Skip to content.
Français

Some features of this website require Javascript to be enabled for best usibility. Please enable Javascript to run.

Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Flyspeck

Flyspeck on fruit
Click to enlarge.

Beginner

Scientific Name
Schizothyrium pomi

Identification

  • Appears as groups of few to several small (approximately 0.5 mm in size), sharply defined, shiny black fungal bodies on the surface of the fruit.
  • Fungal bodies appear to exist individually but are connected and form colonies.
  • Colonies vary in size but are usually in round or irregular groups 1-3 cm in diameter.

Often Confused With

  • Insect frass (particularly from the white apple leafhopper)- Frass tends to be less well defined than flyspeck, and rubs off more easily, particularly if wiped with a damp cloth.
  • Sooty blotch- Flyspeck colonies are distinct groupings of shiny, black fungal bodies on the fruit surface, while sooty blotch colonies look like olive green, to black smudges on the fruit which do not have distinct margins.

Period of Activity
This fungus becomes active at the end of early summer and continues to be a threat until harvest.

Scouting Notes
Monitoring should commence at mid summer and should continue until fruit is harvested. Fruit should be checked for any signs of infection. Beginning at mid season through to harvest, monitor 25 fruit in the interior canopy of 10 randomly selected trees. Symptoms are more likely found in poorly pruned trees in the wetter, foggy, slow-drying areas of the orchard.

Thresholds
There are no established thresholds for flyspeck. This disease usually appears in orchards that have reduced their summer fungicide program due to lack of apple scab. The safest approach to prevent flyspeck is protecting the fruit with fungicides throughout the summer, by applying fungicides regularly after 270 hr of accumulated wetting after petal fall.  During the months of August and September, another spray should be applied if more than 5 cm of rain falls since the last fungicide was applied. Particular attention should be paid to orchards that are in high-pressure areas.

Advanced

Scientific Name
Schizothyrium pomi

Identification
Flyspeck appears as groups of few to several small (approximately 0.5 mm in size), sharply defined, shiny black fungal bodies (thyriothecia) on the surface of the fruit. Although these fungal bodies appear to exist individually, they are connected by mycelium to form colonies. Colonies vary in size but are usually in round or irregular groups 1-3 cm in diameter.

The symptoms of flyspeck and sooty blotch frequently appear together. Both fungi grow only on the surface of the fruit, and do not damage the flesh.

Often Confused With

  • Insect frass (particularly from the white apple leafhopper)- Frass tends to be less well defined than flyspeck, and rubs off more easily, particularly if wiped with a damp cloth.
  • Sooty blotch- Flyspeck colonies are distinct groupings of shiny, black fungal bodies on the fruit surface, while sooty blotch colonies look like olive green, to black smudges on the fruit which do not have distinct margins.

Biology
The flyspeck fungus overwinters as thyriothecia on apple twigs, culled apple fruit and on numerous wild hosts including brambles, oaks and maple. Mature ascospores are released during rainy periods for a one to two month period beginning at bloom. Warm and wet or humid (>96% relative humidity) conditions are conducive to the spread of the disease. In the lab, conidia germinate from 8-24°C and colony development occurs at 12-24°C. Symptoms are visible 10-12 days after infection under optimal conditions but may not appear in orchards for one month under less then optimal conditions.

Since the flyspeck fungus overwinters outside the orchard, there is not a huge risk of fruit infections until border row host plants begin producing second generation spores (conidia). This generally occurs at approximately 270 hr of accumulated wetting (hr AW) after petal fall, which usually occurs four to six weeks after petal fall. At this time, secondary spread of flyspeck occurs when conidia produced by non-orchard hosts are blown into apple orchards, causing the majority of infections that appear on fruit during the late summer. In orchards where fungicide protection is discontinued in early June, flyspeck infection on fruit becomes visible around 540 accumulated wetting hours after petal fall (AWPF) when another generation of flyspeck is completed. Flyspeck also appears in September or October in orchards that have received summer sprays. In these cases, late summer rains often remove fungicide protection allowing fruit infection to occur prior to harvest. In these late season infections, flyspeck can suddenly appear on a high proportion of fruit within a few days.

Period of Activity
Flyspeck is a summer disease that appears on apple fruit from mid summer to harvest. Fruit can become infected at any time after trees are exposed to 270 hr of accumulated wetting counting from petal fall (usually occurs four to six weeks after petal fall). First symptoms usually appear by early to mid July. In orchards receiving summer fungicide sprays, flyspeck usually appears in September or October. These late season infections usually develop after late summer rains remove fungicide residues, leaving fruit vulnerable to infection prior to harvest. During these conditions, flyspeck can appear suddenly on a high proportion of fruit within a few days. In orchards where fungicide protection is discontinued in early June, flyspeck infection on fruit becomes visible around 540 accumulated wetting hours after petal fall (AWPF) when another generation of flyspeck is completed.

Scouting Notes
Monitoring should commence at mid summer and should continue until fruit is harvested. Fruit should be checked for any signs of infection. Beginning at mid season through to harvest, monitor 25 fruit in the interior canopy of 10 randomly selected trees. Symptoms are more likely found in poorly pruned trees in the wetter, foggy, slow-drying areas of the orchard.

Thresholds
There are no established thresholds for flyspeck. Both flyspeck and sooty blotch are controlled with most of the fungicides that are effective for apple scab (see OMAFRA Publication 360, Guide to Fruit Production).  This disease usually appears in orchards that have reduced their summer fungicide program due to lack of apple scab. The safest approach to prevent flyspeck is protecting the fruit with fungicides throughout the summer, by applying fungicides regularly after 270 hr of accumulated wetting after petal fall. Late season (September or October) infections can occur in orchards where late summer rains have removed fungicide residues, so re-apply fungicides in late August or September if more than 5 cm of rain have occurred since the last fungicide was applied.  

Management Notes

  • The presence of these diseases is an indication that fungicide surface residues are lacking or very low.
  • The development of flyspeck is highly dependent on the microclimate surrounding the fruit, so be sure to undertake practices that facilitate drying of the trees and fruit.
  • The most important practice for reducing damage by these diseases is proper pruning to maintain an open tree canopy. Researchers have shown that summer pruning reduces the incidence of flyspeck by almost 50% in unsprayed orchards.
  • Thinning clustered fruit and summer pruning help promote better air circulation and improve coverage of fungicides.
  • Removing alternate hosts, especially brambles from the orchard and surrounding hedgerows, helps reduce inoculum.
  • Flyspeck is controlled with most of the fungicides that are effective for apple scab. In Ontario and the northeastern United States, fungicides applied to apples from mid June through August provide subsequent control of flyspeck and sooty blotch.
  • See OMAFRA Publication 360, Guide to Fruit Production - Chapter 3 Apples (PDF) or Apple Calendar only (PDF- :
  • The safest approach to prevent flyspeck is protecting apple fruit with fungicides throughout the summer, recognizing that conidia infects fruit at any time after trees are exposed to 270 hr of accumulated wetting counting from petal fall. Coverage is essential for the efficacy of late summer fungicide sprays so travel speed, water volume and using a surfactant to enhance wetting are important.
  • Research suggests fungicides applied in early summer do not eradicate pre-existing infections, and those infections can resume growing and become visible on the fruit in September when the fungicide residues are depleted.

Passez au contenu.
English

Certaines fonctionnalités de ce site nécessitent Javascript soit activé pour le meilleur usibility. S'il vous plaît activer Javascript pour fonctionner.

Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales

Moucheture

Symptômes de la moucheture sur une pomme.
Cliquer pour agrandir.

Débutant

Nom scientifique
Schizothyrium pomi

Identification

  • Se présente comme de petits points noirs, luisants et nettement définis, d’environ 0,5 mm de diamètre, réunis par petits groupes qui en comptent quelques-uns ou de nombreux à la surface du fruit.
  • Ils paraissent distincts les uns des autres, mais ils sont en fait reliés de manière à former des colonies.
  • Les colonies n’ont pas toutes la même taille, mais elles sont habituellement de forme ronde ou irrégulière et mesurent de 1–3 cm de diamètre.

Souvent confondue avec

  • Les excréments d’insectes (particulièrement ceux de la cicadelle blanche du pommier) - Les excréments ont toutefois tendance à être moins bien définis et se détachent plus facilement, surtout si on les frotte avec un linge mouillé.
  • Les taches de suie - La moucheture se présente comme de petits points noirs, luisants et nettement définis à la surface du fruit; les taches de suie se présentent comme des taches diffuses allant du brun au vert olive aux contours irréguliers sur la peau de la pomme.

Période d’activité
La moucheture est une maladie estivale qui apparaît sur la pomme du milieu de l’été jusqu’à la cueillette.

Notes de surveillance
Du début de la saison jusqu’à la cueillette, inspecter sur chacun de dix pommiers choisis au hasard, vingt-cinq fruits situés à l’intérieur de la frondaison. Il est plus probable de trouver des symptômes sur les fruits de pommiers mal élagués dans les parties du verger où l’assèchement est lent, où le brouillard se dissipe lentement et où l’eau séjourne plus longtemps.

Seuils d’intervention
Aucun seuil n’a été établi. La plupart des fongicides efficaces contre la tavelure maîtrisent aussi la moucheture et les taches de suie. Pour prévenir la moucheture, la meilleure approche consiste à protéger les fruits avec des fongicides tout l’été, avec des applications régulières après 270 heures accumulées de mouillage après le stade du calice. Les infections de fin de saison (septembre ou octobre) peuvent survenir dans les vergers où des pluies de fin d’été auraient lavé les résidus de fongicides, il faut donc refaire le traitement de fongicide à la fin août ou en septembre si plus de 5 cm de pluie sont tombés depuis la dernière application de fongicides.

Avancé

Nom scientifique
Schizothyrium pomi

Identification
La moucheture se présente comme de petits points noirs, luisants et nettement définis, d’environ 0,5 mm de diamètre, réunis par petits groupes qui en comptent quelques-uns ou de nombreux à la surface du fruit (figure 4–136). Ce sont des organes de fructification appelés thyriothecia, qui, même s’ils paraissent distincts les uns des autres, sont en fait reliés par un mycélium de manière à former des colonies. Les colonies n’ont pas toutes la même taille, mais elles sont habituellement de forme ronde ou irrégulière et mesurent de 1–3 cm de diamètre.

Les symptômes des taches de suie et de la moucheture deux maladies se manifestent souvent simultanément. Les deux champignons ne prolifèrent qu’à la surface des fruits; ils n’endommagent pas la chair.

Souvent confondue avec

  • Les excréments d’insectes (particulièrement ceux de la cicadelle blanche du pommier) - Les excréments ont toutefois tendance à être moins bien définis et se détachent plus facilement, surtout si on les frotte avec un linge mouillé.
  • Les taches de suie - La moucheture se présente comme de petits points noirs, luisants et nettement définis à la surface du fruit; les taches de suie se présentent comme des taches diffuses allant du brun au vert olive aux contours irréguliers sur la peau de la pomme.

Biologie
Le champignon responsable de la moucheture hiverne à l’état de thyriothèces sur des pousses de pommiers, des pommes de rebut et sur de nombreux hôtes sauvages dont les ronces, les chênes et les érables. Les ascospores à maturité sont libérées durant des périodes de pluie, pendant une période de un mois ou deux précédant la floraison. Des conditions douces et pluvieuses ou humides (humidité relative supérieure à 96 %) sont propices à la propagation de la maladie. En laboratoire, les conidies germent entre 8 et 24 °C et les colonies se forment entre 12 et 24 °C. Les symptômes apparaissent de 10 à 12 jours après l’infection si les conditions sont optimales, mais peuvent n’apparaître qu’un mois après l’infection si les conditions sont moins qu’optimales.

Étant donné que le champignon responsable de la moucheture hiverne à l’extérieur du verger, les risques d’infection des fruits ne sont pas très grands tant que les plantes hôtes vivant dans les rangées périmétriques ne commencent à produire des spores de deuxième génération (conidies). La production des conidies survient généralement au terme d’environ 270 heures de mouillage accumulées après le calice, ce qui correspond habituellement à une période de quatre à six semaines après le calice. La production, par des hôtes vivant hors des limites du verger, de conidies qui sont soufflées par le vent vers les pommiers donne alors lieu à une seconde vague d’infections responsable de l’apparition de la moucheture vers la fin de l’été. Dans les vergers où l’on cesse les pulvérisations de fongicides au début de juin, les infections par les champignons responsables de la moucheture deviennent visibles après environ 540 heures de mouillage accumulées après le calice, alors qu’une autre génération de champignons est parvenue à maturité. La moucheture se manifeste aussi en septembre et en octobre dans les vergers qui ont fait l’objet de pulvérisations durant l’été. Il arrive alors que les pluies de fin d’été emportent les fongicides protecteurs, ce qui ouvre la voie aux infections des fruits avant la cueillette. Dans le cas de ces infections de fin de saison, la moucheture peut, en l’espace de quelques jours, apparaître soudainement sur une grande proportion des fruits.

Période d’activité

La moucheture est une maladie estivale qui apparaît sur la pomme du milieu de l’été jusqu’à la cueillette. Le fruit peut devenir infecté à tout moment après que les arbres aient été exposés à 270 heures accumulées de mouillage à partir du stade du calice (se produit généralement de quatre à six semaines après le stade du calice). Les premiers symptômes apparaissent habituellement entre le début et le milieu de juillet. Dans les vergers faisant l’objet de traitements fongicides durant l’été, la moucheture apparaît habituellement en septembre ou octobre. Ces infections de fin de saison se déclenchent en règle générale une fois que les pluies de fin d’été ont lavé les résidus de fongicides qui protégeaient les fruits, laissant ceux-ci en proie aux infections avant la cueillette. Quand cela se produit, la moucheture peut apparaître soudainement, en l’espace de quelques jours, sur un fort pourcentage de fruits. Dans les vergers où l’on cesse les pulvérisations de fongicides au début de juin, les infections par les champignons responsables de la moucheture deviennent visibles après environ 540 heures de mouillage accumulées après le calice, alors qu’une autre génération de champignons est parvenue à maturité.

Notes de surveillance
Il faut vérifier si les fruits montrent des signes d’infection. Du début de la saison jusqu’à la cueillette, inspecter sur chacun de dix pommiers choisis au hasard, vingt-cinq fruits situés à l’intérieur de la frondaison. Il est plus probable de trouver des symptômes sur les fruits de pommiers mal élagués dans les parties du verger où l’assèchement est lent, où le brouillard se dissipe lentement et où l’eau séjourne plus longtemps.

Seuils d’intervention
Aucun seuil n’a été établi. La plupart des fongicides efficaces contre la tavelure maîtrisent aussi la moucheture et les taches de suie (pour plus d’information voir la publication 360F, Guide de la culture fruitire, du MAAARO). En général cette maladie fait son apparition dans les vergers où l’on a réduit les programmes estivaux de fongicides parce qu’il n’y avait plus de tavelure. Pour prévenir la moucheture, la meilleure approche consiste à protéger les fruits avec des fongicides tout l’été, avec des applications régulières après 270 heures accumulées de mouillage après le stade du calice. Les infections de fin de saison (septembre ou octobre) peuvent survenir dans les vergers où des pluies de fin d’été auraient lavé les résidus de fongicides, il faut donc refaire le traitement de fongicide à la fin août ou en septembre si plus de 5 cm de pluie sont tombés depuis la dernière application de fongicides.   

Moyens de lutte

  • La présence de ces maladies est un indice que les résidus de fongicides à la surface des fruits sont absents ou insuffisants.
  • Comme l’apparition de la moucheture est étroitement liée au microclimat entourant le fruit, s’assurer de tout mettre en œuvre pour favoriser l’assèchement des pommiers et des fruits.
  • Le meilleur moyen de faire échec à ces maladies est de bien tailler les pommiers en visant à maintenir la frondaison ouverte. Des chercheurs ont montré qu’un élagage effectué durant l’été réduit d’environ 50 % l’incidence de la moucheture dans les vergers non traités.
  • En éclaircissant les bouquets de fruits et en élaguant les pommiers durant l’été, on améliore la circulation d’air et on favorise un bon recouvrement par les fongicides.
  • Le fait de débarrasser le verger et les haies naturelles qui l’entourent des hôtes intermédiaires, surtout des ronces, contribue à réduire l’inoculum.
  • En Ontario et dans le nord-est des États-Unis, les traitements fongicides effectués entre la mi-juin et la fin août protègent par la suite la culture de ces deux maladies.
  • Le moyen le plus sûr de prévenir la moucheture est de protéger les pommes à l’aide de fongicides durant l’été, de reconnaître que les conidies infectent les fruits en tout temps dès que les pommiers ont été exposés à 270 heures de mouillage accumulées après le calice. Afin d’assurer le taux de recouvrement indispensable à l’efficacité des traitements fongicides de fin d’été, bien régler la vitesse d’avancement du pulvérisateur, utiliser le bon volume d’eau et ajouter un surfactant afin de bien mouiller le feuillage.
  • Des recherches donnent à croire que les fongicides appliqués au début de l’été n’enraient pas les infections préexistantes. Par conséquent, celles-ci peuvent se déclarer à nouveau et se manifester en septembre sur les fruits qui ne sont plus protégés par des résidus de fongicides.