Skip to content.
Français

Some features of this website require Javascript to be enabled for best usability. Please enable Javascript to run.

Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Carfentrazone

Trade Name: Aim EC

Registration status: This herbicide is registered for use in orchards with a hooded sprayer.

When to suspect injury: Injury may occur from drift from under-tree applications if the sprayer hood is not working. Also, injury may occur from drift from neighbouring fields under windy conditions. If you notice symptoms of spotting on leafs or necrotic plants, look carefully at neighbouring fields, and at weeds in the treated area.

Herbicide Information:  Knowing how the herbicide works will help to determine the likelihood of injury from either direct application or drift.  Consider how the herbicide works in plants, behaves in soils and what symptoms are common in other plants.  

Chemical Family/Group:  Aryl triazolinone

Site of Action: Inhibitors of protoporphyrinogen oxidase (Protox) (WSSA Group 14)

General Symptoms in Plants

  • Necrotic spotting on leaves
  • Initial symptoms appear within a few hours
  • Plant death within a few days

Symptoms in Fruit Trees

  • Same as above, necrotic spots on leaves, appearing within hours after application
  • Leaves may die after several days if enough spray contacts the leaves

Uptake and Translocation

  • Taken up through the foliage
  • Not readily transmitted

Persistence

  • No residual activity

If you suspect herbicide injury, laboratory analyses of herbicide levels in plant tissue are necessary to confirm the presence of herbicides, although symptoms may be helpful in diagnosing which herbicides caused the problem.

Both damaged and healthy plant tissues should be analyzed, because comparison levels are not readily available for many herbicides. Contact your lab for instructions on which plant parts should be sampled, how to handle and ship the sample, and what costs are involved to ensure an accurate and timely diagnosis.

Click to enlarge.

Passez au contenu.
English

Certaines fonctionnalités de ce site nécessitent Javascript soit activé pour le meilleur usibility. S'il vous plaît activer Javascript pour fonctionner.

Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales

Carfentrazone

Nom commercial : Aim EC

Homologation : cet herbicide est homologué pour utilisation dans les vergers avec un pulvérisateur à écrans protecteurs.  

Quand s’attendre à des dommages : les dommages dus à la dérive peuvent survenir lors d’application sous les arbres en cas de problèmes des écrans protecteurs du pulvérisateur. Les dégâts peuvent aussi être dus à la dérive de pulvérisation des champs avoisinants dans des conditions venteuses. Si vous observez des symptômes de taches sur les feuilles ou des plants nécrosés, examiner avec soin les champs avoisinants et les mauvaises herbes de la zone traitée.

Information sur l’herbicide : il importe de connaître le mode d’action de l’herbicide pour mieux cerner les risques de lésions dans les cas d’application directe ou de dérive. Il faut savoir comment l’herbicide se comporte dans les plants, dans les sols et quels sont les symptômes les plus répandus dans les autres végétaux.

Famille chimique : aryl triazolinone

Site d’action/Groupe : inhibiteurs de la protoporphyrinogène oxydase (Protox)
 (WSSA Groupe 14)

Symptômes généraux dans les plantes :

  • Les plants traités développent les taches nécrosées.
  • Apparition des symptômes initiaux en quelques heures.
  • Les plants meurent en quelques jours.

Symptômes dans les arbres fruitiers :

  • Les mêmes que décrits plus haut, taches nécrotiques sur les feuilles, qui apparaissent quelques heures après l’application;
  • les feuilles meurent parfois après quelques jours si une quantité suffisante de dérive est entrée en contact avec les feuilles.

Absorption et diffusion

  • Absorbé par le feuillage.
  • Ne se diffuse pas facilement.

Persistance

  • Aucune rémanence.

Si vous soupçonnez des lésions dues aux herbicides, il faut faire analyser des tissus végétaux par un laboratoire accrédité pour confirmer la présence d’herbicides, bien que des symptômes peuvent favoriser le diagnostic quand les herbicides sont en cause.

Il faut analyser des tissus végétaux endommagés et sains, car divers niveaux de comparaison ne sont pas disponibles à ce jour pour de nombreux herbicides. Communiquer avec votre laboratoire pour savoir quelles parties des végétaux il faut prélever, comment les manipuler et les acheminer, et quels sont les coûts pour obtenir un diagnostic adéquat en temps opportun.

Cliquer pour agrandir.