St. John's Wort and Chrysolina spp. Beetles

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Chrysolina Beetles
  3. Description
  4. Damage
  5. Life Cycle
  6. Anthracnose
  7. References

Introduction

St. John's Wort and Chrysolina Beetles

St. John's Wort and Chrysolina spp. Beetles

St. John's wort has long been a magical plant in folklore. In medieval times it was believed that if you stepped on the plant after dark you would be transported by a magical horse around the heavens and returned to earth only as the sun rose. It was universally called "the Grace of God". In England it was used to cure insanity, in Russia to cure rabies and in Brazil as a cure for snake bite. Crushed flowers oozed a red pigment (hypericin) that looked like blood. Its name derives from the fact that its flowers are harvested around the summer solstice or St. John's day on the 24th of June. It is extremely attractive to cats and rats and is said to have been used by the Pied Piper to lure rats out of Hamelin. Unfortunately, it is also attractive to certain Chrysolina spp. beetles.

Today St. John's wort is one of the most popular medicinal plants. It is used extensively in Europe in the treatment of mild depression. It also has antiviral and antibacterial properties and is used to promote the healing of damaged nerves.

The chemical most often connected with St. John's wort is hypericin, the chemical used as a "marker" for medicinal activity. Recent research has revealed that there are at least 50 chemicals in this plant with varied medicinal properties. Like so many plants that are used as medicines the valuable properties of this herb cannot be attributed to one single chemical.

St. John's wort, however, is more than an important medicinal. It is a serious noxious weed on grazing lands in parts of North America. Since many animals grazing on St. John's wort react to hypericin, this weed was the subject of one of the first successful programs in weed biocontrol.

Chrysolina Beetles

Chrysolina Beetles

St. John's wort, a native of Europe, was first introduced to North America in 1793 in Pennsylvania. It became established in Eastern Canada by 1883. Over much of its range in Canada it has been successfully controlled by the introduction of insects that feed only on St. John's wort. Biological control of St. John's wort was introduced in Australia in the 1930's with the introduction of three beetles that fed only on St. John's wort in its native habitat in Europe - Chrysolina hyperici from the Atlantic region of Europe; C. quadrigemina from the Mediterranean region and Anaitis plagiata from northern Europe. During the 1950's Ontario imported and released all three species in an effort to achieve similar biological control of St. John's wort. C. quadrigemina is currently predominant.

Description

Chrysolina quadrigemina is a member of the Chrysomelidae, the same insect family that contains the Colorado potato beetle. Its shape and habits are similar to those of this common and destructive pest of solanaceaous plants. When disturbed, Chrysolina spp. beetles will drop from the plant and "play dead" on the soil. They feed voraciously both as larvae and adults.

There are four colour morphs of this beetle, bronze, metallic green and metallic blue, and a purple form not recently observed in Ontario. Bronze coloured beetles outnumber blue coloured beetles by about 9:1. Green coloured C. quadrigemmina are rarely found. The metallic sheen on their elytra (wing covers) is distinctive.

Damage

Defoliation is most severe in the week before flowering and continues during maximum bloom\

Defoliation is most severe in the week before flowering and continues during maximum bloom, the time when flowers are harvested for medicinal use. In observation plots of 3-year-old St John's wort as many as 97 beetles per plant were counted. The beetles fed mostly on the leaves, and flower tops were left relatively untouched.

Life Cycle

Chrysolina spp. are leaf-feeding beetles. In other jurisdictions, the insects over-winter as eggs that hatch early in the spring. In Ontario, it is unknown whether the beetles over-winter as larvae or eggs. Larvae resemble those of the Colorado potato beetle. Research has shown that both the larvae and adults accumulate hypericin that they ingest from the plants. The amount of hypericin in the larvae is enough to make them photosensitive and feeding habits seem to reflect this accumulation.

Very young larvae feed only at night and are concealed in terminal leaf buds during the hours of peak sunlight. Older larvae feed only in the early dawn. They burrow into the soil during the day and remain there until dawn the next day. Mature larvae pupate in the soil. Adults emerge from the soil about the first week of June. Adults feed heavily until mid-late July. The elytra (protective wing covers) transmit almost no light and thus the hypericin cannot become "activated". Adults are reluctant to fly from plant to plant. When the elytra are opened during flight, light can penetrate the cuticle, activating the hypericin which becomes toxic to them. Adults move about only when threatened with starvation.

In mid - late July the adult beetles enter summer diapause, burrowing into the soil to "rest" until they are ready to emerge to mate and lay eggs. In demonstration plots, no mating activity was observed among the adults during early season feeding. This type of diapause is very risky for the beetles. By mid-August 80% of the beetles in the ground had succumbed to predation in the demonstration plots. The most prevalent predatory beetles are in the Carabidae family.

The Link to Anthracnose

St. John's Wort anthracnose stem lesion

St. John's wort anthracnose stem lesion

In a survey of 11 different sites in Ontario, 100% of the sites showed signs of anthracnose infection. Preliminary identification of Colletotrichum gloeosporioides was made from isolates from stem lesions. This disease is endemic in the Nova Scotia where researchers noted that the disease was spread by Chrysolina spp. beetles. In addition, when stem lesions were combined with defoliation by beetles, the plants suffered 75% winter kill.


At wild sites in Ontario beetles were found only occasionally and anthracnose at low levels did not cause severe dieback of the stems. The situation was much different in cultivated plantings of St. John's wort.

Anthracnose was prevalent in most cultivated plantings of St. John's Wort

Anthracnose was prevalent in most cultivated plantings of St. John's wort. Anthracnose lesions on cultivated plants expanded until they girdled the stem and the entire plant was involved. The disease progressed to involve entire plants. The disease progressed quicker on plants transplanted into plastic mulch. Unless totally diseased, for the first two years plants succumbing to anthracnose re-grew the following spring. Commercial growers found that these plants could be harvested for the flowers but the overall harvest weight was reduced.

Colletotrichum can be a seed-borne disease. Producers growing their own transplants should take care to obtain disease-free seed.

 

The relationship between Chrysolina spp. beetles and anthracnose on St. John's wort

The Relationsh.  Percentage of defoliation and percentage of anthraconose is closely related, the percentages overlap in many places.

 

Two factors are at work in cultivated St. John's wort that threaten the survival of the plants:

  • " beetle populations can be very high by the 3rd year of cultivation
  • " disease can be introduced on the seed resulting in higher disease incidence than in wild stands.

This combination of beetles and disease results in considerably more damage to the planting than either pest alone. In recent studies there was a direct link between the severity of feeding damage and the severity of disease.

References

  1. Campbell C.L. and J.P. McCaffrey. 1991. Population Trends, Seasonal Phenology, and Impact of Chrysolina quadrigemmina, C. hyperici (Coleoptera: Chrysomelidae), and Agrilus hyperici (Coleoptera: Buprestidae) Associated with Hypericum perforatum in Northern Idaho. Environ. Entomol. 20(1): 303-315
  2. Duffey S.S. and J.M. Pasteels. 1993. Transient uptake of hypericin by chrysomelids is regulated by feeding behaviour. Physiological Entomology 20, 119-129
  3. Fields P.G., John T.Aenason and Bernard J.R.Philogene. 1989. Behavioural and physical adaptations of three insects that feed on the phytotoxic plant Hypericum perforatum. Can. J. Zool. 68: 339-346
  4. Hildebrand P.D. and K.I.N. Jensen. 1991. Potential for the biological control of St. John's-wort (Hypericum perforatum) with an endemic strain of Colletotrichum gloeosporioides. Can J. Plant Pathol. 13: 60-70
  5. Morrison Kimberley D., Edward G.Reekie and Klaus I.N.Jensen. 1998. Biocontrol of common St. John'swort (Hypericum perforatum) with Chrysolina hyperici and a Host-Specific Colletotrichum gloeosporioides. Weed Technol. 12: 426-435

This inforsheet was originally aurthored by Jan Schooley, former Ginseng and Medicinal Herb Specialist, OMAFRA.

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author:

Sean Westerveld- Ginseng and Medicinal Herb Specialist/OMAFRA

Creation Date: Not Available
Last Reviewed: 10 December 2010

Le millepertuis et la chrysomèle

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Chrysomèle du millepertuis
  3. Description
  4. Dommages
  5. Cycle biologique
  6. Lien avec l'anthracnose
  7. Références

Introduction

Le millepertuis et la chrysomèle

Le millepertuis et la chrysomèle

Le millepertuis a longtemps été considéré comme une plante avec des propriétés magiques ou folkloriques. À l'époque médiévale la croyance voulait qu'en mettant le pied sur la plante après la tombée de la nuit vous étiez transporté dans les cieux sur un cheval magique et vous reveniez sur terre seulement après le lever du soleil. Le millepertuis était partout appelé " la grâce de Dieu ". En Angleterre il servait contre la mélancolie, en Russie à guérir la rage et au Brésil à soigner les morsures de serpent. Les fleurs écrasées produisent un pigment rouge (hypéricine) dont l'apparence ressemble à du sang. Son nom en anglais (St. John's Wort) provient du fait que la récolte des fleurs est d'ordinaire effectuée autour du solstice d'été ou de la fête de la Saint-Jean, le 24 juin. C'est une herbe extrêmement attirante pour les chats et les rats et selon la légende ces derniers étaient sortis d'Hamelin en suivant le joueur de flûte. Par ailleurs, elle exerce aussi un très grand pouvoir d'attraction pour certaines espèces de chrysomèles.

De nos jours le millepertuis est l'une des herbes médicinales les plus populaires. Il est largement utilisé en Europe pour traiter les cas de dépression légère. Il possède aussi des propriétés antivirales et antibactériennes et il favorise le rétablissement des nerfs malades.

Le produit chimique le plus souvent associé au millepertuis est l'hypéricine, qui sert de " repère " de l'activité médicinale. De récentes recherches ont révélé que cette herbe médicinale pourrait recéler jusqu'à 50 produits chimiques dotés de propriétés médicinales diverses. Comme c'est le cas de nombreuses autres herbes médicinales, les nombreuses propriétés médicamenteuses de cette herbe ne peuvent être attribuées à une seule substance.

En plus d'être une herbe médicinale reconnue, le millepertuis est aussi une mauvaise herbe très nuisible des pâturages de certaines régions de l'Amérique du Nord. Comme de nombreux animaux d'élevage qui broutent du millepertuis réagissent à l'hypéricine, cette mauvaise herbe a fait l'objet de l'un des premiers programmes de lutte biologique qui a connu un franc succès.

Chrysomèle du millepertuis

D'origine européenne, le millepertuis a d'abord été introduit en Amérique du Nord en 1793 en Pennsylvanie. Son établissement dans l'Est du Canada remonte à 1883. Sur la plus grande partie de sa répartition au Canada le millepertuis a été combattu avec succès par l'introduction d'insectes qui se nourrissent uniquement de cette plante. Vers 1930, en Australie la lutte biologique contre le millepertuis a commencé par l'introduction de trois chrysomèles qui s'attaquent uniquement au millepertuis dans son habitat d'origine en Europe. Ce sont Chrysolina hyperici de la région atlantique, Chrysolina quadrigemina de la région méditerranéenne et Anaitis plagiata du nord de l'Europe. Pendant les années 1950, on a importé et libéré en Ontario les trois espèces dans le but de mener une lutte biologique similaire contre le millepertuis. À l'heure actuelle c'est Chrysolina quadrigemina qui prédomine.

Description

La chrysomèle du millepertuis (Chrysolina quadrigemina) fait partie des chrysomélidés, la même famille d'insectes que le doryphore de la pomme de terre. Elle présente une forme et des habitudes similaires à ce ravageur commun et destructeur des solanacées. Quand on la dérange, la chrysomèle se laisse tomber de la plante et " fait la morte " au sol. Elle s'attaque avec voracité aux larves et aux adultes.

Cette chrysomèle existe en quatre couleurs, bronze, vert métallique et bleu métallique, de même qu'une sorte de pourpre qui n'a pas été récemment observée en Ontario. Les chrysomèles de couleur bronze dépassent en nombre celles de couleur bleue, dans une proportion d'environ neuf sur un. La chrysomèle verte se trouve rarement. Le reflet métallique sur leurs élytres (couvertures alaires) est particulier.

Dommages

La défoliation atteint son paroxysme la semaine avant la floraison et continue quand la floraison est à son apogée, au moment de la récolte des fleurs pour usage médicinal. Dans des parcelles d'observation de millepertuis datant de trois ans, on a dénombré jusqu'à 97 ravageurs par plants. Les chrysomèles se nourrissaient surtout des feuilles et les fleurs du sommet étaient relativement peu touchées.

Cycle biologique

Les chrysomèles se nourrissent des feuilles. Dans d'autres juridictions, les ravageurs survivent à l'hiver sous la forme d'oeufs qui éclosent tôt au printemps. En Ontario, on ignore si les chrysomèles passent l'hiver sous la forme de larves ou d'oeufs. Les larves ressemblent à celles du doryphore de la pomme de terre. La recherche a indiqué que les larves et les adultes accumulent de l'hypéricine qu'ils ont ingéré des plants. La quantité d'hypéricine dans les larves est suffisante pour les rendre photosensibles et leurs habitudes d'alimentation semblent refléter cette accumulation.

Très jeunes les larves se nourrissent seulement de nuit et elles restent cachées dans les bourgeons des feuilles terminales pendant les heures d'ensoleillement maximal. Plus âgées elles ne se nourrissent qu'à la naissance de l'aube. Elles s'enfouissent dans le sol pendant le jour et y restent jusqu'à l'aube du jour suivant. À maturité les larves se pupifient dans le sol. Les insectes adultes émergent du sol vers la première semaine de juin. Les chrysomèles adultes se nourrissent abondamment jusqu'au milieu ou à la fin juillet. Les élytres (couvertures alaires) ne laissent passer presque aucune lumière et l'hypéricine ne peut " s'activer ". Les insectes adultes hésitent à voler d'un plant à l'autre. Quand les élytres sont ouverts pendant le vol, la lumière peut pénétrer dans la cuticule, activant l'hypéricine qui leur est toxique. Les adultes se déplacent seulement quand ils sont menacés de mourir de faim.

Vers le milieu ou la fin juillet, les chrysomèles adultes entrent en diapause d'été, s'enfouissant dans le sol et " se reposant " jusqu'à ce qu'elles soient prêtes à s'accoupler et à pondre des œufs. Dans les parcelles témoins, aucun accouplement n'a été observé pendant que les chrysomèles se nourrissent en début de saison. Ce type de diapause comporte des risques élevés pour les insectes. À la mi août 80 % des chrysomèles enfouies dans le sol auront succombés à la prédation dans les parcelles témoins. Les prédateurs les plus prévalents sont de la famille des Carabidae.

Lien avec l'anthracnose

Lésion d'une tige de millepertuis causée par l'anthracnose

Lésion d'une tige de millepertuis causée par l'anthracnose

Lors d'une recherche menée dans onze différents sites en Ontario, on a constaté dans tous des signes d'infection due à l'anthracnose. L'identification préliminaire de Colletotrichum gloeosporioides a été effectuée à partir d'isolats prélevés des lésions des tiges. Cette maladie est endémique en Nouvelle-Écosse où les chercheurs ont remarqué qu'elle était propagée par la chrysomèle. De plus, quand les lésions sur les tiges étaient combinées à de la défoliation par les insectes, les plants étaient détruits par l'hiver à 75 %.

Dans des milieux naturels en Ontario, on n'a trouvé des chrysomèles qu'à l'occasion et l'anthracnose à de faibles niveaux n'avait pas causé de cas graves de dépérissement de la cime des tiges. La situation était très différente dans le millepertuis cultivé.

L'anthracnose était répandue dans la plupart des plants de millepertuis cultivés. Sur les plants cultivés les lésions dues à l'anthracnose étaient importantes, allant jusqu'à ceinturer et étouffer la tige, le plant pouvait être touché en entier. La maladie continuait de progresser pour affecter les plants dans leur entier. Elle se répandait plus vite sur les plants transplantés dans des paillis plastiques. À moins d'être totalement anéantis, les plants de deux ans ayant succombé à l'anthracnose repoussaient au printemps suivant. Les producteurs commerciaux ont signalé que ces plants pouvaient être récoltés pour les fleurs mais que le poids total de la récolte était réduit.

Le Colletotrichum est une maladie qui peut être transmise par les semences. Les exploitants qui produisent leurs propres plants à repiquer doivent être vigilants et obtenir des semences exemptes de maladie.

Relation entre les espèces de chrysomèles et l'anthracnose dans le millepertuis

Dans les cultures de millepertuis, deux facteurs entrent en jeu et menacent la survie des plants :

  • les populations de chrysomèles peuvent être très élevées dans la troisième année de culture;
  • la maladie peut être introduite par les semences et son incidence être plus élevée que dans les peuplements sauvages.

La combinaison des attaques par la chrysomèle et des effets de la maladie peut causer des dommages plus considérables aux cultures que seulement l'un ou l'autre de ces ennemis. De récentes études ont indiqué un lien direct entre la gravité des dommages causés par les ravageurs qui se sont nourris et le degré de gravité de la maladie.

Références

  1. Campbell C.L. and J.P. McCaffrey. 1991. Population Trends, Seasonal Phenology, and Impact of Chrysolina quadrigemmina, C. hyperici (Coleoptera: Chrysomelidae), and Agrilus hyperici (Coleoptera: Buprestidae) Associated with Hypericum perforatum in Northern Idaho. Environ. Entomol. 20(1): 303-315
  2. Duffey S.S. and J.M. Pasteels. 1993. Transient uptake of hypericin by chrysomelids is regulated by feeding behaviour. Physiological Entomology 20, 119-129
  3. Fields P.G., John T.Aenason and Bernard J.R.Philogene. 1989. Behavioural and physical adaptations of three insects that feed on the phytotoxic plant Hypericum perforatum. Can. J. Zool. 68: 339-346
  4. Hildebrand P.D. and K.I.N. Jensen. 1991. Potential for the biological control of St. John's-wort (Hypericum perforatum) with an endemic strain of Colletotrichum gloeosporioides. Can J. Plant Pathol. 13: 60-70
  5. Morrison Kimberley D., Edward G.Reekie and Klaus I.N.Jensen. 1998. Biocontrol of common St. John'swort (Hypericum perforatum) with Chrysolina hyperici and a Host-Specific Colletotrichum gloeosporioides. Weed Technol. 12: 426-43

La présente fiche d'information a été à l'origine rédigée par Jan Schooley, auparavant spécialiste du ginseng et des herbes médicinales, MAAARO


Auteur : Sean Westerveld -Spécialiste de la culture du ginseng et des herbes médicinales, MAAARO
Date de création : Non disponible
Dernière révision : 10 decembré 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca