Soybean Industry

A strong foundation of collaboration

Field Crop Pathologist Albert Tenuta has built strong working relationships across Canada and internationally over his 25 years of working at OMAFRA. Albert's networks have opened up collaborative business opportunities for Ontario's soybean industry. Albert has always been keenly aware of global opportunities and works to ensure that Ontario growers are aware of sector trends and opportunities that can benefit their businesses.

Since 2014, Albert has worked with the Crop Protection Network (CPN), a regional network of land grant universities in the United States (US) and OMAFRA, which serves as the infrastructure for collaboratively creating crop pathology resources for the soybean industries in Ontario and the North Central States. Canada ranks as one of the major soybean producing countries, with a global reputation for both high quality and high yields. Unfortunately, yields in many of the major soybean countries, including Canada (especially Ontario), are reduced each year due to diseases, resulting in unnecessary losses to the producer and agriculture sector as a whole. The most recent published disease losses for Canada (2006) are 363,000 metric tonnes (13,338,072 bushels) at a potential conservative cost of more than $154,855,015 (Cash Price - $11.61 December 4, 2015) (Wrather et al, 2010, Plant Health Progress).

Working together to combat soybean disease

Albert is the only Canadian on the CPN team. He saw the CPN as a forum to collaborate with extension experts outside of Ontario to create a strong, unified message about soybean disease management. The CPN was created to provide unbiased, research-based information to farmers and agricultural personnel on how to combat emerging field crop disease problems in their fields. This project has been funded through the Grain Farmers of Ontario (GFO) and the North Central Soybean Research Program (NCSRP). The NCSRP program has funded the project at $58,000 per year in 2014, 2015 and 2016. Grain Farmers of Ontario (GFO) has provided $10,000 per year for Ontario's involvement. Without Albert's involvement with the CPN, the information produced by the team would not have been applicable to Ontario growers, and Ontario would have missed this opportunity to be part of a strong brand. Albert's partnership with US colleagues and his long history of working with the GFO and the NCSRP led to Ontario's participation in this project.

Creating resources to meet the sector's needs

Through the CPN, high quality, innovative extension tools and materials have been created and distributed in order to meet industry needs and reduce farmer risk and economic losses associated with soybean diseases. The group has developed extension material for new and emerging (endemic) diseases for Ontario and the North Central US, and provided this information at multiple levels of extension interface (print, web, video, smartphone, GFO magazine, etc.) to reach diverse groups of stakeholders. To date, the CPN has created 21 publications in the Soybean Disease Management Series and six scouting cards. These tools can be easily updated to incorporate the latest research findings so management recommendations are current and relevant to producers. The CPN website (www.cropprotectionnetwork.org) features all the products produced to date. These materials are also available on the GFO website (www.gfo.ca/production/production-resources). To date, over 119,400 copies of the CPN publications have been printed and there have been nearly 11,500 PDF downloads.

The CPN has focused its efforts on providing a consistent approach to disease management for Ontario and Northern US soybean producers, through a trusted, branded source. A CPN logo was created to emphasize the strength of the expertise that is behind the group's Extension outputs. The goal of the CPN was to create one voice and one message for soybean disease management. Without the collaboration between the US and Ontario, the number of resources produced and the reach of those resources would not have been possible. This infrastructure has made collaborative outputs easier to brand and created a network of specialists who support each other in their efforts to enact the core mission of the land grant institutions and OMAFRA, which is to provide research-based education to the public sector. The success of this model has not gone unnoticed, as in November 2015 the group's publications were recognized by the American Society of Agronomy with the 2015 Extension Education Community Education Materials Award.

In addition to creating a stronger soybean industry, the CPN created a five-part corn ear mould and mycotoxin series in 2016, which was used by OMAFRA this fall to aid with elevated mycotoxin levels in the 2016 Ontario corn crop. The CPN will continue to create and share resources with the sector, which will support disease management for field crops in North America.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: May 2017
Last Reviewed: May 2017

L'industrie du soya

De solides assises de collaboration

Albert Tenuta, pathologiste, grandes cultures, a établi de solides relations de travail partout au Canada et à l'étranger au fil des 25 ans qu'il travaille au MAAARO. Les réseaux d'Albert ont donné naissance à des perspectives d'entreprises coopératives dans l'industrie ontarienne du soya. Albert a toujours été très conscient des perspectives globales et œuvre afin que les producteurs de l'Ontario connaissent les tendances et les possibilités du secteur susceptibles de profiter à leurs entreprises.

Depuis 2014, Albert travaille avec le Crop Protection Network (CPN), réseau régional d'universités ayant reçu des concessions de terres aux États-Unis (É. U.) et le MAAARO, qui agit comme infrastructure de création coopérative de ressources en pathologie agricole pour les industries du soya en Ontario et dans les États du centre-nord des États-Unis. Le Canada se classe parmi les principaux pays producteurs de soya et s'est taillé une réputation mondiale au niveau de la qualité et des rendements. Malheureusement, dans nombre des grands pays producteurs de soya, y compris le Canada (notamment l'Ontario), les rendements diminuent chaque année en raison des maladies, entraînant des pertes inutiles pour les producteurs et le secteur agricole dans son ensemble. Les pertes dues aux maladies les plus récentes et publiées pour le Canada (2006) sont de 363 000 tonnes métriques (13 338 072 boisseaux), pour un coût conservateur éventuel de plus de 154 855 015 $ (cours au comptant - 11,61 $ le 4 décembre 2015) (Wrather et coll., 2010, Plant Health Progress).

Combattre ensemble les maladies du soya

Albert est le seul Canadien de l'équipe du CPN. Il voyait dans le CPN une tribune où collaborer avec des spécialistes de la vulgarisation à l'extérieur de l'Ontario afin de créer un message commun et solide concernant la lutte contre les maladies du soya. Le CPN a été créé afin fournir, grâce à la recherche, des renseignements impartiaux aux agriculteurs et au personnel agricole sur la façon de combattre, dans les champs, les problèmes naissants dus aux maladies des grandes cultures. Le projet a été subventionné par l'intermédiaire de Grain Farmers of Ontario (GFO) et du North Central Soybean Research Program (NCSRP). Le programme NCSRP a injecté dans le projet 58 000 $ par an en 2014, 2015 et 2016. Les Grain Farmers of Ontario (GFO) y ont injecté 10 000 $ par an pour la participation de l'Ontario. Sans la participation d'Albert au CPN, l'information réunie par l'équipe n'aurait pu être applicable aux producteurs de l'Ontario et la province aurait raté cette occasion de faire partie d'une marque solide. Le partenariat d'Albert avec ses collègues étasuniens et ses longs antécédents de collaboration avec les GFO et le NCSRP ont abouti à la participation de l'Ontario à ce projet.

Mise au point de ressources pour les besoins du secteur

Grâce au CPN, des outils et documents de vulgarisation innovateurs et de qualité ont été mis au point et distribués pour répondre aux besoins de l'industrie et réduire les risques pour les agriculteurs et les pertes économiques liées aux maladies du soya. Le groupe a préparé des documents de vulgarisation concernant les maladies nouvelles et naissantes (endémiques) pour l'Ontario et le centre-nord des É.-U. et diffusé ces renseignements à des niveaux multiples de l'interface de vulgarisation (médias imprimés, Web, vidéos, téléphone intelligent, bulletin des GFO, etc.) pour joindre des groupes divers d'intervenants. Jusqu'à maintenant, le CPN a créé 21 publications dans la série de répression des maladies du soya et six fiches de surveillance. Ces outils peuvent facilement être mis à jour pour y incorporer les conclusions les plus récentes de la recherche afin que les recommandations de lutte soient actuelles et pertinentes pour les producteurs. Le site Web du CPN (www.cropprotectionnetwork.org) affiche tous les documents et outils produits jusqu'à maintenant. Ils sont également disponibles sur le site Web des GFO (www.gfo.ca/production/production-resources). Jusqu'à maintenant, plus de 119 400 exemplaires des publications du CPN ont été imprimés et il y a eu près de 11 500 téléchargements des versions PDF.

Le CPN a concentré ses efforts dans le but d'offrir une approche uniforme à la lutte contre les maladies à l'intention des producteurs de soya de l'Ontario et du nord des É.-U., au moyen d'une source de confiance et de marque reconnue. Le logotype du CPN a été créé pour faire ressortir l'expertise solide qui sous-tend les produits de vulgarisation du groupe. L'objectif du CPN était de créer une voix uniforme et un seul message pour la lutte contre les maladies du soya. Sans la collaboration entre les États-Unis et l'Ontario, il n'aurait pas été possible de créer un aussi grand nombre de ressources ayant autant de rayonnement. L'infrastructure a facilité l'établissement de la marque pour les productions coopératives et créé un réseau de spécialistes s'appuyant mutuellement pour mettre en pratique la mission principale des institutions à concession foncière et du MAAARO, soit de fournir au secteur public de l'information fondée sur la recherche. Le succès du modèle n'est pas passé inaperçu car, en novembre 2015, les publications du groupe ont été soulignées par l'American Society of Agronomy, qui leur a décerné pour 2015 le prix Extension Education Community Education Materials Award.

En plus de créer une industrie du soya plus forte, le CPN a préparé en 2016 une série en cinq volets sur les moisissures et mycotoxines de l'épi de maïs, utilisée par le MAAARO cet automne pour gérer le problème des concentrations élevées de mycotoxines dans la récolte de maïs de l'Ontario de 2016. Le CPN continuera à mettre au point et à diffuser des ressources dans le secteur, pour appuyer la lutte contre les maladies des grandes cultures en Amérique du Nord.


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 12 mai 2017
Dernière révision : 12 mai 2017

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424 1300
Courriel :ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca