Agri-Food Growth Steering Committee Members

The Growth Steering Committee brings together industry, government leaders and others with expertise to advise the Minister regarding the development of a system that measures growth of the province's agri-food industry.

The Steering Committee will also provide advice on actions that can be taken by government, industry and partners to create short and longer-term strategic growth opportunities.

These initiatives are collectively aimed at meeting the Premier's Agri-Food Growth Challenge to create 120,000 new jobs and double the growth rate of the agri-food sector by 2020.

The following people have been appointed to the Agri-Food Growth Steering Committee:

Deb Stark Committee Co-chair

Deputy Minister, Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Amy Cronin Committee Co-chair

Amy operates a large hog farm based in the Bluevale area. She was elected Chair of Ontario Pork in April 2012 and has championed Ontario Pork's early supportive work on the Growth Challenge related policy development. She also served as Chair of the Ontario Agriculture Sustainability Coalition in 2012 and 2013, and actively participates in the Presidents' Council.

Ted Bilyea

Ted is the President of Ted Bilyea & Associates consulting firm and has been the Chair of the Board of Directors of the Canadian Agri-Food Policy Institute (CAPI) since 2012. He was formerly the Executive Vice-President of Maple Leaf Foods Inc. He is also a board member of several organizations, including Paterson Global Foods Inc., Alberta Livestock and Meat Agency, and BHG International Trade Inc. Ted is the former chair of Food Processors of Canada and a former member of the Board of Governors of the University of Guelph.

Jim Brandle

Jim is the CEO of Vineland Research and Innovation Centre, a position he assumed in 2007 when the organization began. As a strong advocate for the horticulture sector, he leads a team of over 85 research scientists and support staff in Consumer Insights, Horticultural Production Systems and Applied Genomics. With his direction, Vineland has emerged as a leading centre for innovation and industry outreach. His efforts have also helped generate private and public sector investment in horticulture research. Jim joined Vineland from his role at Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada as senior scientist working in plant molecular biology and genomics. Jim serves on the Boards of the Invasive Species Centre and the Golden Horseshoe Food and Farming Alliance. He received his Ph.D. in Plant Breeding from the University of Manitoba, and his M.Sc. and B.S.A. in Crop Science from the University of Saskatchewan. He is also a graduate of the Ivey Executive Program at the Richard Ivey School of Business at Western University.

Christian von Twickel

Christian is the Executive Vice President of Dr. Oetker, an international brand that began Ontario operations with a dry mixes production facility in Mississauga over 50 years ago. He led the investment of Dr. Oetker's $100 million food processing facility in London, Ontario. The company chose Ontario as its location to expand into frozen pizza production to serve the North American market, acknowledging access to local ingredients, skilled labour, and a favourable environment for quality production.

Norm Beal

Norm is the President and founder of Peninsula Ridge Estates Winery. He also worked for over 20 years in the oil industry as an international oil products trader, and in other roles for multinational companies. He is a board member for the Wine Council of Ontario and is past director with the Canadian Vintners Association. Norm is also the Executive Director of Food and Beverage Ontario, a not-for-profit, leadership organization dedicated to advancing the interests of Ontario's food and beverage processors.

Scott Graham

Scott is a second generation egg producer and pullet grower from St. Marys since 1953. Graholm Farms has been actively involved since 1953 in the poultry business. Other farm interests include pure bred cattle, sweet corn, corn, wheat and beans. He is currently chair of the Egg Farmers of Ontario, and current Chair of the Presidents' Council. Scott was past director of the Agriculture Adaptation Council from 1998-2008. He has been actively involved in hockey coaching at many levels and also served as President of St.Marys Minor Hockey. Scott was elected Zone Director of Egg Farmers of Ontario in 2008. Scott and his wife Laurie live in St. Marys.

Jamison Steeve

Jamison is the Executive Director of Martin Prosperity Institute and the Institute for Competitiveness and Prosperity, driving the strategic plan and the vision for the future of both organizations. He leads day-to-day administration, and develops the future of the institutes through the development of the research agenda and the communications strategy. He was the Principal Secretary to Ontario Premier Dalton McGuinty from 2008 to 2012. Jamison previously worked on health issues in the Premier's Office and as Chief of Staff in the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 03 February 2015
Last Reviewed: 03 February 2015

Membres du Comité directeur pour la croissance dans le secteur agroalimentaire de l'Ontario

Le Comité directeur pour la croissance réunit des chefs de file de l'industrie et du gouvernement ainsi que d'autres experts, afin de conseiller le ministre concernant l'élaboration d'un système qui mesure la croissance de l'industrie agroalimentaire de la province.

Le Comité directeur fournira également des conseils concernant les mesures pouvant être prises par le gouvernement, l'industrie et les partenaires afin de créer des possibilités de croissance stratégiques à court et à long terme.

Ces initiatives sont collectivement destinées à répondre au Défi pour la croissance dans le secteur agroalimentaire lancé par la première ministre de créer 120 000 nouveaux emplois et de doubler le taux de croissance du secteur agroalimentaire d'ici 2020.

Les personnes suivantes ont été nommées au Comité directeur pour la croissance dans le secteur agroalimentaire :

Deb Stark coprésidente du comité

Sous-ministre, ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales

Amy Cronin coprésidente du comité

Amy exploite une importante ferme porcine dans la région de Bluevale. Elle a été élue présidente d'Ontario Pork en avril 2012 et a parrainé les premiers travaux de soutien d'Ontario Pork concernant le développement de politiques liées au Défi pour la croissance. Elle a aussi été présidente de l'Ontario Agriculture Sustainability Coalition en 2012 et 2013 et a activement participé au Comité des présidents.

Ted Bilyea

Ted est président du cabinet-conseil Ted Bilyea & Associates et préside le conseil d'administration de l'Institut canadien des politiques agroalimentaires (ICPA) depuis 2012. Auparavant, il a été vice-président administratif de l'entreprise Aliments Maple Leaf Foods inc. Il siège également au conseil d'administration de plusieurs organismes comme Paterson Global Foods Inc, Alberta Livestock and Meat Agency et BHG International Trade Inc. Ted est l'ancien président des Fabricants de produits alimentaires du Canada et un ancien membre de l'assemblée des gouverneurs de l'Université de Guelph.

Jim Brandle

Jim est le président-directeur général du Centre de recherche et d'innovation de Vineland, un poste qu'il occupe depuis la création de l'organisme en 2007. Comme ardent défenseur du secteur horticole, il a dirigé une équipe de plus de 85 chercheurs scientifiques et de membres du personnel de soutien dans le domaine des tendances en consommation, des systèmes de production horticole et de génomique appliquée. Sous sa direction, Vineland est devenu un chef de file en matière d'innovation et de sensibilisation de l'industrie. Ses efforts ont également aidé à générer des investissements du secteur public dans la recherche horticole. Jim s'est joint au Centre de recherche et d'innovation de Vineland après avoir exercé le rôle de scientifique chevronné au ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'Agroalimentaire travaillant dans la biologie moléculaire végétale et la génomique. Jim siège au conseil d'administration du Centre de lutte contre les espèces envahissantes et de la Golden Horseshoe Food and Farming Alliance. Il a obtenu un doctorat en sélection des végétaux de l'Université du Manitoba, ainsi qu'une maîtrise et un baccalauréat en sciences agricoles de l'Université de Saskatchewan. Il est aussi diplômé de l'Ivey Executive Program de la Richard Ivey School of Business de l'Université Western.

Christian von Twickel

Christian est vice-président administratif de l'entreprise Dr. Oetker, une marque internationale qui a commencé ses activités en Ontario grâce à une installation de mélange à sec située à Mississauga il y a plus de 50 ans. Il a dirigé l'investissement de 100 millions de dollars de Dr. Oetker's dans une installation de transformation des aliments à London, en Ontario. L'entreprise a choisi l'Ontario comme endroit pour accroître sa production de pizzas surgelées visant à desservir le marché nord-américain, reconnaissant l'accès aux ingrédients locaux, la main-d'œuvre qualifiée et l'environnement favorable pour une production de qualité.

Norm Beal

Norm est le président et le fondateur de la Peninsula Ridge Estates Winery. Il a aussi travaillé pendant plus 20 ans dans l'industrie du pétrole et comme courtier de produits pétroliers, en plus d'avoir exercé d'autres fonctions au sein d'entreprises multinationales. Il est membre du Wine Council of Ontario et a également été administrateur de la Canadian Vintners Association. Norm est aussi directeur administratif de Food and Beverage Ontario, un organisme de développement sans but lucratif qui se consacre à l'avancement des intérêts des entreprises de transformation d'aliments et de boissons de l'Ontario.

Scott Graham

Scott est un producteur d'œufs et de poulettes de la deuxième génération de St. Marys depuis 1953. L'exploitation agricole Graholm Farms a été activement impliquée dans l'entreprise de la volaille depuis 1953. Son exploitation agricole détient aussi des intérêts dans les bovins de race pure, le maïs sucré, le maïs, le blé et le soya. Il préside actuellement l'association Egg Farmers of Ontario et le Comité des présidents. Scott a été directeur du Conseil d'adaptation agricole de 1998 à 2008. Il a agi activement comme entraîneur de hockey à divers échelons au cours des années, en plus d'avoir été président de l'organisation St. Marys Minor Hockey. Scott a été élu directeur de la zone de l'organisme Egg Farmers of Ontario en 2008. Scott vit avec sa conjointe à St. Marys.

Jamison Steeve

Jamison est directeur administratif du Martin Prosperity Institute et de l'Institute for Competitiveness and Prosperity, dirigeant le plan stratégique et la vision pour l'avenir des deux organismes. Il dirige l'administration au jour le jour et planifie l'avenir des instituts grâce au développement du programme de recherche et de la stratégie de communication. II a été le premier secrétaire du premier ministre Dalton McGuinty de 2008 à 2012. Avant cela, il a travaillé à des questions de politiques en matière de santé au sein du Cabinet du Premier ministre et chef du personnel au sein du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : OMAFRA Staff
Date de création : 03 February 2015
Dernière révision : 03 February 2015