Juniper Dieback

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Phomopsis Blight
  3. Kabatina Blight
  4. Diagnostics
  5. Control
  6. Related Links

Introduction

Tip dieback in junipers has been a concern in the nursery and landscape. Dieback may result from biotic factors such as insects or diseases, or from abiotic factors such as physiological problems and stresses. Two fungi, Phomopsis juniperovira and Kabatina juniperi can cause die back in many different juniper species. In order to properly manage these diseases, correct identification is necessary.

Phomopsis Blight

  • Host range:
    • Abies spp., fir;
    • Chamaecyparis spp., false cypress;
    • Cupressus, spp., cypress;
    • Juniperus spp., junipers;
    • Larix spp., larch;
    • Metasequoia spp., redwood;
    • Taxus spp., yew;
    • Thuja spp.,white cedar; and
    • Tsuga spp., hemlock.
  • Life cycle: Fruiting bodies, called pycnidia develop in the grey canker which develops at the base of previously killed shoots and twigs. These appear about three to four weeks after infection. Pycnidia are embedded within the plant's tissue, however, during wet weather, pale green to cream coloured masses of conidia, or spores, exude. These are dispersed by wind and water to infect new tissues. Spores, are released continuously through out the growing season, infect when environmental conditions are optimum. Fall infection is more frequent.

    Newly developing tissues are very susceptible to the fungus. Infection may occur late in the season, if growth is prolonged and encouraged by heavy pruning, high fertility and excessive moisture. An infection may begin within seven hours on a wet surface when temperatures are 20-24 °C. Prolonged wet periods promote and enhance the severity of the disease. Following infections, high temperatures intensify the severity of symptoms.
  • Symptoms: New growth and immature scale leaves and needles are the most susceptible to infection. Mature leaves appear to be more resistant. The disease begins as small lesions first appearing as tiny yellowish spots. As the fungus advances in to the water conducting tissues, diseased shoots fade becoming light green and eventually turning reddish brown. A greyish band or canker can be noted at the base of infected shoots. Diseased shoots remain on the plant for sometime eventually turning grey.

    This discoloration occurs later during the growing season. Twigs less than 1 cm in diameter may be girdled.

    Twigs 5 years old and younger may be affected by Phomopsis.

Kabatina Blight

  • Host Range: Many of the same,
    • Cupressus spp.; Cypress;
    • Junipers spp., Junipers and
    • Thuja, white cedar.

Many of the same plants as attacked by P. juniperovora.

  • Life Cycle: The life cycle of Kabatina juniperi is similar to that of Phomopsis juniperovora. Kabatina does not penetrate healthy tissue but enters through wounds caused either by insect or other injuries. Spores, frequently released in the fall, are spread by water. Greatest infection occurs when temperatures are 16 to 21 °C.
  • Symptoms: Twigs from the previous growing season which have been infected by Kabatina show symptoms the following spring as foliage begins to lose its winter colour and new growth begins. Affected tips turn yellow and eventually brown instead of green. As with Phomopsis, greyish lesions develop at the base of blighted twigs.

Diagnostics

In order to determine which fungus is causing the twig die back, samples must be cultured and spores examined. A relatively easy field diagnostic tool is to carefully shave off the outer bark. If the tissues show an even gradient of brown to green tissue, then desiccation is probably the cause of the dieback. A very distinct border or margin between dead and healthy tissues indicates a die back caused by a canker. This does not confirm either of the dieback fungi, rather it indicates the original injury may or may not be disease related.

Control

These diseases are primarily a problem in seedling, nursery stock and in the landscape. Control measures should consist of both chemical and cultural control practices.

Some species and cultivars are reportedly resistant to Phomopsis:,

  • Juniperus chinensis
    • J.horizontalis
      • cv. 'Foemina
      • CV 'Procumbens'
      • CV 'Iowa'
  • J.sabina
    • CV 'Keteleeri'
    • cv.'Broadmoor'
    • CV 'Pfitzeriana Aurea'
    • cv.'Knap Hill'
    • CV 'Robusta'
    • cv.'Skandia'
    • var. sargentii
  • J.scopulorum
    • var. sargentii
    • CV 'Glauca'
    • cv.'Silver King'
    • CV 'Shoosmith'
  • J.squamata
    • cv.'Campbellii'
  • J.communis
    • cv.'Ashfordii'
    • var.fargesii
    • cv.'Aureospica'*
    • cv.'Prostrata'
    • var.depressa
    • cv.'Pumila'
    • cv.'Depressa Aurea'
  • J.virginiana
    • cv.'Hulkjaerhus'
    • cv.'Tripartita'
    • cv.'Prostrata Aurea'
    • cv.'Repanda'
    • var.saxatilis
    • cv.'Suecica'

Promote plant health by maintaining pH and soil fertility, reducing drought stress and relieving soil compaction. However, avoid creating situations which create excessive juvenile growth. It is more susceptible to Phomopsis.

Where possible, prune out and destroy infected branches during dry weather and sterilize equipment between cuts. Providing good air circulation and reducing crowding will help encourage rapid drying of foliage and reduce the chance of an infection starting.

Avoid overhead irrigation late in the day. Rogue and destroy any heavily infested plants. New growth must be protected during wet weather with fungicide applications to prevent infections.

No fungicide appears to give complete control. For chemical registrations, order OMAFRA Publication 840, Crop Protection Guide for Nursery and Landscape Plants.

Related Links


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Christoph Kessel - Nursery Crops Specialist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: February 1998
Last Reviewed: 31 July 2003

Dépérissement du genévrier


Série pépiniéristes - paysagistes, MAAO


Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Brûlure phomopsienne
  3. Brûlure causée par Kabatina
  4. Diagnostic
  5. Lutte

Introduction

Le dépérissement du genévrier est préoccupant dans les pépinières et les aménagements paysagers. Le dépérissement peut être causé par des facteurs biotiques, insectes ou maladies, ou par des facteurs abiotiques, problèmes physiologiques et agressions. Deux champignons,

  • Phomopsis juniperovira et
  • Kabatina juniperi

peuvent causer le dépérissement chez différentes espèces de genévrier. Afin de bien gérer ces maladies, il faut absolument savoir les identifier correctement.

Brûlure phomopsienne

Plantes­hôtes
  • Abies spp., sapin;
  • Chamaecyparis spp., faux­cyprès;
  • Cupressus spp., cyprès;
  • Juniperus spp., genévrier;
  • Larix spp., mélèze;
  • Metasequoia spp., séquoia;
  • Taxus, spp., if;
  • Thuja spp., thuya; et
  • Tsuga spp. , pruche.
Cycle biologique

Les organes de fructification, appelés pycnides, apparaissent dans les chancres gris qui se développent à la base des pousses et des rameaux déjà morts. Ils y apparaissent environ trois à quatre semaines après l'infection. Les pycnides sont incrustés dans le tissu de la plante. Cependant, par temps pluvieux, il en exsude des masses de conidies, ou spores, de couleur vert pâle à crème, qui sont dispersées par le vent et l'eau et infectent de nouveaux tissus. Des spores sont libérées continuellement pendant la saison de croissance, propageant l'infection lorsque les conditions environnementales sont optimales. Les infections sont plus courantes à l'automne.

Les jeunes tissus sont très vulnérables au champignon. L'infection peut survenir tard dans la saison, si la croissance se prolonge. Elle est encouragée par un élagage important, une fertilisation abondante et une humidité excessive. Lorsque les températures se situent entre 20 et 24 oC, l'infection peut se déclarer en moins de sept heures sur une surface mouillée. Les périodes de pluie prolongées favorisent l'infection et l'aggravent. Suivant le déclenchement de la maladie, des températures élevées intensifient les symptômes.

Symptômes 

Les nouvelles pousses, les écailles et les aiguilles qui ne sont pas à maturité sont les plus vulnérables à l'infection. Les feuilles matures semblent plus résistantes. La maladie se manifeste d'abord par de petites lésions qui prennent la forme de minuscules taches jaunâtres. Au fur et à mesure que le champignon progresse dans les tissus qui transportent l'eau, les pousses malades flétrissent, prennent une coloration vert pâle, puis brun-rouge. On peut alors observer une bande grisâtre, le chancre, à la base des pousses infectées. Les pousses malades restent sur la plante pendant un certain temps, puis deviennent grises.

Cette décoloration survient plus tard dans la saison de croissance. Un anneau peut se former autour des rameaux de moins de 1 cm de diamètre.

Les rameaux de 5 ans ou moins peuvent être infectés par Phosmopsis.

Brûlure causée par Kabatina

Variété d'hôtes: En partie les mêmes plantes­hôtes, soit :

  • Cupressus spp., cyprès;
  • Juniperus spp., genévrier; et
  • Thuja spp., thuya.

Bon nombre des mêmes plantes qui sont vulnérables à Phomopsis juniperovira.

Cycle biologique

Le cycle biologique de Kabatina juniperi est semblable à celui de Phomopsis juniperovora. Kabatina ne pénètre pas dans les tissus sains, mais envahit les blessures causées entre autres par des insectes. ôes spores, souvent libérées à l'automne, sont disséminées par l'eau. Les températures les plus propices à l'infection se situent entre 16 et 21 °C.

Symptômes 

Les rameaux de la saison précédente qui ont été infectés par Kabatina peuvent présenter des symptômes le printemps suivant lorsque le feuillage commence à perdre sa couleur hivernale et que la croissance reprend. Les extrémités atteintes jaunissent, puis brunissent au lieu de verdir. Comme dans le cas de Phomopsis, des lésions grisâtres se forment à la base des rameaux.

Diagnostic

Afin de diagnostiquer le champignon en cause dans le dépérissement des rameaux, il faut prélever des échantillons, les mettre dans un milieu de culture et examiner les spores. Un outil diagnostic relativement simple consiste à peler l'enveloppe externe de l'écorce. Si les tissus présentent un dégradé uniforme du brun au vert, la sécheresse est probablement la cause du dépérissement. Par contre, une séparation très nette entre les tissus sains et les tissus nécrosés sont révélateurs de la présence d'un chancre. Cette méthode ne permet toutefois pas de déterminer lequel des champignons est en cause. Elle permet simplement de savoir si la blessure originale est associée à une maladie ou non.

Lutte

Ces maladies frappent essentiellement les jeunes plants de semis, dans les pépinières et les aménagements paysagers. Les mesures de lutte doivent reposer à la fois sur des méthodes culturales et des méthodes chimiques.

Voici certaines espèces et certains cultivars qui seraient résistants à Phomopsis :

  • Juniperus chinensis
  • J. horizontalis
    • cv. Foemina
    • cv. Procumbens
    • cv. Iowa
  • J. sabina
    • cv. Keteleeri
    • cv. Broadmoor
    • cv. Pfitzeriana Aurea
    • cv. Knap Hill
    • cv. Robusta
    • cv. Skandia
    • var. sargentii
  • J. scopulorum
    • var. sargentii
    • cv. Glauca
    • cv. Silver King
    • cv. Shoosmith
  • J. squamata
    • cv. Campbellii
  • J. communis
    • cv. Ashfordii
    • var. fargesii
    • cv. Aureospica*
    • cv. Prostrata
    • var. depressa
    • cv. Pumila
    • cv. Depressa Aurea
  • J. virginiana
    • cv. Hulkjaerhus
    • cv. Tripartita
    • cv. Prostrata Aurea
    • cv. Repanda
    • var. saxatilis
    • cv. Suecica

Un bon moyen de lutter contre la maladie consiste à veiller à la santé des plantes en maintenant le sol fertile et à un pH convenable, en atténuant les épisodes de sécheresse et en évitant le compactage du sol. On doit cependant éviter les situations qui amènent une croissance excessive, car les jeunes tissus sont plus vulnérables à la brûlure phomopsienne.

Dans la mesure du possible, élaguer et détruire les branches infectées pendant les périodes de sécheresse et stériliser les instruments entre chaque coupe. Le maintien d'une bonne circulation d'air et un bon espacement des plants contribuent à accélérer le séchage du feuillage, ce qui réduit du coup les risques de déclenchement de la maladie.

Éviter l'irrigation par aspersion tard dans la journée. Arracher et détruire les plants fortement infestés. Dans les périodes de temps pluvieux, prévenir l'infection en protégeant les nouvelles pousses par des pulvérisations de fongicide.

Aucun fongicide ne semble totalement efficace. Pour connaître les antiparasitaires homologués contre ces champignons, consulter la publication 383F du ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario, intitulée Recommandations pour la culture du matériel de pépinière et des plantes paysagères.

 

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Auteur : Christoph Kessel -spécialiste des cultures de pépinière/MAAO
Date de création : Non disponible
Dernière révision : 10 décembre 2003

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca