Promoting opportunities for Ontario apple growers

ADB is committed to cultivating growth of the agriculture sector by ensuring they have access to the best information on current issues and solutions. We achieve this by leveraging strong external connections with industry partners and optimizing our technical expertise and knowledge transfer capabilities.

Collaborating with apple industry partners to share technical information, Dr. Jennifer DeEll, Fresh Market Quality Specialist, has helped Ontario apple growers to achieve new marketing opportunities.

Working with the Ontario Apple Growers and the Apple Marketers' Association of Ontario, Jennifer recognized an opportunity for the province's apple growers to increase their profit margins by accessing off-season markets.

Alongside industry partners in Ontario, British Columbia and Quebec, Jennifer collaborated on two large research projects. A national research project leveraged close to $700,000 in government and industry funding over five years. In addition, Ontario conducted a regionally-focused research project over two years, funding $95,195 to this research, of which 25% was provided by industry partners. (Partners and collaborators are listed below).

This research evaluated post-harvest handling and storage regimes and investigated new storage technologies to improve the retention of apples after harvest, including new apple cultivars. Jennifer used these research outcomes to create best management practice recommendations for producers to optimize commercial storage regimes. She worked collaboratively to share information with the sector through six reports, six posters and numerous newsletter articles and presentations. Jennifer also presented this research at Ontario's Fruit and Vegetable Conventions in 2014, 2015 and 2016 to audiences of more than 150 people each year.

Extending shelf life and availability: new marketing opportunities

As a result of her work and sector collaboration, the storage life and availability of fresh, market quality Ontario-grown apples has been extended by two - three months, now approaching year-long availability. This has lengthened the marketing window for more producers to take advantage of better pricing over the winter months. Optimized storage regimes have improved the quality of apples for consumers, thus increasing demand further. Adding to increased profitability, this optimization has opened up new opportunities for export markets by improving the ability to transport apples to further distances for longer periods of time.

Resources

For more information on what you can do to improve storage for apples, see this OMAFRA Factsheet. For information on how to improve harvest and storage of pears, see this OMAFRA Factsheet.

Funding Partners and Collaborators

  • Apple Marketers' Association of Ontario
  • BC Fruit Growers' Association
  • Canadian Hort Council - Apple Working Group
  • Decco US Post-Harvest Inc.
  • GRB Ag. Technologies Inc.
  • Les producteurs de pommes du Québec
  • Pommes Philip Cassidy Inc.

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: May 2017
Last Reviewed: May 2017

Stimuler les débouchés pour les pomiculteurs de l'Ontario

La DDA s'est engagée à appuyer la croissance du secteur de l'agriculture en veillant à ce qu'il ait accès à l'information la meilleure sur les enjeux actuels, ainsi que des solutions. Nous y parvenons en tirant parti de contacts extérieurs étroits avec les partenaires de l'industrie et en optimisant nos capacités en matière de compétences techniques et de transfert des connaissances.

Par sa collaboration avec les partenaires de l'industrie pomicole afin de partager l'information technique, Jennifer DeEll, spécialiste, qualité des produits maraîchers, a aidé les pomiculteurs de l'Ontario à créer de nouvelles perspectives de marketing.

En travaillant de concert avec l'Ontario Apple Growers et l'Apple Marketers' Association of Ontario, Jennifer a vu qu'il était possible, pour les pomiculteurs de la province, d'accroître leurs marges bénéficiaires en exploitant les marchés hors saison.

De concert avec des partenaires de l'industrie en Ontario, en Colombie-Britannique et au Québec, Jennifer a collaboré à deux grands projets de recherche. Dans le cadre d'un grand projet national de recherche, on a réuni près de 700 000 $ des gouvernements et de l'industrie sur cinq ans. De plus, l'Ontario a exécuté un projet de recherche à orientation régionale échelonné sur deux ans, injectant 95 195 $ pour cette recherche, dont 25 % a été fourni par des partenaires de l'industrie (liste des partenaires et collaborateurs ci-après).

La recherche portait sur l'évaluation des régimes de manutention et d'entreposage post-récolte et la recherche de nouvelles technologies d'entreposage pour améliorer la conservation des pommes après la récolte, y compris de nouveaux cultivars de pommes. À partir des résultats de ses recherches, Jennifer a formulé, à l'intention des producteurs, des recommandations sur les meilleures pratiques de gestion pour optimiser leurs régimes d'entreposage commercial. Elle a travaillé dans un esprit de coopération pour partager l'information avec le secteur au moyen de six rapports, de six affiches et de nombre de présentations et d'articles publiés dans des bulletins. Jennifer a aussi présenté sa recherche lors des congrès sur les fruits et légumes de l'Ontario en 2014, 2015 et 2016 auprès de publics de plus de 150 personnes par année.

Prolonger la durée d'étalage et la disponibilité : nouvelles perspectives de marketing

En raison de son travail et de la collaboration du secteur, la durée d'entreposage et la disponibilité de pommes de l'Ontario fraîches de qualité maraîchère a été prolongée de deux à trois mois, de sorte qu'elles sont désormais disponibles presque toute l'année. De cette façon, il a été possible de prolonger le créneau de marketing pour qu'un plus grand nombre de producteurs puissent tirer parti de meilleurs prix au cours des mois d'hiver. L'optimisation des régimes d'entreposage a donné une amélioration de la qualité des pommes pour les consommateurs, augmentant encore la demande. En plus de la profitabilité accrue, cette optimisation a donné lieu à de nouvelles possibilités pour les marchés d'exportation en relevant la capacité de transporter les pommes à de plus grandes distances pendant des périodes plus longues.

Ressources

Pour en savoir plus sur ce que vous pouvez faire pour améliorer l'entreposage des pommes, veuillez consulter cette fiche technique du MAAARO. Pour en savoir plus sur la façon d'améliorer la récolte et l'entreposage des poires, veuillez consulter cette fiche technique du MAAARO.

Partenaires subventionnaires et collaborateurs

  • Apple Marketers' Association of Ontario
  • Conseil canadien de l'horticulture - Groupe de travail de la pomme
  • Pommes Philip Cassidy Inc.
  • Les producteurs de pommes du Québec
  • BC Fruit Growers' Association
  • GRB Ag. Technologies Inc.
  • Decco US Post-Harvest Inc.

Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 12 mai 2017
Dernière révision : 12 mai 2017

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424 1300
Courriel :ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca