Starting Commercial Berry Production: Basic Considerations

Growing berries is often seen as an easy way to earn money. There is good demand for fresh, locally grown berries at the peak of the season and gross returns are high compared to many crops. However, both the cost of production and production risks are high. Because the crop is perishable, marketing risks are even higher. Growing berry crops demands a high level of management. The following information is intended as a guide for those considering berry production.

Identify Your Market

Before investing in berry crops, you must identify your market and production goals. Who is going to buy your product and where are they located? Will most of your fruit be sold to pick-your-own customers, ready-picked at the farm gate, sold wholesale to other retailers, or processed into value-added products.? Most growers sell berry crops through a combination of markets. Ask yourself what you can do better than your competitors.

Develop a good business plan. The business plan summarizes your business objectives and how you will attain them. Information on how to prepare a business plan is available in the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture and Food and Ministry of Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) Factsheet Preparing Business Plans, Order #08-051.

Seasonal Labour Requirements

Berry crops are hand-picked and require a large seasonal labour pool to harvest the crop. Pick-your-own customers reduce the need for hired pickers, but few crops are harvested totally by pick-your-own methods. Berry crops are perishable, and must be harvested every 1-3 days in all sorts of weather. Consider the availability of labour in your area. Many berry growers use an offshore labour program to supplement local labour. However, offshore labour is best suited to growers with relatively large acreages and several different crops.

Production Statistics

Table 1, Production, Average Yields & Prices of Ontario Berry Crops 2003-2012 (on the back page), indicates the estimated acreage and average production of berry crops in Ontario in recent years. Higher yields can be achieved on well-managed farms.

Cost Of Production

OMAFRA publication “Fruit Crops: Estimated Production Costs, Ontario 1992”, provides an estimate of the cost of production for raspberries and strawberries. These costs were updated in 1995 for strawberries. Crop budgeting tools are available from on the OMAFRA website. For more information follow the links from www.ontario.ca/omafra to Agriculture, then Agriculture Business Management, then Production, or search for Crop Enterprise Budgets within the OMAFRA site.

Site Requirements

Good Air Drainage: The planting site should be relatively flat to avoid soil erosion. Low-lying areas are prone to late spring frosts and should also be avoided. The site should be protected from prevailing winds, but open enough that cold air can drain away to lower areas.

Soil type and pH: Strawberry, raspberry and blueberry plants have very fine, shallow root systems, which grow best in well drained sites with good organic matter content. If water lies in the field in early spring or after heavy rains, the site is not drained well enough for berry production.

Soil pH is a critical factor, especially for blueberry production. The optimum soil pH for various berry crops is shown in Table 2: Optimum Soil pH for Berry Production.

Soil pH can be adjusted upward with lime, or downwards with sulfur. However, soils with a pH of 6.5 or higher can rarely be adjusted economically to a soil pH for blueberry production.

Table 2: Optimum Soil pH for Berry Production
Crop
Blueberry
Raspberry
Strawberry
Soil pH
4.5 - 4.8
5.8 - 6.5
6.5

Cropping History

Cropping History Herbicide residues from previous crops can hinder the establishment of berry crops. Try to get a history of herbicide use for the past three years. Herbicides such as Atrazine, or Pursuit and other Group 2 herbicides can persist and cause injury to subsequent berry crops. Strawberries and raspberries are susceptible to Verticillium and should not be grown in fields where strawberry, raspberries, tomatoes, potatoes, peppers or other solanaceous crops, have been grown in the past 3 years.

Soil Analysis

Soil Analysis Soil tests are important to evaluate the soil pH and fertility. Soil tests by an accredited laboratory are the most accurate tool available to help determine the amounts of phosphorous, potassium, magnesium fertilizers and lime which should be applied before crop production. Information on how to sample for soil fertility and pH is included in this package. See OMAFRA factsheet Soil Sampling and Analysis for Managing Crop Nutrients, Order #06-031.

Nematode Analysis

Nematode Analysis Several types of soil-borne nematodes can feed on berry plant roots and reduce yields. These nematodes are more likely to be a problem on lighter soil types. The previous crop can have a major impact on populations of nematodes. For example, populations of root lesion nematode are favoured by crops such as corn, wheat or clover. Nematode populations are discouraged by crops such as asparagus and certain types of sorghum - sudan grass. Soils should be sampled for nematode populations and if damaging levels exist, corrective measures should be taken the year before planting. See OMAFRA factsheet Sampling Soil and Roots for Plant Parasitic Nematodes, Order #06-099.

Preplant Soil Preparation

Preplant Soil Preparation Preparing the soil before planting is extremely important for berry crops. These are perennial crops and it is hard to correct soil-related problems once the crop is in the ground. After the planting site is chosen, a full growing season is usually required before planting berries. Adjust soil fertility, control weeds and nematodes, and improve organic matter. For more information, see "Preparing the Soil for Optimum Production" at www.ontario.ca/crops under "Berries".

Irrigation

Irrigation Berry crops are highly responsive to irrigation and will benefit 9 years out of 10 when an irrigation system is in place. New growers should consider the capital cost of an irrigation system and the availability of water before planting berry crops. For strawberries, an overhead sprinkler irrigation system can be used to prevent frost damage in the spring, for drought control and for evaporative cooling. Raspberries and blueberries are more often irrigated using a trickle irrigation system. For more information on irrigation, refer to AAFC publication "Best Management Practices: Irrigation Management."

Choosing a Variety

Choosing a Variety See "Suggested Berry Varieties for Ontario". This list is updated annually. The varieties you choose to plant will depend on local conditions and intended market. Most growers plant several varieties including early, mid-season and late-season varieties. Taste and fruit size may be important characteristics for a pick-your-own operation. Keeping quality and size are critical for growers who sell to wholesale markets.

Planting Material

Do not plant "home-grown" plants. Many diseases of berry crops, particularly virus diseases and soil-borne pathogens, are easily transferred from field to field on planting stock. The Ontario Plant Propagation Program is designed to minimize this risk. Strawberry and raspberry planting material in the program comes from virus-tested stock and is grown according to guidelines that minimize the risk of insect or diseases in the propagation fields. All berry plants should be purchased from a reputable plant propagator who follows the guidelines of the Ontario Plant Propagation Program, or accredited guidelines in other states or provinces. There is no certification program for blueberries in Ontario. For lists of plant suppliers and propagators see: www.ontario.ca/crops

In addition, numerous factsheets are available on various topics.

Table 1. Production, Average Yields & Prices of Ontario Berry Crops 2003-2012

Crop
Year
Area
Harvested (acres)
Marketed Production ('000 lbs) Average Price($/lb) Area Harvested (ha) Marketed Production (tonnes) Average Price($/Kg)
Straw-berries
2012
2,291
11,416
1.72
927
5,178
3.79
2011
2,248
10,430
1.79
910
4,731
3.94
2010
2,385
12,913
1.61
965
5,857
3.55
2009
2,465
13,692
1.65
998
6,211
3.63
2008
3,050
13,800
1.41
1,234
6,260
3.10
2007
3,475
15,700
1.30
1,406
7,121
2.88
2006
3,053
14,100
1.33
1,236
6,396
5.40
2005
2,950
13,400
1.16
1,194
6,078
4.80
2004
3,100
14,600
1.10
1,255
6,622
2.42
2003
3,600
16,300
1.10
na
na
na
Rasp-
berries
2012
629
1062
3.14
255
482
6.91
2011
675
1226
3.17
273
556
7.00
2010
658
1255
2.99
266
569
6.60
2009
690
1396
3.03
279
633
6.68
2008
750
1200
2.83
304
1315
1.75
2007
735
1115
2.95
297
506
6.51
2006
770
1320
244
312
599
5.40
2005
800
1126
2.18
324
511
4.80
2004
950
1400
2.29
384
635
5.04
2003
1100
1160
2.33
na
na
na
Blue-
berries
2012
na
na
na
na
na
na
2011
558
1914
2.30
226
1914
5.06
2010
516
2280
1.90
209
1034
4.19
2009
495
1975
2.32
200
896
5.11
2008
470
1840
2.13
190
835
4.70
2007
585
2200
2.04
255
1039
4.50
2006
580
2280
2.01
251
1052
4.45
2005
350
1050
1.81
158
508
4.05
2004
375
1325
1.76
164
617
3.92
2003
375
800
1.84
na
na
na

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Pam Fisher - Berry Crop Specialist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 01 April 2013
Last Reviewed: 28 September 2015

Démarrer la production commerciale de baies : considérations de base

La culture des baies est souvent perçue comme un moyen facile de générer des profits. Il existe une bonne demande pour des baies fraîches de production locale à la belle saison, et les revenus bruts se comparent avantageusement à ceux de nombreux autres types de cultures. Par contre, les coûts de production et les risques sont élevés. Et puisqu'il s'agit de produits périssables, les risques liés à la mise en marché sont encore plus considérables. La culture des baies exige également une gestion des plus attentives.Les informations qui suivent se veulent un guide pour ceux qui envisagent la production commerciale des baies.

Circonscrire votre marché

Avant d'investir dans la culture des baies, il est impératif de circonscrire votre marché et vos objectifs de production. Qui sont les consommateurs qui vont acheter votre produit, et où sont-ils situés? Le gros de votre production est-il destiné au marché de l'autocueillette, à la vente sur le site de production (fruits déjà cueillis), à la vente en gros à des détaillants, ou à la transformation en d'autres produits à valeur ajoutée? La plupart des producteurs vendent simultanément leurs baies sur plusieurs types de marchés. Demandez-vous aussi en quoi vous pouvez vous distinguer de vos compétiteurs.

Développez un bon plan d'affaires. Le plan d'affaires doit bien cerner vos objectifs d'affaires et les moyens à prendre pour les atteindre. Des conseils sur la préparation d'un plan d'affaires sont disponibles sur la fiche technique du MAAARO #08-052, Établissement de plans d'exploitation.

Besoins en travailleurs saisonniers

Les cultures de baies sont cueillies manuellement, et nécessitent donc un important personnel saisonnier au moment de la récolte. La clientèle adepte de l'autocueillette réduit certes ces besoins, mais peu de cultures visent ce seul mode de récolte. Les cultures de baies sont périssables, et doivent être cueillies tous les 2 ou 3 jours, sous des conditions météorologiques parfois variables. Il faut tenir compte de la disponibilité de la main-d'œuvre dans votre région. De nombreux producteurs font appel à un programme de travailleurs étrangers pour combler leurs besoins locaux. Cette approche est par contre surtout appropriée à la production à grande échelle, avec plusieurs types de cultures.

Statistiques de production

Le tableau 1, Production, rendements moyens et prix des baies en Ontario 2003-2012, indique la superficie estimée et la production moyenne des cultures de baies en Ontario au cours des dernières années. De plus hauts rendements peuvent être obtenus grâce à une bonne gestion sur des fermes.

Coûts de production

La publication "Fruit Crops: Estimated Production Costs, Ontario 1992 " du MAAO et du MAR, donne une estimation des coûts de production pour les framboises et les fraises. Ces coûts ont été actualisés pour 1995 pour ce qui concerne les fraises. Des outils de planification budgétaire pour les cultures sont disponibles sur le site Web du MAAARO. Pour plus de renseignements, se rendre sur le site du MAAARO (www.ontario.ca/maaaro) et cliquer sur les hyperliens " Gestion des entreprises agricoles " et " Production ", ou faire une recherche dans la section " Gestion des entreprises agricoles " du site Web du MAAARO.

Exigences en matière de sols

Bon drainage d'air : Le site de plantation devrait être relativement plat pour éviter l'érosion du sol. Les parcelles de terrain de faible élévation sont sujettes aux gelées de printemps, et devraient donc être évitées. Le site devrait être protégé des grands vents, mais être assez ouvert pour que les couches d'air froid soient évacuées des parties les plus basses.

Type et pH du sol : Les plants de fraises, de framboises et de bleuets ont des réseaux peu profonds de racines fines, qui poussent de préférence dans des sites bien drainés avec un bon contenu en matière organique. Si le niveau de l'eau s'accumule au début du printemps ou après les fortes pluies, le terrain n'est pas assez bien drainé pour la culture des baies.

Le pH du sol est un paramètre critique, en particulier pour la production de bleuets. Le pH optimal du sol pour la culture des baies est présenté au tableau 2 : pH optimal du sol pour la culture des baies.

Le pH du sol peut être augmenté en y ajoutant de la chaux, ou au contraire abaissé en y mélangeant du soufre. Pour les bleuets par contre, il est rarement justifié d'un point de vue économique d'abaisser l'acidité d'un sol ayant un pH ? 6,5.

Tableau 2 : pH optimal du sol pour la production de baies
Culture
Bleuets
Framboises
Fraises
pH du sol
4,5 - 4,8
5,8 - 6,5
6,5

Historique de culture

Les résidus d'herbicides utilisés pour des cultures précédentes peuvent nuire à l'implantation des plants de baies. Essayer de connaître l'historique des herbicides utilisés lors des trois dernières années. Les herbicides tels que Atrazine, ou Pursuit, ou d'autres membres du groupe 2 des herbicides peuvent persister et causer des dommages aux cultures subséquentes de baies.

Les fraises et les framboises sont sensibles à Verticillium et ne devraient pas être cultivées dans des champs où des fraises, des framboises, des tomates, des pommes de terre, des poivrons ou d'autres solanacées ont été cultivés lors des 3 dernières années.

Analyses de sol

Les analyses de sol sont importantes pour évaluer son pH et sa fertilité. Les analyses de sol par un laboratoire approuvé sont les outils les plus appropriés pour déterminer les quantités exactes de phosphore, de potassium, d'engrais à base de magnésium et de chaux à appliquer avant la production de baies. Les renseignements sur les méthodes d'échantillonnage pour la fertilité et pour le pH sont inclus dans cet emballage. Voir la fiche technique #06-032 du MAAARO, Échantillonnage et analyse de sol dans le cadre de la gestion des éléments nutritifs.

Analyse des nématodes

Plusieurs types de nématodes, qui se transmettent par le sol, se nourrissent des racines des plants de baies et réduisent les rendements des cultures. Ces nématodes risquent en particulier de poser problème dans les sols plus légers. Le type de plante cultivée préalablement est aussi un facteur qui peut influencer le nombre de nématodes. Par exemple, les populations de nématodes radicicoles sont favorisées par des cultures telles que le maïs, le blé et le trèfle. Les populations de nématodes sont en revanche défavorisées par des cultures comme les asperges et certains types de sorgho-soudan.

Les sols devraient être échantillonnés pour y dénombrer les nématodes, et si des niveaux trop élevés sont observés, des mesures appropriées devraient être prises l'année avant la plantation. Voir la fiche technique #06-100 du MAAARO, Échantillonnage du sol et des racines visant le dénombrement des nématodes phytoparasites.

Préparation du sol avant la plantation

Il est extrêmement important de préparer le sol avant de cultiver les plants de baies. Il s'agit en effet de plantes pérennes, et il est très difficile de corriger les problèmes liés au sol après implantation des plants de baies. Une fois choisi le site de culture, il faut généralement compter une année cultivable complète avant de planter les baies. Il faut ajuster le pH du sol, vérifier les mauvaises herbes et les nématodes qui s'y trouvent, et améliorer le contenu en matière organique. Pour plus de renseignements, voir " Préparation du sol en vue d'une culture de petits fruits: Notions de base " sur le site Web www.ontario.ca/cultures sous la catégorie " Petits fruits ".

Irrigation

Les cultures de baies sont très sensibles aux conditions d'irrigation, et vont bénéficier 9 années sur 10 d'un système d'irrigation sur place. Les nouveaux cultivateurs devraient prévoir les investissements liés à l'installation d'un système d'irrigation et l'approvisionnement en eau avant de se lancer dans la culture des baies.

Pour les fraises, un système d'arrosage par aspersion sur frondaison peut être utilisé de façon à éviter les dommages dus aux gelées de printemps, ainsi qu'en cas de période de sécheresse, ou encore pour obtenir du refroidissement par évaporation. Les framboises et les bleuets sont plus souvent irrigués à l'aide d'un système au goutte-à-goutte.

Pour plus de renseignements sur l'irrigation, consulter dans la série " Les pratiques de gestion optimales " d'Agriculture et agroalimentaire Canada le fascicule " Gestion de l'irrigation ".

Choisir une variété

Voir la section Cultivars de petits fruits recommandés pour l'Ontario.

Cette liste de variétés de baies est actualisée chaque année. Le choix des variétés dépend des conditions locales et du marché visé. La plupart des producteurs cultiveront plusieurs variétés précoces, de mi-saison et de fin de saison. Le goût et la taille des fruits sont des critères particulièrement importants pour le marché de l'autocueillette. Les aptitudes à la conservation et la taille sont pour leur part des attributs critiques pour ce qui est du marché des grossistes.

Matériel de plantation

Ne jamais mettre en culture de plants " domestiques ". De nombreuses maladies des baies, de type viral ou encore des organismes pathogènes transmis par le sol, se transmettent aisément d'un champ de culture à l'autre par l'intermédiaire des plants. Le Programme ontarien de propagation des plantes a précisément pour but de minimiser ce risque. Le matériel de culture des fraises et les framboises est constitué de stocks qui sont contrôlés pour la présence de virus et qui sont cultivés dans des conditions qui minimisent le risque d'introduction d'insectes ou de maladies dans les champs de propagation. Tous les plants de baies devraient être achetés d'une source d'approvisionnement fiable qui se conforme aux recommandations du Programme ontarien de propagation des plantes, ou à des recommandations similaires autorisées par d'autres états ou provinces. Il n'existe pas de programme de certification pour les bleuets en Ontario.

Pour une liste des distributeurs et propagateurs de plants, voir : www.ontario.ca/cultures

Il existe également de nombreuses fiches techniques et publications sur différents aspects de la culture des baies.

Tableau 1. Production, rendements moyens et prix des des baies en Ontario 2003-2012

Culture
Année
Surface
récoltée
(acres)
Production
mise en marché
('000 lbs)
Prix
moyen
($/lb)
Surface
récoltée
ha)
Production
mise en marché
(tonnes)
Prix
moyen
($/kg)
Fraises
2012
2 291
11 416
1,72
927
5,178
3,79
2011
2 248
10 430
1,79
910
4,731
3,94
2010
2 385
12 913
1,61
965
5,857
3,55
2009
2 465
13 692
1,65
998
6,211
3,63
2008
3 050
13 800
1,41
1,234
6,260
3,10
2007
3 475
15 700
1,30
1,406
7,121
2,88
2006
3 053
14 100
1,33
1,236
6,396
5,40
2005
2 950
13 400
1,16
1,194
6,078
4,80
2004
3 100
14 600
1,10
1,255
6,622
2,42
2003
3 600
16 300
1,10
S.O.
S.O.
S.O.
Framboises
2012
629
1 062
3,14
255
482
6,91
2011
675
1 226
3,17
273
556
7,00
2010
658
1 255
2,99
266
569
6,60
2009
690
1 396
3,03
279
633
6,68
2008
750
1 200
2,83
304
1,315
1,75
2007
735
1 115
2,95
297
506
6,51
2006
770
1 320
2,44
312
599
5,40
2005
800
1 126
2,18
324
511
4,80
2004
950
1 400
2,29
384
635
5,04
2003
1 100
1 160
2,33
S.O.
S.O.
S.O.
Bleuets
2012
S.O.
S.O.
S.O.
S.O.
S.O.
S.O.
2011
558
1 914
2,30
226
1,914
5,06
2010
516
2 280
1,90
209
1,034
4,19
2009
495
1 975
2,32
200
896
5,11
2008
470
1 840
2,13
190
835
4,70
2007
585
2 200
2,04
255
1,039
4,50
2006
580
2 280
2,01
251
1,052
4,45
2005
350
1 050
1,81
158
508
4,05
2004
375
1 325
1,76
164
617
3,92
2003
375
800
1,84
S.O.
S.O.
S.O.

 


Auteur : Pam Fisher - spécialiste des cultures de petits fruits/MAAARO
Date de création : 01 février 2003
Dernière révision : 27 septembre 2015

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca