Euonymus Scale, Unaspis euonymi (Comstock), in the Nursery and Landscape

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Host Plants
  3. Symptoms
  4. Description
  5. Life Cycle
  6. Control
  7. Euonymus kiantschovicus
  8. Related Links

Introduction

Euonymus scale has become a concern in many landscapes. Scales are insects. Generally, they can be described as small bumps which can be easily scraped away. They are often found on trunks, twigs and branches. Scales have three stages of development: egg, nymph or crawler stage, and adult stage. As a nymph, the scale is mobile, crawling around looking for new places to feed. When mature, it produces a protective covering over its body. The adult scale is immobile. Scales can be divided in to two groups:

  • armoured scales with a hard shell-like covering and
  • soft scales which are usually bare or enclosed in a waxy or cottony covering.

Euonymus scale is a hard or armoured scale.

Scales injure plants by sucking on plant juices. High populations of scales reduce plant vigour, cause leaf drop and eventual plant death.

Host Plants

Euonymus spp., especially

  • E. fortunei, wintercreeper euonymus;
  • Buxus, boxwood;
  • Celastrus scandens, bittersweet;
  • Hedera helix, english ivy;
  • Ilex, holly;
  • Ligustrum, privet;
  • Lonicera, honeysuckle;
  • Paxistima canbyi; and
  • Pachysandra terminalis.

Symptoms

Examine leaves in June and July for feeding or sucking injury. It appears as small yellowish or whitish spots along the main vein of the leaf. Look at the underside of the leaf to see scales. Twigs may be covered with small, greyish-white bumps which can be easily scraped off with the thumb nail. Leaf drop and plant death can occur. Plants near buildings tend to be more prone to attack. These are areas of poor air circulation, high temperatures, and low soil moisture.

Description

The greyish adult female scale, about 2 mm long, looks like an oyster shell. The male is smaller, narrower and white. It is the male that gives the branches its white appearance when populations are high. The nymph or crawler is orange - yellow in colour.

Life Cycle

Euonymus scales overwinter as mature, fertilized females. In the early spring, eggs are laid underneath the protective scale. Eggs hatch late May to early June over a period of 2 - 3 weeks. Crawlers migrate to the leaves to feed. They may also be blown by the wind to other susceptible host plants. There can be a second generation in mid July.

Control

Where possible prune out and destroy infested branches or plants before crawlers emerge.

When planning a chemical control program for scales, remember that insecticides will not penetrate the shell or protective scale once it has formed. Strategies must be aimed at the overwintering adult and the crawler.

Dormant oils will provide good control for the overwintering female scales. In order to be effective, the oils should be applied in a large volume of water. Stems must be thoroughly covered in order to suffocate the overwintering adults. Using oils may burn leaves on broad-leaved euonymus selections.

Crawlers hatch over two to three weeks. To monitor for crawlers, wrap black electrical tape, with the sticky surface facing out, around the twig. The tape should be placed on the twig above the overwintering females. Crawlers will stick to the tape as they migrate to feeding sites. Begin looking and treating for crawlers about the time Syringa reticulata, Japanese tree lilac and Catalpa speciosa, northern catalpa are in early bloom. Monitor for a second generation around mid-July. Contact or systemic insecticides will provide the best control. Four sprays, applied 10 to 12 days apart as the crawlers begin to emerge, may be necessary.

For recommended chemical controls order OMAFRA Publication 840, Crop Protection Guide for Nursery and Landscape Plants.

Always read the Label!

Euonymus kiantschovicus

Euonymus kiantschovicus, spreading euonymus, is reported to be resistant to euonymus scale. However, its hardiness is restricted to the shores of the Lakes Ontario and Erie. It can experience winter burn and generally has an untidy appearance.

Related Links


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Christoph Kessel - Nutrition Horticulture Program Lead/OMAFRA
Creation Date: February 1998
Last Reviewed: July 2003

Kermès euonymus, Unaspis euonymi (Comstock), dans les pépinières et les aménagements paysagers

Série pépiniéristes - paysagistes, MAAO

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Plantes-hôtes
  3. Symptômes
  4. Description
  5. Cycle biologique
  6. Lutte

Introduction

Le kermès euonymus est devenu un ravageur préoccupant dans de nombreux aménagements paysagers. Il s'agit d'un insecte apparenté aux cochenilles qui se présente comme une petite protubérance qu'on enlève facilement en grattant. On en trouve sur les troncs, les rameaux et les branches. Les kermès ont trois stades de croissance : stade de l'oeuf, stade nymphal et stade adulte. Au stade nymphal, le kermès est mobile et rampe pour trouver de nouveaux endroits où se nourrir. Il perd sa mobilité au stade adulte. Le kermès fait partie des cochenilles à corps dur, si bien qu'à maturité, son corps se recouvre d'un bouclier protecteur. On sait qu'il existe aussi des cochenilles à corps mou qui ne bénéficient d'aucune protection, si ce n'est, parfois, d'une enveloppe de cire ou de filaments.

Les kermès endommagent les plantes par leurs pièces buccales de type suceur dont ils se servent pour se nourrir de sève. En grand nombre, les kermès font perdre de la vigueur aux plantes, leur font perdre leurs feuilles et finissent par les faire mourir.

Plantes-hôtes

Euonymus spp. surtout

  • E. fortunei, fusain de fortune
  • Baxus, buis
  • Celastrus scandens, bourreau-des-arbres
  • Hedera helix, lierre
  • Ilex, houx
  • Ligustrum, troène
  • Lonicera, chèvrefeuille
  • Paxistima canbyi et
  • Pachysandra terminalis

| Haut de la page |

Symptômes

Examiner les feuilles en juin et juillet à la recherche de lésions causées par l'alimentation des kermès. Celles-ci ont l'apparence de taches jaunâtres ou blanchâtres le long de la nervure médiane de la feuille. Observer le revers de la feuille à la recherche de kermès. Il arrive que les rameaux soient couverts de petites protubérances d'un blanc grisâtre qu'on peut gratter facilement avec l'ongle du pouce. Les feuilles peuvent tomber, entraînant parfois la mort du plant. Les plants situés aux abords de bâtiments ont tendance à être plus vulnérables aux attaques des kermès, probablement en raison d'une mauvaise circulation d'air, de températures élevées et d'un faible taux d'humidité dans le sol.

Description

Le kermès femelle adulte est gris et mesure environ 2 mm de long. Il ressemble à une coquille d'huître. Le mâle est plus petit, plus étroit et blanc. C'est le mâle qui donne aux branches leur apparence blanche lorsque les populations sont élevées. Les nymphes, qui sont mobiles, sont de teinte jaune-orangé.

Cycle biologique

Les femelles à maturité hivernent. Au début du printemps, elles déposent leurs oeufs sous leur carapace protectrice. Les oeufs éclosent vers la fin mai et le début juin sur une période de 2­3 semaines. Les nymphes mobiles migrent vers les feuilles pour s'alimenter. Elles peuvent aussi être disséminées par le vent vers d'autres plantes­hôtes sensibles. Il peut y avoir une seconde génération à la mi­juillet.

Lutte

Dans la mesure du possible, élaguer et détruire les branches ou les plants infestés avant que les nymphes mobiles n'émergent.

Lorsqu'on compte recourir à un antiparasitaire, se rappeler que les produits chimiques ne pénètrent pas la carapace ou le bouclier protecteur de ces insectes. Les stratégies de lutte doivent donc viser l'adulte qui hiverne et la nymphe mobile.

Les huiles dormantes offrent une bonne maîtrise des kermès adultes. Pour être efficaces, les huiles doivent être appliquées dans un bon volume d'eau. Il faut que les tiges soient recouvertes complètement afin de permettre la suffocation des adultes en hivernation. L'utilisation d'huiles peut brûler le feuillage des variétés de fusain à feuilles larges.

L'apparition des nymphes mobiles s'étale sur 2 à 3 semaines. Pour surveiller leur évolution, enrouler le rameau de ruban isolant noir, la surface collante vers l'extérieur. Placer le ruban au­dessus des femelles hivernantes. Les nymphes mobiles colleront au ruban au fur et à mesure de leur migration vers leurs sources de nourriture. Commencer à surveiller et à combattre les nymphes mobiles à peu près au moment où le lilas du éapon, Syringa reticulata, et le catalpa élégant, Catalpa speciosa, sont au début de leur floraison. Surveiller l'apparition de la deuxième génération vers la mi­juillet. Les insecticides de contact ou systémiques donnent les résultats les meilleurs. On peut avoir à faire quatre pulvérisations, à 10 ou 12 jours d'intervalles au moment où les nymphes mobiles commencent à émerger.

Pour connaître les méthodes de lutte chimique, consulter la publication 383F du ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario, intitulée Recommandations pour la culture du matériel de pépinière et des plantes paysagères.

Euonymus Kiantschovicus

Le fusain de Kiantschovic, Euonymus Kiantschovicus, serait résistant au kermès euonymus. Cependant, sa rusticité en limite la plantation aux rives des lacs Ontario et Érié. Les brûlures hivernales peuvent détériorer l'apparence de cet arbre.

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Auteur : Christoph Kessel - spécialiste des cultures de pépinière/MAAO.
Date de création : Non disponible
Dernière révision : 25 novembre 2003

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca