variations in lobing, spininess, hairiness, texture and colour of leaves divide the species into 4 botanical varieties.

Flowers & Fruit: Flower heads numerous, comparatively small, 5-15mm (1/5-3/5in.) wide and about twice as long, the involucral bracts weakly spiny or almost smooth; ray florets absent but disk florets prominent with purplish or sometimes white corollas; plants unisexual; although stamens and stigmas are sometimes present in the same flower, the flowers are functionally unisexual, all the flowers in 1 head and all the heads on 1 plant being either male or female; heads with male (pollen-producing) flowers somewhat shorter and narrower than heads with female (seed-producing) flowers; seeds light brown or straw-coloured, smooth, 2.5-4mm (1/10-1/6in.) long. Flowers from June to late autumn.

Similar Species: Four botanical varieties of Canada thistle occur in Ontario. They are distinguished by differences in leaf characteristics. Common names have not gained general acceptance for them but descriptive terms are applicable as follows: Spiny Canada thistle; Entire-leaved Canada thistle; Gentle Canada thistle; Woolly Canada thistle

All four varieties of Canada thistle are distinguished from the biennial thistles in non-flowering stages by their perennial habit reproducing from spreading underground roots, by the absence of a distinct circular rosette of basal leaves, and by their mostly non-winged stems with generally slender stature, and from Bull thistle by the absence of prickles from the surface of the leaf blades (apart from spines along the margins); flowering stages are distinguished by their generally smaller flower heads, mostly less than 25mm (1in.) long and 15mm (3/5in.) wide, these unisexual, and the involucral bracts surrounding each head either without spiny tips or with very short weak ones. They are distinguished from the Sow-thistles by the absence of white milky juice from stems and leaves.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

 

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 June 2002
Last Reviewed: 01 November 2003

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Chardon des champs

Nom : Chardon des champs, Cirsium arvense (L.) Scop.,

Autres Noms : CIRAR, Canada thistle, chardon du Canada, chardon commun, Canadian thistle, creeping thistle, field thistle.

Famille : famille des composées ou Astéracées - Marguerite 

Description générale : Plante se reproduisant à partir de graines (germination) et de racines horizontales (a) qui produisent des pousses, souvent en touffes denses.

Photos et illustrations

Chardon des champs

Chardon des champs

A - Chardon penché ; B - Chardon vulgaire; C - Chardon des champs (pied mâle à fleurs violettes); D - Chardon des champs (pied femelle à fleurs violettes); E - Chardon des champs (pied mâle à fleurs blanches).

A - Chardon penché ; B - Chardon vulgaire; C - Chardon des champs (pied mâle à fleurs violettes); D - Chardon des champs (pied femelle à fleurs violettes); E - Chardon des champs (pied mâle à fleurs blanches).

Chardon des champs A. Deux pousses issues d'une racine horizontale B. Tige florifère.

Chardon des champs A. Deux pousses issues d'une racine horizontale B. Tige florifère.

 

Tiges et rhizomes : Tiges dressées, de 30 à 150 cm (1-5 pi) de hauteur, habituellement ramifiées, minces, lisses, portant parfois, dans le bas, quelques ailes foliacées étroites, à bords épineux; feuilles plus ou moins lobées et épineuses, alternes (1 par noeud), elliptiques ou oblongues, sessiles et fréquemment embrassantes. Les lobes, les épines, les poils, les textures et la couleur des feuilles varient considérablement; on divise donc l'espèce en 4 variétés décrites plus loin en détail.

Fleurs et fruits : Capitules nombreux, relativement petits, de 5 à 15 mm (1/5-3/5 po) de largeur et à peu près 2 fois plus longs; bractées de l'involucre (b) peu épineuses ou presque lisses; sans rayons; disque (c) à fleurons saillants, à corolles pourprées ou blanches; plantes unisexuées (les fleurs qui renferment à la fois des étamines et des stigmates sont soit mâles soit femelles du point de vue physiologique); toutes les fleurs d'un capitule et tous les capitules d'un même plant sont ou mâles ou femelles; capitules mâles (producteurs de pollen) un peu plus courts et plus étroits que les capitules femelles (producteurs de graines); graines brun pâle ou paille, lisses, de 2,5 à 4 mm (1/10-1/6 po) de longueur. Floraison de juin à la fin de l'automne.

 

Espèces similaires : Il existe en Ontario quatre variétés botaniques de chardon des champs, qui se reconnaissent aux caractéristiques de leurs feuilles. Leurs noms communs ne sont pas tout à fait reconnus, mais on peut les désigner comme suit : Chardon des champs à feuilles très épineuses; Chardon des champs à feuilles entières; Chardon des champs à feuilles peu épineuses; Chardon des champs inerme.

Au stade végétatif, les quatre variétés de chardons des champs se distinguent des autres chardons par la reproduction qui s'effectue à partir de racines souterraines (a), par l'absence de rosette de feuilles distincte, par leurs tiges minces, presque sans ailes, et par l'absence de piquants à la surface des limbes (à l'exception des épines qui les bordent); au stade florifère, ils se distinguent par leurs capitules, unisexués et plus petits, faisant en général moins de 25 mm (1 po) de longueur et 15 mm (3/4 po) de largeur, et par leurs bractées involucrales (b), munies d'épines souples et très courtes. Les chardons se distinguent des laiterons par leurs tiges et feuilles qui, quand on les brise, ne libèrent aucun suc laiteux.

| Retour à La galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 01 juillet 2000
Dernière révision : 08 octobre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca