Agri-Food Growth Steering Committee Advice to Minister Leal

The Honourable Jeff Leal
Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
11th Floor
77 Grenville Street
Toronto, Ontario
M7A 1B3

October 27, 2015

Dear Minister:

Ontario's diverse and complex agri-food sector, which links together suppliers, producers, processors, retailers and food service, is a significant contributor to the economic well-being and social fabric of this province. Understanding this, in 2013 Premier Wynne - who at the time also served as Minister of Agriculture and Food - issued a challenge to the Ontario agri-food industry. This was a call to double the annual rate of economic growth in the agri-food sector and create an additional 120,000 new jobs by 2020.

Shortly after the 2014 Premier's Summit on Agri-Food, we were asked by you, Minister, as the Agri-Food Growth Steering Committee, to provide you with advice on how best to support industry in meeting the Premier's Challenge. Specifically, you asked us to develop meaningful, targeted, evidence-based actions, which government, industry and other partners will use to spur domestic and international market growth and guide the development of a provincial system to accurately measure future growth of Ontario's agri-food sector.

Minister, the Committee is confident Ontario can build its competitive advantage as a long-term global leader in food production for domestic and international consumption. Taking advantage of opportunities through recent trade agreements, such as the Trans-Pacific Partnership, will support this work. Industry leadership, responsive government programming, and supportive regulatory reforms are critical to increasing the competitiveness of Ontario's agri-food businesses and achieving the Premier's Challenge. Enhancing competitiveness is a pre-condition to success in growing domestic markets and exports.

We also believe that it is critical that the Ministry, in the design and development of future programming, such as Growing Forward 3, continue its focus on supporting evidence-based growth opportunities.

Current data indicates that industry is on its way to meeting the Premier's Challenge of creating 120,000 new jobs and doubling the agri-food sector's annual growth rate by 2020:

  • Ontario agri-food exports for 2014 totalled $12.5 billion, an increase of 5.5 per cent over 2013.
  • Ontario agri-food jobs for 2014 totalled 781,639, an increase of 2.2 per cent over 2013.

With these thoughts in mind, the following summarizes the committee's recommendations for your consideration, which we suggest be achieved through metrics determined by the end of 2015:

  1. Understanding a business' competitive position requires data, analysis and benchmarking. Future investments, innovation and automation in the agri-food sector will create opportunities for growth along the value chain and encourage an increase of higher value jobs.

    To support the Premier's Challenge, the Agri-Food Scorecard was developed. It established high-level targets, facilitates the identification of trends and enables the measurement of progress over time. To build on the work of the Agri-Food Scorecard, we recommend that the Ministry work with industry organizations to build sub-sector measurement systems and create indicators that measure progress towards increasing the competitiveness of a sector relative to competitive and comparable jurisdictions. Businesses will also be able to benchmark themselves against other businesses in their industry.
  2. Canada's food processing industry is primarily located within Ontario, accounting for 41% of the total Canadian GDP in food processing and 37% of Canada's employment in food processing in 2014.

    We recommend that Ontario and industry partner to champion the importance of food processing (e.g. jobs and investment) at the Agriculture Ministers' Federal/Provincial Table, and make it one of the priority areas for Growing Forward 3. This will strengthen the call to recognize Ontario's agri-food sector's value and importance to the Canadian economy.
  3. Ontario is a great place to do business, especially in the agri-food sector. Ontario offers access to: fresh water supplies, logistics, the North American food supply chain and numerous other benefits. Ontario needs to better promote and target the competitive business environment it offers to prospective and current agri-food businesses. We recommend that you, Minister, and the ministry enhance activities to attract and retain agri-food investments, to grow our domestic market shares and drive exports. This role should be in partnership with the Premier, the Minister of Economic Development, Employment and Infrastructure, and the Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and International Trade.
  4. Canada has a strong international reputation for food quality and safety. We recommend Ontario work with the federal government, and other provinces, to lever federal supports to differentiate Canadian products from those of our competitors for greater success in export markets. A key mark of success would be to slow the rising Ontario agri-food trade deficit.
  5. Minister, given that we have a target to increase exports to $20B by 2020, we encourage you to look at further opportunities to expand markets abroad. This would build on the success of Ontario's first agri-food trade mission to China, in Spring 2015, which resulted in signing $9 million in business deals. We recommend that OMAFRA work with the private sector to further increase exports, while making strides on import replacement.
  6. The Committee believes the OMAFRA Minister's Open for Business Forum is a constructive model to have early discussions on cross-government changes that impact agri-food, as well as focus on key areas to reduce regulatory burden. We recommend that OMAFRA engage the agri-food sector to refresh and refocus on key areas for improved regulatory design and enforcement in order to ensure an effective and trusted agri-food system that supports Ontario's competitiveness.
  7. To implement this advice, we recommend that OMAFRA and industry collaborate in developing a plan to build up the competitiveness of Ontario's agri-food sector, with a strong focus on innovation, scale and modernization. The plan should identify new opportunities for growth along the entire agri-food value chain, as well as address barriers to growth that impact retention and attraction of agri-food investments in Ontario. We recommend that the Ministry prioritize its work to focus on high-value growth opportunities with value chain partners that are prepared for this challenge.

    Government needs to identify where investment and partnerships should be focussed to best align with industry's innovation, scale and modernization needs. The new Jobs and Prosperity Fund is an excellent example of a much needed tool to enhance industry competitiveness. We note and support the lower eligibility threshold ($5M) for the Food and Beverage stream, relative to other manufacturing sectors ($10M), given the smaller scale of Ontario food processors.

    We recommend that OMAFRA consider programming to address the needs of small and medium-size companies that may need to make strategic investments in order to scale up, become more efficient and take advantage of new market opportunities. This is especially important for the Greater Toronto and Hamilton area, where more than 50% of the industry is clustered, as they do not have access to the specific regional funds available to the other areas of the province.

Ontario has significant potential in terms of growth in the agri-food sector, but many opportunities remain untapped. As a committee, we focused on identifying barriers to growth and ways that the government can support industry to break through these challenges.

Minister, we as members of your Agri-Food Growth Steering Committee have been honoured by your request to participate in this important process because we are excited by the potential of Ontario's agri-food sector. Agriculture and food production are this province's founding industries, and they continue to be one of its greatest economic contributors. It is our hope that the advice we provide today, will only help grow that remarkable legacy for the generations to come.

Sincerely,

The Agri-Food Growth Steering Committee

Amy Cronin (Co-Chair)
Deb Stark (Co-Chair)
Norm Beal
Ted Bilyea
Jim Brandle
Scott Graham
Jamison Steeve
Christian von Twickel


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Firstname SPACE Lastname SPACE HYPHEN SPACE Title/Affiliation
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph)
Use a SEMI COLON to separate multiple entries:
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph; Jane Doe - Crop Specialist/OMAFRA)
Creation Date: dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy
Last Reviewed: dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy

Comité directeur pour la croissance dans le secteur agroalimentaire Conseils au ministre Leal

L'honorable Jeff Leal
Ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales
11e étage
77, rue Grenville
Toronto (Ontario)
M7A 1B3

Le 27 octobre 2015

Monsieur le Ministre,

Diversifié et complexe, le secteur agroalimentaire de l'Ontario, qui relie entre eux les fournisseurs, les producteurs, les entreprises de transformation, les détaillants et les établissements de services alimentaires, contribue de façon importante au bien-être économique et au tissu social de cette province. Ne l'ignorant pas, la première ministre Wynne, à l'époque où elle assumait la fonction de ministre de l'Agriculture et de l'Alimentation, en 2013, avait lancé un défi à l'industrie agroalimentaire de l'Ontario : doubler le taux de croissance économique annuel du secteur agroalimentaire et créer 120 000 emplois de plus d'ici 2020.

Peu de temps après le Sommet agroalimentaire de la première ministre de 2014, à titre de ministre, vous avez demandé au Comité directeur pour la croissance dans le secteur agroalimentaire de vous fournir des conseils sur les meilleurs moyens d'aider l'industrie à relever le défi de la première ministre. Vous nous avez plus particulièrement demandé de proposer des solutions constructives, ciblées et fondées sur des données probantes que le gouvernement, l'industrie et d'autres partenaires pourraient utiliser pour stimuler la croissance sur les marchés intérieur et international, et guider l'élaboration d'un système provincial afin de mesurer avec exactitude la croissance économique future du secteur agroalimentaire ontarien.

Monsieur le Ministre, le Comité est confiant quant à la capacité de l'Ontario d'acquérir un avantage concurrentiel en tant que chef de file mondial, pour longtemps, de la production d'aliments destinés à la consommation aux échelles nationale et internationale. Le fait de tirer profit des possibilités apportées par de récents accords commerciaux, entre autres le Partenariat transpacifique, soutiendra les efforts déployés en ce sens. Le leadership de l'industrie, des programmes gouvernementaux adaptés et des réformes réglementaires favorables sont essentiels pour accroître la compétitivité des entreprises agroalimentaires de l'Ontario et relever le défi de la première ministre. Renforcer la compétitivité est une condition préalable au succès sur les marchés intérieur et d'exportation en pleine expansion.

Nous estimons aussi qu'il est crucial que le ministère continue de centrer son attention et son appui sur les possibilités de croissance fondées sur des données probantes dans la conception et l'élaboration de programmes futurs, comme Cultivons l'avenir 3.

Les données actuelles montrent que l'industrie est en bonne voie de réussir le défi de la première ministre en vue de créer 120 000 emplois et de doubler le taux de croissance annuel du secteur agroalimentaire d'ici 2020 :

  • Les exportations agroalimentaires de l'Ontario se sont élevées à 12,5 milliards de dollars au total en 2014, en hausse de 5,5 p. 100 par rapport à 2013;
  • Le nombre d'emplois dans le secteur agroalimentaire de l'Ontario s'est élevé à 781 639 au total en 2014, en hausse de 2,2 p. 100 par rapport à 2013.

Les recommandations suivantes, formulées dans le prolongement de telles réflexions, résument les points que notre comité porte à votre attention. Nous suggérons leur application en fonction de mesures à établir d'ici la fin de 2015 :

  1. Il faut recueillir des données, les analyser et les comparer pour comprendre la position concurrentielle d'une entreprise. Les investissements, l'innovation et l'automatisation futurs dans le secteur agroalimentaire créeront des possibilités de croissance tout au long de la chaîne de valeur et favoriseront l'augmentation d'emplois de meilleure qualité.

    Le bilan agroalimentaire a été établi pour appuyer le défi de la première ministre. Il fixe des cibles élevées, facilite le suivi des tendances et permet de mesurer les progrès au fil du temps. Pour poursuivre sur la lancée du bilan agroalimentaire, nous recommandons au ministère de collaborer avec les associations et organismes de l'industrie afin de mettre au point des systèmes de mesure sous-sectoriels et de créer des indicateurs qui mesurent les progrès en vue d'accroître la compétitivité par rapport à des provinces ou autres territoires concurrents et comparables. Les entreprises pourront aussi se comparer par rapport à leurs semblables dans leur industrie.
  2. L'industrie canadienne de la transformation des aliments se trouve principalement en Ontario - la province comptait pour 41 p. 100 du PIB canadien total en transformation alimentaire et 37 p. 100 de l'emploi au Canada dans ce secteur en 2014.

    Nous recommandons que l'Ontario et l'industrie s'associent pour défendre l'importance de la transformation alimentaire (c.-à-d. en emplois et en investissements) à la table des sous-ministres fédéral-provinciaux-territoriaux de l'Agriculture et en fassent l'un des secteurs prioritaires de Cultivons l'avenir 3. Cette approche renforcera les efforts déployés pour que soient reconnues la valeur et l'importance du secteur agroalimentaire de l'Ontario dans l'économie canadienne.
  3. L'Ontario est très propice aux affaires, surtout dans le secteur agroalimentaire. La province offre un accès à des réserves d'eau douce, à un soutien logistique, à la chaîne d'approvisionnement alimentaire nord-américaine et à de nombreux autres atouts. Il importe donc de mieux promouvoir et cibler le milieu d'affaires concurrentiel de l'Ontario auprès des entreprises agroalimentaires actuelles et éventuelles. Nous vous recommandons, Monsieur le Ministre, ainsi qu'à votre ministère, d'améliorer les activités visant à attirer et à conserver les investissements dans l'agroalimentaire, à faire croître nos parts du marché intérieur et à stimuler les exportations. Ce rôle devrait être assumé en partenariat avec la première ministre, le ministre du Développement économique, de l'Emploi et de l'Infrastructure ainsi que le ministre des Affaires civiques, de l'Immigration et du Commerce international.
  4. Le Canada jouit d'une excellente réputation à l'échelle internationale pour la qualité et la salubrité de ses aliments. Nous recommandons que l'Ontario travaille de concert avec le gouvernement fédéral, et avec les autres provinces, pour qu'un effet de levier soit exercé sur les mesures de soutien fédérales, afin que les produits canadiens se distinguent de ceux de nos concurrents et réussissent mieux sur les marchés d'exportation. Le ralentissement du rythme auquel s'est creusé le déficit commercial accusé dans le secteur agroalimentaire ontarien serait un signe de succès clé.
  5. Monsieur le Ministre, puisque notre objectif est de faire monter les exportations à 20 milliards de dollars d'ici 2020, nous vous invitons à rechercher d'autres occasions d'élargir les marchés étrangers. Cette approche mettrait à profit le succès obtenu par la première mission commerciale agroalimentaire de l'Ontario en Chine, au printemps 2015, qui a abouti à la signature d'ententes commerciales de 9 millions de dollars. Nous recommandons que le MAAARO collabore avec le secteur privé pour faire croître encore plus les exportations, tout en réalisant des progrès dans le remplacement des importations.
  6. Le Comité voit dans le forum L'Ontario propice aux affaires du MAAARO un modèle constructif pour tenir de premières discussions sur les changements pangouvernementaux qui influent sur le secteur agroalimentaire et centrer l'attention sur les principaux aspects concourant à la réduction du fardeau réglementaire. Nous recommandons que le MAAARO mobilise le secteur agroalimentaire afin de revoir et de réorienter les principaux éléments de la réglementation et de l'exécution des lois pour en améliorer le cadre et ainsi assurer l'établissement d'un réseau agroalimentaire efficace et fiable pour soutenir la compétitivité de l'Ontario.
  7. Pour donner suite à ces conseils, nous recommandons une collaboration entre le MAAARO et l'industrie dans l'élaboration d'un plan qui renforcera la compétitivité du secteur agroalimentaire de l'Ontario, tout en mettant fortement l'accent sur l'innovation, l'expansion et la modernisation. Le plan devrait cerner de nouvelles possibilités de croissance tout au long de la chaîne de valeur agroalimentaire, en plus d'éliminer les obstacles à la croissance qui nuisent aux efforts pour conserver et attirer des investissements dans l'agroalimentaire en Ontario. Nous recommandons que le ministère établisse ses priorités de manière à favoriser les possibilités de croissance à valeur élevée en collaboration avec des partenaires de la chaîne de valeur préparés à ce défi.

    Le gouvernement doit cerner les dossiers où les investissements et les partenariats devraient être plus particulièrement dirigés pour harmoniser les efforts avec les besoins de l'industrie en matière d'innovation, d'expansion et de modernisation. Le nouveau Fonds pour l'emploi et la prospérité est un excellent exemple d'outil qui améliore la compétitivité de l'industrie. Nous constatons et appuyons le seuil d'admissibilité abaissé (5 M$) pour le volet des aliments et boissons, comparativement à d'autres secteurs de la fabrication (10 M$), compte tenu de l'envergure plus petite des entreprises de transformation alimentaire de l'Ontario.

    Nous recommandons que le MAAARO envisage de mettre en œuvre des programmes pour répondre aux besoins des petites et moyennes entreprises qui pourraient devoir faire des investissements stratégiques pour accroître leurs activités, être plus efficaces et profiter de nouveaux débouchés. De tels programmes sont particulièrement importants pour la région du grand Toronto et de Hamilton, où l'industrie est regroupée dans une proportion de 50 p. 100, puisque l'accès aux fonds régionaux dont bénéficient les autres régions de la province n'y est pas offert.

L'Ontario a un énorme potentiel de croissance dans le secteur agroalimentaire, mais de nombreuses possibilités restent inexploitées. En tant que comité, nous avons centré notre attention sur les obstacles à la croissance et les moyens par lesquels le gouvernement peut appuyer l'industrie afin de les surmonter.

Monsieur le Ministre, nous avons été honorés, à titre de membres du Comité directeur pour la croissance dans le secteur agroalimentaire que vous avez mis sur pied, de prendre part, à votre demande, à cet important processus, car le potentiel du secteur agroalimentaire de l'Ontario nous ravit. L'agriculture et la production alimentaire sont les industries fondatrices de cette province, et elles restent au nombre de ses plus importants moteurs économiques. Nous espérons que les conseils formulés aujourd'hui ne pourront qu'aider à faire fructifier cet héritage remarquable pour les générations à venir.

Cordialement,

Le Comité directeur pour la croissance dans le secteur agroalimentaire

Amy Cronin (coprésidente)
Deb Stark (coprésidente)
Norm Beal
Ted Bilyea
Jim Brandle
Scott Graham
Jamison Steeve
Christian von Twickel


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Firstname SPACE Lastname SPACE HYPHEN SPACE Title/Affiliation
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph)
Use a SEMI COLON to separate multiple entries:
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph; Jane Doe - Crop Specialist/OMAFRA)
Date de création : dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy
Dernière révision : dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy