Black rot

Excerpt from Publication 310, Integrated Pest Management for Apples,
Order this Publication

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Symptoms
  3. Biology
  4. Monitoring and management

Introduction

Black rot is an important disease of apple caused by the fungus Botryosphaeria obtusa. Black rot fungus infects a wide variety of hardwood trees, including apple and pear. Infected trees are often a source of infection for nearby younger bearing blocks. Northern Spy, Cortland, Gala, Honeycrisp, McIntosh and Empire are most often infected, although all apple cultivars are susceptible.

Symptoms

The black rot pathogen infects limbs, trunks, leaves and fruit resulting in reduced productivity and quality of yield. Leaf infections result in a disease called frog-eye leaf spot. On leaves, the disease first appears as a tiny purple fleck which eventually enlarges into a circular lesion about 4-5 mm in diameter (Figure 4-145). The disease often first shows up one to three weeks after petal fall. As the lesion enlarges, the margin remains purple while the centre turns tan or brown with a light centre giving the lesion a "frog-eye" appearance. The optimum temperature for leaf infections is around 26.6°C with 4.5 hours of leaf wetness.

Figure 4-145. Frog-eye leaf spot symptoms on apple

Figure 4-145. Frog-eye leaf spot symptoms on apple

Severely infected leaves eventually turn yellow and drop, resulting in premature senescence of affected trees and predisposing them to winter injury. Defoliation year after year stresses trees and greatly reduces vigour. Damage to limbs caused by cankers from other disease - or wounds caused by insects, pruning and hail or winter injury - provide an entrance for the fungus to invade and become established. Fire blight cankers are often colonized by black rot fungus. Limb cankers first appear as reddish or pinkish, brown sunken areas in the bark (Figure 4-146). Cankers often remain small and superficial but sometimes enlarge up to 50 cm in length along the infected limb, killing and cracking the bark. As the canker ages, the wood shrinks and becomes black as the bark peels away from the infected area (Figure 4-147). Cankers on limbs cause the entire limb to die back. Severely cankered limbs are weakened to the point that they may break under heavy fruit loads. Infections on the main trunk, particularly on young trees, eventually girdle the tree resulting in premature death.

Black rot canker on infected apple tree limb

Figure 4-146. Black rot canker on infected apple tree limb

The wood of two-year-old black rot cankers shrinks, turns black, and layers of bark peel

Figure 4-147. The wood of two-year-old black rot cankers shrinks, turns black, and layers of bark peel

Initial symptoms on young fruit appear as red flecks that develop into purplish, slightly raised pimples which often go unnoticed at first (Figure 4-148). As the fruit begins to mature and ripen, lesions begin to enlarge and develop into a sunken black spot surrounded by a red halo (Figure 4-149). The lesion eventually enlarges into a light or tan brown rot with concentric dark and light rings (Figure 4-150). Colonized mummified fruit are often located in close proximity to the black-rot infected fruit. Black rot often appears late in the season just before harvest as black spots on the fruit associated with mummified fruit left from chemical thinners. Black pycnidia may appear on fruit late in the growing season or in storage (Figure 4-151).

Initial black rot symptoms on mature apple fruit appear as black sunken spots

Figure 4-148. Initial black rot symptoms on mature apple fruit appear as black sunken spots

Black rot symptoms on mature fruit

Figure 4-149. Black rot symptoms on mature fruit

Light or tan brown rot with concentric dark and light rings

Figure 4-150. Light or tan brown rot with concentric dark and light rings

Late in the season or in storage tiny pimple-like black pycnidia (fruiting bodies containing spores) may become visible on the rotted fruit

Figure 4-151. Late in the season or in storage tiny pimple-like black pycnidia (fruiting bodies containing spores) may become visible on the rotted fruit

Sepals of fruit become infected early in the season just after bud scales become loose. Red flecks that turn purple surrounded by red rings on sepals are the first symptoms of early infection. As the fruit matures, the fungus penetrates the fruit from the calyx causing calyx end rot (Figure 4-152). Eventually, concentric dark and light rings form and the fungus grows into the core causing core rot and resulting in premature fruit drop.

Sepal infections that occur early in the growing season eventually develop into calyx end rot

Figure 4-152. Sepal infections that occur early in the growing season eventually develop into calyx end rot

Biology

Black rot fungus overwinters in cankers on twigs, branches and trunks of many hardwood trees, as well as on mummified fruit. Apple cultivars which retain mummified fruit such as Gala, Honeycrisp, Cortland and Northern Spy are often susceptible to black rot. Trees damaged by winter injury or fire blight infections are more susceptible to black rot.

The fungus produces two types of inoculum - ascospores (sexual spores) and conidia from pycnidia (asexual spores). Ascospores from cankers or colonized mummified fruit, tend to be released early in the growing season as buds begin to swell and open. The heaviest ascospore release occurs for a four to six week period following petal fall. Conidia are released from pycnidia throughout the growing season starting soon after bud break. Ascospores are wind blown, and conidia require a wet period and rain splashing for release. Frequent and heavy rain events are the main factors influencing spore release. The optimum temperature for leaf infections is 26°C accompanied by four to five hours of leaf wetting, and fruit infections occur at 20-24°C with nine hours of wetting. Risk of infections is low when temperatures are below 10°C (more than 24 hours of leaf wetness required), and none occur below 8°C. Leaf and fruit infections occur simultaneously in the spring.

Monitoring and management

Managing black rot in orchards relies on the integration of cultural and chemical methods together in an integrated pest management program. There are no cultivars completely resistant to black rot, but some are less susceptible to this disease than others (Table 4-11). Selecting cultivars that are less susceptible to black rot for planting near sources of disease (woodlots) may help reduce yield losses.

Pruning out diseased limbs and dead wood is an important practice to reduce the inoculum sources within the orchard. It is important to remove prunings from the orchard or burn them since black rot fungus can survive on dead tissue. Alternatively, chopping up the prunings on the orchard floor with a flail mower reduces inoculum levels. Woodpiles must not be stacked in or near orchards since they can be a major source of inoculum. Make an attempt to scout surrounding woodlots and identify hardwood trees infected with the disease. If possible, remove and burn these trees to decrease potential disease pressure. It is important to obtain a neighbour's permission to cut down infected trees identified on an adjacent property.

Table 4-11. Relative susceptibility of some apple cultivars to black rot
Cultivar Relative susceptibility
Arlet Moderately susceptible
Braeburn Less susceptible
Cameo Moderately susceptible
Creston Less susceptible
Enterprise Less susceptible
Fortune Moderately susceptible
Fuji Less susceptible
Gala Supreme Less susceptible
Ginger Gold Moderately susceptible
Golden Delicious Less susceptible
Golden Supreme Moderately susceptible
Goldrush Less susceptible
Honeycrisp Moderately susceptible
NY75414 Moderately susceptible
Orin Very susceptible
PioneerMac Moderately susceptible
Pristine Very susceptible
Sansa Moderately susceptible
Seshu Moderately susceptible
Shizuka Moderately susceptible
Suncrisp Moderately susceptible
Sunrise Very susceptible
Ytaka Moderately susceptible

Adapted from: Biggs, A.R and Miller, S.S. 2004. Relative Susceptibility of Selected Apple Cultivars to Fruit Rot Caused by Botryosphaeria obtuse. HortScience 39:303-306.

Mummified fruit left in trees often become infected with the fungus and remain as a source of inoculum within the orchard. Removal of mummified fruit helps reduce the spread of the disease. Research shows some chemical thinners leave small immature fruitlets that become mummified and infected with the black rot fungus, and a source of inoculum later in the season. Research shows applying chemical thinners when fruit are 6-8 mm rather than 12-14 mm reduces the number of mummified fruitlets left in the orchard, resulting in less black rot on mature fruit at harvest.

In orchards with a history of black rot, initiate applications of registered fungicides at silver tip and continue on a 10-14 day schedule to protect leaves and fruit from black rot infection. For a list of products effective in managing black rot, see OMAFRA Publication 360, Fruit Production Recommendations.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 21 July 2011
Last Reviewed: 21 July 2011

Pourriture noire

Extrait du Publication 310F, Lutte intégrée contre les ennemis du pommier,
Pour commander la publication

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Symptômes
  3. Cycle biologique
  4. Surveillance et lutte

Introduction

La pourriture noire est une maladie répandue des pommiers, causée par le champignon Botryosphaeria obtusa. Celui-ci infecte un large éventail de feuillus, dont le pommier et le poirier. Les arbres infectés deviennent à leur tour une source d'infection pour les jeunes blocs fructifères. Même si Northern Spy, Cortland, Gala, Honeycrisp, McIntosh et Empire sont les cultivars les plus souvent atteints, il faut savoir que tous les cultivars sont sensibles à cette maladie.

Symptômes

Le champignon responsable de la pourriture noire infecte les branches maîtresses, les troncs, les feuilles et les fruits, ce qui amène une baisse de la productivité et de la qualité de la récolte. Quand les symptômes se manifestent sur les feuilles, on parle habituellement de tache ocellée. Au début, de petites taches magenta se forment sur les feuilles. Ces taches prennent graduellement de l'expansion, puis forment des lésions circulaires d'environ 4-5 mm de diamètre (figure 4-145). La maladie apparaît souvent entre une et trois semaines suivant le calice. Au fur et à mesure que les taches grossissent, le contour des lésions devient violet tandis que le centre devient de couleur havane ou brun avec un centre clair, ce qui donne à la lésion l'aspect d'un ocelle (tache évoquant un œil). Les conditions propices aux infections sont des températures oscillant autour de 26,6°C et une période de mouillage de 4,5 heures.

Symptômes de la tache ocellée sur une feuille de pommier.

Figure 4-145. Symptômes de la tache ocellée sur une feuille de pommier.

Les feuilles lourdement infectées finissent par jaunir et tomber, ce qui amène une sénescence prématurée des arbres atteints et leur prédisposition à des blessures par l'hiver. La défoliation qui survient année après année impose un stress aux arbres et réduit considérablement leur vigueur. Les dommages causés aux branches maîtresses par les chancres attribuables à d'autres maladies - ou par les lésions occasionnées par des insectes, l'élagage, la grêle ou les rigueurs de l'hiver - offrent une porte d'entrée au champignon qui envahit l'arbre et s'y établit. Les chancres causés par la brûlure bactérienne sont souvent colonisés par le champignon responsable de la pourriture noire. Au début, les chancres qui apparaissent sur les branches maîtresses sont de simples zones déprimées et brunes qui tirent sur le rouge ou le rose sur l'écorce (figure 4-146). Souvent, les chancres restent petits et superficiels, mais il arrive qu'ils s'étendent pour atteindre 50 cm de longueur le long de la branche infectée, qu'ils fassent mourir et se fendiller l'écorce. Au fur et à mesure que le chancre vieillit, le bois se ratatine et noircit quand l'écorce se soulève aux endroits infectés (figure 4-147). Les chancres sur les branches maîtresses font mourir la branche au complet. Celle-ci est affaiblie au point où elle peut briser si la charge fruitière est importante. Les infections qui se produisent sur le tronc, particulièrement dans le cas des jeunes arbres, finissent par encercler complètement l'arbre, ce qui amène sa mort prématurée.

Chancre de la pourriture noire sur une grosse branche de pommier infectée.

Figure 4-146. Chancre de la pourriture noire sur une grosse branche de pommier infectée.

Bois noirci et ratatiné avec écorce soulevée par un chancre de la pourriture noire de deux ans.

Figure 4-147. Bois noirci et ratatiné avec écorce soulevée par un chancre de la pourriture noire de deux ans.

Les premiers symptômes sur les jeunes fruits se manifestent par des taches rouges qui à la longue se transforment en boutons violacés légèrement surélevés qui, au départ, peuvent passer inaperçus (figure 4-148). Quand le fruit approche de la maturité et commence à mûrir, les lésions s'élargissent et forment une tache noire déprimée, entourée d'un halo rouge (figure 4-149). Tôt ou tard, se développe sur la lésion une pourriture de couleur havane ou brun clair qui s'étale et qui est caractérisée par des anneaux concentriques successivement sombres et clairs (figure 4-150). Les fruits momifiés porteurs de colonies sont souvent situés très près d'un fruit infecté par la pourriture noire. La pourriture noire apparaît souvent tard dans la saison, soit juste avant la cueillette, sous forme de taches noires sur le fruit, associées à un fruit momifié resté après l'éclaircissage chimique. Des pycnides noires peuvent apparaître sur le fruit vers la fin de la saison ou en cours d'entreposage (figure 4-151).

Pomme à maturité présentant des taches noires déprimées, constituant les premiers symptômes de la pourriture noire.

Figure 4-148. Pomme à maturité présentant des taches noires déprimées, constituant les premiers symptômes de la pourriture noire.

Symptômes de la pourriture noire sur un fruit à maturité.

Figure 4-149. Symptômes de la pourriture noire sur un fruit à maturité.

Pourriture de couleur havane ou brun clair se formant par anneaux concentriques successivement sombres et clairs

Figure 4-150. Pourriture de couleur havane ou brun clair se formant par anneaux concentriques successivement sombres et clairs.

En fin de saison ou en cours d'entreposage, les pycnides (petits points noirs constituant les organes de fructification contenant des spores) peuvent devenir visibles sur le fruit pourri.

Figure 4-151. En fin de saison ou en cours d'entreposage, les pycnides (petits points noirs constituant les organes de fructification contenant des spores) peuvent devenir visibles sur le fruit pourri.

Les sépales deviennent infectés tôt dans la saison de croissance, juste après le desserrement des écailles des bourgeons. Des petites taches rouges qui deviennent violettes et qui sont entourées d'anneaux rouges sur les sépales sont les premiers symptômes d'une infection précoce. À l'approche de la maturité, le fruit est envahi par le champignon, qui pénètre par le calice, ce qui donne lieu à une pourriture de l'œil (figure 4-152). Tôt ou tard, des anneaux concentriques successivement sombres et clairs, se forment et le champignon se propage au cœur, ce qui cause la pourriture du cœur et la chute prématurée du fruit.

Les infections des sépales qui surviennent tôt dans la saison de croissance finissent par provoquer la pourriture de l'œil.

Figure 4-152. Les infections des sépales qui surviennent tôt dans la saison de croissance finissent par provoquer la pourriture de l'œil.

Cycle biologique

Le champignon responsable de la pourriture noire hiverne dans les chancres sur les pousses, branches et troncs de nombreux feuillus de même que sur les fruits momifiés. Les cultivars de pommiers auxquels les fruits momifiés restent accrochés, tels que Gala, Honeycrisp, Cortland et Northern Spy sont souvent sensibles à la pourriture noire. Les arbres endommagés par les rigueurs de l'hiver ou des infections par la brûlure bactérienne sont plus sensibles à la pourriture noire.

Le champignon produit deux types d'inoculum : les ascospores (spores sexuées) et les conidies provenant des pycnides (spores asexuées). Les ascospores provenant des chancres ou des fruits momifiés colonisés ont tendance à être libérées tôt durant la saison de croissance au moment où les bourgeons commencent à se gonfler et à éclater. Le moment où la libération des ascospores est la plus grande survient de quatre à six semaines après la chute des pétales (stade calice). Les conidies commencent à être libérées des pycnides peu après le débourrement et le sont par la suite pendant toute la saison de croissance. Les ascospores sont soufflées par le vent, tandis que les conidies ont besoin d'une période de mouillage et d'éclaboussures de pluie pour être libérées. De fréquents épisodes de pluie et des pluies abondantes sont les principaux facteurs qui influencent la libération des spores. On peut s'attendre à une infection des feuilles s'il fait 26°C et qu'il y a eu une période de mouillage de quatre à cinq heures. On peut craindre une infection des fruits s'il fait 20-24°C et qu'il y a eu neuf heures de mouillage. Le risque d'infection est faible quand les températures sont inférieures à 10°C (il faut alors une période de mouillage de plus de vingt-quatre heures) et il est nul sous la barre des 8°C. Au printemps, les infections des feuilles et des fruits se produisent simultanément.

Surveillance et lutte

Dans les vergers, la lutte contre la pourriture noire repose sur la mise en œuvre de méthodes de lutte culturale et de lutte chimique dans le cadre d'un programme de lutte intégrée. Aucun cultivar n'est entièrement résistant à la pourriture noire, mais certains y sont moins sensibles que d'autres (tableau 4-11). On peut se prémunir contre d'importantes pertes de rendement en choisissant, pour les vergers situés à proximité de sources d'inoculum (p. ex. boisés), des cultivars qui sont moins sensibles à cette maladie.

L'élagage des branches malades et du bois mort est une précaution importante pour réduire les sources d'inoculum dans le verger. Il faut prendre soin de retirer le bois d'émonde du verger et de le brûler, car le champignon responsable de la pourriture noire peut survivre sur les tissus morts. De même, on peut déchiqueter le bois d'émonde tombé au sol à l'aide d'une débroussailleuse, afin de réduire les niveaux d'inoculum. Éviter d'empiler du bois dans le verger ou à proximité de celui-ci, car les tas de bois constituent une source d'inoculum importante. Dans la mesure du possible, faire une inspection des boisés avoisinants à la recherche de feuillus infectés par la maladie. Si possible, enlever et brûler ces arbres afin de réduire la pression exercée par la maladie. Prendre soin de toujours obtenir la permission des voisins avant de couper des arbres infectés sur leur terrain.

Tableau 4-11. Sensibilité relative ŕ la pourriture noire de certains cultivars de pommiers
Cultivar Sensibilité relative
Arlet Moyennement sensible
Braeburn Moins sensible
Cameo Moyennement sensible
Creston Moins sensible
Enterprise Moins sensible
Fortune Moyennement sensible
Fuji Moins sensible
Gala Supreme Moins sensible
Ginger Gold Moyennement sensible
Golden Delicious Moins sensible
Golden Supreme Moyennement sensible
Goldrush Moins sensible
Honeycrisp Moyennement sensible
NY75414 Moyennement sensible
Orin Très sensible
PioneerMac Moyennement sensible
Pristine Très sensible
Sansa Moyennement sensible
Seshu Moyennement sensible
Shizuka Moyennement sensible
Suncrisp Moyennement sensible
Sunrise Très sensible
Ytaka Moyennement sensible

Adaptation d'après : Biggs, A.R et S.S. Miller. " Relative Susceptibility of Selected Apple Cultivars to Fruit Rot Caused by Botryosphaeria obtusa ", dans HortScience 39:303-306, 2004.

Les fruits momifiés laissés dans les arbres deviennent souvent infectés par le champignon et demeurent une source d'inoculum à l'intérieur du verger. L'enlèvement des fruits momifiés contribue donc à réduire la propagation de la maladie. Des recherches montrent que certains éclaircissants chimiques laissent sur les branches des petits fruits immatures qui se momifient et deviennent infectés par la pourriture noire, puis constituent une source d'inoculum plus tard dans la saison de croissance. Selon certaines études, l'application d'éclaircissants chimiques quand le fruit a 6-8 mm plutôt que 12-14 mm diminue le nombre de petits fruits momifiés laissés dans le verger, ce qui réduit l'incidence de la pourriture noire sur les fruits à maturité au moment de la cueillette.

Dans les vergers où la pourriture noire a déjà sévi, commencer les applications de fongicides homologués dès le stade de la pointe argent et poursuivre les traitements à 10-14 jours d'intervalles afin de protéger les feuilles et les fruits des infections par la pourriture noire. Pour une liste des produits efficaces contre la pourriture noire, voir la publication 360F du MAAARO, Recommandations pour les cultures fruitières.


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 21 juillet 201
Dernière révision : 21 juillet 2011

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca