Growing Forward 2 for Organizations and Collaborations

Growing Forward 2 (GF2) is a federal-provincial-territorial initiative that encourages innovation, competitiveness and market development, adaptability and industry sustainability in Canada's agri-food and agri products sector. In Ontario, GF2 has provided resources, tools and cost-share funding assistance to the sector to grow profits, expand markets and manage shared risks.

Application intakes for funding assistance are now closed. Support to successful applicants will continue as organizations and collaborations work on completing their approved projects. You can contact the Agricultural Adaptation Council for more information about GF2 cost-share funding assistance for organizations and collaborations.

GF2 continues to partner with industry and offer tools, resources and training for the sector. In addition, the federal, provincial and territorial governments are working together to develop the next agricultural policy framework which is to launch on April 1, 2018. Canada-Ontario specific programming will be announced over time.

GF2 Resources and Partners

GF2 continues to provide funding to develop and provide tools, resources and training at no cost for the agri-food and agri-products sector in Ontario. To accelerate the effectiveness and long-term success of GF2 and its resources,
the ministry has developed strong partnerships with innovative and experienced organizations. Learn more about our GF2 partners and the resources and supports available for the sector.

New Growing Forward 2 (GF2) Results

The GF2 Results Spotlight below shows some of the ways that organizations and collaborations across the province have improved their practices with GF2 funding. The featured results are updated regularly and each spotlight focuses on new results within one GF2 focus area. You can view past results spotlights here.

Spotlight: Incubator uses GF2 funding to give local food businesses a start

A not-for-profit food business incubator in Toronto is helping entrepreneurs get their fledgling food companies off the ground.

Food Starter offers food preparation, processing, packaging and storage facilities to industry entrants at a reduced rate, as well as courses to teach entrepreneurs about key aspects of the food industry, like food safety, regulatory compliance, labelling, accounting, marketing, business management and human resources.

The Toronto Food Business Incubator partnered with the City of Toronto to access funding from GF2 to develop and launch Food Starter in November 2015.

"A lot of people here are good at recipes, but don't know about all the other things needed to run a food business," explains Carlos Correia, Food Starter's Facility Manager. "We cover all aspects of business development to give them information they didn't know existed, but would be road block to keep them from moving forward."

Food Starter's 24 incubator clients are new food entrepreneurs who access shared space by the hour on an as-needed basis to develop or perfect new recipes, scale up production or get ready to launch their first product.

Watch the video and read the full story. The article originally appeared on the Agricultural Adaptation Council's website.

Picture of hand-held device applying adhesive to label in food processing facility.

Next Policy Framework

Federal, provincial and territorial governments are working together to develop the next agricultural policy framework which is to launch on April 1, 2018. Canada-Ontario specific programming will be announced over time. Consultations were held to gather feedback to help shape the direction of future policy and programs for the agriculture and agri-food sector. Visit Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada's website for more information.



Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 15 April 2013
Last Reviewed: 09 January 2017

Cultivons l'avenir 2 pour les organisations et les partenariats

Cultivons l'avenir 2 (CA2) est une initiative fédérale-provinciale-territoriale dont l'objet est d'encourager l'innovation, la compétitivité, le développement de marchés, l'adaptabilité et la durabilité dans le secteur canadien de l'agroalimentaire et des produits agricoles. En Ontario, CA2 a fourni des ressources, des outils et une aide financière à frais partagés au secteur pour accroître les profits, élargir les marchés et gérer des risques communs.

La période de réception des demandes d'aide financière est maintenant terminée. Le soutien aux demandeurs se poursuivra à mesure que les organisations et partenariats des demandeurs retenus avanceront dans leurs projets approuvés. Vous pouvez communiquer avec le Conseil de l'adaptation agricole pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'aide financière à frais partagés offerte aux organisations et partenariats dans le cadre de CA2.

CA2 continue de faire équipe avec l'industrie et d'offrir des ressources, des formations et des outils spécialisés. De plus, les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux travaillent ensemble à l'établissement du prochain cadre stratégique pour l'agriculture, dont le lancement est prévu pour le 1er avril 2018. Des programmes fédéraux propres à l'Ontario seront annoncés sous peu.

Ressources et partenaires de CA2

CA2 continue de fournir une aide financière pour la conception et la production d'outils, de ressources et de formations, gratuitement, au secteur ontarien de l'agroalimentaire et des produits agricoles. Pour assurer plus rapidement l'efficacité et la réussite à long terme de CA2 et de ses ressources, le ministère a établi de solides partenariats avec des organisations novatrices et expérimentées. Apprenez-en plus au sujet de nos partenaires dans le cadre de CA2 et des ressources et mesures de soutien offertes au secteur.

Cultivons l'avenir 2 (CA2) : de nouveaux résultats

Le Coup de projecteur sur les résultats de CA2 ci-dessous montre quelques-unes des façons dont l'aide financière offerte dans le cadre de CA2 a permis à des organisations et partenariats de la province d'améliorer leur exploitation. Nous faisons le point régulièrement sur les résultats mis en évidence, et chaque « coup de projecteur » est dirigé vers de nouveaux résultats obtenus dans l'un des secteurs prioritaires de CA2. Vous pouvez voir d'anciens résultats qui ont attiré l'attention ici.

Coup de projecteur : Un programme d'incubation financé par CA2 soutient le démarrage d'entreprises alimentaires locales

Un incubateur d'entreprises alimentaires sans but lucratif de Toronto aide des entrepreneurs à donner des ailes à leur entreprise naissante.

Food Starter offre, à faible coût, des installations de préparation, de transformation, d'emballage et d'entreposage des aliments aux entrepreneurs débutants, ainsi que des cours sur les aspects clés de l'industrie alimentaire, comme la salubrité, la conformité aux règlements, l'étiquetage, la comptabilité, la commercialisation, la gestion des affaires et les ressources humaines.

Le Toronto Food Business Incubator a conclu un partenariat avec la Ville de Toronto pour obtenir du financement de CA2 afin de créer le programme Food Starter, lancé en novembre 2015.

« Beaucoup de participants ont d'excellentes recettes, mais ne possèdent pas toutes les connaissances nécessaires pour diriger une entreprise alimentaire, explique Carlos Correia, gestionnaire des installations de Food Starter. Nous abordons tous les aspects de la création d'entreprise pour combler les lacunes d'information qui les empêcheraient de progresser. »

Les 24 clients du programme d'incubation Food Starter sont de nouveaux entrepreneurs qui bénéficient d'un accès à l'heure aux installations communes, selon les besoins, pour élaborer ou perfectionner de nouvelles recettes, accroître leur production ou se préparer à commercialiser leur premier produit.

Regardez la vidéo et lisez l'article complet. L'article a d'abord été affiché sur le site Web du Conseil de l'adaptation agricole.

Image d'un appareil portatif en train d'appliquer une étiquette adhésive dans une usine de transformation d'aliments

Prochain cadre stratégique

Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux travaillent ensemble à l'établissement du prochain cadre stratégique pour l'agriculture dont le lancement est prévu pour le 1er avril 2018. Des programmes fédéraux propres à l'Ontario seront annoncés sous peu. Des consultations ont été tenues afin de recueillir des commentaires qui aideront à orienter des politiques et programmes futurs dans le secteur agricole et agroalimentaire. Prière de consulter le site Web d'Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 28 mars 2013
Dernière révision : 10 janvier 2017