Skip to content.
Français

Some features of this website require Javascript to be enabled for best usibility. Please enable Javascript to run.

Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Twospotted spider mite

Twospotted spider mite adult and eggs Male and female twospotted spider mites Overwintering twospotted spider mite adults
Click to enlarge.

Beginner

Scientific Name
Tetranychus urticae

Identification
Eggs:

  • Clear, becoming milky-white over time,
  • Spherical.

Nymphs:

  • Newly hatched individuals are colourless, with spots appearing following feeding.
  • Progress through several immature stages including a six-legged larva and eight-legged nymph.

Adults:

  • Pale green or straw-coloured with two dark spots on the back,
  • Produce dense webbing to coat the surface of leaves,
  • Overwintering females usually turn reddish-orange, and are often found near the calyx and stem of fruit near harvest. 

Damage:

  • Bronzing on the leaves,
  • Characteristic webbing on the under surface of the leaf,
  • Prolonged feeding by unmanaged mite populations stresses the tree, and reduces shoot growth and fruit bud set the following year,
  • Fruit colour, soluble solids, firmness, size and weight of the fruit are also affected.

Often Confused With

  • European red mite and apple rust mite- These mites cause similar bronzing to leaves. However twospotted spider mites are associated with webbing on the leaves.  Twospotted spider mite adults and nymphs are easily distinguished from European red mites. They are pale green or straw-coloured with two dark spots on the back and more elongated than European red mite.

Period of Activity
The twospotted spider mite can be found in apple orchards from the end of tight cluster through harvest. Generally they do not appear in high numbers in orchards until early to midsummer when they move into the trees from nearby dying weeds.

Scouting Notes
Begin weekly monitoring programs for mites (twospotted spider mite and European red mite) at the tight cluster stage. From tight cluster through to petal fall, collect 2 fruit spurs from 25 random trees per block and examine the underside of the leaves using a dissecting microscope with a magnification of 25-40X for the presence of mite eggs, nymphs, adults and beneficial mites. Using a hand lens in the field may help experienced consultants and scouts obtain quick estimate of numbers, but does not provide accurate counts required for threshold numbers.    

After petal fall, collect 2 leaves from each of 25 well-spaced trees per block (50 leaves total). Pick leaves at arm’s length into the canopy. Include European red mite and twospotted spider mites in counts –total the number of mite eggs, nymphs and adults. Miticides vary in performance against different life stages and species.

Sample leaves on a weekly basis, especially during hot summer months when numbers can increase and exceed thresholds very quickly. Although mites commonly occur in greater numbers on trees in sheltered areas and next to dusty roadways, always sample equally from all parts of blocks.

Take separate samples for each orchard block or treatable area. Red Delicious, Empire and Gala tend to support the largest mite populations. Sample these cultivars, along with orchard blocks with a history of mite problems. 

Beneficial mites can delay or prevent the need for a miticide application, so be sure to note their presence during monitoring.
                                    
Thresholds

Stage of growth

Spray threshold and timing*

Dormant to tight cluster

Eggs present

Petal fall to 21 days after calyx

1st egg hatch and before more than 3 nymphs/leaf

 

5-7 active mites/leaf timed for 50% egg hatch

June to mid July

7-10 active mites/leaf, when approximately 50% of population are nymphs

Mid July to August

10-15 active mites/leaf when approximately 50% of population are nymphs

*Some recently registered miticides are applied slightly earlier than conventional products, at 5 mites/leaf.

For information on the timing of specific miticides, see OMAFRA Publication 360, Guide to Fruit Production.

Advanced

Twospotted spider mites are usually found in lower numbers in orchards, and appear later in the season than European red mites. Production areas including Georgian Bay and east of Toronto often have more problems with twospotted spider mites than European red mite.

Scientific Name
Tetranychus urticae

Identification
Twospotted spider mite eggs are clear and spherical, becoming milky-white over time. Newly hatched individuals are colourless, with spots appear following feeding. As with European red mite, twospotted spider mites progress through several immature stages including a six-legged larva and eight-legged nymph. Twospotted spider mite adults and nymphs are easily distinguished from European red mites. They are pale green or straw-coloured with two dark spots on the back and more elongated than European red mite. Twospotted spider mites produce dense webbing to coat the surface of leaves. Overwintering females usually turn reddish-orange, and are often found near the calyx and stem of fruit near harvest. 

Twospotted spider mites cause bronzing on the leaves. Spider mites create a characteristic webbing on the under surface of the leaf. Webbing gives mites and their eggs protection from natural enemies and environmental fluctuations. Prolonged feeding by unmanaged mite populations stresses the tree, and reduces shoot growth and fruit bud set the following year. Fruit colour, soluble solids, firmness, size and weight of the fruit are also affected. In severe cases, mite-induced tree stress may result in death during harsh winters.

Often Confused With

  • European red mite and apple rust mite- These mites cause similar bronzing to leaves. However twospotted spider mites are associated with webbing on the leaves.  Twospotted spider mite adults and nymphs are easily distinguished from European red mites. They are pale green or straw-coloured with two dark spots on the back and more elongated than European red mite.

Biology
Twospotted spider mites overwinter as orange-coloured adults under bark or on weeds beneath the tree. Populations often build up on broadleaf weeds, brambles and sucker growth beneath the tree and adjacent areas in the spring. Although twospotted spider mites can overwinter successfully on trees, large numbers often migrate into the tree canopy from the orchard floor in mid to late summer when weeds and other plants on the orchard floor dry up. Twospotted spider mite populations continue to thrive until cool, late summer weather reduces population activity. There are three to five generations each year. These mites are able to disperse over wide areas and from orchard to orchard by wind and air currents. Severe infestations of twospotted spider mite generally occur later than European red mite infestations.

Period of Activity
The twospotted spider mite can be found in apple orchards from the end of tight cluster through harvest.

Scouting Notes
Begin weekly monitoring programs for twospotted spider mites at the tight cluster stage. Examine fruit spurs and twigs for overwintering mite eggs. From tight cluster through to petal fall, collect 2 fruit spurs from 25 random trees per block and examine the underside of the leaves using a dissecting microscope with a magnification of 25-40X for the presence of mite eggs, nymphs, adults and beneficial mites. Using a hand lens in the field may help experienced consultants and scouts obtain quick estimate of numbers, but does not provide accurate counts required for threshold numbers.    

After petal fall, collect 2 leaves from each of 25 well-spaced trees per block (50 leaves total). Pick leaves at arm’s length into the canopy. Include European red mite and twospotted spider mites in counts –total the number of mite eggs, nymphs and adults. Miticides vary in performance against different life stages and species.

Sample leaves on a weekly basis, especially during hot summer months when numbers can increase and exceed thresholds very quickly. Although mites commonly occur in greater numbers on trees in sheltered areas and next to dusty roadways, always sample equally from all parts of blocks.

Take separate samples for each orchard block or treatable area. Red Delicious, Empire and Gala tend to support the largest mite populations. Sample these cultivars, along with orchard blocks with a history of mite problems. 

Beneficial mites can delay or prevent the need for a miticide application, so be sure to note their presence during monitoring.

Thresholds

Stage of growth

Spray threshold and timing*

Dormant to tight cluster

Eggs present

Petal fall to 21 days after calyx

1st egg hatch and before more than 3 nymphs/leaf

 

5-7 active mites/leaf timed for 50% egg hatch

June to mid July

7-10 active mites/leaf, when approximately 50% of population are nymphs

Mid July to August

10-15 active mites/leaf when approximately 50% of population are nymphs

*Some recently registered miticides are applied slightly earlier than conventional products, at 5 mites/leaf.

For information on the timing of specific miticides, see OMAFRA Publication 360, Guide to Fruit Production.

Management Notes

  • Mite outbreaks in orchards are caused by:
    • Hot dry weather conditions that are favourable to mite development,
    • Poor groundcover management (providing overwintering sites for twospotted spider mites),
    • High nitrogen levels in leaves (resulting in higher mite fecundity),
    • Loss of shelter and habit used by predators,
    • Use of pesticides toxic to natural enemies.           
  • Natural enemies of mites include predatory mites such as Typhlodromus pyri (Scheuten), T. caudiglans (Schuster), Amblyseius(=Neoseiulus) fallacis (Garman), Zetzellia mali (Ewing), Agistemus fleschneri (Summers) and Balaustium spp.
  • Other important predators of mites include Stethorus punctillum (LeConte), minute pirate bugs (Orius spp.), predatory thrips, lacewings and mullein bugs Campylomma verbasci (Meyer).
  • Beneficial mites can provide biological control of pest mites.
  • Use a selective pesticide program to preserve mite predators. A selective pesticide program may be less harmful to beneficial mites and prevent or delay the need for miticide applications.
  • Heavy rain can physically remove and kill many mites, and remove dust that collects on foliage and interferes with mite predators.
  • Extreme winter weather or adverse conditions during hatch can negatively affect survival of twospotted spider mite adults.
  • Use well-managed cover crops between rows to limit dusty conditions that favour a buildup of pest mites. If ground cover dries, pest mites such as twospotted spider mites may move into trees.  
  • Resistance to miticides is a serious concern in Ontario orchards. The long-term sustainability of mite resistance management programs requires judicious use of available products. Fortunately, Ontario growers have many different tools to manage mites and provide excellent options for a resistance management strategy. Consider the following information when managing mites:
    • Miticides are often highly selective. Some may only affect certain types of mites at certain life stages. Be aware of this when selecting a product.
    • Miticides are most effective when applied alone, using recommended rates and high water volumes (>1,000 L of water/ha). 
    • Apply each miticide only once per season to delay the development of resistance. If miticides are needed two years in a row, use products from different chemical families to avoid the development of pesticide resistance.  For more information on the chemical families of miticides, see OMAFRA Publication 360, Guide to Fruit Production.
    • Some newer miticides are slower acting – remember this when applying products and for follow up assessments.  For products with slow knockdown, wait one to two weeks after spraying to determine if the product was effective.
    • See OMAFRA Publication 360, Guide to Fruit Production - Chapter 4 Apples (PDF) or Apple Calendar only (PDF) :

Passez au contenu.
English

Certaines fonctionnalités de ce site nécessitent Javascript soit activé pour le meilleur usibility. S'il vous plaît activer Javascript pour fonctionner.

Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales

Tétranyque à deux points

Tétranyque à deux points et les œufs Tétranyques à deux points Femelles hivernantes du tétranyque à deux points
Cliquer pour agrandir.

Débutant

Nom scientifique
Tetranychus urticae

Identification
Œufs :

  • Transparents, mais ils prennent la couleur du lait à mesure qu’ils évoluent,
  • Sphériques,

Nymphes :

  • À la naissance, les individus sont incolores, mais acquièrent des taches dès qu’ils commencent à se nourrir,
  • Passent par plusieurs stades, dont un stade larvaire à six pattes et un stade nymphal à huit pattes.

Adultes :

  • Vert pâle ou couleur paille, avec deux points sombres sur le dos, 
  • Forme allongée,
  • Secrète une toile dense dont il recouvre la surface des feuilles pour retenir la poussière,
  • Les femelles hivernantes prennent généralement une coloration rouge-orange et se réfugient souvent près de la cuvette oculaire ou du pédoncule des pommes à l’approche de la cueillette. 

Dommages :

  • Bronzage des feuilles,
  • Toiles caractéristiques sur le revers des feuilles,
  • Une attaque soutenue par des populations non maîtrisées de tétranyques rouges affaiblit l’arbre, ce qui nuira l’année suivante à la croissance des pousses et à la formation des boutons,
  • La couleur, la fermeté, le calibre et le poids des pommes, de même que leur teneur en solides solubles, seront aussi affectés.

Souvent confondu avec

  • Le tétranyque rouge du pommier et l’ériophyide du pommier – ces deux acariens provoquent un bronzage similaire sur le feuillage. Toutefois le tétranyque à deux points est associé aussi à la présence de toiles tissées sur les feuilles. Aux stades nymphal et adulte, il est facile à distinguer du tétranyque rouge en raison de sa couleur — vert pâle ou couleur paille, avec deux points sombres sur le dos — et de sa forme plus allongée.

Période d’activité
Le tétranyque à deux points est présent dans les vergers de pommiers de la fin du stade du prébouton rose jusqu’à la cueillette.

Notes de surveillance
Le suivi hebdomadaire du tétranyque (à deux points et rouge) doit débuter au moment du passage du stade de dormance à celui de prébouton rose. Examiner les lambourdes (rameaux fructifères) et les rameaux à la recherche d’œufs de tétranyques qui y auraient passé l’hiver. Entre les stades prébouton rose et calice, on recueillera 2 dards sur chacun de 25 pommiers choisis au hasard dans chaque bloc. À l’aide d’un microscope à dissection d’une capacité de grossissement de 25 à 40 fois, on examinera le dessous des feuilles à la recherche d’œufs, de nymphes et d’adultes, ainsi que d’éventuels insectes utiles. Avec une loupe, un consultant ou un dépisteur expérimenté pourra arriver sur place à une évaluation approximative du niveau d’infestation, mais cette estimation est trop imprécise pour déterminer si le seuil d’intervention a été atteint.        

Après le stade calice, choisir un total de 50 feuilles, soit 2 feuilles de chacun de 25 pommiers bien espacés pris au hasard à l’intérieur du bloc. Les feuilles doivent être prélevées à une longueur de bras à l’intérieur de la frondaison. Compter indifféremment les tétranyques rouges du pommier et les tétranyques à deux points qui s’y trouvent et noter le nombre total d’œufs, de nymphes et d’adultes des deux espèces confondues. On procède à un compte séparé par stade de développement parce que les acaricides ont une efficacité variable selon l’espèce et le stade de croissance des organismes visés. 

Répéter l’exercice une fois par semaine, notamment pendant les mois les plus chauds de l’été où les tétranyques peuvent proliférer et dépasser très rapidement les seuils d’intervention. Les acariens se retrouvent généralement en plus grand nombre sur les arbres situés dans les zones abritées du verger et près des routes poussiéreuses, mais il convient de faire un échantillonnage égal dans toutes les parties des blocs de vergers. 

Procéder à un échantillonnage distinct dans chaque bloc de vergers ou parcelle à traiter. Les cultivars Red Delicious, Empire et Gala tendent à héberger les populations les plus denses. Il faut faire un échantillonnage pour ces cultivars de même que pour les blocs de vergers ayant connu dans le passé des infestations de tétranyques.   

La présence d’acariens utiles peut retarder ou écarter la nécessité d’une application d’acaricide; on en fera donc le recensement au moment de l’échantillonnage.

Seuils d’intervention
Pour plus de renseignements sur le moment des pulvérisations d’un acaracide en particulier, voir la publication 360F du MAAARO, Recommandations pour les cultures frutières.

Stade de croissance

Seuil d’intervention et moment de la pulvérisation*

De la dormance au prébouton rose

Présence d’œufs

Du calice à 21 jours après le calice

Moment de l’éclosion des premiers œufs, avant qu’il ya ait plus de 3 nymphes/feuille

 

5-7 tétranyques actifs/feuille apès l’éclosion de 50 % des œufs

De juin à la mi-juillet

7-10 tétranyques actifs/feuille, quand les nymphes constituent environ 50 % de la population

De la mi-juillet à août

10-15 tétranyques actifs/feuille, quand les nymphes constituent environ 50 % de la population

*Certains acaracides récemment homologués doivent être appliqués un peu plus tôt que les produits classiques, soit dès que l’infestation atteint 5 tétranyques/feuille.

Avancé

Le tétranyque à deux points se trouve généralement en moins grand nombre dans les vergers que le tétranyque rouge du pommier et se manifeste plus tardivement dans la saison de végétation. Cependant, les pomiculteurs autour de la baie Georgienne et à l’est de Toronto éprouvent souvent plus de difficultés avec le tétranyque à deux points qu’avec le tétranyque rouge.

Nom scientifique
Tetranychus urticae

Identification
À la ponte, les œufs de tétranyques à deux points sont transparents et sphériques, mais ils prennent la couleur du lait à mesure qu’ils évoluent. À la naissance, les individus sont incolores, mais acquièrent des taches dès qu’ils commencent à se nourrir. Comme dans le cas du tétranyque rouge, le tétranyque à deux points passe par plusieurs stades, dont un stade larvaire à six pattes et un stade nymphal à huit pattes. Aux stades nymphal et adulte, il est facile à distinguer du tétranyque rouge en raison de sa couleur — vert pâle ou couleur paille, avec deux points sombres sur le dos — et de sa forme plus allongée. Le tétranyque à deux points secrète une toile dense dont il recouvre la surface des feuilles pour retenir la poussière. Les femelles hivernantes prennent généralement une coloration rouge orange et se réfugient souvent près de la cuvette oculaire ou du pédoncule des pommes à l’approche de la cueillette. 

Le tétranyque à deux points tisse des toiles caractéristiques sur le revers des feuilles et décolore celles-ci (c’est le phénomène du « bronzage »). Ces toiles protègent les tétranyques et leurs œufs de leurs ennemis naturels et des fluctuations du milieu ambiant. Une attaque soutenue par des populations non maîtrisées de tétranyques rouges affaiblit l’arbre, ce qui nuira l’année suivante à la croissance des pousses et à la formation des boutons. La couleur, la fermeté, le calibre et le poids des pommes, de même que leur teneur en solides solubles, seront aussi affectés. Le stress imposé par des infestations graves peut même entraîner la mort des pommiers lors d’hivers rigoureux.

Souvent confondu avec

  • Le tétranyque rouge du pommier et l’ériophyide du pommier – ces deux acariens provoquent un bronzage similaire sur le feuillage. Toutefois le tétranyque à deux points est associé aussi à la présence de toiles tissées sur les feuilles. Aux stades nymphal et adulte, il est facile à distinguer du tétranyque rouge en raison de sa couleur — vert pâle ou couleur paille, avec deux points sombres sur le dos — et de sa forme plus allongée.

Biologie
Le tétranyque à deux points hiverne au stade adulte, alors de couleur orange, sous l’écorce des pommiers ou dans les mauvaises herbes au pied de ceux-ci. Au printemps, on le trouve souvent en grand nombre sur les dicotylédones, les ronces et les drageons qui tapissent le sol sous les arbres et aux alentours, mais il peut survivre à l’hiver sur un arbre. Il a tendance à quitter le sol en masse et à migrer vers la frondaison des pommiers au milieu ou à la fin de l’été, lorsque les mauvaises herbes et autres plantes du couvre-sol sèchent. Il prolifère jusqu’à ce que l’arrivée de températures plus fraîches à la fin de l’été ralentisse son activité. De trois à cinq générations peuvent se succéder dans le cours d’un été. Il peut se disperser sur de vastes étendues et passer d’un verger à l’autre en se laissant porter par le vent et les courants d’air. Les infestations importantes de tétranyques à deux points suivent généralement les invasions du tétranyque rouge.

Période d’activité
Le tétranyque à deux points est présent dans les vergers de pommiers de la fin du stade du prébouton rose jusqu’à la cueillette.

Notes de surveillance
Le suivi hebdomadaire du tétranyque à deux points doit débuter au moment du passage du stade de dormance à celui de prébouton rose. Examiner les lambourdes (rameaux fructifères) et les rameaux à la recherche d’œufs de tétranyques qui y auraient passé l’hiver. Entre les stades prébouton rose et calice, on recueillera 2 dards sur chacun de 25 pommiers choisis au hasard dans chaque bloc. À l’aide d’un microscope à dissection d’une capacité de grossissement de 25 à 40 fois, on examinera le dessous des feuilles à la recherche d’œufs, de nymphes et d’adultes, ainsi que d’éventuels insectes utiles. Avec une loupe, un consultant ou un dépisteur expérimenté pourra arriver sur place à une évaluation approximative du niveau d’infestation, mais cette estimation est trop imprécise pour déterminer si le seuil d’intervention a été atteint.        

Après le stade calice, choisir un total de 50 feuilles, soit 2 feuilles de chacun de 25 pommiers bien espacés pris au hasard à l’intérieur du bloc. Les feuilles doivent être prélevées à une longueur de bras à l’intérieur de la frondaison. Compter indifféremment les tétranyques rouges du pommier et les tétranyques à deux points qui s’y trouvent et noter le nombre total d’œufs, de nymphes et d’adultes des deux espèces confondues. On procède à un compte séparé par stade de développement parce que les acaricides ont une efficacité variable selon l’espèce et le stade de croissance des organismes visés. 

Répéter l’exercice une fois par semaine, notamment pendant les mois les plus chauds de l’été où les tétranyques peuvent proliférer et dépasser très rapidement les seuils d’intervention. Les acariens se retrouvent généralement en plus grand nombre sur les arbres situés dans les zones abritées du verger et près des routes poussiéreuses, mais il convient de faire un échantillonnage égal dans toutes les parties des blocs de vergers. 

Procéder à un échantillonnage distinct dans chaque bloc de vergers ou parcelle à traiter. Les cultivars Red Delicious, Empire et Gala tendent à héberger les populations les plus denses. Il faut faire un échantillonnage pour ces cultivars de même que pour les blocs de vergers ayant connu dans le passé des infestations de tétranyques.   

La présence d’acariens utiles peut retarder ou écarter la nécessité d’une application d’acaricide; on en fera donc le recensement au moment de l’échantillonnage.

Seuils d’intervention
Pour plus de renseignements sur le moment des pulvérisations d’un acaricide en particulier, voir la publication 360F du MAAARO, Guide de la culture fruitire.

Stade de croissance

Seuil d’intervention et moment de la pulvérisation*

De la dormance au prébouton rose

Présence d’œufs

Du calice à 21 jours après le calice

Moment de l’éclosion des premiers œufs, avant qu’il ya ait plus de 3 nymphes/feuille

 

5-7 tétranyques actifs/feuille apès l’éclosion de 50 % des œufs

De juin à la mi-juillet

7-10 tétranyques actifs/feuille, quand les nymphes constituent environ 50 % de la population

De la mi-juillet à août

10-15 tétranyques actifs/feuille, quand les nymphes constituent environ 50 % de la population

*Certains acaracides récemment homologués doivent être appliqués un peu plus tôt que les produits classiques, soit dès que l’infestation atteint 5 tétranyques/feuille.

Moyens de lutte

  • Les infestations de tétranyques dans les vergers sont causées par :
    • des conditions climatiques propices à leur multiplication,
    • une gestion inadéquate du couvre-sol (procurant des sites d’hivernage aux populations de tétranyques à deux points),
    • une forte concentration d’azote dans les feuilles (ce qui accroît la fécondité des tétranyques),
    • la disparition de sites où peuvent vivre et s’abriter les ennemis naturels des tétranyques,
    • l’utilisation de pesticides qui sont toxiques pour les ennemis naturels des tétranyques.           
  • Les ennemis naturels des tétranyques comprennent des acariens prédateurs comme  Typhlodromus pyri (Scheuten), T. caudiglans (Schuster), Amblyseius (= Neoseiulus) fallacis (Garman), Zetzellia mali (Ewing), Agistemus fleschneri (Summers) et Balaustium spp.
  • Il existe d’autres prédateurs importants comme Stethorus punctillum (LeConte), la petite punaise anthocoride (Orius spp.), des thrips, le chrysope et la punaise de la molène, Campylomma verbasci (Meyer).
  • Les acariens utiles peuvent permettre une régulation biologique de leurs cousins nuisibles.
  • Le choix d’un programme de pulvérisation de pesticides sélectifs permettra de protéger les prédateurs des acariens. La mise en œuvre d’un programme de pesticides sélectifs épargnera largement les populations d’acariens utiles et permettra d’éliminer ou de retarder le recours à des acaricides.
  • Des pluies abondantes peuvent entraîner au sol et détruire de très nombreux tétranyques, en plus de détacher la poussière qui se dépose sur les feuilles et gêne l’action des prédateurs.
  • Des froids extrêmes en hiver et des conditions climatiques difficiles à l’époque de l’éclosion réduisent les taux de survie des tétranyques à deux points adultes.
  • Le couvre-sol entre les rangées de pommiers doit être convenablement entretenu pour réduire l’empoussièrement des feuilles qui favorise la prolifération des acariens nuisibles. En cas d’assèchement du couvre-sol, les acariens nuisibles, comme le tétranyque à deux points, peuvent quitter le sol et envahir les arbres.  
  • La résistance aux acaricides est préoccupante dans les vergers de l’Ontario. L’efficacité à long terme des programmes de lutte contre les acariens exige une utilisation judicieuse des produits disponibles. Heureusement, les pomiculteurs ontariens ont à leur disposition de nombreux outils pour lutter contre les acariens et d’excellentes options pour élaborer une stratégie efficace d’atténuation des résistances aux acaricides.
  • Voici quelques points à prendre en considération dans l’élaboration d’un programme de lutte contre les acariens nuisibles :
    • Les acaricides sont souvent très sélectifs. Certains touchent uniquement certains types d’acariens à des stades précis de leur cycle biologique. Il faut en tenir compte lors du choix du ou des produits utilisés.
    • Les acaricides sont surtout efficaces lorsqu’ils sont employés seuls, aux doses recommandées et dans de grands volumes d’eau (> 1 000 L d’eau/ha).
    • Il faut utiliser chacun des acaricides seulement une fois par année si l’on veut retarder l’apparition de souches résistantes.
    • Si les circonstances exigent l’application d’acaricides deux années de suite, utiliser des produits appartenant à deux groupes chimiques différents, afin d’éviter le développement d’une résistance. Pour plus de renseignements sur les familles chimiques d’acaricides, consulter la publication 360F du MAAARO, Guide de la culture fruitire.
    • Certains acaricides récents agissent plus lentement. Il faudra en tenir compte au moment des traitements et des évaluations de suivi. Dans le cas de produits présentant un effet de choc lent, on attendra de une à deux semaines après la pulvérisation pour évaluer l’efficacité du produit.