Skip to content.
Fran├žais

Some features of this website require Javascript to be enabled for best usibility. Please enable Javascript to run.

Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Spittle Bugs

Spittle bug froth Spittle bug covered by froth Spittle bug nymph with froth Spittle bug adult Spittle bug damage Spittle bug nymph Click to enlarge.

Beginner

Scientific Name
Philaenus spumarius

Identification

  • Nymphs are found in white spit-like froth on plants
  • Nymphs are soft-bodied, and range in size from 0.3 cm (1/8 in.) to 0.6 cm (1/4 in.)
  • Young nymphs are yellow, yellowish orange, older nymphs are yellowish-green
  • Adults are brown or grey and 0.6 cm (1/4 in.) long
  • Spittlebug nymphs pierce the plant stems and suck plant juices
  • Leaves can be distorted and berries stunted if the populations are high
  • The leaves develop a crinkled and dark green appearance

Often Confused With
Cyclamen mite damage
Viruses
Leafhopper nymphs

Period of Activity
Nymphs appear in late April or early May and take 5- 8 weeks to mature.

Scouting Notes
Usually growers do not need to control spittlebugs. Expect high populations near grassy areas or pastures, or where broadleaved weeds are found in adjacent vegetation.

In high risk areas, begin monitoring in late April or early May in southern Ontario. Check all plants in 5 randomly selected 60 cm by 30 cm (2 ft x 1 ft) areas per acre of strawberries every 2 weeks. Early in the season, use the same areas that are monitored for strawberry clipper weevil. Begin by looking for spittle and nymphs at the base of the plants in the crown area. Later look on the underside of young leaves as they grow. On hot, dry days, the nymphs and their spittle may be at the base of the plant. On these days, spread the plants and inspect the crowns.

Thresholds
Pick-your-own customers dislike the frothy masses of spittle that the nymphs produce. They may be willing to accept about 2 spittle bugs per 0.2 m2 (2 sq ft) without complaints. Populations above 10 spittle masses per 0.2 m2 (2 sq ft) can reduce yields.

Advanced

Scientific Name
Philaenus spumarius

Identification
Spittle bug nymphs are found in white spit-like froth on plants. They are soft-bodied and elongated. Young nymphs are yellow and about 0.3 cm (1/8 in.) long. Older nymphs are green and 0.6 cm (1/4 in.) long. The adults, which are robust, brown or grey and 0.6 cm (1/4 in.) long, are rarely seen in strawberry fields and seldom cause problems.

Spittlebug nymphs pierce the plant stems and suck plant juices. Initially, they feed at the bases of the plants, but later move up onto the new, developing foliage. As they feed they excrete a frothy foam that protects them from predators. Occasionally, spittlebug feeding can cause leaves to be distorted and berries stunted if the nymphs feed excessively on them. The leaves develop a crinkled and dark green appearance which can resemble symptoms of crinkle virus.

Often Confused With
Cyclamen mite (Both spittlebug and cyclamen mite feeding can cause distorted growth.)
Viruses (Viruses can also cause crinkled or distorted growth on foliage.)
Leafhopper nymphs (Spittlebug nymphs are yellow, rather than green and are usually wet or associated with foam.)

Biology
Spittlebugs overwinter as eggs inserted into the leaf bases or crown of the plant. Eggs hatch and nymphs appear in late April or early May. The nymphs take 5- 8 weeks to mature. Adults migrate in June and return in September and October to lay their eggs.

Period of Activity
Nymphs appear in late April or early May and take 5- 8 weeks to mature.

Scouting Notes
Usually growers do not need to monitor specifically for spittlebugs, they will be evident when monitoring for other pests. Expect high populations near grassy areas, pastures, or where broadleaved weeds are found in adjacent vegetation.

Begin monitoring in late April or early May in southern Ontario. Check all plants in 5 randomly selected 60 cm by 30 cm (2 ft x 1 ft) areas per acre of strawberries every 2 weeks. Early in the season, use the same areas that are monitored for strawberry clipper weevil. Begin by looking for spittle and nymphs at the base of the plants in the crown area. Later look on the underside of young leaves as they grow. On hot, dry days, the nymphs and their spittle may be at the base of the plant. On these days, spread the plants and inspect the crowns.

Thresholds
Pick-your-own customers dislike the frothy masses of spittle that the nymphs produce. They may be willing to accept about 2 spittle bugs per 0.2 m2 (2 sq ft) without complaints. Populations above 10 spittle masses per 0.2 m2 (2 sq ft) can reduce yields.

Management Notes

  • Good weed management will help to control spittlebugs, because the adults are less likely to return in the fall to plantings that are free of weeds.
  • Usually, spittlebug populations will stay well below threshold levels when insecticides are applied to control tarnished plant bug.

Passez au contenu.
English

Certaines fonctionnalités de ce site nécessitent Javascript soit activé pour le meilleur usibility. S'il vous plaît activer Javascript pour fonctionner.

Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales

Cercopes

Ècume blanche produit par le cercope Cercopes s’enfouissent sous une écume blanche Nymphe de cercopes s’enfouissent sous une écume blanche
Cercope adulte Dommages causés par les cercopes Nymphe de cercope Cliquez pour agrandir.

Débutant

Nom scientifique
Philaenus spumarius

Identification

  • Les nymphes de cercopes s’enfouissent sous une écume blanche qu’elles produisent sur le fraisier.
  • Elles ont un corps mou et allongé et mesurent environ 0,3 cm (1/8 po) de longueur.
  • Les adultes sont robustes, de couleur brune ou grise et mesurent 0,6 cm (1/4 po).
  • Les nymphes de cercopes perforent les tiges des plants et en aspirent les sucs.
  • Les feuilles prennent un aspect crispé, vert foncé, qui rappelle les symptômes du virus de la frisée.

Souvent confondus avec
Les dommages du tarsonème du fraisier
Les dommages attribuables aux virus
Les nymphes de la cicadelle

Période d’activité
Les nymphes apparaissent à la fin d’avril ou le début de mai et arrivent à maturité pendant 5 à 8 semaines.

Notes de surveillance
Aucune surveillance particulière n’est habituellement requise à l’égard de ce type d’insectes, sauf dans le cas des fraisières mal désherbées ou entourées de prairies de fauche ou de pâture.

Dans le sud de l’Ontario, on commencera à surveiller fin avril-début mai. Une fois toutes les deux semaines, on posera un cadre de 30 cm x 60 cm (1 pied sur 2) à cinq endroits différents choisis au hasard, par acre de fraisière, et on inspectera tous les plants contenus dans le cadre. En début de saison, ce dépistage peut être fait aux endroits où l’on surveille l’anthonome fraisier. Au début, guetter la présence des petites masses spumeuses et des nymphes à la base des plants dans la zone du collet. Plus tard, examiner la face inférieure des jeunes feuilles en croissance. Par temps chaud et sec, les nymphes et les petites masses spumeuses peuvent se trouver à la base des plants, il faut bien écarter le feuillage des plants pour examiner le collet.

Seuils d’intervention
Les clients qui viennent cueillir leurs propres fraises ne sont en général pas trop rebutés par la présence de deux masses spumeuses par 2 pied carrés (0.2 m2). Mais au-delà de 10 masses spumeuses par 2 pieds carrés (0.2 m2), on peut craindre une baisse de la fréquentation.

Avancé

Nom scientifique
Philaenus spumarius

Identification
Les nymphes de cercopes s’enfouissent sous une écume blanche qu’elles produisent sur le fraisier. Elles ont un corps mou et allongé. Les jeunes nymphes sont jaunes et mesurent environ 0,3 cm (1/8 po) de longueur. Les nymphes moins jeunes sont vertes et mesurent 0,6 cm (1/4 po). Les adultes sont robustes, de couleur brune ou grise et mesurent 0,6 cm (1/4 po), mais on les voit rarement dans les fraisières où ils ne causent habituellement pas de problèmes.

Les nymphes de cercopes perforent les tiges des plants et en aspirent les sucs. Au début, elles s’attaquent à la base des plants, mais plus tard elles remontent dans les nouvelles feuilles. En se nourrissant, elles sécrètent une écume qui les protège des prédateurs. Il arrive que les feuilles se déforment et que les fruits soient atrophiés si leurs attaques sont trop intenses. Les feuilles prennent un aspect crispé, vert foncé, qui rappelle les symptômes du virus de la frisée.

Souvent confondus avec
Le tarsonème du fraisier (Les cercopes et les tarsonèmes du fraisier entraînent une distorsion du feuillage.)
Les dommages attribuables aux virus (Les virus peuvent aussi produire une distorsion et un gaufrage des feuilles.)
Les nymphes de la cicadelle (Les nymphes des cercopes sont plutôt jaunes que vertes et sont habituellement humides ou associées à la présence d’écume.)

Biologie
Les cercopes hivernent à l’état d’œufs insérés à la base des feuilles ou dans le collet des plants. L’éclosion des œufs et la sortie des nymphes a lieu à la fin d’avril ou au début de mai. Les nymphes mettent de cinq à huit semaines pour arriver à maturité. Les adultes migrent en juin pour revenir en septembre- octobre déposer leurs œufs à la base des tiges des plants.

Période d’activité
Les nymphes apparaissent à la fin d’avril ou au début de mai et arrivent à maturité 5 à 8 semaines plus tard.

Notes de surveillance
Aucune surveillance particulière n’est habituellement requise à l’égard de ce type d’insectes. Leur présence sera automatiquement décelée au moment du dépistage effectué pour d’autres ravageurs. Il faut s’attendre à des niveaux d’infestation plus élevés près des endroits herbeux, des pâturages, ou sur les mauvaises herbes dicotylédones poussant aux abords des plantations.

Dans le sud de l’Ontario, on commencera à surveiller fin avril-début mai. Une fois toutes les deux semaines, on posera un cadre de 30 cm x 60 cm (1 pied sur 2) à cinq endroits différents choisis au hasard, par acre de fraisière, et on inspectera tous les plants contenus dans le cadre. En début de saison, ce dépistage peut être fait aux endroits où l’on surveille l’anthonome du fraisier. Au début, guetter la présence des petites masses spumeuses et des nymphes à la base des plants dans la zone du collet. Plus tard, examiner la face inférieure des jeunes feuilles en croissance. Par temps chaud et sec, les nymphes et les petites masses spumeuses peuvent se trouver à la base des plants et il faut bien écarter le feuillage des plants pour examiner le collet.

Seuils d’intervention
Les clients qui viennent cueillir leurs propres fraises sont plutôt rebutés par la présence de l’écume. Ils tolèrent toutefois assez bien jusqu’à deux masses spumeuses par 2 pied carrés (0.2 m2). Mais au-delà de 10 masses spumeuses par 2 pied carrés (0.2 m2), on peut craindre une réduction du rendement.

Moyens de lutte

  • Un désherbage consciencieux de la fraisière facilite la lutte contre les cercopes, car les insectes adultes sont moins enclins à revenir en automne dans une fraisière bien nettoyée.
  • Habituellement les niveaux d’infestation par les cercopes restent bien en deçà des seuils d’intervention lorsqu’on applique un programme de traitement insecticide contre la punaise terne.