Flyspeck and Spooty Blotch

Publication 310: Integrated Pest Management for Ontario Apple Orchards,
Order this Publication

Table of Contents

  1. Summer diseases
  2. Flyspeck
  3. Sooty blotch

Summer diseases

Flyspeck and sooty blotch are two summer diseases that appear on apple fruit from mid summer to harvest. These diseases occur throughout the eastern apple-growing areas of North America, and are most severe in the central and southern regions. Flyspeck and sooty blotch are sometimes seen on commercially grown fruit in Ontario, and have become more of an issue recently - particularly in dry summers when growers reduce fungicide sprays for apple scab.

The symptoms of both diseases frequently appear together. The fungi causing sooty blotch and flyspeck overwinters on dead twigs of numerous woody plant species, including apple trees, wild blackberry and raspberry canes. Both diseases are favoured by moderate temperatures, high humidity and abundant rainfall, and require free water on the fruit surface for infections to occur. Both fungi grow only on the surface of the fruit, and do not damage the flesh.

Flyspeck

Contrary to its name, flyspeck is not caused by insects but by the fungus Schizothyrium pomi (=Zygophiala jamaicensis).

Symptoms

In commercial Ontario orchards, flyspeck is typically seen on fruit more often than sooty blotch, probably because a lower residue of fungicide is effective in managing sooty blotch. Flyspeck appears as groups of few to several small (approximately 0.5 mm in size), sharply defined, shiny black fungal bodies (thyriothecia) on the surface of the fruit (Figure 4-136). Although these fungal bodies appear to exist individually, they are connected by mycelium to form colonies. Colonies vary in size but are usually in round or irregular groups 1-3 cm in diameter.
Insect frass, particularly from the white apple leafhopper, can be mistaken for flyspeck. Frass tends to be less well-defined than flyspeck, and rubs off more easily, particularly if wiped with a damp cloth.

Figure 4-136. Flyspeck on fruit

Figure 4-136. Flyspeck on fruit

Biology

The flyspeck fungus overwinters as thyriothecia on apple twigs, culled apple fruit and on numerous wild hosts including brambles, oaks and maple. Mature ascospores are released during rainy periods for a one to two month period beginning at bloom. Warm and wet or humid (>96% relative humidity) conditions are conducive to the spread of the disease. In the lab, conidia germinate from 8-24°C and colony development occurs at 12-24°C. Symptoms are visible 10-12 days after infection under optimal conditions but may not appear in orchards for one month under less then optimal conditions.
Since the flyspeck fungus overwinters outside the orchard, there is not a huge risk of fruit infections until border row host plants begin producing second generation spores (conidia). This generally occurs at approximately 270 hr of accumulated wetting (hr AW) after petal fall, which usually occurs four to six weeks after petal fall. At this time, secondary spread of flyspeck occurs when conidia produced by non-orchard hosts are blown into apple orchards, causing the majority of infections that appear on fruit during the late summer. In orchards where fungicide protection is discontinued in early June, flyspeck infection on fruit becomes visible around 540 hr-accumulated wetting hours after petal fall (AWPF) when another generation of flyspeck is completed. Flyspeck also appears in September or October in orchards that have received summer sprays. In these cases, late summer rains often remove fungicide protection allowing fruit infection to occur prior to harvest. In these late season infections, flyspeck can suddenly appear on a high proportion of fruit within a few days.

Monitoring and management

Beginning at mid season through to harvest, monitor 25 fruit in the interior canopy of 10 randomly selected trees. Symptoms are more likely found in poorly-pruned trees in the wetter, foggy, slow-drying areas of the orchard. First symptoms usually appear by early to mid July. Apply fungicides if infections are observed. The presence of these diseases is an indication that fungicide surface residues are lacking or very low. There are no thresholds for either of these diseases.

The development of flyspeck is highly dependent on the microclimate surrounding the fruit, so be sure to undertake practices that facilitate drying of the trees and fruit. The most important practice for reducing damage by these diseases is proper pruning to maintain an open tree canopy. Researchers have shown that summer pruning reduces the incidence of flyspeck by almost 50% in unsprayed orchards. Thinning clustered fruit and summer pruning help promote better air circulation and improve coverage of fungicides. Removing alternate hosts, especially brambles from the orchard and surrounding hedgerows, helps reduce inoculum.

Both flyspeck and sooty blotch are controlled with most of the fungicides that are effective for apple scab. In Ontario and the northeastern United States, fungicides applied to apples from mid June through August provide subsequent control of flyspeck and sooty blotch. In wet seasons, four or five summer fungicide applications may be needed to control these diseases, while only two to three well-timed applications may be needed in dry years. Omitting summer fungicide applications may result in the appearance of flyspeck infections on fruit prior to harvest. Fruit can be vulnerable to these infections in orchards where fungicide programs are discontinued in early June (after the end of primary infection season for apple scab) and symptoms occur around 540 hr-AWPF. In orchards receiving summer fungicide sprays, flyspeck usually appears in September or October. These late season infections usually develop after late summer rains remove fungicide residues, leaving fruit vulnerable to infection prior to harvest. During these conditions, flyspeck can appear suddenly on a high proportion of fruit within a few days. As a result, re-apply fungicides in late August or September if more than 5 cm of rain have occurred since the last application. This is especially important in orchards adjacent to hedgerows for woodlots providing abundant inoculum. The safest approach to prevent flyspeck is protecting apple fruit with fungicides throughout the summer, recognizing that conidia infects fruit at any time after trees are exposed to 270 hr of accumulated wetting counting from petal fall. Coverage is essential for the efficacy of late summer fungicide sprays so travel speed, water volume and using a surfactant to enhance wetting are important. Research suggests fungicides applied in early summer do not eradicate pre-existing infections, and those infections can resume growing and become visible on the fruit in September when the fungicide residues are depleted.

Sooty blotch

Until recently, sooty blotch was believed to be caused by the fungus Gloeodes pomigena, but recent research suggests it is a complex of three different fungi including Peltaster fruiticola, Leptodontium elatuius and Geastrumia polystigmatis.

Symptoms

Sooty blotch appears as brown to olive green, cloudy blotches, with irregular margins on the surface of the apple skin. These are variable in size, and coalesce to cover large areas of the fruit (Figure 4-137). The blotches remove with vigorous rubbing. Do not confuse sooty blotch with sooty mold.

Figure 4-137. Sooty blotch on fruit

Figure 4-137. Sooty blotch on fruit

Sooty mold is caused by the visible growth of saprophytic species of fungi, which grow on the sticky, sugary honeydew excreted by aphids or other sucking insects. Sooty mold also grows on leaves and twigs, or wherever honeydew has fallen. Sooty blotch appears only on the fruit. Sooty mold can be removed much more easily from the surface of the apple than sooty blotch. If the sooty blotches on the skin are extensive, the market value of fruit is downgraded from fresh market to processing or juice quality. In storage, fruit with severe infections of sooty blotch shrivel more readily than uninfected fruit. Losses of 25% or more occur in wet seasons, even with fungicide use. Although the diseases occur separately, they are commonly found together on the same fruit. Typically fruit symptoms are observed by the first of July and become more obvious as the season progresses. Cultivars do not vary in their susceptibility to this disease.

Symptoms are more obvious on yellow or light coloured fruit. Fruit with thick cuticle seems to be more severely affected than other fruit.

Biology

Spores of the sooty blotch fungus overwinter as fruiting bodies on infected twigs of apple trees and other woody plants in hedgerows and woodlots including brambles (blackberry and raspberry), oaks, maple, ash, elm, grape, tulip tree and many others. Spores are dispersed from infected twigs by splashing rain in the spring and early summer, and begin causing fruit infections about two to three weeks after petal fall. First symptoms are usually apparent 20-25 days after infection, but can appear in 8-12 days under optimal conditions. Symptoms are usually more common and severe by late summer or early fall. While most primary spores are dispersed by early summer, the disease can spread extensively throughout the season by secondary infections caused by conidia. Optimum temperature for germination of conidia of P. fruiticola is 12-24°C and 12-32°C for L. elatius at a relative humidity of 95%. Production of conidia for both fungi is greatest when humidity exceeds 97%. Growth is very slow and limited at temperatures below 10°C and above 30°C. Sooty blotch appears more frequently during years with cool, wet springs, late summer rains and low temperatures in the early fall. Researchers in Pennsylvania have shown the development of sooty blotch is highly correlated with the amount of rainfall received in July, and to a lesser degree in August and September. In years with cool moist springs, followed by hot summers, sooty blotch may not appear on fruit until close to harvest. Disease outbreaks are often a problem when cool rainy weather in the spring is followed by late summer rains and cool fall temperatures prior to harvest.
Once fungal colonies appear, they spread by raindrops to other fruit, causing further disease development if environmental conditions remain favorable. This disease is most severe in years and orchards where conditions favour early disease development followed by extensive secondary spread. Sometimes infections not apparent at harvest will finish their development during long periods of cold storage when relative humidity is near 100%.

Flyspeck and sooty blotch are caused by very slow-growing fungi. Both have the ability to go dormant during unfavourable weather conditions such as hot, dry weather, and then continue development when favourable conditions return. This means symptoms of sooty blotch and flyspeck appear most often during the harvest season, even though infections may have taken place much earlier.

Monitoring and management

Beginning mid season, through to harvest, monitor 25 fruit in the interior canopy of 10 randomly selected trees. Symptoms are more likely found in poorly pruned trees in the wetter, foggy, slow-drying areas of the orchard. First symptoms usually appear early to mid July. Apply fungicides if infections are observed. The presence of these diseases is an indication that fungicide surface residues are lacking or very low.
Use cultural practices that facilitate drying of the trees and fruit to reduce sooty blotch.These practices are listed under the flyspeck section. Fungicide programs aimed at managing flyspeck provide subsequent control of sooty blotch.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 21 July 2011
Last Reviewed: 21 July 2011

La moucheture et les taches de suie

Extrait du Publication 310F, Lutte intégrée contre les ennemis du pommier,
Pour commander la publication

Table des matières

  1. Maladies d'été
  2. Moucheture
  3. Taches de suie

 

Maladies d'été

Les taches de suie et la moucheture sont deux maladies d'été qui se manifestent sur les fruits du milieu de l'été à la cueillette. Ces maladies sont présentes dans toutes les régions pomicoles de l'est de l'Amérique du Nord et y causent les dommages les plus lourds dans les régions du centre et du sud. On aperçoit parfois des mouchetures et des taches de suie sur les pommes des vergers commerciaux de l'Ontario. Ces maladies sont plus problématiques depuis quelques années, surtout les étés secs lorsque les producteurs réduisent les pulvérisations de fongicides contre la tavelure.

Les symptômes des deux maladies se manifestent souvent simultanément. Les champignons responsables des taches de suie et de la moucheture hivernent sur des pousses mortes de nombreuses espèces ligneuses, dont celles des pommiers ainsi que les cannes des framboisiers et des mûriers sauvages. Les agents responsables des deux maladies sont favorisés par des températures modérées, de forts taux d'humidité et des pluies abondantes. Il doit y avoir de l'eau libre à la surface du fruit pour que les infections se produisent. Les deux champignons ne prolifèrent qu'à la surface des fruits; ils n'endommagent pas la chair.

Moucheture

Cette maladie, la plus fréquente des deux maladies d'été, est causée par le champignon Schizothyrium pomi (= Zygophiala jamaicensis).

Symptômes

Dans les vergers commerciaux de l'Ontario, les fruits sont en règle générale plus souvent atteints de la moucheture que des taches de suie et ce, probablement parce que des résidus de fongicides plus faibles suffisent à maîtriser efficacement les taches de suie. La moucheture se présente comme de petits points noirs, luisants et nettement définis, d'environ 0,5 mm de diamètre, réunis par petits groupes qui en comptent quelques-uns ou de nombreux à la surface du fruit (figure 4-136). Ce sont des organes de fructification appelés thyriothecia, qui, même s'ils paraissent distincts les uns des autres, sont en fait reliés par un mycélium de manière à former des colonies. Les colonies n'ont pas toutes la même taille, mais elles sont habituellement de forme ronde ou irrégulière et mesurent de 1-3 cm de diamètre.

Les symptômes de la moucheture peuvent être confondus avec des excréments d'insectes, particulièrement ceux de la cicadelle blanche du pommier. Les excréments ont toutefois tendance à être moins bien définis et se détachent plus facilement, surtout si on les frotte avec un linge mouillé.

Figure 4-136. Symptômes de la moucheture sur une pomme.

Figure 4-136. Symptômes de la moucheture sur une pomme.

Cycle biologique

Le champignon responsable de la moucheture hiverne à l'état de thyriothèces sur des pousses de pommiers, des pommes de rebut et sur de nombreux hôtes sauvages dont les ronces, les chênes et les érables. Les ascospores à maturité sont libérées durant des périodes de pluie, pendant une période de un mois ou deux précédant la floraison. Des conditions douces et pluvieuses ou humides (humidité relative supérieure à 96 %) sont propices à la propagation de la maladie. En laboratoire, les conidies germent entre 8 et 24 °C et les colonies se forment entre 12 et 24 °C. Les symptômes apparaissent de 10 à 12 jours après l'infection si les conditions sont optimales, mais peuvent n'apparaître qu'un mois après l'infection si les conditions sont moins qu'optimales.

Étant donné que le champignon responsable de la moucheture hiverne à l'extérieur du verger, les risques d'infection des fruits ne sont pas très grands tant que les plantes hôtes vivant dans les rangées périmétriques ne commencent à produire des spores de deuxième génération (conidies). La production des conidies survient généralement au terme d'environ 270 heures de mouillage accumulées après le calice, ce qui correspond habituellement à une période de quatre à six semaines après le calice. La production, par des hôtes vivant hors des limites du verger, de conidies qui sont soufflées par le vent vers les pommiers donne alors lieu à une seconde vague d'infections responsable de l'apparition de la moucheture vers la fin de l'été. Dans les vergers où l'on cesse les pulvérisations de fongicides au début de juin, les infections par les champignons responsables de la moucheture deviennent visibles après environ 540 heures de mouillage accumulées après le calice, alors qu'une autre génération de champignons est parvenue à maturité. La moucheture se manifeste aussi en septembre et en octobre dans les vergers qui ont fait l'objet de pulvérisations durant l'été. Il arrive alors que les pluies de fin d'été emportent les fongicides protecteurs, ce qui ouvre la voie aux infections des fruits avant la cueillette. Dans le cas de ces infections de fin de saison, la moucheture peut, en l'espace de quelques jours, apparaître soudainement sur une grande proportion des fruits.

Surveillance et lutte

Du début de la saison jusqu'à la cueillette, inspecter sur chacun de dix pommiers choisis au hasard, vingt-cinq fruits situés à l'intérieur de la frondaison. Il est plus probable de trouver des symptômes sur les fruits de pommiers mal élagués dans les parties du verger où l'assèchement est lent, où le brouillard se dissipe lentement et où l'eau séjourne plus longtemps. Les premiers symptômes apparaissent habituellement entre le début et le milieu de juillet. Appliquer des fongicides si des infections sont observées. La présence de ces maladies est un indice que les résidus de fongicides à la surface des fruits sont absents ou insuffisants. Aucun seuil d'intervention n'a été établi pour ces maladies.

Comme l'apparition de la moucheture est étroitement liée au microclimat entourant le fruit, s'assurer de tout mettre en œuvre pour favoriser l'assèchement des pommiers et des fruits. Le meilleur moyen de faire échec à ces maladies est de bien tailler les pommiers en visant à maintenir la frondaison ouverte. Des chercheurs ont montré qu'un élagage effectué durant l'été réduit d'environ 50 % l'incidence de la moucheture dans les vergers non traités. En éclaircissant les bouquets de fruits et en élaguant les pommiers durant l'été, on améliore la circulation d'air et on favorise un bon recouvrement par les fongicides. Le fait de débarrasser le verger et les haies naturelles qui l'entourent des hôtes intermédiaires, surtout des ronces, contribue à réduire l'inoculum.

La plupart des fongicides efficaces contre la tavelure maîtrisent aussi la moucheture et les taches de suie. En Ontario et dans le nord-est des États-Unis, les traitements fongicides effectués entre la mi-juin et la fin août protègent par la suite la culture de ces deux maladies. Lors des saisons pluvieuses, quatre ou cinq traitements fongicides peuvent être nécessaires, tandis que seulement deux ou trois traitements effectués au bon moment peuvent suffire les années sèches. L'absence de traitements fongicides durant l'été peut provoquer l'apparition d'infections par la moucheture sur les fruits avant la cueillette. Les fruits peuvent être sensibles à ces infections dans les vergers où l'on met fin aux pulvérisations de fongicides au début juin (après la période des infections primaires par la tavelure); les symptômes se manifestent alors après environ 540 heures de mouillage accumulées après le calice. Dans les vergers faisant l'objet de traitements fongicides durant l'été, la moucheture apparaît habituellement en septembre ou octobre. Ces infections de fin de saison se déclenchent en règle générale une fois que les pluies de fin d'été ont lavé les résidus de fongicides qui protégeaient les fruits, laissant ceux-ci en proie aux infections avant la cueillette. Quand cela se produit, la moucheture peut apparaître soudainement, en l'espace de quelques jours, sur un fort pourcentage de fruits. Par conséquent, il est recommandé de faire des traitements fongicides à la fin d'août ou en septembre, s'il est tombé plus de 5 cm de pluie après la dernière pulvérisation. Cette précaution est particulièrement importante dans les vergers adjacents à des haies ou à des boisés où l'inoculum est abondant. Le moyen le plus sûr de prévenir la moucheture est de protéger les pommes à l'aide de fongicides durant l'été, de reconnaître que les conidies infectent les fruits en tout temps dès que les pommiers ont été exposés à 270 heures de mouillage accumulées après le calice. Afin d'assurer le taux de recouvrement indispensable à l'efficacité des traitements fongicides de fin d'été, bien régler la vitesse d'avancement du pulvérisateur, utiliser le bon volume d'eau et ajouter un surfactant afin de bien mouiller le feuillage. Des recherches donnent à croire que les fongicides appliqués au début de l'été n'enraient pas les infections préexistantes. Par conséquent, celles-ci peuvent se déclarer à nouveau et se manifester en septembre sur les fruits qui ne sont plus protégés par des résidus de fongicides.

Taches de suie

Jusqu'à récemment, les taches de suie étaient attribuées au champignon Gloeodes pomigena, mais des chercheurs suggèrent depuis peu qu'elles seraient plutôt le fait de trois champignons différents, Peltaster fruiticola, Leptodontium elatuius et Geastrumia polystigmatis.

Symptômes

Les taches de suie se présentent comme des taches diffuses allant du brun au vert olive aux contours irréguliers sur la peau de la pomme. Ces taches, de dimensions variables, s'étendent et se rejoignent pour finalement couvrir de grandes parties du fruit (figure 4-137). Les taches de suie se détachent si on les gratte vigoureusement. Ne pas confondre tache de suie et fumagine

Figure 4-137. Taches de suie sur un fruit.

Figure 4-137. Taches de suie sur un fruit.

La fumagine résulte de la prolifération d'espèces de champignons saprophytes qui tirent les substances qui leur sont nécessaires du miellat collant et sucré excrété par des insectes suceurs, dont les pucerons. La fumagine se développe non seulement sur les fruits, mais aussi sur les feuilles, les pousses ou tout tissu maculé de miellat. Les taches de suie n'apparaissent quant à elles que sur les fruits. La fumagine se détache beaucoup plus facilement de la surface des pommes que les taches de suie. Si les taches de suie ont laissé de nombreuses marques sur la peau des pommes, celles-ci ne pourront pas être écoulées sur le marché du frais. Elles seront déclassées comme pommes de transformation ou à jus. En entrepôt, les fruits lourdement infectés par les taches de suie se rident plus rapidement que les fruits sains. Au cours des saisons pluvieuses, les pertes peuvent atteindre 25 % ou plus, malgré l'utilisation de fongicides. Même si ces deux maladies apparaissent indépendamment l'une de l'autre, il n'est pas rare qu'un même fruit soit infecté par l'une et l'autre. En règle générale, les symptômes sur les fruits sont constatés avant le 1er juillet et s'accentuent au fur et à mesure que la saison progresse. Les cultivars sont tous également sensibles à cette maladie. Les symptômes sont toutefois plus apparents sur les fruits à peau jaune ou à peau claire. Les fruits qui possèdent une cuticule épaisse semblent être plus gravement touchés que les autres.

Cycle biologique

Les spores des champignons responsables des taches de suie hivernent sous forme d'organes de fructification sur les pousses infectées de pommiers et de nombreuses autres espèces de plantes ligneuses vivant dans les haies naturelles et les boisés, notamment sur des ronces (mûriers et framboisiers), chênes, érables, frênes, ormes, vignes, tulipiers, etc. Les spores sont disséminées depuis les pousses infectées par les éclaboussures de pluie au printemps et au début de l'été, et commencent à provoquer des infections environ deux ou trois semaines après le calice. Les premiers symptômes apparaissent habituellement 20-25 jours après l'infection, mais peuvent aussi apparaître sitôt que 8-12 jours après l'infection sous des conditions optimales à la maladie. Les symptômes sont habituellement plus courants et plus graves à partir de la fin de l'été et du début de l'automne. Même si la plupart des spores responsables des infections primaires sont disséminées au début de l'été, la maladie peut se propager beaucoup durant la saison, en raison des infections secondaires provoquées par les conidies. Les températures optimales pour la germination des conidies sont de 12-24 °C pour P. fruiticola et de 12-32 °C pour L. elatius, lorsque l'humidité relative est de 95 %. Dans le cas des deux champignons, la production de conidies est maximale quand l'humidité dépasse 97 %. À des températures inférieures à 10 °C et supérieures à 30 °C, la prolifération est très lente et limitée. Les taches de suie sont plus souvent observées les années où le printemps a été frais et pluvieux, où la fin de l'été a été pluvieuse et où le début de l'automne a été frais. Selon des chercheurs de la Pennsylvanie, l'apparition des taches de suie est très étroitement liée à la quantité de pluie tombée en juillet et, dans une moindre mesure, en août et en septembre. Les années où le printemps est frais et pluvieux, puis suivi d'un été très chaud, il arrive que les taches de suie n'apparaissent que tout près de la cueillette. Souvent, des foyers de taches de suie se déclarent lorsqu'à un printemps frais et pluvieux succède une fin d'été pluvieuse et des températures d'automne fraîches juste avant la cueillette.

Une fois que les colonies apparaissent, la maladie se propage par les gouttes de pluie qui tombent sur d'autres fruits et progresse ainsi tant que les conditions météorologiques restent favorables. Cette maladie est plus grave les années et dans les vergers où les conditions favorisent le déclenchement de la maladie en début de saison, puis les infections secondaires par la suite. Il arrive que des infections qui ne sont pas apparentes à la cueillette donnent lieu à des lésions lorsque les pommes sont entreposées durant de longues périodes à des taux d'humidité relative frôlant les 100 %.
La moucheture et les taches de suie sont causées par des champignons qui prolifèrent très lentement et qui peuvent entrer en dormance quand les conditions météorologiques ne leur sont pas favorables, notamment quand le temps est très chaud et sec. Ils poursuivent par la suite leur développement quand les conditions redeviennent favorables. Cela signifie que les symptômes de ces maladies se manifestent le plus souvent autour de la cueillette, même si les infections se sont en fait déclarées beaucoup plus tôt.

Surveillance et lutte

Du milieu de la saison de croissance jusqu'à la cueillette, examiner vingt-cinq fruits provenant de l'intérieur de la frondaison sur chacun de dix pommiers choisis au hasard. Les probabilités de découvrir des symptômes sont plus grandes sur les pommiers mal taillés, situés dans les parties du verger les plus humides, où les brouillards sont les plus denses et où l'assèchement est lent. Les premiers symptômes apparaissent habituellement du début au milieu de juillet. Appliquer des fongicides si des infections sont constatées. La présence de ces maladies est un indice que les résidus de fongicides à la surface des fruits sont absents ou insuffisants.
Pour réduire l'incidence des taches de suie, mettre en place des pratiques culturales qui facilitent l'assèchement du feuillage et des fruits; voir les pratiques recommandées sous la rubrique Moucheture. Les traitements fongicides dirigés contre la moucheture procurent par la suite une maîtrise des taches de suie.


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 21 juillet 2011
Dernière révision : 21 juillet 2011

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca