Skip to content.
Français

Some features of this website require Javascript to be enabled for best usibility. Please enable Javascript to run.

Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Fire Blight - Collar & Rootstock

Rootstock blight occurs in the rootstock at ground level below the graft union
Click to enlarge.

Beginner

Scientific Name
Erwinia amylovora

Identification           
Fire blight attacks many different parts of the tree, and fire blight symptoms are often referred to by the part of the tree attacked – blossom, shoot, fruit, limb and trunk, and collar or rootstock blight.

Collar and rootstock blight:

  • Often occurs at ground level just below the graft union in the rootstock part of the tree.
  • Infections initially appear dark, water soaked and purplish – the margins are indefinite or raised and blistered at first, but become definite and marked by a crack or crevice later.
  • Upon removal of the bark, the affected area shows red-brown streaking in the internal tissues.
  • Tree death particularly in young trees is almost certain when rootstocks become infected.

Often Confused With

  • Phytophthora collar rot - Rootstocks infected with Erwinia (fire blight) do not exhibit the reddening that is characteristic of Phytophthora infected tissue, especially below the soil line.

Period of Activity
Rootstock blight can be present in orchards from bloom through to harvest.

Scouting Notes
When scouting for fire blight, it is important to recognize the stage of development and what it is important to be monitoring for. While the tree is in dormancy, look for cankers that are over-wintering in the orchard. During the bloom period to first cover, record precipitation, temperature and stage of development in those varieties most likely to become infected. By using Maryblyt or Cougar blight models (see the advanced section for more information on these models), timing of infection often can be ascertained. It is important to scout for cankers that appear to be oozing and blossoms that appear to be infected. While the shoots are actively growing, monitor for terminals that appear to have the characteristic shepherds crook. These deformations of the terminals are indicative of a fire blight infection.

Thresholds
It is important to have knowledge of prior out breaks of fire blight in orchards. If a history is known, use proper management tools to deal fire blight during weather. periods that are conducive to possible outbreaks. For more information on the timing of sprays to manage fire blight, refer to the blossom blight infosheet.

Advanced

Scientific Name
Erwinia amylovora

Identification           
Fire blight attacks many different parts of the tree, and fire blight symptoms are often referred to by the part of the tree attacked – blossom, shoot, fruit, limb and trunk, and collar or rootstock blight.

Collar and rootstock blight: Collar and rootstock blight occur in susceptible rootstocks such as M.9 and M.26. Collar and rootstock blight often occurs at ground level just below the graft union in the rootstock part of the tree. This type of blight frequently kills trees and is difficult to distinguish from Phytophthora collar rot. Infections initially appear dark, water soaked and purplish – the margins are indefinite or raised and blistered at first, but become definite and marked by a crack or crevice later. Upon removal of the bark, the affected area shows red-brown streaking in the internal tissues. Invasion of the fire blight bacteria occurs through infected suckers or water sprouts, washing bacteria from infected twigs and fruit down the trunk, or internal translocation (without vascular tissue symptoms of infection) of the fire blight bacteria from the infected cultivar scion above ground to the rootstock. Tree death particularly in young trees is almost certain when rootstocks become infected.

Often Confused With

  • Phytophthora collar rot - Rootstocks infected with Erwinia (fire blight) do not exhibit the reddening that is characteristic of Phytophthora infected tissue, especially below the soil line.

Biology
Refer to the blossom blight infosheet for information on the biology of Erwinia amylovora, the bacteria responsible for fire blight.  

Period of Activity
Rootstock blight can be present in orchards from bloom through to harvest.

Scouting Notes
When scouting for fire blight, it is important to recognize the stage of development and what it is important to be monitoring for. While the tree is in dormancy, look for cankers that are over-wintering in the orchard. During the bloom period to first cover, record precipitation, temperature and stage of development in those varieties most likely to become infected. By using Maryblyt or Cougar blight models, timing of infection often can be ascertained. It is important to scout for cankers that appear to be oozing and blossoms that appear to be infected. While the shoots are actively growing, monitor for terminals that appear to have the characteristic shepherds crook. These deformations of the terminals are indicative of a fire blight infection.

Thresholds
It is important to have knowledge of prior out breaks of fire blight in orchards. If a history is known, use proper management tools to deal fire blight during weather periods that are conducive to possible outbreaks. For more information on the timing of sprays to manage fire blight, refer to the blossom blight infosheet.

Management Notes
Decision support models
Fire blight prediction models (Maryblyt and Cougarblight) help growers forecast conditions that lead to the infection of apple blossoms and time their product applications.  For more information on the timing of sprays to manage fire blight, refer to the blossom blight infosheet

Cultivar and rootstock susceptibility
All apple cultivars and rootstocks are susceptible to fire blight, however some are less susceptible than others. When planning new plantings, particularly in southwestern Ontario (below a line from Sarnia to Oakville), consider fire blight susceptibility when deciding what cultivars and rootstocks to plant.  For information on the susceptibility of cultivars and rootstocks to fire blight refer to OMAFRA Publication 310, Integrated Pest Management for apples.

Cultural management practices
To reduce the risk of fire blight incidence and spread in the orchard, the following cultural management practices are recommended.

  • Avoid over fertilizing with nitrogen. Excess nitrogen stimulates succulent growth that is susceptible to fire blight infection. Apply nitrogen fertilizer only where warranted by annual leaf analysis. Consider a split application of nutrients, half in the spring before growth starts and half again after petal fall. If severe blossom blight occurs, withhold the later application. Similarly, avoid late cultivation that can make nitrogen available to the tree resulting in late succulent growth.
  • In healthy trees, avoid excessive winter pruning which stimulates vegetative growth the following growing season.  Regular annual pruning and minimizing the number of cuts made keeps the tree “calmer”.
  • Delay summer pruning until terminal bud set has occurred (i.e. terminals “hardened off”), generally by early to mid August. Summer pruning to increase fruiting wood in high-density apple orchards encourages new shoot growth and extends the susceptibility period for shoot blight. If fire blight is present, disinfect pruning tools between each cut.  However, sterilizing pruning tools is not required if the pruning is done well beyond the infection (30 cm beyond the visible symptom) such that the pruned section does not have dark concentric sections. In older orchards that are severely infected with fire blight, avoid summer pruning altogether. Remove spurs on the main trunk and scaffold limbs to eliminate their potential of infection.
  • Suckers (water sprouts) are good entry points for fire blight into large branches, limbs and trunks. Break them out periodically during the early growing season (i.e. June).
  • Prune infected trees during the dormant season to remove all overwintering cankers and sources of inoculum. Prune well beyond visibly infected areas. For more information on pruning techniques to minimize the spread of fire blight refer to OMAFRA Publication 310, Integrated Pest Management for Apples.
  • Avoid using overhead irrigating to prevent excessive vegetative growth and reduce the spread of bacteria within the orchard.
  • Maintain good integrated pest management practices to minimize the spread of the fire blight bacteria by insects and to reduce insect-caused wounds to leaf and shoot tissue, which act as entry points for the bacteria. Good control of plant-sucking insects such as leafhoppers, aphids and plant bugs is particularly important. Conduct frequent (weekly) insect pest monitoring and use appropriate control measures where warranted.
  • Closely monitor non-orchard sources of fire blight such as susceptible ornamental plants or abandoned apple trees, hawthorn, mountain ash, cotoneaster and quince that are close to commercial orchards for signs of fire blight and cankers. Overwintering cankers are one of the primary sources of bacteria for subsequent infections. If possible, remove these host tree and shrubs from the vicinity of the orchards.
  • Scout orchards twice a week starting at bloom for blossom infections. Prompt removal of early bloom infections significantly reduces the impact of the disease later on in the season. Remove infected spurs by cutting at least 15 cm beyond the farthest signs of infection. If continual blossom blight is observed in a particular area of the orchard, scout for an active canker in the vicinity and remove it promptly.
  • The use of copper as a green tip spray may help to reduce fire blight inoculum.  Copper applications after this time can be phytotoxic and my result in fruit russetting. Cooper does not kill bacteria in the cankers or even to kill the bacteria as they ooze out of such sites. The copper provides an inhibitory barrier over all bark and bud surfaces in the orchard that will prevent the bacteria from colonizing these areas.  There is little information on how effective copper sprays are in managing fire blight.

When fire blight appears year after year in an orchard, use a more aggressive approach to keep this disease managed. For more information on managing fire blight see OMAFRA Publication 360, Guide to Fruit Production.

Passez au contenu.
English

Certaines fonctionnalités de ce site nécessitent Javascript soit activé pour le meilleur usibility. S'il vous plaît activer Javascript pour fonctionner.

Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales

Brûlure bactérienne – Brûlure du collet et des porte-greffes

Brûlure des porte-greffes au niveau du sol juste sous le point de greffe dans la partie porte-greffe de l’arbre.
Cliquer pour agrandir.

Débutant

Nom scientifique
Erwinia amylovora

Identification           
Comme la brûlure bactérienne peut se manifester à bien des endroits sur l’arbre, on parlera de brûlure de la fleur, des pousses, du fruit, des branches et du tronc, du collet ou des porte-greffes.

La brûlure du collet et des porte-greffes :

  • Frappe les porte-greffes sensibles, souvent au niveau du sol, juste au-dessous du point de greffe sur la partie porte-greffe.
  • Au départ, les infections prennent la forme de lésions sombres, gorgées d’eau et violettes. Leurs pourtours sont d’abord diffus ou surélevés et cloqués, mais à la longue, ils deviennent plus nets et se fissurent ou se fendillent.
  • Quand on soulève l’écorce, on aperçoit des stries rouge-brun sur les tissus internes de la zone atteinte.
  • Quand le porte-greffe est infecté, il y a tout lieu de craindre la mort de l’arbre, surtout si celui-ci est jeune.

Souvent confondues avec

Période d’activité
La brûlure des porte-greffes est présente dans les vergers de la floraison jusqu’à la cueillette. 

Notes de surveillance
Lors du dépistage pour la brûlure, il importe de reconnaître le stade de croissance et ce qu’il faut rechercher. Quand l’arbre est en période de dormance, il faut rechercher les chancres qui survivent à l’hiver dans le verger. De la floraison à la première pulvérisation en couverture, prendre note des précipitations, des températures et des stades de croissance dans les cultivars qui sont les plus à risque d’être infectés. Au moyen des modèles de prévision Maryblyt ou Cougar blight, il est souvent possible de prévoir le moment propice à l’infection. Le dépistage doit viser les chancres qui semblent suinter et les fleurs qui semblent infectées.

Seuils d’intervention
Il faut se renseigner s’il y a déjà eu des foyers d’infection dans les vergers. Si ces antécédents sont connus, recourir aux outils de lutte adéquats pour maîtriser la brûlure pendant les épisodes climatiques favorables au développement de foyers de la maladie. Pour l’information sur les modèles qui aident à choisir le moment d’intervention référez-vous à  la page sur la brûlure de la fleur et du fruit.

Avancé

Nom scientifique
Erwinia amylovora

Identification           
Comme la brûlure bactérienne peut se manifester à bien des endroits sur l’arbre, on parlera de brûlure de la fleur, des pousses, du fruit, des branches et du tronc, du collet ou des porte-greffes.

La brûlure du collet et des porte-greffes frappe les porte-greffes sensibles, tels que M.9 et M.26. Elle se produit souvent au niveau du sol, juste au-dessous du point de greffe sur la partie porte-greffe. Ce type de brûlure fait souvent mourir le pommier et est difficile à distinguer de la pourriture du collet causée par Phytophthora. Au départ, les infections prennent la forme de lésions sombres, gorgées d’eau et violettes. Leurs pourtours sont d’abord diffus ou surélevés et cloqués, mais à la longue, ils deviennent plus nets et se fissurent ou se fendillent. Quand on soulève l’écorce, on aperçoit des stries rouge-brun sur les tissus internes de la zone atteinte. L’invasion par les bactéries de la brûlure bactérienne a pour point de départ les gourmands ou les pousses adventives, les bactéries qui sont présentes dans l’eau ruisselant sur le tronc depuis des pousses et des fruits infectés, ou la diffusion interne (sans symptômes d’infection des tissus vasculaires) des bactéries de la brûlure bactérienne depuis le greffon situé au-dessus du sol jusqu’au porte-greffe. Quand le porte-greffe est infecté, il y a tout lieu de craindre la mort de l’arbre, surtout si celui-ci est jeune.

Souvent confondues avec

Biologie
Réferez-vous à la page sur la brûlure de la fleur et du fruit pour l’information sur la biologie d’Erwinia amylovora, le bactérie qui cause la brûlure bactérienne.

Période d’activité
La brûlure des porte-greffes est présente dans les vergers de la floraison jusqu’à la cueillette. 

Notes de surveillance
Lors du dépistage pour la brûlure, il importe de reconnaître le stade de croissance et ce qu’il faut rechercher. Quand l’arbre est en période de dormance, il faut rechercher les chancres qui survivent à l’hiver dans le verger. De la floraison à la première pulvérisation en couverture, prendre note des précipitations, des températures et des stades de croissance dans les cultivars qui sont les plus à risque d’être infectés. Au moyen des modèles de prévision Maryblyt ou Cougar blight, il est souvent possible de prévoir le moment propice à l’infection. Le dépistage doit viser les chancres qui semblent suinter et les fleurs qui semblent infectées.

Seuils d’intervention
Il faut se renseigner s’il y a déjà eu des foyers d’infection dans les vergers. Si ces antécédents sont connus, recourir aux outils de lutte adéquats pour maîtriser la brûlure pendant les épisodes climatiques favorables au développement de foyers de la maladie. Pour l’information sur les modèles qui aident à choisir le moment d’intervention référez-vous à  la page sur la brûlure de la fleur et du fruit.

Moyens de lutte
Modèles éclairant les décisions
Les modèles de prévision de la brûlure bactérienne (Maryblyt and Cougarblight) aident les producteurs à choisir le moment de leurs interventions. Pour l’information sur les modèles qui aident à choisir le moment d’intervention référez-vous à  la page sur la brûlure de la fleur et du fruit.

Sensibilité des cultivars et des porte-greffes
Tous les cultivars et porte-greffes de pommiers sont sensibles à la brûlure bactérienne, mais certains le sont moins que d’autres. Au moment de planifier de nouvelles plantations, surtout dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario (c.-à-d. au sud d’un tracé reliant Sarnia et Oakville), prendre en considération la sensibilité à la brûlure bactérienne dans le choix des cultivars et des porte-greffes. Pour plus d’information sur la résistance relative à la brûlure bactérienne des cultivars et porte-greffes de pommiers voir la publication du MAAARO 310F, Lutte intégrée contre les ennemis du pommier.

Pratiques de lutte culturale

  • Éviter les apports excessifs d’engrais azotés. Un excès d’azote stimule la croissance végétative succulente, qui est sensible à la brûlure bactérienne. Se limiter aux apports d’azote justifiés par des analyses foliaires annuelles. Envisager de fractionner les apports de fertilisants, à raison de la moitié au printemps avant que la croissance reprenne et de la moitié après le stade calice (chute des pétales). Si l’incidence de la brûlure de la fleur a été forte, différer la seconde application. De même, éviter tout travail tardif du sol qui risquerait de rendre l’azote biodisponible aux pommiers et de stimuler la croissance végétative succulente en fin de saison.
  • Chez les pommiers sains, éviter les élagages majeurs durant l’hiver, afin de ne pas stimuler la croissance végétative la saison de croissance suivante. Le fait de se limiter à une taille annuelle périodique et de réduire au minimum le nombre d’incisions garde l’arbre moins « réactif ».
  • Retarder l’élagage d’été jusqu’au moment de la formation des bourgeons terminaux (c.-à-d. attendre que les pousses terminales se soient endurcies), ce qui se produit généralement entre le début et le milieu d’août. L’élagage effectué l’été dans le but de stimuler la croissance des rameaux fructifères (lambourdes) dans les vergers de pommiers à haute densité encourage la croissance de nouvelles pousses et prolonge la période de vulnérabilité à la brûlure des pousses. Si la brûlure bactérienne sévit, désinfecter les outils servant à l’élagage après chaque coupe. Toutefois, il n’est pas nécessaire de stériliser les outils d’élagage si la coupe est faite sous le point d’infection (soit 30 cm sous les symptômes visibles) et par conséquent si la partie élaguée ne comporte pas de sections concentriques sombres. Dans les vieux vergers qui sont fortement infectés par la brûlure bactérienne, éviter carrément l’élagage estival. Supprimer les dards sur le tronc principal et sur les branches charpentières afin d’éliminer leur potentiel infectieux.
  • Les pousses adventives (gourmands) offrent de bons points d’entrée à la maladie qui s’attaque ensuite aux grosses branches, aux branches charpentières et aux troncs. Supprimer périodiquement les gourmands en début de saison (c.-à-d. en juin).
  • Élaguer les arbres infectés durant la période de dormance afin d’éliminer tous les chancres hivernants et les sources d’inoculum. Faire les coupes bien en deçà des zones visiblement infectées.
  • Éviter de recourir à l’irrigation par aspersion afin de prévenir un excès de croissance végétative et de réduire la propagation des bactéries à l’intérieur du verger.
  • Maintenir de bonnes pratiques de lutte intégrée afin d’empêcher le plus possible les insectes de propager les bactéries responsables de la brûlure bactérienne et de causer des lésions aux tissus des feuilles et des pousses, lésions qui servent de points d’entrée aux bactéries. Il est particulièrement important de veiller à une bonne maîtrise des insectes suceurs comme les cicadelles, les pucerons et les punaises des plantes. Faire un dépistage fréquent (hebdomadaire) des insectes nuisibles et intervenir au besoin.
  • Surveiller de près les sources d’inoculum extérieures au verger, comme les espèces ornementales sensibles ou les pommiers abandonnés, les aubépines, les sorbiers d’Amérique, les cotonéasters et les cognassiers qui se trouvent à proximité des vergers commerciaux, à la recherche de signes de la brûlure bactérienne et de chancres. Les chancres hivernants sont l’une des principales sources de bactéries pour les infections subséquentes. Si possible, supprimer ces hôtes aux abords des vergers.
  • Inspecter les vergers deux fois par semaine à compter de la floraison, à la recherche d’infections des fleurs. Il est possible d’atténuer les répercussions que pourrait avoir la maladie plus tard dans la saison en supprimant sans tarder les fleurs infectées. Supprimer les dards infectés en les coupant à au moins 15 cm sous les symptômes visibles d’infection. Si la brûlure de la fleur est observée dans un endroit précis du verger, rechercher un chancre actif aux alentours et le supprimer sans tarder.

Quand la brûlure bactérienne revient année après année dans un verger, mettre en place des interventions plus musclées pour tenir cette maladie en échec. Pour plus d’information sur la lutte contre la brûlure bactérienne, voir la publication 360F du MAAARO, Guide de la culture fruitire.