Chinese Cabbage Production in Southern Ontario

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Types and Cultivars
  3. Climatic and Soil Requirements
  4. Nutrition
  5. Planting
  6. Irrigation
  7. Weeds
  8. Diseases
  9. Insects and Pests
  10. Physiological Disorders
  11. Harvesting
  12. Storage

Introduction

Over a dozen Oriental vegetables are grown commercially on a limited scale in southern Ontario. One of the most important is Chinese cabbage (Brassica rapa, Pekinensis group). Chinese cabbage, also known as celery cabbage and napa, was the first brassica cultivated in North America. Today it is increasing in popularity in western kitchens. The large savoyed leaves with thick succulent midribs possess a sweet taste and crisp texture when eaten raw. It has a flavour somewhat milder than cabbage when cooked. Although traditionally favoured for pickling, soups and stir-fry medleys, it can substitute adequately for cabbage in many western dishes.

Figure 1.  Head type of Chinese cabbage with outer leaves removed: Wong Bok.

Figure 1. Head type of Chinese cabbage with outer leaves removed: Wong Bok.

Figure 2.  Head type of Chinese cabbage with outer leaves removed: Michihli.

Figure 2. Head type of Chinese cabbage with outer leaves removed: Michihli.


Type and Cultivars

Chinese cabbage may be divided into two types: the loose-leaf forms and the head forms, the latter being the most common type grown in Ontario. The cylindrical head of Chinese cabbage resembles that of Cos lettuce, but is usually more firm at maturity. At maturity the outer foliage and wrapper leaves are characteristically pale green, whereas the inner leaves are blanched a creamy colour.

There are two head shapes of Chinese cabbage. The Wong Bok types produce a barrel-shaped head which is typically short and broad, and about 20 to 25 cm in length and 15 to 20 cm in diameter
(Figure 1). The Michihli types yield long tapering heads which may reach 38 to 46 cm in length and 10 to 15 cm in diameter (Figure 2).

Cultivars of Chinese cabbage differ in plant and head size, time of maturity, disease tolerances and certain head and foliage characteristics. Based on local experience, growers have chosen the cultivars most suitable for their production operations and clientele. The cultivars grown commercially in Ontario are not restricted to the numerous entries currently handled by North American seed companies. A number of growers obtain seed from reliable sources in the Orient.


Climatic and Soil Requirements

Chinese cabbage thrives best during the cooler periods of the growing season. Although the optimal temperature range of Chinese cabbage development is between 13 and 15 °C, certain cultivars tolerate the higher temperatures of midseason providing there is ample soil moisture. Other cultivars which mature during midseason may readily bolt. Late-growing Chinese cabbage can withstand light frosts in the fall, although alternate freezing and thawing may damage leaf tissue.

Soils which possess good structure, fertility and water-holding capacity usually produce a satisfactory crop of Chinese cabbage. Chinese cabbage will grow on soils which have pH values from 5.5 to 7.6, although the ideal pH for growth is near neutral (7.0). In southern Ontario, Chinese cabbage is grown successfully on different soil types, but sandy or porous soils are the least suitable for production due to their low water-holding and nutrient-retention capacities. Also, Chinese cabbage is not grown commercially on the muck soils of the Holland Marsh.

Nutrition

A rich fertile soil is necessary for the rapid growth of Chinese cabbage. Nitrogen is typically applied in southern Ontario at 80 to 130 kg per hectare and may be applied alone or in combination with phosphorus and potash. The higher nitrogen application rates are usually necessary on lighter soil types. Best results are obtained when the nitrogen is broadcast before planting, and also sidedressed in one or more applications 10 days apart following thinning or within one month of transplanting, thereby ensuring an ample supply of this element during plant development. Conservative usage of nitrogen is recommended since excessive applications may increase disease susceptibility and delay maturity. Nitrogen fertilization near maturity should be avoided since heads of larger size but lesser density may result.

Satisfactory growth of Chinese cabbage may be expected when the phosphorus and potassium levels in the soil are sufficient to support the production of cabbage (see OMAF publication 363, Vegetable Production Recommendations).

Planting

Early summer harvest of Chinese cabbage is possible by planting locally grown transplants. In early May plants are started in the greenhouse, hardened off, then set in the field. It is essential that the setting-out of transplants commences within a month after seeding and under favourable soil and climatic conditions to insure that a check in growth does not occur which may cause plants to bolt. Generally, the seedlings are handled in a manner similar to cabbage transplants, and may be hand or mechanically set in the field. A key to the success of this operation is soil moisture, which should not become limiting following transplanting.

Direct seeding in the field also occurs during late April and beyond. To accomplish this, some larger growers use precision seeders to reduce labour and seed costs.

A continuous supply of Chinese cabbage through the season is achieved by successive plantings every 10 to 14 days (Figure 3), remembering that ample time must be allowed for plant development before the anticipated date of the first frost. To safeguard against total crop failure, growers may also plant more than one cultivar at a time.

Plants are spaced 25 to 60 cm apart within rows and 40 to 82 cm between rows. The shorter row spacings are used for the narrow upright Michihli types and the wider spacings for the larger, spreading Wong Bok types.

Figure 3.  A typical field of Chinese cabbage planted on successive dates.

Figure 3. A typical field of Chinese cabbage planted on successive dates.

Irrigation

Ample and uniform soil moisture for plant development is essential for the successful production of Chinese cabbage. Because rainfall is unpredictable in Ontario, growers should closely monitor soil moisture levels and be prepared to irrigate when necessary. Sprinkler irrigation should be used in the morning so plants will dry before evening. Moist soil conditions will facilitate lower field temperature, giving additional benefit during midsummer.

Weeds

Nightshades, mustards and hairy galinsoga (Galinsoga quadriradiata) are a few of the most troublesome weeds. Presently there are no herbicides registered in Ontario for use in Chinese cabbage for eradicating these and other noxious weeds. Hand or mechanical cultivation may be employed and should commence before weeds become established.

Diseases

A number of crucifer diseases have been reported to infect Chinese cabbage. The importance of these diseases will depend on locality and year.

Some cultivars of Chinese cabbage are susceptible to the viral diseases of turnip mosaic and turnip yellow mosaic. Unfortunately, information is lacking on the distribution and severity of these viruses in Chinese cabbage in Ontario and on the availability of resistant cultivars. Young plants infected with turnip mosaic virus are stunted with markedly crinkled foliage and may never reach harvest maturity. As the leaves expand, areas of green tissue will become interspersed with yellow tissue, giving a characteristic mottled appearance (Figure 4 and Figure 5). The virus is transmitted solely by aphids, but insecticides will not protect fields against migrating aphids carrying turnip mosaic virus (see OMAF Factsheet, Virus Diseases of Rutabaga).

In certain areas in Ontario clubroot may be a major factor limiting production. This disease is caused by a simple soil-borne fungus (Plasmodiophora brassicae) which thrives in acid soils of high moisture content and invades the roots of plants, thereby adversely affecting water uptake. Plants in early stages of infection will exhibit wilting on sunny days and, in advanced stages, roots of infected plants become swollen and malformed. Control is achieved by raising the soil pH of fields above 7.2, thereby minimizing the activity of the fungus. Fields with a past history of clubroot infection should be avoided and planting of resistant cultivars should be used when possible.

Downy and powdery mildews caused by the fungi Peronospora parasitica and Erisyphe polygoni attack Chinese cabbage at any stage of development. On mature plants the head may become unfit for sale, especially if the infection occurs deep within its interior. These diseases may be followed by secondary infection of bacterial soft rots caused by Erwinia carotovora or species of Pseudomonas.

Leaf spots caused by Alternaria brassicae and related species, blackleg (Phoma lingam) and white rot (Sclerotinia sclerotiorum) may also affect production in certain years.

Insects and Pests

Insects which feed on cole crops may also damage Chinese cabbage. The most common insects include several species of aphids, and the larvae of the diamond-back moth (Plutella xylostella), imported cabbage worm (Artogia rapae) and cabbage lopper (Trichoplusia ni). The larvae of the latter three insects will eat holes in the plants' foliage and may burrow into maturing heads making them unsuitable for sale.

Chinese cabbage seedlings are susceptible to several species of flea beetles and the cabbage root maggot (Hylemya brassicae). Other insects which have been reported to feed on Chinese cabbage in southern Ontario include the tarnished plant bug (Lygus lineolaris) and various types of slugs and snails.


Figure 4.  Turnip mosaic virus on Chinese cabbage. Note the characteristic mottled appearance of an infected plant.

Figure 4. Turnip mosaic virus on Chinese cabbage. Note the characteristic mottled appearance of an infected plant.


Figure 5.  Turnip mosaic virus on Chinese cabbage. Note the characteristic mottled appearance of a single leaf.

Figure 5. Turnip mosaic virus on Chinese cabbage. Note the characteristic mottled appearance of a single leaf.


Physiological Disorders

Chinese cabbage normally completes its life cycle during the first year of growth. Bolting refers to the premature production of seeds on plants. When plants of Chinese cabbage bolt, heads of undesirable size and/or quality normally result. Studies have shown that the bolting response in Chinese cabbage is under genetic control, with certain cultivars being more prone to bolt than others. Several environmental factors have been associated with bolting in Chinese cabbage. For example, young plants exposed to low temperatures for extended periods during early spring have a high probability of bolting during the higher temperatures and longer day lengths of midsummer. Short days with near optimal growing temperatures will tend to keep plants in the vegetative phase of development. Factors which cause a check in plant growth, such as nutrient deficiencies, may also induce bolting.

It is not certain that tipburn in Chinese cabbage is similar to the tipburn observed in lettuce and cabbage. The symptoms are brown and black necrotic areas on the leaf margins of external and internal foliage. In lettuce this disorder has been attributed to factors which affect the water status and the calcium and/or boron nutrition of the plant. Chinese cabbage cultivars which appear to possess tolerance to tipburn are available.

Harvesting

The maturity date for Chinese cabbage varies among cultivars, but it is usually 60 to 95 days. In southern Ontario harvesting commences in mid-July and continues through November. Chinese cabbage is harvested by hand when the heads are fully developed. Plants are cut at the based and the outer leaves removed. If the heads are to be stored some of the outer leaves, providing they are free from disease, may be left on to protect the head. These outer leaves are removed after the heads are taken out of storage. Harvested heads should be firm and free from discolouration, pests and disease injury. Heads intended for long-term storage should be handled with care to avoid bruising, cuts and abrasions, which lead to accelerated deterioration.

Chinese cabbage is sold directly from the grower to local specialty stores or restaurants, or distributed through central outlets such as Farmer Markets or the Ontario Food Terminal. A few growers have diversified their marketing operations to include "Pick Your Own" sales.

Storage

Studies at the University of Guelph have shown that the Wong Bok types of Chinese cabbage store for longer than two months when held at 1-2 °C, a high relative humidity exceeding 90% and minimal concentrations of ethylene gas. Chinese cabbage subjected to high levels of ethylene gas during storage exhibit leaf abscission. Other studies suggest that optimal post-harvest head quality can be achieved in controlled atmospheres at 1-2% 02< and 2-5% CO2.

The appropriate storage conditions should be established quickly following harvest to assure maximum storage length. When placed in cold storage, the heads should be packed loosely in crates to allow for proper ventilation around the heads. Heads of certain cultivars should be stored in an upright position to safeguard them against becoming misshapen.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: V. Shattuck - Department of Horticultural Science/University of Guelph;
B. Shelp - Department of Horticultural Science/University of Guelph
Creation Date: 01 October 1986
Last Reviewed: 01 June 2004

Production de chou chinois dans le sud de l'ontario

Table des matières

  1. Types et cultivars
  2. Exigences climatiques et édaphiques
  3. Nutrition
  4. Plantations
  5. Irrigation
  6. Mauvaises herbes
  7. Maladies
  8. Insectes et ravageurs
  9. Désordres physiologiques
  10. Récolte

Plus d'une douzaine de légumes orientaux sont cultivés commercialement à petite échelle dans le sud de l'Ontario. Le chou chinois (Brassica rapa var. Pekinensis) figure parmi les plus importants. Celui-ci, aussi appelé pé-tsaï, a été le premier légume oriental du genre Brassica à être cultivé en Amérique du Nord. On l'utilise de plus en plus aujourd'hui dans la cuisine occidentale. Il a de grosses feuilles cloquées, des nervures médianes succulentes épaisses, un goût sucré et une texture croquante lorsqu'il est mangé cru. Quand il est cuit, son goût est un peu plus doux que celui du chou. Même s'il est traditionnellement recherché pour les marinades, les soupes et les sautés à la chinoise, il peut facilement remplacer le chou dans de nombreux plats occidentaux.

Type won-bok

Figure 1A. Têtes de chou chinois une fois les feuilles enveloppantes enlevées. Type won-bok.

Type michihli.

Figure 1B. Têtes de chou chinois une fois les feuilles enveloppantes enlevées. Type michihli.

Types et cultivars

On peut classer les choux chinois suivant deux grands types : les choux en feuilles et les choux pommés, ce dernier type étant le plus souvent cultivé en Ontario. La tête cylindrique du chou chinois rappelle celle de la laitue romaine. À maturité cependant, le chou chinois est habituellement plus ferme. En outre, ses feuilles extérieures et enveloppantes sont alors d'un vert pâle caractéristique et celles du coeur, de couleur crème.

Les choux chinois présentent deux formes de tête. Le type won-bok produit une tête en forme de tonneau qui est normalement courte et large. Elle mesure environ 20-25 cm de longueur et 15-20 cm de diamètre (figure 1A). Les types michihli donnent des têtes fuselées qui peuvent atteindre 38-46 cm de long et 10-15 cm de diamètre (figure 1B).

Les cultivars de choux chinois présentent des différences au niveau de la taille du plant et de la tête, du moment où ils parviennent à maturité, de la tolérance à la maladie et de certaines caractéristiques de la tête et du feuillage. En se fiant à l'expérience locale, les producteurs choisissent les cultivars qui conviennent le mieux à leur exploitation et à leur clientèle. Les grainetiers d'Amérique du Nord offrent un excellent choix de cultivars. Un certain nombre de producteurs commandent cependant leurs semences directement de fournisseurs fiables situés en Asie.

Exigences climatiques et édaphiques

Les choux chinois poussent mieux dans les périodes de temps frais. Bien que la fourchette de température optimale pour la croissance de choux chinois soit entre 13 et 18 °C, certains cultivars tolèrent des températures plus élevées à la mi-saison, pourvu qu'il y ait amplement d'humidité. D'autres cultivars parmi ceux qui viennent à maturité à la mi-saison risquent de monter en graine pendant les grandes chaleurs. Les choux chinois tardifs peuvent supporter de faibles gelées à l'automne, bien que les gels et dégels successifs risquent d'endommager les tissus foliaires.

Les sols dotés d'une bonne structure, qui sont fertiles et retiennent bien l'eau produisent habituellement une bonne récolte de choux chinois. Ceux-ci poussent dans des sols aux pH allant de 5,5 à 7,6. Le pH idéal toutefois est presque neutre, autour de 7,0. Dans le sud de l'Ontario, le chou chinois vient bien dans différents types de sol. Les sols qui conviennent le moins à cette culture sont les sols sableux ou poreux, car ils retiennent mal l'eau et les nutriments. Le chou chinois ne peut pas non plus faire l'objet d'une culture commerciale dans les terres noires de Holland Marsh.

Nutrition

Un sol riche et fertile est nécessaire à la croissance rapide du chou chinois. Dans le sud de l'Ontario, on applique normalement de l'azote selon une dose de 80-130 kg/hectare. Cette application se fait seule ou en combinaison avec des applications de phosphore et de potasse. Les doses les plus fortes d'azote sont habituellement nécessaires sur les sols plus légers. Pour un maximum de résultats, on épand l'azote à la volée avant les semis, puis on fait un ou plusieurs traitements en bandes latérales à 10 jours d'intervalle après l'éclaircissage ou dans le mois qui suit le repiquage. On assure ainsi aux plantes en croissance un apport suffisant d'azote. Il est toutefois important d'éviter toute application excessive d'azote, car on risquerait alors de rendre les plantes plus vulnérables à la maladie et de retarder la maturité. Il faut aussi éviter d'épandre de l'azote lorsque les plants ont presque complété leur croissance, sous peine d'obtenir des têtes plus grosses, mais moins denses.

On peut s'attendre à un taux de croissance convenable du chou chinois lorsque les concentrations de phosphore et de potassium dans le sol suffiraient à soutenir la production de chou (voir la publication 363F du MAAO, Recommandations pour les cultures légumières).

Plantations

Il est possible de faire une récolte de chou chinois en début d'été si l'on repique au champ des plants produits localement. On part les plants en serre au début de mai, on les endurcit et on les repique au champ. Il est essentiel que le repiquage commence moins d'un mois suivant les semis et se fasse dans des conditions de sol et de climat favorables. On évite ainsi de freiner momentanément la croissance des plants et de provoquer la réaction de montaison. En général, on manipule les plants de semis de la même façon que s'il s'agissait de plants de chou. On les repique au champ à la main ou mécaniquement. Le succès de l'opération dépend avant tout de l'humidité du sol; les plants ne doivent pas en être privés après le repiquage.

On peut aussi semer le chou chinois directement au champ à partir de la fin d'avril. Pour ce faire, certains gros producteurs utilisent des semoirs de précision, qui leur permettent de réduire les coûts de main-d'oeuvre et de semences.

On obtient un approvisionnement constant en choux chinois pendant toute la saison en faisant des plantations successives tous les 10 à 14 jours (figure 2). On doit prévoir suffisamment de temps pour la croissance avant les premières gelées. Pour éviter de perdre toute leur récolte, les producteurs peuvent aussi planter plus d'un cultivar à la fois.

On espace les plants de 25-60 cm dans le rang et on espace les rangs de 40-82 cm. Les espacements les plus faibles conviennent aux choux chinois de type michihli, qui poussent en hauteur et sont plus étroits, et les espacements les plus grands, aux choux chinois de type won-bok, plus gros et plus étalés.

Champ caractéristique de choux chinois plantés à des dates successives

Figure 2. Champ caractéristique de choux chinois plantés à des dates successives.

Irrigation

La production de choux chinois exige un approvisionnement en eau constant et abondant. Vu le caractère imprévisible des précipitations en Ontario, les producteurs doivent surveiller de près les taux d'humidité dans le sol et, au besoin, recourir à l'irrigation. L'irrigation par aspersion doit se faire le matin afin que les plants aient le temps de sécher avant la tombée de la nuit. Des conditions de sol humides aident à garder la température plus fraîche dans le champ, ce qui constitue un atout à la mi-été.

Mauvaises herbes

Les morelles, moutardes, sisymbres, vélars et le galinsoga cilié (Galinsoga quadriradiata) sont quelques-unes des mauvaises herbes les plus difficiles à combattre. À l'heure actuelle, il n'existe aucun herbicide qui soit homologué en Ontario pour lutter contre les mauvaises herbes dans le chou chinois. Il faut donc se rabattre sur le sarclage manuel ou mécanique en commençant les interventions avant que les mauvaises herbes ne s'établissent.

Maladies

Des rapports indiquent qu'un certain nombre de maladies des crucifères infectent aussi le chou chinois. L'importance de ces maladies varie en fonction de l'endroit et de l'année.

Certains cultivars de chou chinois sont sensibles aux maladies virales de la mosaïque du navet et de la mosaïque jaune du navet. Malheureusement, on manque d'information sur la distribution et la gravité de ces virus dans les cultures de chou chinois en Ontario, de même que sur la disponibilité des cultivars résistants. Les jeunes plants infectés par le virus de la mosaïque du navet sont rabougris et présentent un feuillage chiffonné. Ils peuvent mourir avant de parvenir à maturité. Au fur et à mesure que les feuilles prennent de l'expansion, les tissus jaunissent ici et là, ce qui donne aux feuilles une apparence tachetée caractéristique (figures 3A et 3B). Le virus est transmis uniquement par les pucerons, mais les insecticides ne protègent pas les champs contre les migrations de pucerons porteurs du virus de la mosaïque du navet.

Dans certaines régions de l'Ontario, la hernie peut constituer un obstacle de taille à la production de choux chinois. Cette maladie est causée par un seul et unique champignon terricole (Plasmodiophora brassicae) qui prospère en sol acide et en présence d'une forte humidité. Il envahit les racines des plantes et nuit ainsi à l'absorption de l'eau. Aux premiers stades de l'infection, les plants se flétrissent les jours ensoleillés. Dans les stades avancés de la maladie, les racines des plants infectés sont gonflées et déformées. On lutte contre cette maladie en élevant le pH du sol au-dessus de 7,2, ce qui freine l'activité du champignon. On doit éviter les champs qui ont déjà été infectés par la hernie, et, dans la mesure du possible, utiliser des cultivars résistants.

Le mildiou et le blanc causés par les champignons Peronospora parasitica et Erisyphe polygoni attaquent les choux chinois à tous les stades de leur croissance. Sur les plants parvenus à maturité, la tête peut devenir impropre à la vente, surtout si le foyer d'infection se situe bien au coeur du plant. Ces maladies sont propices à des infections secondaires par des bactéries causant des pourritures molles, dont Erwinia carotovora ou des espèces du genre Pseudomonas.

La tache des feuilles causée par Alternaria brassicae et les espèces apparentées, la jambe noire (Phoma lingam) et la pourriture blanche (Sclerotinia sclerotiorum) peuvent aussi affecter la production certaines années.

Insectes et ravageurs

Les insectes qui s'alimentent de crucifères peuvent aussi endommager les choux chinois. Les insectes les plus courants comprennent plusieurs espèces de pucerons et les larves de la fausse-teigne des crucifères (Plutella xylostella), de la piéride du chou (Artogeia rapae) et de la fausse-arpenteuse du chou (Trichoplusia ni). Les larves de ces trois derniers insectes percent des trous dans le feuillage et peuvent s'enfoncer à l'intérieur des têtes à maturité les rendant du coup impropres à la vente.

Les jeunes plants de choux chinois sont vulnérables à plusieurs espèces d'altises et aux larves de la mouche du chou (Hylemya brassicae). Parmi les autres ravageurs des choux chinois qui ont été signalés dans le sud de l'Ontario, il y a la punaise terne (Lygus lineolaris) et différents types de limaces et d'escargots.

Chou chinois infecté par le virus de la mosaïque du navet. Noter l'apparence tachetée caractéristique de la plante infectée.

Figure 3A. Chou chinois infecté par le virus de la mosaïque du navet. Noter l'apparence tachetée caractéristique de la plante infectée.

Chou chinois infecté par le virus de la mosaïque du navet. Noter l'apparence tachetée caractéristique de la plante infectée (A) et d'une feuille infectée (B).

Figure 3B.Chou chinois infecté par le virus de la mosaïque du navet. Noter l'apparence tachetée caractéristique de la plante infectée (A) et d'une feuille infectée (B).

Désordres physiologiques

Le chou chinois complète normalement son cycle biologique durant la première année de croissance. La montaison ou montée en graine fait référence à la production prématurée de graines. Lorsque les plants de choux chinois montent en graine, on obtient normalement des têtes d'une taille ou d'une qualité indésirable. Des études démontrent que la montaison est une réaction programmée génétiquement chez le chou chinois, à laquelle certains cultivars sont plus enclins que d'autres. Plusieurs facteurs environnementaux semblent associés à cette réaction. Par exemple, de jeunes plants exposés à des températures basses pendant des périodes prolongées au début du printemps ont de fortes chances de monter en graine pendant les périodes de la mi-été où les températures sont plus élevées et les journées plus longues. Des journées courtes et des températures presque optimales pour la culture ont au contraire tendance à garder les plants en phase végétative. Des facteurs pouvant inhiber la croissance, notamment des carences nutritives, peuvent aussi provoquer la montée en graine.

Il n'est pas certain que la brûlure de la pointe observée dans le chou chinois soit la même que celle qui est observée dans la laitue et le chou. Les symptômes sont des zones nécrotiques brunes et noires sur le pourtour des feuilles externes et internes. Dans la laitue, on attribue ce désordre à des facteurs qui influencent les concentrations d'eau et de calcium ou de bore. Il existe des cultivars de chou chinois qui semblent être tolérants à la brûlure de la pointe.

Récolte

La date de maturité du chou chinois varie selon les cultivars, mais se situe habituellement à 60-95 jours. Dans le sud de l'Ontario, les récoltes commencent vers la mi-juillet et se poursuivent jusqu'en novembre. Le chou chinois est récolté à la main lorsque les têtes ont fini leur croissance. On coupe les plants à la base et en enlève les feuilles extérieures. Si les têtes doivent être entreposées, on laisse quelques-unes des feuilles enveloppantes pour protéger la tête. On enlève ensuite ces feuilles lorsqu'on sort les choux des entrepôts. On ne doit récolter que les têtes fermes et exemptes de décoloration, de ravageurs et de symptômes de maladies. On doit manipuler avec soin les têtes destinées à l'entreposage à long terme pour éviter de les meurtrir, de les couper ou de les soumettre à des surfaces abrasives, ce qui risquerait de précipiter leur détérioration.

Le chou chinois est vendu directement par le producteur à des magasins de spécialité régionaux ou à des restaurants, ou distribué par l'intermédiaire de points de vente centralisés comme un marché d'agriculteurs ou le Marché des produits alimentaires de l'Ontario. Quelques producteurs diversifient leurs méthodes de commercialisation et recourent même à l'autocueillette.

Entreposage

Des études à l'Université de Guelph démontrent que les choux chinois de type won-bok peuvent être entreposés plus de deux mois lorsqu'on maintient la température à 1-2 °C, l'humidité relative à plus de 90 % et la concentration du gaz éthylène à des niveaux minimaux. Chez les choux chinois, des niveaux élevés d’;éthylène pendant l'entreposage entraînent l'abscission des feuilles. Selon d'autres études, le maintien de la qualité optimale des têtes après la récolte passe par l'entreposage sous atmosphère contrôlée à 1-2 % d'O2 et 2-5 % de CO2.

Pour préserver le plus longtemps possible la fraîcheur du produit, on doit soumettre rapidement la récolte à des conditions d'entreposage convenables. Lorsque les choux chinois sont gardés dans des entrepôts frigorifiques, il faut que l'air puisse circuler entre les têtes. On doit donc éviter de trop entasser les choux dans les caisses. Dans le cas de certains cultivars, il est nécessaire d'entreposer les têtes à la verticale pour éviter qu'elles ne se déforment.

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca