Diplodia Tip Dieback of Pines

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Symptoms
  3. Life Cycle
  4. Conditions Favouring Disease
  5. Insects and Diseases Causing Injury to Pine Shoots
  6. Control
  7. Related Links

Introduction

Diplodia tip blight of pines is caused when susceptible plants are infected with the fungus Diplodia pinea. This fungus is also known as Saphaeropsis sapinea. All two and three needle pines are hosts to this disease: This includes Austrian pine (Pinus nigra), Scot's pine (P. sylrestris), mugo pine (P. mugo), ponderosa pine (P. ponderosa), and red pine (P. resinosa).

Pines which are 25 years or older are more susceptible to the disease. Younger trees are more resistant to the disease. However, if younger trees are growing on poor sites or are located close to affected trees, they may become infected.

Pines are more susceptible to D. pinea if they are planted on poor sites (poorly drained, compacted soils or drought soils) and experience root loss either chemically or mechanically, or lack of nutrition. By carefully locating the trees in the landscape and avoiding mass planting of Austrian pines, are the first steps in controlling this disease.

Symptoms

Newly developing candles (shoots) are infected by the fungus and turn brown and stunted. Needles turn brown and fail to elongate. By the end of the summer, shoots are brown and dead. Black pycnidia, or fruiting bodies, can be seen at the base of the needles.

Secondary buds often form at the base of dead shoots. The shoots grow the following spring, producing a "bunchy" growth. This new growth can become infected, depending on the frequency of rains and other environmental factors favouring disease development.

Older shoots and tissues may be infected through wounds, branches can eventually be girdled. The disease usually begins in the lower branches.

Life Cycle of Diplodia

The fungus is present throughout the entire season surviving from year to year on dead needles, twigs, and cones (either on infected trees or on the ground).

The release of spores and infection of susceptible plant tissues may occur at any time between March and October when conditions are favourable. During wet periods in the spring, pycnidia release spores. Pycnidia are the fruiting bodies of the fungus. The spores are scattered by wind, insects, and animals. For a period of two weeks, as the buds begin to open and the candles develop, they are most susceptible to infection.

Once the spores have landed on the newly developing tissue, they germinate quickly, penetrating the needles throughout the stomata. Susceptibility of the developing shoots decreases by the middle of June. Pycnidia erupt through the surface by late summer. Dieback of tips may be seen as early as three weeks after infection.

Since spores can be released from early spring to late autumn by splashing rains, the fungus may develop extensively on second year cones as well as older tissue if wounds are present.

Conditions Favouring Disease

Spores of D. pinea require a high relative humidity to germinate and infect needles and shoots. A wet period of 12 hours at 12 °C to 36 °C is enough for spore germination and infection. In warm, moist weather, symptoms appear in about three to four days. The fungus grows rapidly at about 28 °C. During relatively dry periods, while shoots are elongating, infection levels will be lower.

Insects and Diseases Causing Injury to Pine Shoots

Insects:

White pine weevil Pissodes strobi: Legless grub-like larva found early to mid summer in shoots; top whorl of shoots withers resembling a shepherd's crook, turns red; pith is not mined; adult feeding is indicated by small glistening drops of resin on leaders in spring or on laterals in the fall

European pine shoot moth Rhyacionia buoliana: Brown caterpillars can be found working in the tips of shoots in late May to early June; large quantities of resin are produced around buds; shoots fail to elongate; pith is mined

Eastern pine shoot borer Eucosma gloriola: Whitish caterpillar burrows down the centre of lateral shoots from May to July; injured shoots wilt, die back and break easily at the point of feeding

Pine shoot borer Rhyacionia adana: Attacks trees less than 1 m high, red brown caterpillar; feeds within the shoot in early spring to mid June or late July; shoots fail to elongate, turn brown

Zimmerman pine moth Dioryctria zimmermani: Larva white to reddish-yellow; branch tips turn brown as larva girdle twigs; entire top of tree may break off; resin can be found on the trunks and branches; shoots not mined

Diseases:

Diplodia tip blight Diplodia piniea: Shoots fail to elongate; flagging and death of young shoots; look for small conical beaks or fruiting bodies emerging from the needles; shoots remain firm, pith is intact

Needle blight or cast Lophoderium, Dothistroma: Affecting needles only; may appear as dead spots or tip dieback; look for dark bands or spots on needles.

Eastern gall rust: Needles and branches affected; look for round galls on stems.

Fusiforme blister rust: Needles and branches affected; spindle shaped swellings on young branches.

Other:

Branch tip dieback at any time of the season: Root problems such as bark beetles, girdling roots, soil sterilant, pesticide spray, root severing due to construction or digging, lawnmower/string trimmer girdling, root rot, transplant, drought, excessive water.

Ends of needles brown: Air pollution.

Scattered ends of branches: Scorch.

If you are unsure of the cause of the dieback in your pine, you may send a sample to the Pest Diagnostic and Advisory Clinic at the University of Guelph. There is a fee for diagnosis.

Control

Stressed and weakened trees are more susceptible to Diplodia. Maintain tree vigour through adequate watering and fertilization. Improve soil environment by removing competing turf and mulching around trees. Improve soil conditions by aerating the soil. Austrian pines seem to be more afflicted with the disease, but that may be due to their larger numbers in the landscape.

A tree exhibiting a few symptoms may be pruned to help reduce the spread of the disease. However, in most cases, pruning will only improve the appearance of the plant rather than control the disease. Fungus will develop on second year cones as well as on stressed mature tissue. Pruning during dry weather, raking blighted needles, twigs, and cones, and discarding them may help to reduce disease pressure. Disinfect tools between pruning cuts. Improving air circulation around the trees will help in a faster drying of needles and reducing the chance of infection

For chemical controls please order OMAFRA Publication 840, Crop Protection Guide for Nursery and Landscape Plants.

Related Links


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Marilyn D. Dykstra - University of Guelph; Christoph Kessel - Nutrition Horticulture Program Lead OMAFRA
Creation Date: Not Available
Last Reviewed: 09 July 2014

Flétrissement des pousses de pin

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Symptômes
  3. Autres causes du flétrissement des pousses de pin noir d'Autriche
  4. Cycle biologique
  5. Conditions propices à la maladie
  6. Insectes et maladies endommageant les pousses de pin
  7. Lutte

Introduction

La brûlure des pousses de pin survient lorsque des plantes sensibles sont infectées par le champignon Diplodia pinea, aussi connu sous le nom de Saphaeropsis sapinea. Toutes les espèces de pin à deux ou trois aiguilles sont des hôtes de ce champignon, notamment le pin noir d'Autriche (Pinus nigra), le pin sylvestre (P. sylvestris), le pin de montagne (P. mugo), le pin ponderosa (P. ponderosa) et le pin rouge (P. resinosa).

Les pins de 25 ans ou plus sont les plus vulnérables à cette maladie. Les arbres plus jeunes y résistent mieux. Cependant, les arbres plus jeunes qui poussent dans des sols pauvres ou près d'arbres atteints risquent également d'être infectés.

Les pins sont plus sensibles à D. pinea s'ils souffrent de carences nutritives ou s'ils sont plantés dans des sols pauvres (mal drainés, compactés ou secs) et si leurs racines sont meurtries par des opérations culturales ou des produits chimiques. Pour prévenir cette maladie, il faut d'abord choisir avec soin l'emplacement des arbres dans l'aménagement paysager et éviter de regrouper les pins noirs d'Autriche dans des plantations en masse.

Symptômes

Dès qu'elles sont infectées par le champignon, les nouvelles pousses brunissent et leur croissance s'arrête. Les aiguilles brunissent et cessent de s'allonger. A la fin de l'été, les pousses sont brunes et mortes. On peut alors apercevoir à la base des aiguilles les pycnides noires qui sont les organes de fructification du champignon.

Des bourgeons secondaires se forment souvent à la base des pousses mortes. Le printemps suivant, on observe à cet endroit une croissance « en touffe ». Ces nouvelles pousses peuvent être infectées à leur tour, selon la fréquence des précipitations et divers facteurs environnementaux qui peuvent favoriser la propagation de la maladie.

Les blessures au niveau des pousses ou des tissus en général peuvent aussi constituer une porte d'entrée pour le pathogène. Il arrive que celui ci forme un anneau autour d'une branche. Normalement, la maladie apparaît d'abord sur les branches basses.

Autres causes du flétrissement des pousses de pin noir d'Autriche

Le champignon Diplodia n'est pas le seul responsable du flétrissement des pousses de pin noir d'Autriche. Le Tableau 1 en décrit d'autres causes possibles. En cas de doute quant à la cause du flétrissement, on peut faire parvenir un échantillon à la :

  • Clinique de diagnostic et de consultation phytosanitaire
  • 95, rue Stone ouest, Guelph (Ontario) N1H 8J7
  • Tél. (519) 767-6256

Des frais de diagnostic sont exigés.

Cycle biologique

Le champignon est présent pendant toute la saison et survit d'une année à l'autre dans les aiguilles, les rameaux et les cônes morts (au sol ou sur les arbres infectés).

La libération des spores et l'infection des tissus des plantes vulnérables peuvent se produire en tout temps entre mars et octobre, pour peu que les conditions soient propices. Pendant les périodes pluvieuses du printemps, les pycnides (organes de fructification du champignon) libèrent des spores qui sont disséminées par le vent, les insectes et les autres animaux. C'est pendant les deux semaines où les bourgeons éclatent et où les pousses se développent que les tissus sont les plus vulnérables à l'infection.

La germination se produit une fois que les spores se sont déposées sur des tissus nouvellement formés. Le pathogène pénètre dans les aiguilles à travers les stomates. A partir du milieu de juin, les pousses en croissance deviennent moins vulnérables. Les pycnides émergent à la surface avant la fin de l'été. Le flétrissement des extrémités apparaît parfois trois semaines seulement après l'infection.

Étant donné que les spores peuvent être disséminées du début du printemps à la fin de l'automne par les éclaboussures de pluie, le champignon peut proliférer sur les cônes de deux ans ainsi que sur les tissus plus vieux qui ont été blessés.

Conditions propices à la maladie

Les spores de D. pinea ont besoin d'une humidité relative élevée pour germer et infecter les aiguilles et les pousses. Il suffit de 12 heures de temps pluvieux à des températures de 12 à 36 °C pour provoquer la germination des spores et l'infection. Par temps doux et humide, les symptômes apparaissent en trois ou quatre jours environ. A environ 28 °C, la croissance du champignon est rapide. Si le temps est plutôt sec pendant que les pousses s'allongent, les niveaux d'infection sont plus faibles..

Insectes et maladies endommageant les pousses de pin

Tableau 1. Insectes et maladies endommageant les pousses de pin

Insectes
Nom Remarques
Charançon du pin blanc
Pissodes strobi
Larve blanche apode qu'on trouve sur les pousses entre le début et le milieu de l'été; l'extrémité des verticilles dépérit, prend la forme d'une houlette de berger et rougit; la moelle n'est pas perforée; les dommages causés par l'adulte se reconnaissent aux gouttelettes brillantes de résine présentes sur les flèches au printemps et sur les pousses latérales en automne.
Perce-pousse européen du pin
Rhyacionia buoliana
Chenilles brunes qu'on trouve aux extrémités des pousses entre la fin mai et le début juin; de grandes quantités de résine se forment autour des bourgeons; l'élongation des pousses cesse; la moelle est perforée.
Perce-pousse du pin
Eucosma gloriola
Chenille brun rougeâtre s'attaquant aux arbres de moins de 1 m de hauteur; se nourrit de l'intérieur des pousses du début du printemps jusqu'à la mi juin ou la fin juillet; les pousses cessent de s'allonger et virent au brun.
Perce-pousse oriental du pin
Eucosma gloriola
Des chenilles blanchâtres creusent le centre des pousses latérales de mai à juillet; les pousses blessées flétrissent, dépérissent et se cassent facilement là où les insectes se sont alimentés.
Pyrale des pousses du pin
Dioryctria zimmermani
Larve allant du blanc au jaune rougeâtre; l'extrémité des branches brunit au fur et à mesure de l'annélation des rameaux par les larves; la partie supérieure de l'arbre peut casser net; on trouve de la résine sur les troncs et les branches; les pousses ne comportent pas de galeries.
Maladies
Nom Remarques
Brûlure des pousses
Diplodia piniea
Les pousses ne s'allongent pas; les flèches et les jeunes pousses meurent; de petits becs coniques, les organes de fructification, émergent des aiguilles; les pousses restent fermes et la moelle intacte.
Rouge du pin
Lophoderium, Dothistroma
Affecte seulement les aiguilles; apparition de taches sombres et dépérissement des extrémités; rechercher des bandes sombres ou des taches sur les aiguilles.
Rouille; tumeur orientale Les aiguilles et les branches sont atteintes; rechercher des galles rondes sur les tiges.
Rouille vésiculeuse fusiforme Les aiguilles et les branches sont atteintes; renflements en forme de fuseau sur les jeunes branches.
Autre
Nom Remarques
Flétrissement des extrémités des branches en tout temps de la saison Problèmes de racines dus à des scolytes, à l'annélation des racines, à des stérilisants du sol, à des bouillies antiparasitaires, à des bris de racines causés par des travaux de construction ou d'excavation, à l'annélation causée par des tondeuses ou minitondeuses à fil rotatif, au pourridié, à la transplantation, à la sécheresse ou à un excès d'eau.
Brunissement de l'extrémité des aiguilles Pollution de l'air
Ramification de l'extrémité des branches Dessèchement

Lutte

Les arbres soumis à un stress ou affaiblis sont plus sensibles à Diplodia. Maintenir la vigueur de l'arbre par un bon arrosage et une bonne fertilisation. Créer un milieu favorable en éliminant la concurrence exercée par la pelouse et en paillant le pied des arbres. Améliorer l'état du sol en l'aérant. Les pins noirs d'Autriche semblent être plus touchés par la maladie, bien que cette situation puisse être attribuable au fait qu'on les trouve en plus grand nombre.

Dans le cas d'un arbre affichant des symptômes peu marqués, l'élagage peut freiner la propagation de la maladie. Toutefois, dans la plupart des cas, l'élagage ne fait qu'améliorer l'apparence de la plante sans remédier au problème. Le champignon se développe sur les cônes de deux ans ainsi que sur les tissus à maturité soumis à un stress. Pour réduire la pression exercée par la maladie, faire l'élagage par temps sec, râteler les aiguilles, rameaux et cônes infectés et s'en débarrasser. Désinfecter les outils entre chaque coupe. Améliorer la circulation d'air autour des sujets pour accélérer le séchage des aiguilles et réduire les risques d'infection.

Pour connaître les méthodes de lutte chimique, consulter la publication 840F du ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario intitulée, Guide de protection des cultures de pépinière et d'ornement.

Liens connxes


Auteur : Marilyn D. Dykstra - Clinique de diagnostic et de consultation phytosanitaire; Christoph Kessel - spécialiste des cultures de pépinière/ MAAARO
Date de création : Non disponible
Dernière révision : 09 juillet 2014

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424 1300
Courriel :ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca