Towards Increased Profits (TIP) Report

Table of Contents

What is the Tip Report?
When are the Reports Mailed Out?
Why Did Farmers Receive It? / How Does a Farmer Participate?
Can a Farmer Still Request a Tip Report?
Who Can They Call if They Have Questions on the Tip Report?

What is the Tip Report?


The AgriStability program application contains much of the information required to do simplified cash basis farm management analysis. Therefore, Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) staff developed a template to incorporate the information submitted on the AgriStability application into a management analysis report - which is called the TIP Report - Towards Increased Profits.

The TIP reports compare the financial performance of the individual farmer to their previous 5 year average and to an industry benchmark based on their farm type and income range. These industry benchmarks are derived from the entire AgriStability database.

The TIP Report is funded through the Renewal Chapter of the Agricultural Policy Framework (APF), a Federal-Provincial-Territorial initiative.

When are Reports Mailed Out?


The mailing of the TIP reports is typically scheduled for January/February.

Why Did Farmers Receive It? / How Does a Farmer Participate?


To participate, farmers indicate "Yes" to the Towards Increased Profits (TIP) report question at the bottom of page 3 of their AgriStability application form.

Can a Farmer Still Request a Tip Report?


If they did not request a TIP report on their AgriStability application form, they can request a TIP report by calling the Agricultural Information Contact Centre (AICC) at 1-877-424-1300.

Who Can They Call if They Have Questions on the Tip Report?

After receiving their report, individuals may wish to have further clarification or interpretation. The first point of contact is the AICC at 1-877-424-1300. AICC staff will be able to provide TIP interpretation support. Technical questions can also be forwarded to John Molenhuis, Business Analysis and Cost of Production Program Lead with OMAFRA at 613-475-9472.

Individuals wishing to have a more complete farm management analysis will be advised by the AICC staff to contact their accountant or farm management professional.

Another program that can help producers identify, plan for and reach their business goals is the Growing Your Farm Profits workshop. The two-day workshop will give the tools needed to assess current farm management practices and understand how proactive planning can influence effective decision making. For specific dates and locations, please contact the Ontario Soil and Crop Improvement Association (OSCIA) by phone at 1-800-265-9751 or visit their website at www.ontariosoilcrop.org. Workshops are provided free of charge so register early as space is limited.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: John Molenhuis, Business Analysis and Cost of Production Program Lead/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 8 May 2009
Last Reviewed: 8 May 2009

Le rapport pour une meilleure rentabilité

Qu'est-ce que le rapport pour une meilleure rentabilité ?

Le formulaire du programme Agri-stabilité renferme une bonne partie de l'information requise pour réaliser une analyse (simplifiée) de gestion d'une exploitation agricole, en utilisant la méthode de comptabilité de caisse. Le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO) a créé un modèle que l'on peut utiliser pour incorporer cette information dans un rapport d'analyse de gestion, appelé « rapport pour une meilleure rentabilité ».

Le rapport sert à comparer les résultats financiers d'un agriculteur pendant une année donnée avec ses résultats moyens au cours des cinq années précédentes et avec les résultats de référence au sein du secteur agricole. Les résultats de référence sont déterminés d'après le genre d'exploitation de l'agriculteur et la plage de revenus de l'agriculteur. Ils sont extraits de la base de données intégrale du programme Agri-stabilité.

Les rapports pour une meilleure rentabilité sont financés dans le cadre du volet « Renouveau » du Cadre stratégique pour l'agriculture (un programme fédéral-provincial-territorial).

Quand les rapports seront-ils mis à la poste ?

Les rapports pour une meilleure rentabilité devraient être mis à la poste en janvier ou en février.

Pourquoi des agriculteurs ont-ils reçu le rapport ? comment un agriculteur peut-il participer ?

Pour participer, il faut répondre « Oui » à la question au bas de la page 3 du formulaire du programme Agri-stabilité (où il est demandé si vous voulez recevoir le rapport pour une meilleure rentabilité).

Un agriculteur peut-il toujours demander un rapport ?

Les agriculteurs qui n'ont pas demandé un rapport, quand ils ont rempli le formulaire du programme Agri-stabilité, peuvent en demander un en appelant le Centre d'information agricole, au 1 877 424-1300.

Qui les agriculteurs peuvent-ils appeler s'ils ont des questions au sujet du rapport pour une meilleure rentabilité ?

Quand ils auront reçu leur rapport, les agriculteurs pourraient avoir besoin d'aide pour l'interpréter. Leur premier point de contact est le Centre d'information agricole, au 1 877 424-1300. Le Centre d'information les aidera à interpréter leur rapport. Les questions de nature technique peuvent être adressées à John Molenhuis, chargé de programme, analyse des activités commerciales et des coûts de production, MAAARO, au 613 475-9472.

Les personnes qui communiqueront avec le Centre d'information agricole pour obtenir une analyse de gestion plus complète seront invitées à communiquer avec leur comptable ou leur professionnel en gestion agricole.

L'atelier intitulé « Faites fructifier les profits de votre ferme » est un autre outil qui peut aider les agriculteurs à définir et à atteindre leurs objectifs d'entreprise. L'atelier, qui dure deux jours, vous donnera des outils pour évaluer vos pratiques de gestion agricole et voir comment une planification « en amont » peut favoriser de bonnes décisions. Pour connaître les dates et les lieux de l'atelier dans votre région, veuillez communiquer avec l'Association pour l'amélioration des sols et des récoltes de l'Ontario, au 1 800 265-9751. Vous pouvez aussi aller voir son site Web, à l'adresse www.ontariosoilcrop.org.

L'entrée à l'atelier est gratuite, mais les places sont limitées. Il est donc recommandé de s'y inscrire tôt.


Auteur : Firstname SPACE Lastname SPACE HYPHEN SPACE Title - Affiliation
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist - University of Guelph)
Use a SEMI COLON to separate multiple entries:
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist - University of Guelph; Jane Doe - Crop Specialist - OMAFRA)
Date de création : dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy
Dernière révision : dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca