Cultivar Profiles: Sunrise Apple

Table of Contents

Origin:‘Sunrise’ was developed at the Summerland Research Station Apple Breeding Program. Its parents are McIntosh and Golden Delicious X PCF-3-120. This cultivar is not patented, and material can be obtained from Warwick Orchards and Nursery, Watford, Ontario, Summerland Research Station, Summerland, BC V0H 1Z0, Cameron Nursery, Eltopia, WA, or Adam’s County Nursery, Aspers, PA.

Description of fruit:

Image of sunrise apple with ruler beside it

‘Sunrise’ fruit grown at the University of Guelph, Simcoe Campus harvest August 19, 1998

The fruit are medium to large, uniform oval round (similar to Gala). The fruit has an excellent sweet flavour and not prone to skin russet. The skin ground colour is pale yellow or white with bright red stripes going to blush on the exposed side with about 50% red color. The flesh is white to cream in colour, and texture crisp and juicy.

Description of tree:

Image of sunrise tree

7-yr old ‘Sunrise’ tree on M.9 rootstock, University of Guelph, Simcoe Campus

The tree has moderate vigour, is extremely precocious, annual, and very productive. Its cold hardiness and disease status is not known.

Harvest Date & Storage: Sunrise is a multiple pick cultivar. At least three picks are recommended in order to harvest the fruit at optimum maturity and colour development. In Simcoe, it matures two to three weeks before Gala (17 Aug in in 1999). ‘Sunrise’ storage potential is limited to about 3 weeks after harvest with a very short shelf life.

Potential Problems: It has no known disorders. Because of its limited storage and shelf life, rapid marketing will be essential.

Management Suggestions: Crop load management will be necessary, but we have no experience with chemical thinning on Sunrise yet. Tree support is important due to large crop loads.

Potential for Ontario: The potential for this cultivar in Ontario indeed looks promising. While it is an early summer apple, it has consistently ranked the highest in trained sensory panels held at the University of Guelph, Simcoe. The unique/distinct colouring, excellent flavour, and high productivity make this cultivar worthy of commercial consideration in Ontario.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: John A. Cline - Research Scientist Department of Plant Agriculture/University of Guelph
Creation Date: 27 August 1999
Last Reviewed: 19 August 2011

Profils de cultivars : la pomme Sunrise

Table des matières

Origine

Le cultivar Sunrise a été créé par le programme de reproduction des pommes de la station de recherche de Summerland. Il descend de McIntosh et Golden Delicious X PCF 3 120. Ce cultivar n'est couvert par aucun brevet; on peut demander le matériel pertinent en s'adressant à Warwick Orchards and Nursery, Watford, Ontario, à Summerland Research Station, Summerland, Colombie Britannique, V0H 1Z0, à Cameron Nursery, Eltopia, WA, ou à Adam's County Nursery, Aspers, PA.

Description du fruit

Image of sunrise apple with ruler beside it

Fruit Sunrise produit à l'Université de Guelph, campus de Simcoe, récolté le 19 août 1998

Le fruit est de taille moyenne à grosse, de forme uniforme ovale à ronde (semblable à Gala). Il a un excellent goût sucré et n'est pas sujet au roussissement. La teinte de fond de la peau est jaune pâle ou blanche avec des rayures rouge vif qui s'accentuent du côté exposé, avec environ 50 % de rouge. La chair est blanche à crème, juteuse et de texture croquante.

Description de l'arbre

Image of sunrise tree

Arbre Sunrise de sept ans sur un porte greffe M.9, Université de Guelph, campus de Simcoe

L'arbre est modérément vigoureux, extrêmement précoce, annuel et très productif. Sa résistance au froid et son statut sanitaire (maladie) ne sont pas connus.

Date de récolte et entreposage

Sunrise est un cultivar à cueillettes multiples. Pour récolter les fruits au meilleur de leur mûrissement et de leur coloration, on recommande d'effectuer au moins trois cueillettes. À Simcoe, ce cultivar arrive à maturité deux à trois semaines avant Gala (le 17 août en 1999). Ses possibilités d'entreposage se limitent à environ trois semaines après la récolte, et sa durée de stockage est très courte.

Problèmes possibles

Il n'y a pas de problèmes connus liés à ce cultivar. Étant donné que sa durée d'entreposage et ses possibilités d'entreposage sont si limitées, une mise en marché rapide sera essentielle.

Conseils pour la gestion

Il faudra assurer une gestion des charges de récolte, mais nous n'avons encore aucune expérience de l'éclaircissage chimique pour Sunrise. Étant donné le poids de la récolte, il est important de soutenir les arbres.

Potentiel pour l'Ontario

Pour l'Ontario, ce cultivar semble prometteur. Bien qu'il s'agisse d'un fruit de début d'été, il s'est régulièrement classé parmi les premiers lors d'essais menés avec un jury de dégustation dûment formé, à l'Université de Guelph à Simcoe. La coloration distinctive, le goût excellent et la productivité élevée de ce cultivar font que son exploitation commerciale mérite d'être envisagée en Ontario.


Auteur : John A. Cline - Research Scientist Department of Plant Agriculture/University of Guelph
Date de création : 27 août 1999
Dernière révision : 19 août 2011

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca