Tax Credit for Farmers Who Donate Food - Bringing More Local Food to Communities Across Ontario

Table of Contents

  1. About the Tax Credit
  2. Who Can Give?
  3. Who Can Receive?
  4. More Information

About the Tax Credit

Ontario has a new Food Donation Tax Credit for Farmers who donate agricultural products to eligible community food programs, including food banks.

The tax credit, the only one of its kind in Canada, will give farmers a tax credit valued at 25 per cent of the fair market value of the agricultural products they donate. Community food programs, like the Student Nutrition Program, may also benefit by receiving donations of more fresh local food for distribution to children and youth in schools across Ontario. 

The tax credit and Local Food Act, 2013 are part of Ontario's broader local food strategy to promote the good things that are grown and harvested across the province.

Who Can Give?

In order to get the credit:

  • You are an Ontario resident at the end of the year
  • You (or your spouse or common-law partner) carry on the business of farming in Ontario
  • You have donated agricultural products to an eligible community food program in Ontario on or after January 1, 2014
  • Corporations that carry on the business of farming in Ontario may also claim the credit on their 2014 corporation income tax return

Who Can Receive?

An eligible community food program that is:

  • Engaged in the distribution of food to the public without charge in Ontario (including as a food bank), and does so either to help relieve poverty or through a student nutrition program
  • Registered as a charity under the Income Tax Act (Canada)

More Information

Q. What types of agricultural products are eligible?

Fruits, vegetables, meat, eggs or dairy products, fish, grains, pulses, herbs, honey, maple syrup, mushrooms, nuts, or anything else that is grown, raised or harvested on a farm and that may, in Ontario, legally be sold, distributed or offered for sale at a place other than the premises of its producer as food are all eligible. (Processed products, including pickles, preserves and sausages are not eligible).

Q. How is the credit calculated?

It is calculated as twenty-five (25) per cent of the fair market value of the qualifying donations. Individuals can only claim donations for which they are also claiming an Ontario charitable donation tax credit. If the farmer is a corporation, the donation must also be claimed as a deduction for charitable donations.

Q. Who can issue tax receipts to farmers?

Registered charities that distribute food to the public without charge in Ontario can issue receipts to farmers, just as they may issue receipts for any donations that they receive. Receipts issued for donations of goods (rather than cash donations) should record the good or goods that were donated. Farmers should keep these receipts to ensure they have the required records to claim this credit.

Q. How do I get the credit?

You can claim the credit on your personal income tax and benefit return or on your corporation income tax return. If you file your return electronically, you need to keep all your receipts and documents for six years. If you file a paper return, attach all official receipts for your qualifying donations to your paper return.

Q. How do charities assess the fair market value for the food they are receiving?

Eligible community food programs should use the fair market value of the goods donated. The fair market value is usually the highest dollar value you can get for those goods in an open and unrestricted wholesale or retail market, as applicable, between a willing buyer and a willing seller who are acting independently of each other. The value should be based on the quantity and quality of the goods.

Canada Revenue Agency provides general guidelines on determining fair market value: www.cra-arc.gc.ca/chrts-gvng/chrts/prtng/rcpts/dtrmnfmv-eng.html.

Generally, if the fair market value of the property is less than $1,000, a member of the registered charity, or another individual, with sufficient knowledge of the property may determine its value. The person who determines the fair market value of the item should be competent and qualified to evaluate the particular property being donated. For more details about the tax credit visit: Ontario.ca/FoodDonation.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 29 September 2014
Last Reviewed: 29 September 2014

Crédit d'impôt pour les agriculteurs qui font des dons d'aliments - Amener plus d'aliments locaux dans les collectivités de partout en Ontario

Table des matières

  1. À propos du crédit d'impôt
  2. Qui peut faire des dons?
  3. Qui peut recevoir des dons?
  4. Rensignements supplémentaires

À propos du crédit d'impôt

L'Ontario a un nouveau crédit d'impôt aux agriculteurs pour les dons d'aliments faits à des programmes alimentaires admissibles, notamment des banques alimentaires.

Le crédit d'impôt, le seul en son genre au Canada, accordera aux agriculteurs un crédit d'impôt correspondant à 25 % de la juste valeur marchande des produits agricoles dont ils font don. Les programmes alimentaires communautaires, comme le Programme de bonne nutrition des élèves, y trouvent également leur profit en recevant des dons plus nombreux d'aliments locaux frais afin de les distribuer à des enfants et à des jeunes dans des écoles situées d'un bout à l'autre de l'Ontario.

Le crédit d'impôt et la Loi de 2013 sur les aliments locaux font partie de la Stratégie ontarienne de promotion des produits alimentaires locaux plus vaste qui vise à promouvoir les bonnes choses qui sont cultivées et récoltées partout dans la province.

Qui peut faire des dons?   

Critères pour obtenir le crédit d'impôt :

  • vous êtes un résident de l'Ontario à la fin de l'année;
  • vous (ou votre conjoint ou conjoint de fait) exercez des activités agricoles en Ontario;
  • vous avez fait don de produits agricoles à un programme alimentaire communautaire admissible en Ontario le ou après le 1er janvier 2014;
  • les sociétés qui exercent des activités agricoles en Ontario peuvent aussi demander le crédit d'impôt dans leur déclaration de revenus des sociétés.

Qui peut recevoir des dons?

Un programme alimentaire communautaire admissible qui respecte les critères suivants :

  • participe à la distribution d'aliments au public gratuitement en Ontario (y compris une banque alimentaire), que ce soit pour aider à lutter contre la pauvreté ou par l'entremise d'un programme de bonne nutrition des élèves;
  • est enregistré comme un organisme de bienfaisance aux termes de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada).

Rensignements supplémentaires

Q. Quels sont les types de produits agricoles admissibles?

Les fruits, les légumes, la viande, les œufs, les produits laitiers, le poisson, les céréales, les légumineuses à grain, les herbes, le miel, le sirop d'érable, les champignons, les noix et tous les autres produits cultivés, élevés ou récoltés sur une exploitation agricole qui peuvent être légalement vendus, distribués ou offerts pour la vente en Ontario dans un endroit autre que l'établissement de leur producteur en tant qu'aliments sont admissibles. (Les produits transformés, notamment les cornichons en conserve, les conserves de fruits et les saucisses ne sont pas admissibles.)

Q. Comment le crédit d'impôt est-il calculé?

Il est calculé comme 25 % de la juste valeur équitable des dons admissibles. Il est uniquement possible de réclamer des dons pour lesquels un crédit d'impôt pour don de bienfaisance de l'Ontario est aussi réclamé. Si l'agriculteur est une société, le don doit aussi être réclamé comme une déduction pour des dons de bienfaisance.

 Q. Qui peut émettre des reçus officiels aux agriculteurs?

Les organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés qui distribuent des aliments au public gratuitement en Ontario peuvent émettre des reçus aux agriculteurs, comme ils peuvent remettre des reçus pour tous les dons qu'ils reçoivent. Les reçus émis pour des dons de biens (comparativement à des dons en argent) doivent consigner le ou les biens qui ont été donnés. Les agriculteurs doivent conserver ces reçus afin de s'assurer d'avoir les pièces nécessaires pour réclamer ce crédit d'impôt.

Q. Comment puis-je obtenir le crédit d'impôt?

Vous pouvez réclamer le crédit d'impôt sur votre déclaration de revenus et de prestations des particuliers ou sur votre déclaration de revenus des sociétés. Si vous envoyez votre déclaration par voie électronique, vous devez conserver tous vos reçus et documents pour une période de six ans. Si vous remplissez une déclaration papier, joignez-y tous les reçus officiels pour les dons admissibles.

Q. Comment les organismes de bienfaisance évaluent-ils la juste valeur marchande des aliments qu'ils reçoivent?

Les programmes alimentaires communautaires admissibles doivent utiliser la juste valeur marchande des biens qui leur sont donnés. La juste valeur marchande désigne habituellement le prix le plus élevé que vous pouvez obtenir pour ces biens lors d'une vente effectuée dans un marché de gros ou de détail libre et sans restriction, entre deux personnes consentantes qui sont averties, renseignées et prudentes, et qui agissent de façon indépendante. La valeur doit être basée sur la quantité et la qualité des biens.

L'Agence du revenu du Canada fournit des lignes directrices générales sur la détermination de la juste valeur marchande : www.cra-arc.gc.ca/chrts-gvng/chrts/prtng/rcpts/dtrmnfmv-fra.html

Généralement, si la juste valeur marchande du bien est inférieure à 1 000 $, un membre de l'organisme de bienfaisance enregistré, ou une autre personne, ayant une connaissance suffisante du bien peut en déterminer la valeur. La personne qui détermine la juste valeur marchande du bien doit être compétente et qualifiée afin d'évaluer le bien particulier donné. Pour de plus amples détails sur le crédit d'impôt, rendez-vous à l'adresse suivante : Ontario.ca/donalimentaire


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : OMAFRA Staff
Date de création : 29 septembre 2014
Dernière révision : 29 septembre 2014