Premier's Summit on Agri-Food: Summary of the Facilitated Discussions

October 7, 2013

The following is a summary of the discussions of industry leaders during the small group facilitated sessions at the 2013 Premier's Summit.

Premier's Challenge

Overall, industry leaders supported the Premier's challenge to double the growth rate and create 120,000 new jobs by 2020. Industry leaders acknowledged that it would require industry action to move forward in meeting the challenge. Many participants commented on the need for industry to take leadership and develop the sector goals and actions moving forward.

Scorecard Indicators

Industry leaders were asked to comment on proposed scorecard indicators and targets that the government had developed. Leaders asked that there be more information provided on what each measure includes (i.e. what was included in the calculation) and how they contribute to economic success or are connected to each other. Participants generally agreed with the proposed indicators as a starting point, but had the following comments:

  • Bioeconomy - The "number of companies" as a measure is limited. Revenue would be a better measure of the health of the sector if valid data could be acquired.
  • Agricultural Investment - The target is too low to capitalize on the opportunities for Ontario farmers.
  • Food Processing Investment - An indicator is needed that accounts for the value added, more specifically, the percentage of product bought from Ontario farmers for food processing in Ontario.

Additional Scorecard Indicators

Participants were then asked to provide their input on additional indicators that may be useful for the sector, they suggested the following:

  • Imports - As perhaps an indicator of import replacement.
  • Employment - Participants agreed on the need for an employment indicator. They did note that there is a shift toward the use of technology to improve productivity and reduce costs that may impact overall employment numbers. Jobs done by foreign workers should also be taken into account, in addition to capturing how they contribute to jobs in Ontario. The employment indicators need to capture the quality of jobs that are created (i.e. minimum wage or high paying). Perhaps the level of education or technical expertise; average income; or related jobs outside the agri-food sector should also be measured. Employment goals would also be difficult without a substantial increase in revenues.

Other Suggested Indicators - Productivity, profitability and return-on-investment.

There was also some thought as to whether or not the benchmarks could include comparisons to other regions.

Strategies for Achieving Growth

Industry leaders were asked about efforts that could be undertaken to develop strategies for achieving the overall growth target. Leaders made the following comments:

  • Tiered Strategy - The strategy needs to be tiered, from a provincial level to a sub-sector level.
  • Focus - Sectors will need to have focused strategies to drive both industry and government support.
  • Sector Measures - Industry leaders asked for the government to provide a template that allows each sector to identify its own indicators and targets and identify ways that government can help. Once completed, the template would be shared with government.
  • Government to Manage Scorecard - The government would continue to develop and track the scorecard indicators over time.
  • Regulatory Challenge - Regulatory approvals continue to be a challenge for the industry as they work with a number of government ministries.
  • Whole of Government Approach - A whole of government approach will be needed to address regulatory challenges, provide access to markets, attract new investment, develop a consistent brand and develop the labour skills needed for the industry.
  • Partnership - A strengthened partnership between industry and government is needed with a longer term perspective and commitment.
  • Awareness - Greater government knowledge and understanding of the industry is needed and industry and companies must explore the programs available that can help them succeed.
  • Education - There is a need to have more educational programs for the public (particularly for young people) beyond Foodland Ontario that teaches about eating healthily, local food and food preparation. This will help with growing local producers' share of the domestic market. It is also important to consider a strategy to develop skilled workers (e.g. through apprenticeship) who are interested in working in the agri-food and products sector.
  • Branding - It is important to continue to brand Ontario produce and processed products that contain Ontario ingredients. Internationally, Ontario should use the Canada brand rather than trying to promote an Ontario brand.
  • Investment in Infrastructure - Investments in infrastructure will need to continue (e.g. high speed internet, natural gas to the north, electricity, highways/transit, water treatment etc.).

Challenges

Moving forward industry leaders highlighted some of challenges for the sector:

  • Sector Strategies - Each sector has its own issues and related strategies. Participants questioned how these strategies would come together to create broader action plans that will allow the entire sector to advance and who will lead this process.
  • Infrastructure and Competitiveness - There is a need to determine if the right infrastructure is in place and how the costs for businesses (e.g. regulations, input costs, energy, labour) compare with other regions.
  • Regulated Marketing - There is a need to discuss building greater flexibility into regulated marketing, including supply management, to take advantage of growing market opportunities.
  • Human Resources Development - There needs to be a long term strategy around agri-food sector career awareness and skills development.
  • Environment that Supports Innovation - The sector has to become better at identifying areas where the regulatory environment provides advantages to the industry.
  • Sustainability - We need to look at all aspects of sustainability - environmental, social, regional and economic.
  • Research and Innovation - The agri-food sector is underutilizing existing research and development programs. Currently, there is no collective pool of resources to assist businesses with finding supports for innovation, or a clearing-house for innovative ideas - this could be built virtually.
  • Retail Environment - The retail sector environment leads to pressure on producers and processors due to volume requirements, low price expectations and responding to consumer demand on animal health/welfare.

Role of Government

  • Enabler - Industry leaders agreed that government's role is to bring relevant stakeholders together and provides support but should not lead sector growth - that is a private sector responsibility.
  • Economic Environment - Government can also provide the right environment for investment and competitiveness (e.g. skills training, regulation) so that businesses can then work towards meeting the targets.
  • Sector Templates - Government can also provide a template to assist industry with developing strategies including benchmarks and targets.

Role of Industry

Industry leaders commented on the many voices and unique cultures of each sector.

  • Supply Chain Approach - Supply chains (producer, processors and retailers) need to come together to develop a common vision and strategies that can be used to elicit government support.
  • Independent Intermediary - Industry leaders raised the possibility of developing an independent intermediary that brings all the parties together and that the government can listen to. The intermediary would also provide industry accountability for what is committed to.

*The statements summarized and captured in the documents are based on notes taken at the Premier's Summit on October 7, 2013. Every effort has been made to capture comments comprehensively. The document should not be read as a transcript of the day.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 11 November 2013
Last Reviewed: 11 November 2013

Sommet agroalimentaire de la première ministre : Résumé des discussions dirigées

7 octobre 2013

Voici un sommaire des discussions qu'ont eues les chefs de file de l'industrie dans le cadre de séances animées en petits groupes lors du Sommet de 2013 de la première ministre.

Défi de la première ministre

En règle générale, les chefs de file de l'industrie ont appuyé le défi lancé par la première ministre de multiplier par deux le taux de croissance et de créer 120 000 nouveaux emplois d'ici à 2020. Les chefs de file de l'industrie ont reconnu que l'industrie devait agir pour avancer et relever ce défi. De nombreux participants ont fait des commentaires sur la nécessité pour l'industrie de prendre l'initiative, d'élaborer les objectifs sectoriels et d'agir.

Indicateurs de la feuille de résultats

Il a été demandé aux chefs de file de l'industrie de faire des commentaires sur le projet d'indicateurs et d'objectifs de la feuille de résultats préparée par le gouvernement. Les chefs de file ont demandé à obtenir plus d'information sur ce qu'en quoi consiste chaque mesure (à savoir, ce qui était compris dans le calcul) et sur la manière dont ils contribuent à la réussite économique ou dont ils sont interreliés. Les participants ont convenu, en général, que les indicateurs proposés constituaient un point de départ, mais ils ont formulé les commentaires suivants :

  • Bio-économie - Le « nombre de compagnies » en tant que mesure est limité. Les recettes constitueraient une meilleure mesure de la santé du secteur si des données valables pouvaient être recueillies.
  • Investissements agricoles - L'objectif est trop bas pour que les exploitants agricoles ontariens puissent exploiter les débouchés.
  • Investissements dans la transformation des aliments - Il faut un indicateur qui comptabilise la valeur ajoutée, plus particulièrement, le pourcentage de produits achetés auprès des exploitants agricoles ontariens pour la transformation des aliments en Ontario.

Autres indicateurs de la feuille de résultats

Il a été ensuite demandé aux participants de formuler leurs idées et suggestions sur d'autres indicateurs susceptibles d'être utiles au secteur. Voici leurs suggestions :

  • Importations - Pourquoi pas un indicateur de substitution des importations.
  • Emploi - Les participants se sont entendus sur le besoin d'avoir un indicateur de l'emploi. Ils ont précisé qu'un virage s'était amorcé vers l'utilisation de la technologie afin d'accroître la productivité et de réduire les coûts et que cela pourrait avoir des répercussions sur les données globales de l'emploi. Les emplois occupés par des travailleurs étrangers devraient aussi être pris en compte, en plus de consigner la manière dont ils contribuent aux emplois en Ontario. Les indicateurs de l'emploi doivent indiquer la qualité des emplois qui sont créés (à savoir, emploi payé au salaire minimum ou très bien rémunéré). Il faudrait peut-être évaluer le niveau d'études ou d'expertise technique; le revenu moyen; ou des emplois connexes en dehors du secteur agroalimentaire. Les objectifs de l'emploi seraient aussi difficiles sans une hausse significative des recettes.

Autres indicateurs suggérés - la productivité, la rentabilité et le rendement du capital investi.

L'idée de savoir si les données de référence pouvaient ou non contenir des comparaisons avec d'autres régions a été évoquée.

Stratégies permettant d'atteindre la croissance

Il a été ensuite demandé aux chefs de file de l'industrie quels efforts pourraient être déployés afin d'élaborer des stratégies permettant d'atteindre l'objectif global de croissance. Les chefs de file ont formulé les commentaires suivants :

  • Stratégie étagée - La stratégie doit être étagée, d'un niveau provincial vers un niveau sous-sectoriel.
  • Cible - Les secteurs devront avoir des stratégies ciblées pour obtenir le soutien de l'industrie et du gouvernement.
  • Mesures sectorielles - Les chefs de file de l'industrie ont demandé au gouvernement de leur fournir un gabarit permettant à chaque secteur d'identifier ses propres indicateurs et objectifs et d'identifier des façons dont le gouvernement peut les aider. Une fois cela fait, le gabarit pourrait être partagé avec le gouvernement.
  • Feuille de résultats gérée par le gouvernement - Le gouvernement continuerait à élaborer et à contrôler les indicateurs de la feuille de résultats au fil du temps.
  • Défi réglementaire - Les approbations réglementaires continuent d'être problématiques pour l'industrie, car cela concerne plusieurs ministères.
  • Approche pangouvernementale - Une approche pangouvernementale devra traiter des défis réglementaires, donner accès aux marchés, attirer de nouveaux investissements, concevoir une marque constante et perfectionner les compétences professionnelles dont a besoin l'industrie.
  • Partenariat - Un partenariat renforcé entre l'industrie et le gouvernement s'impose avec une perspective et un engagement à plus long terme.
  • Sensibilisation - Une meilleure connaissance et compréhension de l'industrie de la part du gouvernement est nécessaire et l'industrie et les compagnies doivent étudier les programmes disponibles pouvant les aider à réussir.
  • Éducation - Plus de programmes didactiques doivent être proposés au public (surtout aux jeunes) en dehors d'Ontario, terre nourricière pour leur apprendre à bien s'alimenter, à consommer et à préparer des aliments locaux. Cela contribuera à faire croître la part du marché intérieur des producteurs locaux. Il est également important de réfléchir à une stratégie de perfectionnement des travailleurs qualifiés (p. ex, par le biais de l'apprentissage) qui désirent travailler dans le secteur agroalimentaire et des produits agricoles.
  • Valorisation de la marque - Il est important de continuer à positionner les fruits et légumes frais et les produits transformés de l'Ontario qui contiennent des ingrédients de l'Ontario. Sur la scène internationale, l'Ontario devrait utiliser la marque Canada au lieu de tenter de promouvoir une marque Ontario.
  • Investissements dans les infrastructures - Les investissements dans les infrastructures devront se poursuivre (p. ex., Internet haute vitesse, gaz naturel dans le Nord, électricité, réseaux autoroutiers/transports en commun, traitement des eaux).

Défis

Voici certains défis rencontrés par le secteur et mis en exergue par les chefs de file de l'industrie :

  • Stratégies sectorielles - Chaque secteur a ses propres problèmes et des stratégies connexes. Les participants se sont interrogés sur la manière dont ces stratégies seraient combinées pour créer des plans d'action plus vastes qui permettront à tout le secteur d'avancer et sur qui dirigera le processus.
  • Infrastructures et compétitivité - Il faut déterminer si les bonnes infrastructures sont en place et comment les coûts pour les entreprises (p. ex., la réglementation, le coût des intrants, de l'énergie et de la main-d'œuvre) se comparent à d'autres régions.
  • Marketing réglementé - Il est nécessaire d'envisager de donner plus de souplesse à la réglementation du marketing, y compris à la gestion des approvisionnements, pour profiter des possibles débouchés en cours de développement.
  • Mise en valeur des ressources humaines - Il faut avoir une stratégie à long terme portant sur la sensibilisation aux carrières du secteur agroalimentaire et au perfectionnement des compétences.
  • Environnement propice à l'innovation - Le secteur doit savoir mieux identifier les domaines dans lesquels le milieu de la réglementation est synonyme d'avantages pour l'industrie.
  • Pérennité - Nous devons étudier tous les aspects de la pérennité, sur le plan environnemental, social, régional et économique.
  • Recherche et innovation - Le secteur agroalimentaire sous-utilise les programmes de recherche et de développement. De nos jours, il n'existe aucune réserve de ressources collectives pouvant aider les entreprises à trouver des soutiens en matière d'innovation, ou un centre d'échanges d'idées novatrices - cela pourrait être fait de façon virtuelle.
  • Environnement du commerce de détail - L'environnement du secteur du commerce de détail est à l'origine de pressions exercées sur les producteurs et les entreprises de transformation en raison des exigences de volume, des anticipations en matière de prix bas, et du besoin de répondre à la demande des consommateurs en ce qui concerne la santé/le bien-être des animaux.

Rôle du gouvernement

  • Facilitateur - Les chefs de file de l'industrie ont convenu que le gouvernement était un facilitateur. Le gouvernement rassemble d'importants intervenants et il leur apporte un soutien, mais il ne devrait pas diriger la croissance du secteur - cette responsabilité incombe au secteur privé.
  • Environnement économique - Le gouvernement peut aussi proposer un environnement propice aux investissements et à la compétitivité (p. ex, formation axée sur les compétences, réglementation) pour que les entreprises puissent alors faire en sorte d'atteindre les objectifs fixés.
  • Gabarits sectoriels - Le gouvernement peut également fournir un gabarit pour aider l'industrie à élaborer des stratégies comprenant des données de référence et des objectifs.

Rôle de l'industrie

Les chefs de file de l'industrie ont fait des commentaires sur les nombreuses participations au débat et sur la culture propre à chaque secteur.

  • Approche en matière de chaîne d'approvisionnement - Les chaînes d'approvisionnement (les producteurs, les entreprises de transformation et les détaillants) doivent se rassembler et définir une vision commune et des stratégies pouvant contribuer à obtenir le soutien du gouvernement.
  • Intermédiaire indépendant - Les chefs de file de l'industrie ont évoqué la possibilité d'avoir un intermédiaire indépendant qui réunirait toutes les parties et que le gouvernement pourrait écouter. Cet intermédiaire donnerait également à l'industrie la responsabilisation de ses engagements.

*Les propos résumés et consignés dans les documents sont tirés des notes prises lors du Sommet de la première ministre le 7 octobre 2013. Nous avons fait tout notre possible pour que les commentaires soient consignés intégralement. Ce document ne doit pas être lu comme étant une transcription de la journée.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 5 novembre 2013
Dernière révision : 5 novembre 2013