Ontario Weeds: Blueweed

 

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication


Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Related Links

Name: Blueweed, Echium vulgare L., [EHIVU]

Other Names: Blue devil, Blue-thistle, Viper's bugloss, vipérine, vipérine vulgaire, herbe aux vipères

Family: Borage Family (Boraginacae)

General Description: Biennial, occasionally annual or short-lived perennial, reproducing only by seed. It is distinguished by its deep thick taproot, long narrow rosette leaves, erect stem with short 1-side branches of bright blue flowers, unequally lobed corolla with protruding stamens, its clusters of 4 hard, bony, rough nutlets, and by being harshly rough-hairy throughout.

Photos and Pictures

Blueweed

Blueweed

Blueweed

Blueweed

Blueweed

Stems & Roots: First-year plant producing a rosette of long, narrow, harshly hairy leaves and deeply penetrating fleshy taproot; flowering stem produced in the second year, or rarely in the first year and the plant acting as an annual; stems erect 30 - 90 cm (12 - 36 in.) high, 1 to several from each taproot, harshly hairy with a mixture of a few, scattered, long, stiff hairs among dense short hair, the longer hair having swollen reddish or blackish bases visible as small bumps on the stem surface; stem leaves alternate (1 per node), similar to the basal leaves but smaller and narrower, harshly hairy, most hair stiff with swollen bases.

Flowers & Fruit: Flowers numerous in 1-sided, short, arching branches near the top of the stem; petals bright blue, forming an irregular corolla with the upper lobes longer than the lower ones and 4 of the 5 stamens plus the hairy stigma protruding from the corolla; seeds in the form of 4 hard, gray or brown, very rough nutlets about 3 mm (1/8 in.) long. Flowers from June until autumn.

Habitat: Blueweed occurs throughout Ontario in coarse sandy or gravelly soil in pastures, waste places and roadsides. The bright blue flowers are attractive and provide significant pasture for honeybees. When the plant matures, the stiff hair of stem, leaves, and sepal becomes very sharp and hard and causes severe physical irritation to tender skin.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

 

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 June 2002
Last Reviewed: 01 November 2003

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario : Vipérine

Nom : Vipérine, Echium vulgare L.,

Autres Noms : EHIVU, blueweed, vipérine vulgaire, herbe aux vipères, blue devil, blue- thistle, viper's bugloss

Famille : famille des Borraginacées - Bourrache

Description générale : Plante bisannuelle, parfois annuelle ou vivant quelques années, se reproduisant seulement par germination (graines). Elle se reconnaît à sa racine pivotante épaisse et profonde, à ses feuilles de rosette longues et étroites, à ses tiges dressées à rameaux courts garnis unilatéralement de fleurs bleu vif à corolle inégalement lobée et à étamines saillantes, et aux poils rudes et piquants qui couvrent toute sa surface.

Photos et illustrations

Vipérine

Vipérine

Vipérine

Vipérine

 

Tiges et rhizomes : La plante de première année produit une rosette de feuilles longues, étroites, à poils piquants et une racine pivotante charnue qui s'enfonce profondément; tiges florifères émises la deuxième année ou, plus rarement, la première année (la plante se comporte alors comme une annuelle); tiges dressées, de 30 à 90 cm (12-36 po) de hauteur, levant seules ou en petit nombre de chaque racine pivotante, recouvertes de poils courts et piquants, parsemées de quelques poils longs et raides qui, par leur base renflée (a), rougeâtre ou noirâtre, forment des petites bosses à la surface de la tige; feuilles caulinaires alternes (1 par noeud), semblables aux feuilles basilaires, mais plus petites et plus étroites, à poils piquants, la plupart étant raides et à base renflée.

Fleurs et fruits : fleurs nombreuses échelonnées d'un côté sur de courts rameaux arqués partant près du sommet de la tige; pétales bleu vif, formant une corolle de forme irrégulière, dont les lobes supérieurs (b) sont plus longs que les lobes inférieurs (c) et 4 des 5 étamines (d) ainsi que le stigmate velu (e) dépassent de la corolle; les graines sont 4 nucules, grises ou brunes, dures et très rugueuses, faisant environ 3 mm (1/8 po) de longueur. Floraison de juin jusqu'à l'automne.

Habitat : La vipérine se rencontre partout en Ontario dans les sols sablonneux ou caillouteux, à texture grossière, des pâturages et des terrains incultes, ainsi qu'en bordure des routes. Ses fleurs bleu vif attirantes sont fort appréciées des abeilles. Quand la plante mûrit, les poils raides des tiges, des feuilles et des sépales, devenus très durs et acérés, provoquent de graves irritations chez les sujets à peau sensible.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 2 novembre 2004
Dernière révision : 2 novembre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca