Cedar-apple rust and Quince rust

Excerpt from Publication 310, Integrated Pest Management for Apples,
Order this Publication

Table of Contents

  1. Rust diseases
  2. Cedar-apple rust
  3. Quince Rust

Rust diseases

Cedar-apple rust, caused by Gymnosporangium juniperi-virginianae, and quince rust, caused by Gymnosporangium clavipes, are two distinct rust diseases caused by different but related species of fungi. They have complex life cycles that take two years, and two different hosts, to complete.

In Ontario, rust diseases of apple are common only in the Ottawa Valley and the east end of Lake Ontario (Quinte area), where red cedar grows abundantly. Occasionally, rust diseases appear in other regions of Ontario where infected ornamental juniper are present and weather is conducive to infection. White cedar (Thuja occidentalis) is not an alternate host of rust diseases.

Like many rust diseases, two alternate hosts - eastern red cedar (winter host) and apple (summer host) - are required to perpetuate the disease from year to year. If not managed, the disease is particularly damaging on apple resulting in complete defoliation and crop loss.

Cedar-apple rust

Eastern red cedar (Juniperus virginianae) is the alternate host for cedar-apple rust. However, the symptoms on eastern red cedar look completely different than on apple. Cedar-apple rust infects both the leaves and fruit of susceptible apple cultivars.

Symptoms

Symptoms begin to appear on the upper surface of apple leaves shortly after bloom. Leaves that are three to four weeks old are fairly resistant to infection, but younger leaves and fruit are susceptible, depending on the cultivar. Small, pale yellow spots appear on the upper surface of leaves (Figure. 4-131) and on fruit (Figure 4-132). Eventually, small black spots (spermagonia) appear within the centre of the lesions. The lesions grow larger and more orange-coloured, often with a red margin.

Figure 4-131. Cedar-apple rust symptoms on leaves

Figure 4-131. Cedar-apple rust symptoms on leaves

Figure 4-132. Cedar-apple rust symptoms on fruit

Figure 4-132. Cedar-apple rust symptoms on fruit

American hawthorn rust leaf symptoms are very similar to cedar-apple rust lesions on the leaves. This rust disease attacks only the leaves of apple and pear, and affects McIntosh and Cortand apple varieties in particular.

Biology

Cedar-apple rust overwinters on its alternate host, red cedar (Juniperus virginanae), or other hosts, as mycelium within rounded, brown-coloured galls 10-30 mm in size (Figure 4-133). Symptoms begin to appear at about the same time apple trees are in the pink stage, after a wet period caused by a rain or heavy dew. Galls on the eastern red cedar produce orange telia horns 10-20 mm long that grow from the galls and become orange-yellow and gelatinous. The telia produce teliaspores on the horns that release windborne basidiospores only capable of infecting susceptible apple leaves and fruit during spring rains (Figure 4-134).

Figure 4-133. Cedar-apple rust gall on juniper

Figure 4-133. Cedar-apple rust gall on juniper

Figure 4-134. Telial horns extending from gall during or shortly after rain

Figure 4-134. Telial horns extending from gall during or shortly after rain

Most basidiospores are discharged in the period from tight cluster of apple through to petal fall. The galls of cedar-apple rust die following the release of the spores, but horns can swell and dry several times, releasing spores during intermittent rains. Spores are discharged as soon as rainfall begins. A short wetting period (compared to scab) of four to six hours at 10°-24°C can result in severe infection, see Table 4-9. Approximate number of hours of leaf wetness required for cedar-apple rust infections on leaves of susceptible cultivars. Generally, long wetting periods around petal fall are particularly damaging. While spores are released during periods of high humidity (>85%), infection only occurs if free water is available. Spores travel a maximum distance of 6-8 km, but most infections occur when alternate hosts are within a few hundred metres. In late summer, cup-like structures appear on the undersides of leaves and on fruit. These structures release spores carried on the wind to red cedars. Spores infect red cedar leaves from mid summer into autumn. Greenish galls are produced the next spring, but these do not mature to release the spores to infect apple until the following spring.

Cedar-apple rust cannot spread from apple to apple or from red cedar to red cedar - the fungus must go through the two-year life cycle, alternating between hosts.

Table 4-9. Approximate number of hours of leaf wetness required for cedar-apple rust infections on leaves of susceptible cultivars
Average Temperature (°C)

Degree of Infection1
Light Severe
3
24
-
4
12
24
6
8
10
8
6
7
10
5
6
12
4
5
14
3
5
16
3
4
18
3
4
20-24
2
4

1Source: Aldwinckle, H.S., R.C. Pearson and R.C. Seem. 1980. Infection periods of Gymnoporangium juniperi-virginianae on apple. Phytopathology 70:1070-1073. Assumes cedar-apple rust inoculum orange, (swollen galls) is available at the start of the rain. If inoculum is not already present (dry period prior to rain), add four hours at temperatures above 10°C and six hours at temperatures of 8-10°C. Infection is unlikely at temperatures below 8°C if inoculum is not already present.

Monitoring and management

Apple cultivars vary in their level of susceptibility to rust diseases (see Table 4-10).

Table 4-10a. Apple cultivar susceptibility to cedar-apple rust
  Cultivar(s)
Fairly resistant Empire, Liberty, Macfree, McIntosh, Northern Spy, Novamac, Paula Red, Red Delicious, Spartaon
Highly susceptible Golden Delicious, Idared, Mutsu, Russet

 

Table 4-10b. Apple cultivar susceptibility to quince rust
  Cultivar(s)
Fairly resistant Idared, Jonafree, Liberty, McIntosh, Redfree, Spartan
Highly susceptible Empire, Golden Delicious, Mutsu, Northern Spy, Red Delicious

Estimate the potential for rust fungus infections of apple by examining alternative hosts near the orchard from early May to mid June. Galls producing the orange spore-bearing masses indicate that infection is probable.

Theoretically, it is desirable to remove alternate hosts of rust diseases and wild apple trees from the vicinity of the orchard. In reality, this is usually not practical. Remove and burn rust galls from valuable ornamental junipers, and plant rust-resistant cultivars of ornamental species.

Most of the fungicides registered for scab control also give good control of rust diseases. If disease pressure is light (few rust galls or dry weather), a scab control program using fungicides effective for rust is likely adequate. However, in orchards with a history of rust problems, a protectant fungicide program applied specifically for apple scab control may not be adequate during the period from tight cluster/pink until after petal fall. Scab-resistant cultivars susceptible to rust infection require a specific fungicide program to control these diseases.

Quince rust

Quince rust has a broad range of rosaceous host plants (more than 480 species) including mountain ash, hawthorn, quince and serviceberry. Alternate hosts of quince rust include eastern red cedar, common juniper (J. communis) and several ornamental juniper species. Quince rust infects only fruit, not leaves, of apple and pear.

Symptoms

Young apple fruit is highly susceptible to quince rust infection for about two weeks. Quince rust infects only the fruit of susceptible apple cultivars. The calyx end of infected fruit is greenish brown and distorted (Figure 4-135). Infected apple tissue eventually becomes spongy and brown.

Figure 4-135. Young Red Delicious fruit with quince rust

Figure 4-135. Young Red Delicious fruit with quince rust

Biology

The life cycle of quince rust is similar to cedar-apple rust. Quince rust overwinters in spindle-shaped enlargements on the twigs and branches of many juniper hosts, including red cedar. These swellings remain a source of infection for several years. Basidia spores are released from an orange gelatinous mass that forms on the galls following periods of rain or high humidity from pink to fruit set stages of apple. Temperatures above 16°C are required for infection to occur. Young apple fruit is highly susceptible to infection for about two weeks.

Quince rust infects only the fruit of susceptible apple cultivars. Spores are not produced from infected apple, and red cedars are reinfected from quince, hawthorn, serviceberry and other rosaceous hosts. Like cedar-apple rust, quince rust has a two-year cycle, alternating between hosts.

Monitoring and management

See cedar-apple rust above for information on monitoring and management rust diseases.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca


Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 21 July 2011
Last Reviewed: 21 July 2011

La rouille du genévrier et la rouille du cognassier

Extrait du Publication 310F, Lutte intégrée contre les ennemis du pommier,
Pour commander la publication

Table des matières

  1. Rouilles
  2. Rouille du genévrier
  3. Rouille du cognassier

Rouilles

La rouille du genévrier, causée par Gymnosporangium juniperi-virginianae, et la rouille du cognassier, attribuable à Gymnosporangium clavipes, sont deux maladies distinctes causées par des espèces de champignons différentes mais apparentées. Ces maladies ont un cycle biologique complexe qui se déroule sur deux années et sur deux hôtes différents.

En Ontario, les infections des pommiers par des rouilles ne sont répandues que dans la vallée de l'Outaouais et à l'extrémité est du lac Ontario (région de Quinte), là où les genévriers de Virginie poussent en abondance. Occasionnellement, les rouilles apparaissent dans d'autres régions de l'Ontario, là où l'on retrouve des genévriers ornementaux infectés et des conditions météorologiques propices aux infections. Le thuya occidental (Thuja occidentalis) n'est pas un hôte intermédiaire des agents responsables de ces deux maladies.

Comme c'est le cas de nombreuses rouilles, deux hôtes sont nécessaires à la survie des agents pathogènes, soit le genévrier de Virginie l'hiver et le pommier l'été. Si elles ne sont pas maîtrisées, ces maladies sont particulièrement dévastatrices pour les pommiers, car elles provoquent une défoliation complète et font perdre toute la récolte.

Rouille du genévrier

Le genévrier de Virginie (Juniperus virginianae) est l'hôte intermédiaire de l'agent responsable de la rouille du genévrier. Toutefois, les symptômes observés sur cette espèce sont totalement différents de ceux qui se manifestent sur le pommier. La rouille du genévrier infecte à la fois les feuilles et les fruits des cultivars de pommiers sensibles.

Symptômes

Les symptômes commencent à apparaître sur la face supérieure des feuilles de pommiers peu après la floraison. Les feuilles qui ont trois ou quatre semaines affichent une assez bonne résistance aux infections, mais les feuilles plus jeunes ainsi que les fruits présentent une sensibilité qui varie selon les cultivars. De petites taches jaune pâle apparaissent sur la face supérieure des feuilles (figure 4-131) et sur les fruits (figure 4-132). Tôt ou tard, de petits points noirs (spermogonies) apparaissent au centre des lésions. Les lésions grossissent et prennent une teinte plus orangée, souvent entourée d'un contour rougeâtre.

Figure 4-131. Symptômes foliaires de la rouille du genévrier.

Figure 4-131. Symptômes foliaires de la rouille du genévrier.

Figure 4-132. Symptômes de la rouille du genévrier sur un fruit.

Figure 4-132. Symptômes de la rouille du genévrier sur un fruit.

Les symptômes de la rouille sur les feuilles d'aubépine (parfois appelée cenellier au Canada) ressemblent beaucoup aux symptômes foliaires de la rouille du genévrier. Cette rouille s'attaque uniquement aux feuilles de pommiers et de poiriers; elle affecte particulièrement les cultivars McIntosh et Cortland.

Cycle biologique

L'agent de la rouille du genévrier hiverne sur un hôte intermédiaire, le genévrier de Virginie (Juniperus virginianae) ou un autre hôte, sous forme de mycélium, à l'intérieur de galles brunes et rondes de 10-30 mm de diamètre (figure 4-133). Les symptômes commencent à apparaître à peu près au moment où les pommiers sont au stade du bouton rose avancé, après une pluie ou une rosée ayant laissé les feuilles mouillées. Les galles qui se forment sur le genévrier de Virginie produisent des téleutospores, qui sont des expansions en forme de cornes de 10-20 mm de long, qui deviennent jaune orangé et gélatineuses. Les téleutospores produisent sur les cornes des téliospores qui libèrent des basidiospores portées par le vent. Ces dernières infectent uniquement les feuilles et les fruits des pommiers sensibles au cours des pluies du printemps (figure 4-134).

Figure 4-133. Galle de la rouille du genévrier sur un genévrier.

Figure 4-133. Galle de la rouille du genévrier sur un genévrier.

Figure 4-134. Téleutospores en forme de cornes poussant sur les galles durant ou peu après la pluie.

Figure 4-134. Téleutospores en forme de cornes poussant sur les galles durant ou peu après la pluie.

La plupart des basidiospores sont libérées durant la période s'étendant entre les stades prébouton rose et calice du pommier. Les galles de la rouille du genévrier meurent une fois les spores libérées, mais les cornes peuvent gonfler et s'assécher plusieurs fois, libérant des spores au cours de pluies intermittentes. Les spores sont libérées dès que la pluie commence. Au contraire de la tavelure, une brève période de mouillage de quatre à six heures à 10-24 °C peut donner lieu à une infection grave (voir tableau 4-9, Nombre approximatif d'heures de mouillage nécessaires au déclenchement d'infections par la rouille du genévrier sur les feuilles des cultivars sensibles). En règle générale, de longues périodes de mouillage autour du stade calice sont particulièrement dommageables. Tandis qu'un fort taux d'humidité (> 85 %) pendant de longues périodes suffit à provoquer la libération des spores, il faut de l'eau libre pour que l'infection se déclare. Les spores se disséminent sur une distance maximale de 6-8 km, mais la plupart des infections surviennent quand les hôtes intermédiaires se situent à moins de quelques centaines de mètres. Vers la fin de l'été, des structures en forme de réceptacles apparaissent sur le revers des feuilles et sur les fruits. Ces structures libèrent des spores disséminées par le vent vers les genévriers de Virginie. Les spores infectent les feuilles du genévrier de Virginie de la mi-été jusqu'en automne. Des galles verdâtres sont produites le printemps suivant, mais elles ne parviennent à maturité et ne sont prêtes à infecter les pommes que le printemps suivant.

La rouille du genévrier ne peut se propager de pommier à pommier ni de genévrier à genévrier, car le champignon doit obligatoirement passer en alternance d'un hôte à un autre au cours des deux années que dure son cycle biologique.

Tableau 4-9. Nombre approximatif d'heures de mouillage nécessaires au déclenchement d'infections par la rouille du genévrier sur les feuilles des cultivars sensibles
Température moyenne (°C)

Degré de l'infection1
Légère Grave
3
24
-
4
12
24
6
8
10
8
6
7
10
5
6
12
4
5
14
3
5
16
3
4
18
3
4
20-24
2
4

1Source : Aldwinckle, H.S., R.C. Pearson et R.C. Seem. " Infection periods of Gymnoporangium juniperi-virginianae on apple " dans Phytopathology, 70:1070-1073, 1980. Dans l'hypothèse où l'inoculum de la rouille du genévrier (galles orangées renflées) est présent au début de la pluie. Si l'inoculum n'est pas déjà présent (période de sécheresse avant la pluie), ajouter quatre heures à des températures supérieures à 10 °C et six heures à des températures de 8-10 °C. L'infection est peu probable à des températures inférieures à 8 °C si l'inoculum n'est pas déjà présent.

Surveillance et lutte

Les cultivars de pommiers n'ont pas tous la même sensibilité aux rouilles (voir tableau 4-10).

Tableau 4-10. Sensibilité des cultivars de pommiers aux rouilles
  Cultivar(s)
Assez résistants Empire, Liberty, Macfree, McIntosh, Northern Spy, Novamac, Paula Red, Red Delicious, Spartaon
Très résistants Golden Delicious, Idared, Mutsu, Russet
 
  Cultivar(s)
Assez résistants Idared, Jonafree, Liberty, McIntosh, Redfree, Spartan
Très résistants Empire, Golden Delicious, Mutsu, Northern Spy, Red Delicious

Du début mai à la mi-juin, évaluer les risques d'infection des pommiers par les rouilles en observant les hôtes intermédiaires qui se trouvent aux abords du verger. La présence de galles produisant des masses de spores orangées ferait craindre des infections.

Il faudrait, en théorie, débarrasser le voisinage du verger des pommiers sauvages et des hôtes intermédiaires des agents responsables des rouilles. En pratique, cela n'est pas possible. Il faut se contenter d'enlever et de brûler les galles de rouille des genévriers ornementaux de valeur et planter des cultivars d'espèces ornementales qui affichent une résistance aux rouilles.

La plupart des fongicides homologués contre la tavelure procurent également une bonne maîtrise des rouilles. Si la pression exercée par les rouilles est faible (peu de galles ou temps sec), les pulvérisations de fongicides dirigées contre la tavelure et efficaces contre les rouilles suffiront probablement à les maîtriser. Toutefois, dans les vergers où une rouille a sévi, des traitements fongicides à action protectrice dirigés spécifiquement contre la tavelure du pommier risquent de ne pas être suffisants durant la période allant du prébouton rose ou du bouton rose avancé à la fin du calice. Si les cultivars affichent une résistance à la tavelure mais sont sensibles aux rouilles, des traitements spécifiquement dirigés contre les rouilles sont nécessaires.

Rouille du cognassier

La rouille du cognassier s'attaque à un vaste éventail de végétaux de la famille des rosacées (plus de 480 espèces), notamment le sorbier d'Amérique, l'aubépine, le cognassier et l'amélanchier. Les hôtes intermédiaires de la rouille du cognassier comprennent le genévrier de Virginie, le genévrier commun (J. communis) et plusieurs espèces de genévriers ornementaux. La rouille du cognassier infecte uniquement les fruits, et non les feuilles, des pommiers et des poiriers.

Symptômes

Les jeunes pommes sont très sensibles à la rouille du cognassier pendant environ deux semaines. La rouille du cognassier infecte uniquement les fruits des cultivars de pommiers sensibles. La cuvette oculaire du fruit infecté est brun verdâtre et déformée (figure 4-135). Tôt ou tard, les tissus des pommes infectées brunissent et deviennent spongieux.


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 21 juillet 2011
Dernière révision : 21 juilllet 2011

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca