Starting a Farm in Ontario - Business Information Bundle for New Farmers

Common Questions about Starting a New Farm Business

Q. Where do I start, what do I need to do?

A. If you have conducted a self assessment and you want to pursue farming as a career, the first thing is to invest in educating yourself to determine what will be the core business of your farming operation. Talk to other farmers, attend workshops, seminars and trade shows. Seek out mentorship programs or work as an employee on a farm to gain practical experience.

Q. Where can I get training to develop the skills I need to start a farm?

A. Agricultural and business courses are available at some Ontario universities, colleges and through some industry organizations. These include business, marketing or production courses.

The Ministry of Economic Development and Trade also provides some resources for small and medium enterprises.

There are also numerous opportunities to talk to existing farmers, attend workshops, seminars and trade shows. Get in contact with the organization of the commodity(ies) that you are considering producing. A list of Ontario's agriculture, food and rural organizations can be found on our website click here.

If possible, look for a mentorship program or work as an employee on a farm to gain practical experience.

The ministry is currently offering support to share the cost of developing a wide range of agricultural skills through the Growing Forward Business Development Program for Farm Businesses. This program incorporates self-assessment and goal setting with a range of cost-share advisory services and skills development opportunities. Click here for more information.

Q. Do I need a farm business registration number in order to begin farming in Ontario?

A. You do not need a farm business registration number to begin farming in Ontario - it depends on your gross farm income once you have enough production to see a return. Farm businesses that gross more than $7,000 in farm income are required by law to register their business with Agricorp. Agricorp delivers the Farm Business Registration (FBR) program on behalf of OMAFRA. Farm businesses are required to pay a registration fee and can choose which farm organization they wish to join (exceptions apply). In addition to managing the collection and disbursement of registration fees, Agricorp collects farm product data to assist the ministry in developing sound public policy. The deadline to register each year is March 1.
With a valid FBR number, producers can:

  1. Pay 25 percent property tax on agricultural land versus 100 percent of rural property value as determined by the Municipal Property Assessment Corporation (MPAC).
  2. Obtain membership with either the Ontario Federation of Agriculture (OFA), Christian Farmers Federation of Ontario (CFFO), or National Farmer's Union (Ontario) (NFU-O).
  3. Access related programs and services eligible by having a farm business registration number click here.

Q. Are there any grants and/or programs to help with me get established in my new farm venture?

A. Programs and services exist to assist in many areas of a farm business. There is no specific government funding program in Ontario to assist in the establishment of a new farm venture from a capital point of view, however other programs may apply. Visit the OMAFRA factsheet on Programs and Services for Ontario Farmers.

Q. How do I know if I am paying fair market value for the farm property I am interested in purchasing?

A. Talk to local farmers and real estate agents in the area you are looking to purchase land to get an idea of the price per hectare or acre. Also do a web search to find out additional information.

Q. Where do I go to get a soil analysis done? Why do I need to do this?

A. Soil testing plays an important role in crop production and nutrient management. On farms that use commercial fertilizer as the main nutrient source, it is the best way to plan for profitable fertilizer applications. On livestock farms, knowing how much nutrient is present in the soil to start with is critical. Only then can a nutrient management plan be developed to properly manage both the nutrients that have been generated on-farm and any nutrients that are being imported to the property as biosolids or commercial fertilizer. Soil testing is really a three-step process: the collection of a representative sample from each field or section, proper analysis of that sample to determine the levels of available nutrients, and use of the results to determine optimum fertilizer rates. Keeping records is an integral part of the soil-testing process; they will help determine if soil test levels are increasing, decreasing or being maintained over time.

List of accredited soil testing labs.

Q. Where do I find out about local zoning and bylaws that may affect what and how I operate my farm business?

A. Local zoning and bylaw information is readily available by contacting the planning department of your local municipality or township. To find your local municipality click here.

Q. How do I determine my cost of production for a certain crop or livestock?

A. Determining your cost of production involves a number of variables including fixed costs and variable costs. Cost of production information available through the ministry can be found on our website click here.

Q. How do I know if my product needs to be marketed through a marketing board?

A. Information and a list of marketing boards in Ontario can be found on our website click here. Contact the marketing board directly if you have any questions about how they operate and how to market your products.

Q. How do I market my non-regulated products?

A. A marketing plan is a vital component of your overall business plan. A comprehensive marketing plan examines global and consumer trends; reviews the marketing mix of product, price, place and promotion; and provides details of how you will market your product or service over a certain period of time. Although the development of a marketing plan can seem intimidating, information, tools and resources are available to help.

Ontario Ministry of Agriculture and Food (OMAF)

Ontario Ministry of Economic Development and Trade (MEDT)

Canadian Farm Business Management Council (CFBMC) and search "Resources and Publications" for marketing material and information.

Also, OMAFRA is currently offering support to share the costs of developing a commodity marketing plan or a direct marketing plan through the Advanced Business Planning portion of the Growing Forward Business Development Program for Farm Businesses. Visit the Ontario Soil and Crop Improvement Association for more information.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 15 March 2010
Last Reviewed: 21 August 2013

Démarrer une ferme en Ontario - Trousse d'information à l'intention du nouvel agriculteur

Questions courantes sur le démarrage d'une nouvelle exploitation agricole

Q. Par où commencer? Que dois-je faire?

A. Si vous avez fait une auto-évaluation et que vous voulez devenir agriculteur, la première chose à faire est d'investir dans votre propre formation afin de déterminer ce qui constituera la principale activité de votre exploitation agricole. Parlez à d'autres agriculteurs, participez à des ateliers, des séminaires et des foires commerciales. Cherchez un programme de mentorat ou travaillez comme employé dans une ferme pour acquérir de l'expérience.

Q. Où puis-je me suivre une formation pour développer les compétences nécessaires pour démarrer une ferme?

A. Il y a en Ontario des universités, des collèges et des organismes spécialisés du secteur agricole qui offrent des cours axés sur l'agriculture et les affaires, notamment des cours de gestion d'entreprise ou de production.

Le Ministère du développement économique et de la croissance dispose aussi de ressources destinées aux petites et moyennes entreprises.

Il existe aussi de nombreuses occasions de discuter avec des agriculteurs, de participer à des ateliers, des séminaires et des foires commerciales. Contactez l'organisme qui régit la ou les productions dans lesquelles vous envisagez de vous lancer.

Si possible, participez à un programme de mentorat ou travaillez comme employé dans une ferme pour acquérir de l'expérience.

Le ministère offre actuellement une aide financière afin de partager les frais associés au perfectionnement de tout un éventail de compétences agricoles dans le cadre de l'initiative Cultivons l'avenir 2. Cette démarche intègre un outil d'autoévaluation et d'établissement des objectifs à un éventail de services consultatifs à frais partagés et à des possibilités de perfectionnement des compétences. Pour en savoir plus clique ici.

Q. Ai-je besoin d'un numéro d'enregistrement d'exploitation agricole pour pouvoir exploiter une ferme en Ontario?

A. Il n'est pas nécessaire d'avoir un numéro d'enregistrement d'exploitation agricole pour commencer à exploiter une ferme en Ontario - cela dépend du revenu agricole brut que vous aurez une fois que votre production sera suffisante pour générer un profit. Les exploitations agricoles dont le revenu brut dépasse 7 000 $ sont légalement tenues de s'inscrire auprès d'Agricorp, organisme qui administre le Programme d'inscription des entreprises agricoles pour le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO).Chaque entreprise agricole doit verser des droits d'inscription et peut choisir l'organisation agricole à laquelle elle souhaite adhérer (sauf exceptions). En plus de gérer la collecte et le déboursement des droits d'inscription, Agricorp doit également recueillir des données sur les produits agricoles afin de permettre au ministère d'élaborer des politiques publiques adéquates. La date d'échéance pour s'inscrire est le 1er mars de chaque année.

Les producteurs qui détiennent un numéro d'inscription valide ont accès aux privilèges suivants :

    1. Ils ne paient que 25 pour cent de la taxe foncière de leur terre agricole, au lieu de 100 pour cent.
    2. Ils deviennent membres de l'une des associations agricoles suivantes : la Fédération de l'agriculture de l'Ontario (FAO), la Fédération des agriculteurs chrétiens de l'Ontario (FACO), ou le Syndicat national des agriculteurs - Ontario (SNAO).
    3. Ils ont accès aux programmes et services auxquels leur inscription au registre leur donne droit clique ici.

Q. Existe-t-il des subventions ou des programmes pour m'aider à m'installer en tant qu'exploitant agricole?

A. Il existe des programmes et des services de soutien aidant à gérer divers aspects d'une exploitation agricole. Pour ce qui est des immobilisations en tant que telles, il n'existe pas de programme financier particulier en Ontario pour le démarrage d'une nouvelle exploitation agricole, mais il peut y avoir d'autres programmes de soutien applicables. Pour en savoir plus, consulter la page Programmes et services à l'intention des agriculteurs ontariens.

Q. Comment savoir si le prix offert pour la ferme que je me propose d'acheter correspond à la juste valeur du marché?

A. Pour avoir une idée de la valeur des terres à l'acre, discutez-en avec des agriculteurs et des agents immobiliers qui exercent dans la région où vous cherchez à acheter des terres. Faites également une recherche sur Internet pour obtenir davantage d'information. Pour en savoir plus Financemont agricole Canada.

Q. À qui dois-je m'adresser pour faire une analyse de sol? Pourquoi ai-je besoin d'en faire une?

A. L'analyse de sol joue un rôle important dans les cultures agricoles et la gestion des éléments nutritifs. Dans les fermes qui utilisent les engrais chimiques comme principale source de nutriments, cette analyse de sol est la meilleure façon de planifier un épandage d'engrais efficace. Dans les fermes d'élevage, il est essentiel de savoir au départ la quantité de nutriments présents dans le sol. Ce n'est qu'alors que l'on pourra élaborer un plan de gestion des nutriments afin de gérer comme il convient ceux qui sont générés sur place et ceux qui sont apportés de l'extérieur, que ce soit sous la forme de matières organiques ou d'engrais chimiques. L'analyse de sol est un processus en trois étapes comprenant la collecte d'un échantillon représentatif de chaque champ ou de chaque parcelle, une analyse adéquate de cet échantillon pour déterminer quels sont les niveaux de nutriments présents, et enfin, l'utilisation des résultats pour déterminer les taux optimaux d'engrais. La conservation des résultats d'analyse fait partie intégrante du processus d'analyse de sol; cela aidera à déterminer si les niveaux de nutriments présents dans le sol augmentent, diminuent ou restent constants au fil du temps.

Vous trouverez une liste des laboratoires d'analyse de sol.

Q. Où puis-je me renseigner sur le zonage local et les règlements susceptibles d'affecter mon exploitation agricole et la façon dont je l'exploite?

A. Le zonage local et l'information relative au règlement de zonage peuvent être obtenus en contactant le service de planification de votre municipalité ou de votre canton. Pour vous renseigner sur votre municipalité clique ici.

Q. Comment déterminer le coût de production d'une culture ou d'un élevage donné ?

A. Le coût de production se calcule à partir d'un nombre de variables tels que les frais fixes et les dépenses variables. Vous pouvez consulter les renseignements fournis à ce sujet par le ministère à l'adresse suivante clique ici.

Q. Comment savoir si mes produits doivent être commercialisés par l'entremise d'une commission de commercialisation?

A. Vous trouverez des renseignements à ce sujet ainsi que la liste des commissions de commercialisation sur notre site Web.

Contactez directement la commission de commercialisation si vous avez des questions sur son fonctionnement et sur la commercialisation de vos produits.

Q. Comment commercialiser mes produits non réglementés?

A. Le plan de commercialisation est une composante essentielle de votre plan général d'exploitation. Un plan de commercialisation complet comprend un examen des tendances globales du marché et celles du consommateur; un examen des divers paramètres de la commercialisation du produit, à savoir son prix, le lieu et la promotion; et des détails sur la façon de commercialiser le produit ou le service sur une période donnée. Bien que l'élaboration d'un plan de commercialisation puisse sembler intimidante, des outils, des ressources et des renseignements sont mis à votre disposition pour vous aider à le préparer.

Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales
(MAAARO)

Ministère du Développement économique, de l’Emploi et de l’Infrastructure

Par ailleurs, le MAAARO offre actuellement un mode de soutien à frais partagés pour l'élaboration d'un plan de commercialisation de produits de base ou de commercialisation directe, prévu au programme de planification spécialisé qui s'inscrit dans le volet Développement des entreprises agricoles de l'initiative Cultivons l'avenir. Pour en savoir davantage, consulter le site de l'Association pour l'amélioration des sols et des récoltes de l'Ontario


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : March 12, 2010
Dernière révision : 01 février 2017

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca