Skip to content.
Français

Some features of this website require Javascript to be enabled for best usibility. Please enable Javascript to run.

Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Rust Diseases - Cedar Apple & Quince

Cedar-apple rust symptoms on leaves Cedar-apple rust symptoms on fruit Cedar-apple rust gall on juniper Telial horns extending from gall during or shortly after rain Young Red Delicious fruit with quince rust
Click to enlarge.

Beginner

Scientific Names
Gymnosporangium juniperi-virginianae and Gymnosporangium clavipes

Identification
On apple trees:

  • Small, pale yellow spots appear on the upper surface of leaves and on fruit shortly after bloom
  • The lesions grow larger and more orange-coloured, often with a red margin.
  • Eventually, small black spots (spermagonia) appear within the centre of the lesions.
  • In late summer, cup-like structures appear on the undersides of leaves and on fruit.
  • Apple cultivars vary in their level of susceptibility to rust diseases

On red cedar trees (and other alternate hosts):

  • Overwinters as mycelium within rounded, brown-coloured galls 10-30mm in size.
  • Galls produce orange telia horns 10-20mm long that grow from the galls and become orange-yellow and gelatinous during warm rains in the spring.

Often Confused With

  • Apple scab - Apple scab lesions can be on both fruit and leaves. The lesions on the fruit and leaves are green and velvety and as they mature they become black and corky. Cedar apple and quince rust lesions appear as orange lesions on the fruit and leaves.
  • Frog’s eye leaf spot - Frog’s eye leaf spot an be distinguished from cedar apple and quince rust lesions on the leaf by the characteristic tan center or brown with a light center giving the lesion a frog’s eye appearance. Cedar apple and quince rust lesions appear as orange spots on the leaves and later as cup-like structures on the underside of the leaf.

Period of Activity
Cedar-apple and quince rust overwinters on their alternate host, red cedar, or other hosts in brown coloured galls. These galls produce spores that infect apples during warm, wet conditions in the spring. Symptoms begin to appear on the upper surface of apple leaves and on the fruit shortly after bloom. Leaves that are three to four weeks old are fairly resistant to infection. Symptoms begin to appear on the alternate hosts at about the same time apple trees are in the pink stage, after a wet period caused by a rain or heavy dew.

Cedar-apple and quince rust cannot spread from apple to apple or from red cedar to red cedar – the fungus must go through the two-year life cycle, alternating between hosts.

Scouting Notes
Regular scouting is the best way to assess disease levels. When scouting susceptible varieties such as Empire, Golden Delicious, Mutsu, Northern Spy, Red Delicious and Russet, note infected leaves and fruit when scouting for other pests.

Estimate the potential for rust fungus infections of apple by examining alternative hosts near the orchard from early May to mid June. Galls producing the orange spore-bearing masses indicate that infection is probable.

Thresholds
None established.

Advanced

Scientific Names
Gymnosporangium juniperi-virginianae and Gymnosporangium clavipes

Identification
On apple trees: Small, pale yellow spots appear on the upper surface of leaves and on fruit shortly after bloom. The lesions grow larger and more orange-coloured, often with a red margin. Eventually, small black spots (spermagonia) appear within the centre of the lesions. In late summer, cup-like structures appear on the undersides of leaves and on fruit. Apple cultivars vary in their level of susceptibility to rust diseases.

On red cedar trees (and other alternate hosts): Overwinters as mycelium within rounded, brown-coloured galls 10-30mm in size. Galls produce orange telia horns 10-20mm long that grow from the galls and become orange-yellow and gelatinous during warm rains in the spring.

Often Confused With

  • Apple scab - Apple scab lesions can be on both fruit and leaves. The lesions on the fruit and leaves are green and velvety and as they mature they become black and corky. Cedar apple and quince rust lesions appear as orange lesions on the fruit and leaves.
  • Frog’s eye leaf spot - Frog’s eye leaf spot an be distinguished from cedar apple and quince rust lesions on the leaf by the characteristic tan center or brown with a light center giving the lesion a frog’s eye appearance. Cedar apple and quince rust lesions appear as orange spots on the leaves and later as cup-like structures on the underside of the leaf.

Biology
Cedar-apple and quince rust overwinters on their alternate host, red cedar (Juniperus virginanae), or other hosts, as mycelium within rounded, brown-coloured galls 10-30 mm in size. Symptoms begin to appear at about the same time apple trees are in the pink stage, after a wet period caused by a rain or heavy dew. Galls on the eastern red cedar produce orange telia horns 10-20 mm long that grow from the galls and become orange-yellow and gelatinous. The telia produce teliaspores on the horns that release windborne basidiospores only capable of infecting susceptible apple leaves and fruit during spring rains.

Most basidiospores are discharged in the period from tight cluster of apple through to petal fall. The galls of cedar-apple rust die following the release of the spores, but horns can swell and dry several times, releasing spores during intermittent rains. Spores are discharged as soon as rainfall begins. A short wetting period (compared to scab) of four to six hours at 10°-24°C can result in severe infection.

 

Approximate number of hours of leaf wetness required for cedar-apple rust infections on leaves of susceptible cultivars
Average Temperature (°C)
Degree of infection1
Light
Severe
3
24
-
4
12
24
6
8
10
8
6
7
10
5
6
12
4
5
14
3
5
16
3
4
18
3
4
20-24
2
4
1Source: Aldwinckle, H.S., R.C. Pearson and R.C. Seem. 1980. Infection periods of Gymoporangium juniperi-virginianae on apple. Phytopathology 70:1070-1073. Assumes cedar-apple rust inoculum orange, (swollen galls) is available at the start of the rain. If inoculum is not already present (dry period prior to rain), add four hours at temperatures above 10ºC and six hours at temperatures of 8-10ºC. Infection is unlikely at temperatures below 8ºC if inoculum is not already present.

Generally, long wetting periods around petal fall are particularly damaging. While spores are released during periods of high humidity (>85%), infection only occurs if free water is available. Spores travel a maximum distance of 6-8 km, but most infections occur when alternate hosts are within a few hundred metres. In late summer, cup-like structures appear on the undersides of leaves and on fruit. These structures release spores carried on the wind to red cedars. Spores infect red cedar leaves from mid summer into autumn. Greenish galls are produced the next spring, but these do not mature to release the spores to infect apple until the following spring.

Cedar-apple and quince rust cannot spread from apple to apple or from red cedar to red cedar – the fungus must go through the two-year life cycle, alternating between hosts.

Period of Activity
Cedar-apple and quince rust overwinter on their alternate host, red cedar, or other hosts in brown coloured galls. These galls produce spores that infect apples during warm, wet conditions in the spring. Symptoms begin to appear on the upper surface of apple leaves and on the fruit shortly after bloom. Leaves that are three to four weeks old are fairly resistant to infection. Symptoms begin to appear on the alternate hosts at about the same time apple trees are in the pink stage, after a wet period caused by a rain or heavy dew.

Scouting Notes
Regular scouting is the best way to assess disease levels. When scouting susceptible varieties such as Empire, Golden Delicious, Mutsu, Northern Spy, Red Delicious and Russet, note infected leaves and fruit when scouting for other pests.

Estimate the potential for rust fungus infections of apple by examining alternative hosts near the orchard from early May to mid June. Galls producing the orange spore-bearing masses indicate that infection is probable.

Thresholds
There are no established thresholds for cedar-apple and quince rust.

Management Notes

  • Apple cultivars vary in their level of susceptibility to rust diseases.

 

Apple cultivar susceptibility to rust diseases

Cedar-apple rust

Cultivars

Fairly resistant

Empire, Liberty, Macfree, McIntosh, Northern Spy, Novamac, Paula Red, Red Delicious, Spartan

Highly susceptible

Golden Delicious, Idared, Mutsu, Russet

Quince rust

Cultivars

Fairly resistant

Idared, Jonafree, Liberty, McIntosh, Redfree, Spartan

Highly susceptible

Empire, Golden Delicious, Mutsu, Northern Spy, Red Delicious

 

  • Theoretically, it is desirable to remove alternate hosts of rust diseases and wild apple trees from the vicinity of the orchard. In reality, this is usually not practical. Remove and burn rust galls from valuable ornamental junipers, and plant rust-resistant cultivars of ornamental species.
  • Most of the fungicides registered for scab control also give good control of rust diseases.
  • However, in orchards with a history of rust problems, a protectant fungicide program applied specifically for apple scab control may not be adequate during the period from tight cluster/pink until after petal fall. For information about the activity of different fungicides available for the rust diseases. see OMAFRA Publication 360, Guide to Fruit Production - Chapter 4 Apples (PDF) or Apple Calendar only (PDF) :
  • Scab-resistant cultivars susceptible to rust infection require a specific fungicide program to control these diseases.

Passez au contenu.
English

Certaines fonctionnalités de ce site nécessitent Javascript soit activé pour le meilleur usibility. S'il vous plaît activer Javascript pour fonctionner.

Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales

Rouille du genévrier / Rouille du cognassier

Symptômes foliaires de la rouille du genévrier. Symptômes de la rouille du genévrier sur un fruit. Galle de la rouille du genévrier sur un genévrier. Téleutospores en forme de cornes poussant sur les galles durant ou peu après la pluie. Jeune pomme Red Delicious infectée par la rouille du cognassier.
Cliquer pour agrandir.

Débutant

Nom scientifique
Gymnosporangium juniperi-virginianae

Identification
Sur les pommiers :

  • De petites taches jaune pâle apparaissent sur la face supérieure des feuilles et sur les fruits peu après la floraison.
  • Les lésions grossissent et prennent une teinte plus orangée, souvent entourée d’un contour rougeâtre.
  • Tôt ou tard, de petits points noirs (spermogonies) apparaissent au centre des lésions.
  • Vers la fin de l’été, des structures en forme de réceptacles apparaissent sur le revers des feuilles et sur les fruits.
  • Les cultivars de pommiers n’ont pas tous la même sensibilité aux rouilles.

Sur le genévrier de Virginie (et d’autres hôtes) :

  • Hiverne sous forme de mycélium, à l’intérieur de galles brunes et rondes de 10–30 mm de diamètre.
  • Les galles produisent des téleutospores, qui sont des expansions en forme de cornes de 10–20 mm de long, qui deviennent jaune orangé et gélatineuses au cours des pluies du printemps.

Souvent confondues avec

  • La tavelure du pommier - Les lésions causées par la tavelure du pommier s’attaquent à la fois aux fruits et au feuillage. Les lésions sont vertes et d’aspect velouté, puis en vieillissant elles deviennent noires et liégeuses. Les lésions de la rouille du genévrier et de la rouille du cognassier sont orangées à leur apparition sur les fruits et les feuilles.
  • La tache ocellée de la pomme - La tache ocellée de la pomme se distingue des lésions de la rouille du genévrier et de la rouille du cognassier par le centre havane ou brun de la tache au milieu plus clair, lui conférant l’aspect d’un « œil de grenouille ». Les lésions de la rouille du genévrier et de la rouille du cognassier causent des taches orangées sur les feuilles et plus tard des structures en forme de réceptacles apparaissent sur le revers des feuilles.  

Période d’activité
L’agent de la rouille du genévrier et la rouille du cognassier hivernent sur un hôte intermédiaire, sous forme de mycélium, à l’intérieur de galles brunes et rondes. Ces galles produisent des spores qui infectent les pommiers pendant les périodes tièdes et humides au printemps. Des symptômes font leur apparition sur la face supérieure des feuilles et sur les fruits peu après la floraison. Les jeunes feuilles de trois à quatre semaines sont assez résistantes à l’infection. Les symptômes commencent à apparaître sur les hôtes intermédiaires au même moment ou presque que le stade du bouton rose du pommier, après un épisode où les feuilles restent mouillées à cause d’une pluie ou d’une forte rosée.

La rouille du genévrier la rouille du cognassier ne peut se propager de pommier à pommier ni de genévrier à genévrier, car le champignon doit obligatoirement passer en alternance d’un hôte à un autre au cours des deux années que dure son cycle biologique.

Notes de surveillance
La meilleure façon pour évaluer les niveaux d’infection est le dépistage sur une base régulière. Lors de l’inspection des cultivars sensibles comme Empire, Golden Delicious, Mutsu, Northern  Spy, Red Delicious et Russet, prendre note des feuilles et des fruits infectés lors du dépistage d’autres ravageurs.

Du début mai à la mi-juin, évaluer les risques d’infection des pommiers par les rouilles en observant les hôtes intermédiaires qui se trouvent aux abords du verger. La présence de galles produisant des masses de spores orangées ferait craindre des infections.

Seuils d’intervention
Aucun seuil n’a été établi.

Avancé

Nom scientifique
Gymnosporangium juniperi-virginianae

Identification
Sur les pommiers : De petites taches jaune pâle apparaissent sur la face supérieure des feuilles et sur les fruits peu après la floraison. Les lésions grossissent et prennent une teinte plus orangée, souvent entourée d’un contour rougeâtre. Tôt ou tard, de petits points noirs (spermogonies) apparaissent au centre des lésions. Vers la fin de l’été, des structures en forme de réceptacles apparaissent sur le revers des feuilles et sur les fruits. Les cultivars de pommiers n’ont pas tous la même sensibilité aux rouilles.

Sur le genévrier de Virginie (et d’autres hôtes) : Hiverne sous forme de mycélium, à l’intérieur de galles brunes et rondes de 10–30 mm de diamètre. Les galles produisent des téleutospores, qui sont des expansions en forme de cornes de 10–20 mm de long, qui deviennent jaune orangé et gélatineuses au cours des pluies du printemps.

Souvent confondues avec

  • La tavelure du pommier - Les lésions causées par la tavelure du pommier s’attaquent à la fois aux fruits et au feuillage. Les lésions sont vertes et d’aspect velouté, puis en vieillissant elles deviennent noires et liégeuses. Les lésions de la rouille du genévrier et de la rouille du cognassier sont orangées à leur apparition sur les fruits et les feuilles.
  • La tache ocellée de la pomme - La tache ocellée de la pomme se distingue des lésions de la rouille du genévrier et de la rouille du cognassier par le centre havane ou brun de la tache au milieu plus clair, lui conférant l’aspect d’un « œil de grenouille ». Les lésions de la rouille du genévrier et de la rouille du cognassier causent des taches orangées sur les feuilles et plus tard des structures en forme de réceptacles apparaissent sur le revers des feuilles.  

Biologie
L’agent de la rouille du genévrier hiverne sur un hôte intermédiaire, le genévrier de Virginie (Juniperus virginianae) ou un autre hôte, sous forme de mycélium, à l’intérieur de galles brunes et rondes de 10–30 mm de diamètre. Les symptômes commencent à apparaître à peu près au moment où les pommiers sont au stade du bouton rose avancé, après une pluie ou une rosée ayant laissé les feuilles mouillées. Les galles qui se forment sur le genévrier de Virginie produisent des téleutospores, qui sont des expansions en forme de cornes de 10–20 mm de long, qui deviennent jaune orangé et gélatineuses. Les téleutospores produisent sur les cornes des téliospores qui libèrent des basidiospores portées par le vent. Ces dernières infectent uniquement les feuilles et les fruits des pommiers sensibles au cours des pluies du printemps.

La plupart des basidiospores sont libérées durant la période s’étendant entre les stades prébouton rose et calice du pommier. Les galles de la rouille du genévrier meurent une fois les spores libérées, mais les cornes peuvent gonfler et s’assécher plusieurs fois, libérant des spores au cours de pluies intermittentes. Les spores sont libérées dès que la pluie commence. Au contraire de la tavelure, une brève période de mouillage de quatre à six heures à 10–24 °C peut donner lieu à une infection grave.

 

Nombre approximatif d’heures de mouillage nécessaires au déclenchement d’infections par la rouille du genévrier sur les feuilles des cultivars sensibles
Température moyenne (ºC)
Degré de l’infection 1
Légère
Grave
3
24
-
4
12
24
6
8
10
8
6
7
10
5
6
12
4
5
14
3
5
16
3
4
18
3
4
20-24
2
4
1Source : Aldwinckle, H.S., R.C. Pearson et R.C. Seem. « Infection periods of Gymnoporangium juniperi-virginianae on apple » dans Phytopathology, 70:1070–1073, 1980. Dans l’hypothèse où l’inoculum de la rouille du genévrier (galles orangées renflées) est présent au début de la pluie. Si l’inoculum n’est pas déjà présent (période de sécheresse avant la pluie), ajouter quatre heures à des températures supérieures à 10 °C et six heures à des températures de 8–10 °C. L’infection est peu probable à des températures inférieures à 8 °C si l’inoculum n’est pas déjà présent.

En règle générale, de longues périodes de mouillage autour du stade calice sont particulièrement dommageables. Tandis qu’un fort taux d’humidité (> 85 %) pendant de longues périodes suffit à provoquer la libération des spores, il faut de l’eau libre pour que l’infection se déclare. Les spores se disséminent sur une distance maximale de 6–8 km, mais la plupart des infections surviennent quand les hôtes intermédiaires se situent à moins de quelques centaines de mètres. Vers la fin de l’été, des structures en forme de réceptacles apparaissent sur le revers des feuilles et sur les fruits. Ces structures libèrent des spores disséminées par le vent vers les genévriers de Virginie. Les spores infectent les feuilles du genévrier de Virginie de la mi-été jusqu’en automne. Des galles verdâtres sont produites le printemps suivant, mais elles ne parviennent à maturité et ne sont prêtes à infecter les pommes que le printemps suivant.

La rouille du genévrier ne peut se propager de pommier à pommier ni de genévrier à genévrier, car le champignon doit obligatoirement passer en alternance d’un hôte à un autre au cours des deux années que dure son cycle biologique.

Période d’activité
L’agent de la rouille du genévrier et la rouille du cognassier hivernent sur un hôte intermédiaire, sous forme de mycélium, à l’intérieur de galles brunes et rondes. Ces galles produisent des spores qui infectent les pommiers pendant les périodes tièdes et humides au printemps. Des symptômes font leur apparition sur la face supérieure des feuilles et sur les fruits peu après la floraison. Les jeunes feuilles de trois à quatre semaines sont assez résistantes à l’infection. Les symptômes commencent à apparaître sur les hôtes intermédiaires au même moment ou presque que le stade du bouton rose du pommier, après un épisode où les feuilles restent mouillées à cause d’une pluie ou d’une forte rosée. 

La rouille du genévrier la rouille du cognassier ne peut se propager de pommier à pommier ni de genévrier à genévrier, car le champignon doit obligatoirement passer en alternance d’un hôte à un autre au cours des deux années que dure son cycle biologique.

Notes de surveillance
La meilleure façon pour évaluer les niveaux d’infection est le dépistage sur une base régulière. Lors de l’inspection des cultivars sensibles comme Empire, Golden Delicious, Mutsu, Northern  Spy, Red Delicious et Russet, prendre note des feuilles et des fruits infectés lors du dépistage d’autres ravageurs.

Du début mai à la mi-juin, évaluer les risques d’infection des pommiers par les rouilles en observant les hôtes intermédiaires qui se trouvent aux abords du verger. La présence de galles produisant des masses de spores orangées ferait craindre des infections.

Seuils d’intervention
Aucun seuil n’a été établi.

Moyens de lutte

  • Les cultivars de pommiers n’ont pas tous la même sensibilité aux rouilles.

Sensibilité des cultivars de pommiers aux rouilles

Rouille du genévrier

Cultivars

Assez résistants

Empire, Liberty, Macfree, McIntosh, Northern Spy, Novamac, Paula Red, Red Delicious, Spartan

Très sensibles

Golden Delicious, Idared, Mutsu, Russet

Rouille du cognassier

Cultivars

Assez résistants

Idared, Jonafree, Liberty, McIntosh, Redfree, Spartan

Très sensibles

Empire, Golden Delicious, Mutsu, Northern Spy, Red Delicious

 

  • Il faudrait, en théorie, débarrasser le voisinage du verger des pommiers sauvages et des hôtes intermédiaires des agents responsables des rouilles. En pratique, cela n’est pas possible. Il faut se contenter d’enlever et de brûler les galles de rouille des genévriers ornementaux de valeur et planter des cultivars d’espèces ornementales qui affichent une résistance aux rouilles.
  • La plupart des fongicides homologués contre la tavelure procurent également une bonne maîtrise des rouilles.
  • Toutefois, dans les vergers où une rouille a sévi, des traitements fongicides à action protectrice dirigés spécifiquement contre la tavelure du pommier risquent de ne pas être suffisants durant la période allant du prébouton rose ou du bouton rose avancé à la fin du calice. Pour plus d’information sur l’activité des fongicides, voir la publication 360F du MAAARO, Guide de la culture fruitire.
  • Si les cultivars affichent une résistance à la tavelure mais sont sensibles aux rouilles, des traitements spécifiquement dirigés contre les rouilles sont nécessaires.