Ontario Weeds: Black medick

 

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication


Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Related Links

Name: Black medick, Medicago lupulina L.,

Other Names: Lupuline, Yellow-clover, luzerne lupuline, minette

Family: Legume or Bean Family (Leguminosae

General Description: Annual, reproducing only by seed. It is distinguished by its compound leaves having 3 oval leaflets, all with shallow teeth towards their tips but only the central one with a definite stalk; the small, nearly spherical clusters of yellow flowers on stalks usually longer than the leaves; and the small clusters of black coiled seedpods produced from those flower heads.

Photos and Pictures

Black Medick

Black Medick

Black medick. A. Plant.
Black medick. A. Plant.

Stems & Roots: Stems wiry, as much as 80 cm (32 in.) long and lying prostrate on the ground, or much shorter and erect or spreading; root slender but very tough and difficult to pull out or hoe off; leaves alternate (1 per node), compound with 3 small oval leaflets shallowly toothed at the tips, the central leaflet with a definite stalk, the leafstalk with a pair of thick stipules at its junction with the stem.

Flowers & Fruit: Flowers individually very small but grouped in dense head-like clusters, about 1 cm (2/5 in.) in diameter, on long stalks from leaf axils; each flower very small, yellow, similar in form to pea or bean flowers; seedpods black (hence the common name), slightly coiled, prominently ridged and hairy or smooth. Flowers from early spring to late autumn, dropping its seed during most of that time.

Habitat: Black medick occurs throughout Ontario in most soil textures. A particularly common weed in lawns, it also grows in gardens, waste places, roadsides, pastures and sometimes in cultivated fields.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

 

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 June 2002
Last Reviewed: 01 November 2003

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario : Lupuline

Galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario

Table des matières

  1. Nom
  2. Autres noms
  3. Famille
  4. Description générale
  5. Tiges et rhizomes
  6. Fleurs et fruits
  7. Habitat
  8. Liens connexes
  9. Pour plus de renseignements..

Nom : Lupuline, Medicago lupulina L.,

Autres noms : MEDLU, black medick, luzerne lupuline, minette, yellow-clover.

Famille : famille des Légumineuses - Trèfles, vesces

Description générale : plante annuelle se reproduisant uniquement par germination (graines). On la reconnaît par ses feuilles composées de 3 folioles ovales, toutes légèrement dentées à leur sommet mais dont seulement la foliole centrale a un pétiolule distinct (a), par les petites grappes presque sphériques de fleurs jaunes sur des pédoncules habituellement plus longs que les feuilles, et par les petites grappes de gousses noires, courbées en spirale, qui composent les inflorescences.

 

Photos et illustrations

Lupuline

Lupuline

Lupuline. A. Plante entière.
Lupuline. A. Plante entière.

 

Tiges et rhizomes : tiges drues, pouvant atteindre 80 cm (32 po) de longueur et couchées sur le sol, ou beaucoup plus courtes et dressées ou étalées; racine mince mais très solide et difficile à arracher à la main ou au sarcloir; feuilles alternes (1 par noeud), composées de 3 petites folioles ovales légèrement dentées au sommet, la foliole centrale étant portée par un pétiolule (a) bien évident; pétiole garni d'une paire de stipules épaisses (c) à son point de jonction avec la tige.

Fleurs et fruits : fleurs très petites, groupées en grappes terminales compactes d'environ 1 cm (2/5 po) de diamètre, au bout de longs pédoncules axillaires; chaque fleur très petite, jaune, de forme semblable aux fleurs de pois ou de haricots; gousses noires, velues ou lisses, torsadées légèrement, et marquées de côtes bien visibles. Floraison du début du printemps jusqu'à la fin de l'automne; chute des graines durant presque toute cette période.

Habitat : la lupuline se trouve partout en Ontario sur presque tous les types de sol. Mauvaise herbe particulièrement commune des pelouses, elle pousse également dans les jardins, les terrains incultes, les pâturages, en bordure des routes et parfois dans les champs cultivés.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 12 avril 2005
Dernière révision : 12 avril 2005

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca