Ontario Weeds: Bull thistle

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Related Links

Name: Bull thistle, Cirsium vulgare (Savi) Tenore.,

Other Names: CIRVU, chardon vulgaire, Spear thistle, cirse vulgaire, pet-d'âne, piqueux

Family: Composite or Aster Family (Compositae

General Description: Biennial, reproducing only by seed. It is distinguished from all other thistles by the covering of short, sharp prickles on the upper, dark green surface of the leaf blade, these prickles (apart from the obvious spines along the margins and tips of the lobes) make the surface very harsh to the touch. Its purple flower heads are larger than Canada thistle, its involucral bracts surrounding the heads are more slender and usually more numerous than in Nodding thistle or Plumeless thistle and the hairs (pappus) on its seeds are feather-like (have plumes) rather than being straight and unbranched as in the latter two thistles.

Photos and Pictures

Bull thistle. Bull thistle.

Bull thistle. A. Base of plant.
Bull thistle.
A. Base of plant.

B. Flowering branch.


B. Flowering branch.

 


C. "Seed".

C. "Seed".
D. Portion of a leaf showing its very rough, prickly surface.
D. Portion of a leaf showing its very rough, prickly surface.

Stems & Roots: Stems erect, 30-150 cm (1-5 ft) high, rarely much taller, usually widely branched, short-hairy; middle and upper stems of large plants with narrow, very spiny leaf-like wings running lengthwise; on small plants the whole stem and its branches spiny-winged, the wing drying and disappearing as the stem gets thicker and woody leaves in a large, flat basal rosette during the first year, each leaf deeply lobed, the lobes usually grouped in 2's or 3's together along each side of the leaf with distinctly unlobed portions between them, with long (about 1 cm, 2/5 in.), hard, sharp spines from the tips of each lobe and smaller spines along the margins; under-surface light green, finely woolly-hairy and soft to the touch; upper surface dark green, with closely spaced, short, sharp prickles and very prickly to the touch stem leaves similar to rosette leaves but smaller upwards on the stem, alternate (1 per node).

Flowers & Fruit: Flower heads erect at tips of branches, large, 2.5-7.5 cm (1-3 in.) across, without ray florets but with long purplish disk florets and surrounded by an involucre of many, overlapping, very narrow, outward-pointing green bracts, each tipped with a firm, yellowish spine; seeds about 4 mm (1/6 in.) long, grayish-brown with darker lines, shiny, the hair (pappus) at tip of seed long and branching feather-like (plumose) Flowers from July to September.

Habitat: Bull thistle is common throughout Ontario in pastures, edges of woods, waste places, fence lines and roadsides; its rosettes are occasionally troublesome in lawns and gardens.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Chardon vulgaire

Nom : Chardon vulgaire, Cirsium vulgare (Savi) Tenore.,

Autres Noms : CIRVU, bull thistle, cirse vulgaire, pet-d'âne, piqueux, spear thistle.

Famille : famille des composées ou Astéracées - Marguerite 

Description générale : Plante bisannuelle se reproduisant seulement par germination (graines). Il se distingue de tous les autres chardons par ses piquants courts et acérés (f) qui recouvrent la face supérieure, vert foncé, du limbe et qui les rendent très rêches. Ses capitules violets sont plus grands que ceux du chardon des champs, et ses bractées involucrales (h) sont plus minces et plus nombreuses que celles du chardon penché ou du chardon épineux. Ses graines sont pourvues d'aigrettes plumeuses, contrairement à celles des deux autres chardons qui sont droites et non ramifiées.

Photos et illustrations

Chardon vulgaire

Chardon vulgaire

hardon vulgaire A. Base de la plante.
Chardon vulgaire
A. Base de la plante.

Chardon vulgaire B. Rameau florfère


Chardon vulgaire B. Rameau florfère

 


Chardon vulgaire

Chardon vulgaire
C. "Graine"
Chardon vulgaire
Chardon vulgaire
D. Partie d'une feuille à surface piquante et rugueuse

Tiges et rhizomes : Tiges dressées, faisant rarement plus de 30 à 150 cm (1-5 pi) de hauteur, largement ramifiées, pourvues de courts poils; portion médiane et supérieure des plants hauts à ailes foliacées très épineuses, disposées longitudinalement (a); portion inférieure des jeunes tiges, mince, et garnie d'ailes épineuses qui se dessèchent et disparaissent à mesure que la tige épaissit et se lignifie (b); feuilles formant une grande rosette basilaire plane la première année, profondément lobées, à lobes réunis en groupes de 2 ou 3 (c, D) de part et d'autre, séparés par des espaces non lobés (d),la pointe de chaque lobe étant munie d'une épine (e) longue (environ 1 cm ou 2/5 po de longueur), dure et acérée et les échancrures étant garnies d'épines plus petites; face inférieure des feuilles vert pâle, finement velue, tomenteuse et douce; face supérieure vert foncé, très piquante en raison des épines courtes, serrées, acérées (f) qui la recouvrent; feuilles caulinaires semblables à celles de la rosette, mais plus petites vers le haut de la tige, alternes (1 par noeud).

Fleurs et fruits : capitules dressés à l'extrémité des rameaux, grands (2,5-7,5 cm ou 1-3 po de diamètre), sans rayons; disque (g) à longs fleurons violets; involucre (h) constitué de nombreuses bractées vertes, très étroites, chevauchantes, orientées vers l'extérieur, terminées par une épine jaunâtre rigide (j); graines d'environ 4 mm (1/6 po) de longueur, brun grisâtre, marquées de stries foncées, brillantes, à aigrettes longues et ramifiées comme des plumes (C). Floraison de juillet à septembre.

Habitat : On trouve le chardon vulgaire partout en Ontario, dans les pâturages, les lieux incultes, à l'orée des bois, le long des clôtures et des routes; ses rosettes sont parfois embrassantes dans les pelouses et les jardins.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca