Weeds Act - Frequently Asked Questions

Table of Contents

What recent changes have been made to the Schedule of Noxious Weeds?

Effective January 1, 2015, the following plants are being added to the Schedule of Noxious Weeds. Adding these weeds to the Schedule of Noxious Weeds will provide another tool for weed inspectors to control these non-native plants to minimize interference with agriculture or horticulture.

  • Smooth bedstraw
  • Wild chervil
  • Common crupina
  • Jointed goatgrass
  • Kudzu
  • Wild parsnip
  • Serrated tussock
  • Tansy ragwort
  • Woolly cupgrass

Effective January 1, 2015, the following plants are being removed from the Schedule of Noxious Weeds.

  • Goat's beard spp.
  • Nodding thistle spp.
  • Scotch thistle
  • Wild carrot
  • Johnson grass
  • Black-seeded proso millet
  • Yellow rocket
  • Russian thistle
  • Tuberous vetchling

Please refer to OMAFRA Publication 75, Guide to Weed Control for information on management strategies for various weeds including noxious weeds.

Why is this change being made?

Nine weed species are being removed from the Schedule. Some of these species are considered a food source for pollinators, such as bees (e.g., wild carrot, goat's-beard, scotch thistle, nodding thistle, yellow rocket, and tuberous vetchling). These and other species that are being removed from the Schedule are no longer considered significant threats to agricultural or horticultural production and can be managed through modern management practices.

Nine weed species are also being added to the Schedule. This is to address the issue of new and emerging weed species of concern and to provide another tool for weed inspectors to control these non-native plants to minimize interference with agriculture or horticulture.

What do I need to do?

If you are in possession of one of the weeds on the Schedule of Noxious Weeds and it is negatively impacting agriculture and horticulture lands then you must destroy it. If you feel that your agricultural or horticultural land is being negatively impacted by noxious weeds, contact your local Weed Inspector.

Your local municipality, region, district or county can provide you with contact information for the Weed Inspector for your area. Alternatively you can call the Agricultural Information Contact Centre at 1-877-424-1300 and they can provide you with a contact.

Where do I get more information

A list of all weeds designated as noxious under the Weed Control Act can be found in Regulation 1096, below and on the Ministry's website (*Please note that this list will be in effect from January 1, 2015 onwards).

OMAFRA's Ontario weed gallery provides pictures, descriptions and lots of information, including habitat and species information on over 170 weeds. OMAFRA's Publication 75, Guide to Weed Control provides information on management strategies for various weeds including noxious weeds.

How do I contact my local area or municipal weed inspector?

Your local municipality, region, district or county can provide you with contact information for the Weed Inspector for your area. Alternatively you can call the Agricultural Information Contact Centre at 1-877-424-1300 and they can provide you with a contact.

Why does Ontario have the Weed Control Act?

The intent of the Weed Control Act is to reduce:

  1. The infestation of noxious weeds that negatively impact on agriculture and horticulture lands.
  2. Plant diseases by eliminating plant disease hosts such as common barberry and European buckthorn.
  3. Health hazards to livestock and agricultural workers caused by poisonous plants.

What is a noxious weed?

A noxious weed includes a plant that has been listed in the Schedule of Noxious Weeds found in Regulation 1096 made under the Weed Control Act. This list is commonly referred to as the "Noxious Weed List". The council of the municipality may, subject to the approval of the Minister, designate additional plants as local weeds through a by-law made in accordance with section 10 of the Weed Control Act. These local weeds are deemed to be noxious weeds in the area where the by-law applies.

In general, a species designated as a noxious weed under the Weed Control Act is one that:

  • Is difficult to manage on agricultural land once established and will reduce the yield and quality of the crop being grown;
  • Negatively affects the health and well-being of livestock; or
  • Poses a risk to the health and well-being of agricultural workers.

In Ontario, 25 weeds are designated as noxious under the Weed Control Act. A list of these weeds can be found below and on the Ministry's website (*Please note that this list will be in effect from January 1, 2015 onwards).

Noxious Weeds in Ontario effective January 1, 2015

*Please note that this list will be in effect from January 1, 2015 onwards.

  1. Black Dog-Strangling Vine
  2. Common Crupina
  3. Dog-Strangling Vine
  4. Jointed Goatgrass
  5. Kudzu
  6. Serrated Tussock
  7. Smooth Bedstraw
  8. Tansy Ragwort
  9. Wild Chervil
  10. Wild Parsnip
  11. Woolly Cupgrass

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
Local: (519) 826-4047
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 22 March 2005
Last Reviewed: 01 December 2014

Loi sur la destruction des mauvaises herbes - Foire aux questions

Table des matières

Quelles sont les modifications apportées récemment à la Liste des mauvaises herbes nuisibles?

À compter du 1er janvier 2015, les plantes suivantes sont ajoutées à la Liste des mauvaises herbes nuisibles. L'ajout de ces mauvaises herbes à la Liste des mauvaises herbes nuisibles donnera aux inspecteurs des mauvaises herbes un autre outil pour lutter contre ces plantes non indigènes afin de réduire leur nuisance en agriculture ou horticulture.

  • Gaillet mollugine
  • Anthrisques des bois
  • Centaurée condrilloïde
  • Éjilope cylindrique
  • Kudzu
  • Panais sauvage
  • Stipe à feuilles dentées
  • Séneçon jacobé
  • Ériochloé velue

À compter du 1er janvier 2015, les plantes suivantes sont retirées de la Liste des mauvaises herbes nuisibles.

  • Salsifis
  • Chardon poulet
  • Acanthe sauvage
  • Carotte sauvage
  • Sorgho d'Alep
  • Millet commun (à graines noires)
  • Berbéris vulgaire
  • Chardon de Russie
  • Gesse tubéreuse

Veuillez vous reporter à la Publication 75 du MAARO, Guide de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes pour en savoir plus sur les stratégies de lutte contre les diverses mauvaises herbes, y compris les mauvaises herbes nuisibles.

Pourquoi ces changements?

Nous retirons de la Liste neuf espèces de mauvaises herbes. Certaines de ces espèces sont considérées comme une source d'aliments pour les pollinisateurs, notamment les abeilles (p. ex. carotte sauvage, salsifis, acanthe sauvage, chardon penché, barbarée vulgaire et gesse tubéreuse). Ces espèces, ainsi que d'autres qui sont retirées de la Liste, ne sont plus considérées comme des menaces importantes pour l'agriculture ou l'horticulture et leur répression peut se faire à l'aide des pratiques modernes de lutte.

Nous ajoutons aussi neuf espèces de mauvaises herbes à cette Liste. Le but est de lutter contre les espèces de mauvaises herbes nouvelles ou en progression qui sont préoccupantes et d'offrir un autre outil aux inspecteurs des mauvaises herbes pour lutter contre ces plantes non indigènes et réduire leur nuisance en agriculture ou en horticulture.

Que dois-je savoir?

Si vous êtes en possession de l'une des mauvaises herbes inscrites à la Liste des mauvaises herbes nuisibles et que cela affecte vos terres et horticoles ou agricoles, vous devez la détruire. Si vous estimez que des mauvaises nuisibles ont des conséquences fâcheuses sur vos terres agricoles ou horticoles, communiquez avec votre inspecteur local des mauvaises herbes.

La municipalité locale, la région, le district ou le comté peut vous fournir les coordonnées de l'inspecteur des mauvaises herbes de votre secteur. Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec le Centre d'information agricole au 1-877-424-1300, qui pourra vous communiquer les coordonnées d'une personne-ressource.

Où puis-je obtenir plus de renseignements?

La liste de toutes les mauvaises herbes désignées nuisibles en vertu de la Loi sur la destruction des mauvaises herbes se trouve au Règlement 1096, ainsi que ci-dessous et sur le site Web du Ministère. (*À remarquer que la liste sera en vigueur à compter du 1er janvier 2015.)

Vous trouverez dans la galerie des mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario du MAAARO des illustrations, descriptions et beaucoup de renseignements, notamment sur l'habitat, et des renseignements sur plus de 170 espèces mauvaises herbes. La Publication 75 du MAAARO, Guide de la lutte contre les mauvaises herbes contient des renseignements sur les stratégies de lutte contre diverses mauvaises herbes, y compris les mauvaises herbes nuisibles.

Comment communiquer avec l'inspecteur des mauvaises herbes de votre secteur ou municipalité?

La municipalité locale, la région, le district ou le comté peut vous fournir les coordonnées de l'inspecteur des mauvaises herbes de votre secteur. Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec le Centre d'information agricole au 1-877-424-1300, qui pourra vous communiquer les coordonnées d'une personne-ressource.

Pourquoi une Loi sur la destruction des mauvaises herbes en Ontario?

La Loi sur la destruction des mauvaises herbes vise à réduire :

  1. L'infestation de mauvaises herbes qui nuisent aux terres agricoles et horticoles.
  2. Les maladies des plantes en éliminant les hôtes de maladie des plantes, par exemple le berbéris vulgaire et l'épine noire.
  3. Les risques que les plantes toxiques posent au bétail et aux travailleurs agricoles.

Qu'entend-on par mauvaise herbe nuisible?

On appelle mauvaise herbe nuisible une plante inscrite à la Liste des mauvaises herbes nuisibles du Règlement 1096 pris en vertu de la Loi sur la destruction des mauvaises herbes. On appelle cette annexe " Liste des mauvaises herbes nuisibles ". Un conseil municipal peut, moyennant l'approbation du ministre, ajouter des plantes locales à titre de " mauvaises herbes locales " par voie de règlement municipal pris en vertu de l'article 10 de la Loi sur la destruction des mauvaises herbes. Ces mauvaises herbes locales sont alors réputées être des mauvaises herbes nuisibles dans la région visée par le règlement municipal.

En règle générale, une espèce désignée comme mauvaise herbe nuisible en vertu de la Loi sur la destruction des mauvaises herbes répond aux critères suivants :

  • elle est difficile à maîtriser lorsqu'elle s'est établie dans un champ cultivé et elle réduit le rendement et la qualité de la culture touchée;
  • elle nuit à la santé et au bien-être du bétail;
  • elle pose un risque pour la santé et le bien-être des travailleurs agricoles.
En Ontario, 25 mauvaises herbes sont désignées nuisibles en vertu de la Loi sur la destruction des mauvaises herbes. Vous trouverez une liste de ces mauvaises herbes ci-après et sur le site Web du Ministère (à remarquer que la liste sera en vigueur à compter du 1er janvier 2015).

Mauvaises herbes nuisibles en Ontario, liste en vigueur dès le 1er janvier 2015

*À noter que cette liste sera en vigueur du 1er janvier 2015.

  1. Dompte-venin noir
  2. Berbéris vulgaire " Berbéris vulgaire
  3. Cuprine vulgaire
  4. Dompte-venin de Russie
  5. Égilope cylindrique
  6. Kudzu
  7. Stipe à feuilles dentées
  8. Gaillet mollugine
  9. Séneçon jacobée
  10. Anthrisque des bois
  11. Panais sauvage
  12. Ériochloé velue


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 17 juillet 2007
Dernière révision : 01 décembre 2014

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca