Skip to content.
Français

Some features of this website require Javascript to be enabled for best usibility. Please enable Javascript to run.

Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Blue Mold

Blue mold on apples
Click to enlarge.

Beginner

Scientific Names
Penicillium expansum and P. solitum

Identification

  • The symptoms begin as soft watery light brown areas around injuries or lenticels on the fruit surface.
  • The older lesions may be covered by bluish-green spores that initially are nearly snow white in colour.
  • The musty odour and formation of conidial tufts spores (coremia) on the surface of well developed lesions are characteristic features of P. expansum.
  • Under cold storage conditions, lesions expand 2.5-3.8 cm in diameter after 8-10 weeks after infection.

Often Confused With

  • Gray mold - Gray mold does not have a distinct odour but in advanced stages have a cedar-like smell. Gray mold has fluffy white grey mycelium and dark grey spores masses on the decayed area. Blue Mold initially has snow-white spores that turn to blue-green. It has musty odour.

Period of Activity
Wound pathogen that invades fruit during picking and handling operations.

Scouting Notes
Symptoms do not appear in the orchard so can’t be monitored.

Thresholds
None established.

Advanced

Blue mold is the most common storage disease in Ontario.

Scientific Names
Penicillium expansum and P. solitum

Identification           
The symptoms begin as soft watery light brown areas around injuries or lenticels on the fruit surface. The older lesions may be covered by bluish-green spores that initially are nearly snow white in colour. The musty odour and formation of conidial tufts spores (coremia) on the surface of well developed lesions are characteristic features of P. expansum – the most predominant species causing blue mold of apple in Canada. Under cold storage conditions, lesions expand 2.5-3.8 cm in diameter after 8-10 weeks after infection. The spores are important in spreading the disease to other apples in storage. The spores are resistant to drying and survive on the surfaces of the storage walls and on packing equipment. Spores also build up in post-harvest drench solutions, and in flotation tanks used to float fruit, following long-term storage, onto packing lines.

Often Confused With

  • Gray mold - Gray mold does not have a distinct odour but in advanced stages have a cedar-like smell. Gray mold has fluffy white grey mycelium and dark grey spores masses on the decayed area. Blue Mold initially has snow-white spores that turn to blue-green. It has musty odour.

Biology
The blue mold fungus is a wound pathogen. The pathogen most frequently enters through the wounds caused during picking and handling operations. Spores are present almost everywhere and survive long periods of unfavourable conditions. These spores also survive from season to season on picking boxes, contaminated bins and on storage walls. The pathogen also invades lenticels of fruit that are over mature at harvest or fruit held in storage too long.

Period Of Activity
Wound pathogen that invades fruit during picking and handling operations.

Scouting Notes
Symptoms do not appear in the orchard so can’t be monitored.

Thresholds
None established.

Management Notes

  • General sanitation and avoiding conditions favourable to infection are important in controlling post-harvest blue mold of apple.
  • Take precautions in harvesting and handling of fruit to minimize bruising and wounding. Disinfect contaminated bins and storage walls before reuse.
  • Harvest fruit at optimum maturity and move harvested fruit to cold storage as rapidly as possible. Remove decaying fruit daily from packing houses. In many areas, Penicillium has developed resistance to the benzimidazole fungicides used in pre-harvest sprays and post-harvest dips.
  •  In recent years, new classes of fungicides have been registered for the control of post-harvest blue mold and gray mold in Canada.
  • For information on pre-harvest application of fungicides and post-harvest fungicides for the control of post-harvest blue mold and gray mold, consult OMAFRA Publication 360, Guide to Fruit Production - Chapter 3 Apples (PDF) or Apple Calendar only (PDF) :

Passez au contenu.
English

Certaines fonctionnalités de ce site nécessitent Javascript soit activé pour le meilleur usibility. S'il vous plaît activer Javascript pour fonctionner.

Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales

Moisissure bleue

Moisissure bleue sur une pomme (Deena Errampali, Ph.D., Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada).
Cliquer pour agrandir.

Débutant

Noms scientifique
Penicillium expansum et P. solitum

Identification           

  • Se manifestent d’abord par des zones molles et aqueuses de couleur brun clair autour de blessures ou de lenticelles à la surface des fruits.
  • Les vieilles lésions peuvent être couvertes de spores d’un vert bleuâtre, alors qu’elles étaient initialement d’un blanc presque immaculé.
  • L’odeur de moisi et la formation de spores conidiales (corémie) à la surface de lésions bien développées sont des caractéristiques propres à P. expansum.
  • Dans les entrepôts réfrigérés, les lésions prennent de l’expansion pour atteindre de 2,5 à 3,8 cm de diamètre dans les 8 à 10 semaines qui suivent le début de l’infection.

Souvent confondue avec

  • La moisissure grise - La moisissure grise ne comporte pas d’odeur réelle mais à des stades avancés on peut détecter une odeur de cèdre. Les lésions causées par la moisissure grise sont recouvertes d’un mycélium gris blanchâtre et de masses de spores gris foncé. À l’origine la moisissure bleue crée des spores d’un blanc neigeux qui devient bleu vert. Elle a une odeur de moisi. 

Période d’activité
La moisissure bleue est un agent pathogène qui pénètre dans les fruits par les lésions résultant des opérations de cueillette et de manutention.

Notes de surveillance
Les symptômes ne sont pas présents dans le verger et ne peuvent y être surveillés. 

Seuils d’intervention
Aucun seuil n’a été établi.

Avancé

La moisissure bleue est la maladie post-cueillette la plus fréquente en Ontario.

Noms scientifiques
Penicillium expansum et P. solitum

Identification           
Les symptômes se manifestent d’abord par des zones molles et aqueuses de couleur brun clair autour de blessures ou de lenticelles à la surface des fruits. Les vieilles lésions peuvent être couvertes de spores d’un vert bleuâtre, alors qu’elles étaient initialement d’un blanc presque immaculé. L’odeur de moisi et la formation de spores conidiales (corémie) à la surface de lésions bien développées sont des caractéristiques propres à P. expansum — la principale espèce de champignon responsable de la moisissure bleue chez les pommes au Canada. Dans les entrepôts réfrigérés, les lésions prennent de l’expansion pour atteindre de 2,5 à 3,8 cm de diamètre dans les 8 à 10 semaines qui suivent le début de l’infection. Les spores jouent un rôle important dans la propagation de la maladie aux autres pommes entreposées. Elles résistent au séchage et survivent à la surface des murs d’entrepôt et sur le matériel de conditionnement. Les spores s’accumulent également dans les solutions de bassinage post-cueillette et dans les cuves de flottation utilisées pour l’acheminement des fruits, après leur entreposage à long terme, vers les chaînes de conditionnement.

Souvent confondue avec

  • La moisissure grise - La moisissure grise ne comporte pas d’odeur réelle mais à des stades avancés on peut détecter une odeur de cèdre. Les lésions causées par la moisissure grise sont recouvertes d’un mycélium gris blanchâtre et de masses de spores gris foncé. À l’origine la moisissure bleue crée des spores d’un blanc neigeux qui devient bleu vert. Elle a une odeur de moisi. 

Biologie
Les spores sont présentes pratiquement partout et survivent pendant de longues périodes dans des conditions défavorables. Elles survivent également d’une saison de croissance à une autre sur des boîtes de cueillette, des cellules contaminées et des murs d’entrepôt. L’agent pathogène envahit également les lenticelles de fruits trop mûrs à la cueillette ou de fruits entreposés sur une trop longue période.

Période d’activité
La moisissure bleue est un agent pathogène qui pénètre dans les fruits par les lésions résultant des opérations de cueillette et de manutention.

Notes de surveillance
Les symptômes ne sont pas présents dans le verger et ne peuvent y être surveillés. 

Seuils d’intervention
Aucun seuil n’a été établi.

Moyens de lutte

  • Un assainissement général et l’évitement de conditions propices à l’infection sont essentiels à la maîtrise post-cueillette de la moisissure bleue chez les pommes.
  • Lors de la cueillette et de la manutention des fruits, prendre les précautions nécessaires pour éviter les meurtrissures et les lésions. Désinfecter les cellules contaminées et les murs d’entrepôt avant toute utilisation ultérieure.
  • Cueillir les fruits à leur maturité optimale et les acheminer aussi rapidement que possible dans une aire d’entreposage à froid. Débarrasser quotidiennement les stations fruitières des fruits en décomposition. Dans de nombreuses régions, Penicillium a développé une résistance aux fongicides à base de benzimidazole utilisés pour les pulvérisations pré cueillette et les bains post-cueillette.
  • Ces dernières années, de nouveaux types de fongicides ont été homologués pour la maîtrise post-cueillette de la moisissure bleue et de la pourriture grise au Canada.
  • Pour plus d’information sur l’application pré- et post-cueillette de fongicides visant la maîtrise de la moisissure bleue et de la pourriture grise, voir la publication 360F du MAAARO, Guide de la culture fruitire.