Skip to content.
Français

Some features of this website require Javascript to be enabled for best usibility. Please enable Javascript to run.

Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Obliquebanded leafroller (oblr)

Egg mass laid on the upper surface of leaf Obliquebanded leafroller larva Pupa of obliquebanded leafroller Adult obliquebanded leafroller Feeding damage at the terminals Spring-feeding damage on fruit Feeding damage from summer generation larva Late season damage or pinpoint damage Parasitized larvae with Tachinid pupa
Click to enlarge.

Beginner

Scientific Name
Choristoneura roseceana

Identification
Eggs:

  • Laid on the upper surface of the leaves in patches (7-14 mm) that contain several hundred eggs and resemble small overlapping scales.
  • Masses are light green to yellowish green in colour.
  • Prior to hatching, contents of individual eggs turn black and the dark head of larva is seen.
  • After hatching, empty egg masses often remain on leaves and appear white against the dark green leaf.

Larvae:

  • Six instars.
  • 20-30 mm long at maturity.
  • Body is light green to yellowish green to dark green.
  • Head capsule is usually dark brown or black with a similar coloured segment just behind the head (prothoracic shield).
  • The edge between the head capsule and prothoracic shield is often white or cream.

Pupae:

  • Dark reddish brown.
  • Develop in protected places, often found inside leaves rolled by the larvae.
  • Length varies from 11-14 mm.

Adults:

  • A moth that is variably coloured, light tan to dark brown with darker bands on the forewings.
  • Females are larger and generally darker than the males.
  • The wingspan of the males ranges from 16-22 mm, and the female from 24-30 mm.
  • Females are poor flyers, and both sexes are most active at dusk (crepuscular).

Damage:

  • Overwintering larvae feed on developing fruitlets resulting in deep gouges in small apples; these fruit often abort, if not they have large russetted indentations and corky scars.
  • Summer generation larvae feed on the surface of fruit and can cause extensive damage that scabs over and is often surrounded by light coloured areas where leaves are attached.
  • Late season damage is characterized by several tiny, or a singular circular excavation on the fruit surface.

Often Confused With

  • Red banded leaf roller and green fruit worm larvae- to distinguish the obliquebanded leafroller from other leafrollers look for dark brown or black head capsules and green bodies.
  • Damage by other spring-feeding caterpillars- Damage to fruit by the obliquebanded leafroller resulting in large russetted indentations and corky scars is indistinguishable from feeding damage by other spring-feeding caterpillars.
  • Bird pecks or codling moth stings- Late season pin point damage by obliquebanded leafroller can be mistaken for bird pecks, or for codling moth stings.  However codling moth stings have frass, and the hole extends deeper into the fruit, while obliquebanded leafroller are surface chewing that often have white webbing around the hole.

Period of Activity
The first generation of leaf rollers is a problem from the end of tight cluster until the beginning of petal fall. The second generation is active from the end of petal fall until harvest.

Scouting Notes
Monitoring techniques for obliquebanded leafroller vary depending on the generation targeted. For overwintering larvae present during the period between tight cluster and petal fall, check 5 terminal shoots and 5 fruit buds in each of 10 trees (50 terminals and 50 fruit buds in total) for signs of caterpillar feeding activity. After petal fall inspect 10 terminals from 10 trees for damage/larvae.

Thresholds
Apply an insecticide in orchards if 1% to 2% of terminals or buds have larvae or damage, or if orchards have a history of damage. Apply insecticides for overwintering larvae at petal fall.

Predict the timing and application of products to manage the summer generation with pheromone traps and a degree day model, then follow up with field monitoring for larvae and fruit damage.

Advanced

Scientific Name
Choristoneura roseceana

Identification
Eggs are laid on the upper surface of the leaves in patches (7-14 mm) that contain several hundred eggs and resemble small overlapping scales. Egg masses are light green to yellowish green in colour. Prior to hatching, contents of individual eggs turn black and the dark head of larva is seen. After hatching, empty egg masses often remain on leaves and appear white against the dark green leaf.

Larvae progress through six instars, growing to a final length of 20-30 mm. The body is coloured light green to yellowish green to dark green. The head capsule is usually dark brown or black with a similar coloured segment just behind the head (prothoracic shield). The edge between the head capsule and prothoracic shield is often white or cream.

Pupae are a dark reddish brown, and develop in protected places, often found inside leaves rolled by the larvae. Length varies from 11-14 mm.

The adult moth is variably coloured, light tan to dark brown with darker bands on the forewings. Females are larger and generally darker than the males. The wingspan of the males ranges from 16-22 mm, and the female from 24-30 mm. Females are poor flyers, and both sexes are most active at dusk (crepuscular).

Overwintering larvae feed on developing fruitlets, resulting in deep gouges in small apples. These fruit often abort around June drop. Fruit that remains until harvest has large russetted indentations and corky scars.

Larvae also feed on terminal shoots in spring or summer. The summer generation larvae feed on the surface of fruit often under a leaf or where two apples contact. Damage can be extensive and appear as corky russetting at harvest, and is often surrounded light coloured areas where leaves were attached.

Late season damage to fruit is characterized by several tiny, or a single circular excavation on the fruit surface where young overwintering larvae chew small holes in the skin of the apple. Late season damage, or pinpoint damage, is often not noticeable at harvest but becomes apparent as flesh around the hole decays or dries out in storage. Fruit injury in all cases is most common where two or more fruit are clustered or where a leaf is in contact with a fruit. These areas offer a great degree of shelter to the larvae.

Often Confused With

  • Red banded leaf roller and green fruit worm larvae- to distinguish the obliquebanded leafroller from other leafrollers look for dark brown or black head capsules and green bodies.
  • Damage by other spring-feeding caterpillars- Damage to fruit by the obliquebanded leafroller resulting in large russetted indentations and corky scars is indistinguishable from feeding damage by other spring-feeding caterpillars.
  • Bird pecks or codling moth stings- Late season pin point damage by obliquebanded leafroller can be mistaken for bird pecks, or for codling moth stings.  However codling moth stings have frass, and the hole extends deeper into the fruit, while obliquebanded leafroller are surface chewing that often have white webbing around the hole.

Biology
The overwintering generation exists as second or third instar larvae in hibernacula (temporary cocoons) under the bark or in the limb crotches. Larvae become active in early spring (tight cluster to bloom), once temperatures rise above 10ºC, and move to developing fruit spurs and flower buds. As leaves expand, larvae move to new terminal growth where they web and roll up the terminal leaves, hence the name leafroller. This strategy evolved as a defense from predators such as birds, and also serves to protect larvae from insecticide treatments. Pupation usually takes place in early June inside rolled leaves. Moths emerge over a four to five week period from late June through July. Much of the mating and egg laying occurs in the upper portions of the trees, and egg masses are also found in the lower canopy. Newly emerged larvae (or summer generation larvae) disperse from egg masses by crawling to other leaves or dangling from silken threads. Wind currents disperse these ballooning larvae to surrounding trees. These larvae initially feed on leaves in and around terminal growth. By early July, when terminal growth begins to harden off, larvae move to fruit clusters and feed on fruit and adjacent leaves. Larvae then pupate and adults emerge from early August through early September. Adults mate and lay eggs and larvae from this generation are active well into September when enter overwintering hibernacula. The obliquebanded leafroller has two generations a year. 

Period of Activity
The first generation of leaf rollers is a problem from the end of tight cluster until the beginning of petal fall. The second generation is active from the end of petal fall until harvest.

Scouting Notes
Monitoring techniques for obliquebanded leafroller vary depending on the generation targeted. For overwintering larvae present during the period between tight cluster and petal fall, check 5 terminal shoots and 5 fruit buds in each of 10 trees (50 terminals and 50 fruit buds in total) for signs of caterpillar feeding activity. After petal fall inspect 10 terminals from 10 trees for damage/larvae.

Predict the timing and application of products to manage the summer generation with pheromone traps and a degree-day model, and then follow up with field monitoring for larvae and fruit damage.

After petal fall, four pheromone traps are hung in each 10 ha block at a distance of 30 m between traps along an orchard row. Place in easily accessible areas in block ideally with historically high injury problems. Fasten traps to limbs at eye level where airflow is good. Check traps twice a week and record all moth catches.

The degree day accumulations for the obliquebanded leafroller degree model starts when first sustained moth catch occurs. Using recorded daily maximum and minimum temperatures, daily degree days Celsius (DDC) are calculated using the following equation:

DDC = maximum ºC + minimum ºC    - 6.1ºC
                                             2

DDCs are summed each day. At 244 DDC, egg hatch of the summer generation begins and at 433 DDC, 95% egg hatch has occurred. Immature larvae are very small and difficult to see. Larvae initially feed on tender growing terminals, water sprouts and developing fruit. After they reach the third instar, larvae cause more damage to fruit. Monitor for emerging larvae by examining 10 shoots and 10 fruit on 10 trees in a 4 ha block for the presence of larvae or feeding damage. Often damage is more apparent in orchards than are larvae.

Thresholds
Management for the summer generation is recommended if 1% to 2% of terminals or fruit/blossoms are infested. Resample the orchard in three to five days to ensure the population was not underestimated. Once 240-280 DDC is reached and 1% to 2% of terminals or fruit are infested, an insecticide is recommended. Follow up sprays may be required because of the extended larval emergence of the summer generation (four to five weeks).

Management Notes

  • Although obliquebanded leafroller attack all apple cultivars, some such as Gingergold, Paulared, Jerseymac and other early varieties, sustain greater amounts of damage – perhaps since these varieties are more difficult to thin and have larger leaves. Injury levels of up to 50% are observed on Red Delicious, McIntosh, Ida Red, Golden Delicious, Mutsu, Spartan and Cortland.
  • A number of parasitic wasps (Ichneumonidae, Braconidae, Trichogrammidae) and flies (Tachinidae) will attack obliquebanded leafroller larvae. These parasitoids can suppress population numbers, but cannot provide complete biological control.
  • Several cultural practices reduce the severity of injury from obliquebanded leafroller. Diligent chemical and hand thinning of fruitlets to singles make less favourable feeding sites.
  • Annual pruning to maintain an open canopy improves spray coverage.
  • Avoid excess nitrogen to prevent excessively lush and prolonged vegetative growth that is attractive to obliquebanded leafroller.
  • Implement resistance management programs to ensure long-term effectiveness of available insecticides, see OMAFRA Publication 360, Guide to Fruit Production, for more information.
  • When using chemical control, always use the same insecticide within a generation.
  • When applying an insecticide for both generations, be sure to use a product from a different chemical family for each generation.
  •  For more information on the products available to manage obliquebanded leafroller and resistance strategies, see OMAFRA Publication 360, Guide to Fruit Production - Chapter 3 Apples (PDF) or Apple Calendar only (PDF) :

Passez au contenu.
English

Certaines fonctionnalités de ce site nécessitent Javascript soit activé pour le meilleur usibility. S'il vous plaît activer Javascript pour fonctionner.

Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales

Tordeuse à bandes obliques

Masse d’œufs pondus sur le dessus de la feuille Larve de la tordeuse à bandes obliques Pupe de la tordeuse à bandes obliques Adulte de la tordeuse à bandes obliques Extrémité des pousses dévorées Fruit portant les marques des déprédations causées au printemps Lésions attribuables aux larves de la génération estivale Lésions ou piqûres causées en fin de saison Larve parasitée et pupe de tachinidé
Cliquer pour agrandir.

Débutant

Nom scientifique
Choristoneura roseceana

Identification
Œufs :

  • Pondus sur le dessus des feuilles par plaques (7–14 mm) qui peuvent contenir plusieurs centaines d’œufs et font penser à des petites cochenilles empilées les unes sur les autres,
  • Les masses d’œufs vont du vert pâle au vert jaunâtre,
  • Avant l’éclosion, le contenu des œufs noircit et l’on peut entrevoir la tête noire de la larve,
  • Après l’éclosion, les masses d’œufs vidés de leur contenu restent souvent sur les feuilles et paraissent blanches contre le vert sombre des feuilles.

Larves :

  • Six stades larvaires,
  • 20–30 mm à maturité,
  • Leur corps va du vert pâle au vert jaunâtre ou au vert foncé,
  • Elles ont une capsule céphalique qui est habituellement brun foncé ou noire et possèdent un article de la même couleur juste derrière la tête (bouclier prothoracique),
  • Souvent, une bande blanche ou crème sépare la capsule céphalique du bouclier prothoracique.

Pupes :

  • Brun rougeâtre sombre,
  • Se forment dans des endroits abrités, souvent à l’intérieur de l’étui formé par les feuilles enroulées par les larves,
  • 11 à 14 mm de longueur.

Adulte :

  • Varie de brun clair à brun foncé avec des bandes sombres sur les ailes antérieures,
  • Les femelles sont plus grosses et généralement plus foncées que les mâles,
  • L’envergure des ailes chez les mâles et les femelles se situe respectivement dans les fourchettes de 16–22 mm et de 24–30 mm,
  • Les femelles volent difficilement. Les individus des deux sexes sont surtout actifs à la tombée de la nuit.

Dommages :

  • Les larves hivernantes se nourrissent des jeunes fruits dans lesquels elles creusent des trous profonds; ces fruits souvent avortent au moment de la chute de juin,
  • Les fruits qui restent sur la branche jusqu’à la cueillette portent de profondes marques de roussissure et des cicatrices liégeuses,
  • Les dommages causés aux fruits en fin de saison sont compris deplusieurs petits trous circulaires à la surface du fruit.

Souvent confondue avec

  • La tordeuse à bandes rouges les larves de la noctuelle des fruits verts – Pour distinguer la tordeuse à bandes obliques des autres tordeuses, il faut remarquer les capsules noires ou brunes sur la tête et le corps de couleur vert.
  • Les lésions attribuables à d’autres chenilles actives au printemps - Les profondes marques de roussissure et des cicatrices liégeuses causées par la tordeuse à bandes obliques sont impossibles à distinguer des lésions attribuables à d’autres chenilles actives au printemps.
  • Les piqûres d’oiseaux ou de larves du carpocapse de la pomme - En fin de saison les dommages en petits points laissés par la tordeuse à bandes obliques peuvent être confondus avec des piqûres d’oiseaux ou de larves du carpocapse de la pomme. Toutefois, les piqûres du carpocapse laisse de la sciure et des excréments, le trou s’enfonce plus profondément dans le fruit alors que la tordeuse à bandes obliques se nourrit à la surface et qu’elle tisse souvent des toiles autour du trou.

Période d’activité
La première génération de tordeuse à bandes obliques constitue une menace de la fin du prébouton rose jusqu’au début du calice. La deuxième génération est active de la fin du stade du calice jusqu’à la cueillette.

Notes de surveillance
Les techniques de surveillance de la tordeuse à bandes obliques varient selon la génération visée. Dans le cas des larves hivernantes présentes du prébouton rose au calice, vérifier 5 pousses terminales et 5 boutons sur chacun de 10 pommiers (50 pousses terminales et 50 boutons au total), à la recherche de signes de l’activité des chenilles. Après le stade calice, vérifier 10 pousses terminale de chacun de 10 pommiers à la recherche des larves.

Seuils d’intervention
Il est recommandé d’intervenir pour lutter contre la génération estivale dès que 1 à 2 % des pousses terminales ou des fruits/fleurs sont infestés. Utiliser des pièges à phéromones et un modèle de degrés-jours pour prévoir le moment des traitements dirigés contre la génération estivale et faire suivre les traitements d’opérations de dépistage visant à surveiller l’activité des larves et les lésions aux fruits.

Avancé

Nom scientifique
Choristoneura roseceana

Identification
Les œufs sont pondus sur le dessus des feuilles par plaques (7–14 mm) qui peuvent contenir plusieurs centaines d’œufs et font penser à des petites cochenilles empilées les unes sur les autres. Les masses d’œufs vont du vert pâle au vert jaunâtre. Avant l’éclosion, le contenu des œufs noircit et l’on peut entrevoir la tête noire de la larve. Après l’éclosion, les masses d’œufs vidés de leur contenu restent souvent sur les feuilles et paraissent blanches contre le vert sombre des feuilles.

Les larves passent par six stades larvaires, au terme desquels elles atteignent une longueur de 20–30 mm. Leur corps va du vert pâle au vert jaunâtre ou au vert foncé. Elles ont une capsule céphalique qui est habituellement brun foncé ou noire et possèdent un article de la même couleur juste derrière la tête (bouclier prothoracique). Souvent, une bande blanche ou crème sépare la capsule céphalique du bouclier prothoracique.

Les pupes, d’un brun rougeâtre sombre, se forment dans des endroits abrités, souvent à l’intérieur de l’étui formé par les feuilles enroulées par les larves. Leur longueur varie de 11 à 14 mm.

La couleur de l’adulte varie de brun clair à brun foncé avec des bandes sombres sur les ailes antérieures. Les femelles sont plus grosses et généralement plus foncées que les mâles. L’envergure des ailes chez les mâles et les femelles se situe respectivement dans les fourchettes de 16–22 mm et de 24–30 mm. Les femelles volent difficilement. Les individus des deux sexes sont surtout actifs à la tombée de la nuit.

Les larves hivernantes se nourrissent des jeunes fruits dans lesquels elles creusent des trous profonds. Il n’est pas rare que ces fruits avortent au moment de la chute de juin. Les fruits qui restent sur la branche jusqu’à la cueillette portent de profondes marques de roussissure et des cicatrices liégeuses, qu’il est impossible de distinguer des lésions attribuables à d’autres chenilles actives au printemps, comme celle de la noctuelle des fruits verts.

Les larves se nourrissent également des pousses terminales au printemps ou durant l’été. Les larves de la génération estivale se nourrissent à la surface des fruits, aux endroits où elles sont protégées par une feuille ou au point de contact entre deux pommes. Ces lésions peuvent être étendues et former une croûte au moment de la cueillette. Elles sont souvent entourées de zones claires à l’endroit où les feuilles étaient attachées.

Les dommages causés aux fruits en fin de saison sont attribuables aux jeunes larves hivernantes qui creusent un ou plusieurs petits trous circulaires à la surface du fruit. Les lésions ou piqûres faites en fin de saison passent souvent inaperçues à la cueillette, mais deviennent apparentes plus tard lorsque, durant l’entreposage, la chair entourant ces petits trous se détériore ou s’assèche. Les lésions apparaissent le plus souvent sur les fruits qui sont regroupés en bouquets ou ceux qui sont restés en contact avec une feuille, des situations qui offrent aux larves d’excellents endroits où s’abriter.

Souvent confondue avec

  • La tordeuse à bandes rouges les larves de la noctuelle des fruits verts – Pour distinguer la tordeuse à bandes obliques des autres tordeuses, il faut remarquer les capsules noires ou brunes sur la tête et le corps de couleur vert.
  • Les lésions attribuables à d’autres chenilles actives au printemps - Les profondes marques de roussissure et des cicatrices liégeuses causées par la tordeuse à bandes obliques sont impossibles à distinguer des lésions attribuables à d’autres chenilles actives au printemps.
  • Les piqûres d’oiseaux ou de larves du carpocapse de la pomme - En fin de saison les dommages en petits points laissés par la tordeuse à bandes obliques peuvent être confondus avec des piqûres d’oiseaux ou de larves du carpocapse de la pomme. Toutefois, les piqûres du carpocapse laisse de la sciure et des excréments, le trou s’enfonce plus profondément dans le fruit alors que la tordeuse à bandes obliques se nourrit à la surface et qu’elle tisse souvent des toiles autour du trou.

Biologie
La tordeuse à bandes obliques hiverne à l’état de larve du deuxième ou du troisième stades larvaires dans des hibernacula (cocons temporaires servant de gîte hivernal) sous l’écorce ou dans les fourches à la naissance des grosses branches. Au début du printemps (du prébouton rose à la floraison), une fois que les températures s’élèvent au-dessus de 10 ºC, les larves s’activent et migrent vers les lambourdes et les boutons. Au fur et à mesure que les feuilles s’épanouissent, les larves se déplacent vers les pousses terminales où elles tissent des toiles qui provoquent la torsion des feuilles terminales. Il s’agit d’un mécanisme de défense, fruit d’une évolution qui protège les larves non seulement de leurs prédateurs, notamment des oiseaux, mais aussi des traitements insecticides. La pupaison se produit en général au début de juin à l’intérieur des feuilles ainsi tordues. L’émergence des adultes s’étale sur quatre à cinq semaines, de la fin juin jusqu’à la fin juillet. Le gros des activités de reproduction et de ponte s’effectue dans la partie supérieure de la frondaison, mais on peut également observer des masses d’œufs dans la partie basse du feuillage. Les larves nouvellement écloses (ou larves de la génération estivale) dispersent les masses d’œufs en rampant vers d’autres feuilles ou en se balançant suspendues à des soies. À la faveur des courants d’air, ces larves qui flottent au vent se dispersent vers les pommiers avoisinants. Elles commencent par se nourrir des feuilles qui se trouvent sur le point de croissance et autour de celui-ci. Dès le début juillet, quand les pousses terminales commencent à s’endurcir, les larves migrent vers les bouquets de fruits et se nourrissent des fruits et des feuilles adjacentes. Puis, vient la pupaison et, par la suite, l’apparition des adultes, entre le début d’août et le début de septembre. Les adultes s’accouplent et les femelles pondent leurs œufs. Les larves appartenant à cette génération sont actives pendant une bonne partie de septembre, puis entrent dans les hibernacula pour y hiverner. La tordeuse à bandes obliques produit deux générations par année. 

Période d’activité
La première génération de tordeuse à bandes obliques constitue une menace de la fin du prébouton rose jusqu’au début du calice. La deuxième génération est active de la fin du stade du calice jusqu’à la cueillette.

Notes de surveillance
Les techniques de surveillance de la tordeuse à bandes obliques varient selon la génération visée. Dans le cas des larves hivernantes présentes du prébouton rose au calice, vérifier 5 pousses terminales et 5 boutons sur chacun de 10 pommiers (50 pousses terminales et 50 boutons au total), à la recherche de signes de l’activité des chenilles. Après le stade calice, vérifier 10 pousses terminales de chacun de 10 pommiers à la recherche des larves.

Utiliser des pièges à phéromones et un modèle de degrés jours pour prévoir le moment des traitements dirigés contre la génération estivale et faire suivre les traitements d’opérations de dépistage visant à surveiller l’activité des larves et les lésions aux fruits.

Après le calice, suspendre quatre pièges à phéromones dans chaque bloc de 10 hectares en laissant 30 m entre les pièges le long d’une rangée de pommiers. Trouver des endroits facilement accessibles où placer les pièges dans les blocs de vergers ayant déjà subi des infestations de ce ravageur. Attacher les pièges aux grosses branches, à la hauteur des yeux, là où la circulation d’air est bonne. Vérifier les pièges deux fois par semaine et prendre note de toutes les captures.

Selon le modèle de degrés jours applicable à la tordeuse à bandes obliques, les degrés jours commencent à s’accumuler à partir du premier vol substantiel d’adultes dans les pièges. À l’aide des minimums et maximums enregistrés quotidiennement, on calcule les degrés jours Celsius (DJC) en se servant de l’équation que voici :

DJC = temp. Max. (ºC) + temp. Min. (ºC) – 6,1 ºC
                                    2

Les DJC sont comptabilisés chaque jour. À 244 DJC, les œufs de la première génération estivale commencent à éclore et à 433 DJC, 95 % des œufs ont déjà éclos. Les larves immatures sont très petites et difficiles à voir. Les larves se nourrissent d’abord des pousses terminales tendres, des pousses adventives et des fruits en croissance. À partir du troisième stade larvaire, elles causent davantage de dommages aux fruits. Surveiller l’apparition des larves en examinant 5 pousses et 5 fruits de chacun de 10 pommiers situés dans un bloc de 4 hectares, à la recherche de larves ou de lésions causées par celles-ci. Souvent, dans les vergers, les lésions sont plus faciles à voir que les larves.

Seuils d’intervention
Il est recommandé d’intervenir pour lutter contre la génération estivale dès que 1 à 2 % des pousses terminales ou des fruits/fleurs sont infestés. Procéder à un nouvel échantillonnage trois à cinq jours plus tard pour s’assurer de ne pas avoir sous-estimé l’importance des populations. À partir d’une accumulation de 240–280 DJC, si de 1 à 2 % des pousses terminales ou des fruits sont infestés, un traitement insecticide est recommandé. Il peut arriver qu’il faille répéter le traitement les années où l’apparition des larves de la génération estivale se prolonge sur quatre à cinq semaines.

Moyens de lutte

  • Même si la tordeuse à bandes obliques s’attaque à tous les cultivars de pommiers, certains, comme les Gingergold, Paulared, Jerseymac et d’autres cultivars hâtifs, supportent davantage les infestations, peut-être parce que ces cultivars s’éclaircissent plus difficilement ou parce qu’ils possèdent des feuilles plus grosses. Dans le cas des cultivars Red Delicious, McIntosh, Ida Red, Golden Delicious, Mutsu, Spartan et Cortland, jusqu’à 50 % des pommes peuvent être atteintes.
  • Un certain nombre de guêpes parasites (Ichneumonidae, Braconidae, Trichogrammidae) et de mouches (Tachinidae) s’attaquent aux larves de la tordeuse à bandes obliques. Ces parasitoïdes peuvent réduire temporairement les populations de tordeuses, sans toutefois offrir une maîtrise suffisante.
  • Plusieurs pratiques culturales permettent d’atténuer la gravité des sévices causés par la tordeuse à bandes obliques. Procéder diligemment à un éclaircissage manuel ou chimique afin de réduire les bouquets à un seul fruit et afin de priver ainsi les tordeuses de lieux abrités d’où elles peuvent s’attaquer aux fruits.
  • Faire un élagage annuel afin d’ouvrir la frondaison et d’améliorer ainsi le recouvrement lors des pulvérisations.
  • Éviter les apports excessifs d’azote afin de limiter la croissance luxuriante et la durée de la croissance végétative, de façon à ne pas attirer la tordeuse à bandes obliques.
  • Les producteurs ont à leur disposition de nombreux produits efficaces pour combattre les tordeuses à bandes obliques. Mettre en œuvre des programmes de gestion des résistances afin de garantir que les insecticides actuellement offerts restent efficaces à long terme, pour plus d’information voir la publication 360F du MAAARO, Guide de la culture fruitire.
  • Au moment de recourir à la lutte chimique, n’utiliser qu’un seul insecticide contre une même génération.
  • Si l’on emploie des insecticides pour combattre deux générations, s’assurer d’employer un produit appartenant à un groupe chimique différent quand le traitement est dirigé contre une nouvelle génération.
  • Pour plus d’information sur les stratégies de gestion des résistances et les produits offerts sur le marché pour lutter contre la tordeuse à bandes obliques, voir la publication 360F du MAAARO, Guide de la culture fruitire.