Skip to content.
Français

Some features of this website require Javascript to be enabled for best usibility. Please enable Javascript to run.

Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Blister Spot

Blister spots are often detected near the calyx end of fruit growing on the outside of the tree canopy facing the sun Blister spot lesions eventually become purplish black with a tan centre expanding no more than 4-5 mm in diameter Midvein necrosis of leaves on tender shoots infected with the blister spot bacteria Crusty brown lesions on the midvein and petiole of the lower surface of blister spot infected leaf
Click to enlarge.

Beginner

Scientific Name
Psuedomonas syringae

Identification

  • Fruit symptoms first appear as small water-soaked raised blisters on the fruit surface often near the calyx end.
  • Lesion matures to a brown blister with a purplish black margin expanding to no more than 4-5 mm in diameter and that penetrates no more than 1-2 mm into the flesh.
  • The lesions do not develop into fruit decay, but several to more than 100 blister spots can occur on a single fruit.
  • Leaf symptoms appear as a midvein necrosis on leaves of tender shoots.
  • Crusty brown lesions occur on the midvein of the lower leaf surface, causing affected leaves to become curled and puckered.
  • Occasionally, other fungi enter the blister spot lesion resulting in decayed areas on the fruit.

Often Confused With
Apple scab on fruit
Fireblight on the leaves

Period of Activity
Blister spot can be observed in orchards from petal fall through late June.
Young Mutsu fruit are most susceptible beginning two weeks after petal fall lasting for about six weeks (late July). However fruit symptoms often do not appear until mid to late July after which time the bacteria can no longer infect the fruit.

Scouting Notes
Regular scouting is the best way to assess disease levels. When scouting susceptible varieties such as Mutsu and Shizuka note infected leaves and fruit when scouting other pests. Fruit lesions often occur on fruit growing towards the outside of the tree canopy facing the sun.

Thresholds
None established. Apply fungicides preventatively to susceptible varieties, Mutsu and Shizuka.

Advanced

Scientific Name
Psuedomonas syringae

Identification           
Initially symptoms appear as small water-soaked raised blisters associated with the lenticels (fruit pores) on the fruit surface. The first spots are often detected near the calyx end of fruit growing towards the outside of the tree facing the sun. Symptoms often do not appear until mid to late July after which time the bacteria can no longer infect the fruit. The lesion eventually appears as a brown blister with a purplish black margin expanding to no more than 4-5 mm in diameter on the fruit surface. Lesions rarely penetrate the flesh to more than 1-2 mm deep. The lesions do not develop into fruit decay, but several to more than 100 blister spots can occur on a single fruit reducing the fresh market quality significantly.

Leaf symptoms appear as a midvein necrosis of infected leaves on tender shoots. Crusty brown lesions occur on the midvein of the lower leaf surface, causing affected leaves to become curled and puckered.

The disease causes superficial blemishes to the fruit, making them unsuitable for fresh market. Occasionally, other fungi enter the blister spot lesion resulting in decayed areas on the fruit.

Often Confused With
Apple scab on fruit
Fireblight on the leaves

Biology
The bacteria overwinter in apple buds, leaf scars and diseased fruit left on the orchard floor from the previous season. Although infected apple buds appear healthy, the bacteria multiply during the spring and are rain splashed to leaves and other plant surfaces throughout the orchard. The bacteria survive and multiply on leaf surfaces including weeds in the orchard, without causing any disease symptoms. Warm, humid or wet conditions during the spring and early summer favour a build up of bacterial populations and subsequent infections of leaf veins and fruit. During late spring or early summer, a brief shower is all that is required to distribute the bacteria onto the developing fruit where they infect through the fruit pores or lenticels. Young Mutsu fruit are most susceptible beginning two weeks after petal fall lasting for about six weeks (late July). After this point the lenticels on fruit are no longer susceptible to infection by the bacterium.

Period of Activity
Blister spot can be observed in orchards from petal fall through late June. The bacteria overwinter in apple buds, leaf scars and diseased fruit left on the orchard floor from the previous season. Warm, humid or wet conditions during the spring and early summer favour a build up of bacterial populations and subsequent infections of leaf veins and fruit. Symptoms often do not appear until mid to late July after which time the bacteria can no longer infect the fruit. Young Mutsu fruit are most susceptible beginning two weeks after petal fall lasting for about six weeks (late July).

Scouting Notes
When scouting susceptible varieties such as Mutsu and Shizuka note infected leaves and fruit when scouting other pests. Fruit symptoms often occur on fruit growing towards the outside of the tree facing the sun.

Thresholds
None established. Apply fungicides preventatively to susceptible varieties.

Management Notes

  • When planting a block of Mutsu trees obtain disease-free nursery stock and avoid planting near older Mutsu blocks where blister spot is present.
  • The cultivar Shizuka has similar appearance and quality of fruit as Mutsu but is much less susceptible to blister spot and is an alternative cultivar to plant in orchards with a history of blister spot.
  • Avoid the use of overhead irrigation during the period of fruit susceptibility.
  • A newly planted “clean” block of Mutsu trees often remains disease-free for a significant period of time. Eventually the blister spot bacteria spreads into the orchard, initially causing low levels of infections but if left unmanaged, 80% or more of the fruit can become infected.
  • The level of damage may decline in some years due to weather conditions unfavourable for bacteria spread and disease development.
  •  Once in the orchard, blister spot cannot be eradicated, but proper management minimizes fruit damage each year. Recent research shows certain products with bactericidal properties are effective at reducing the level of infection.
  • For more information on products registered for blister spot control, consult OMAFRA Publication 360, Guide to Fruit Production - Chapter 3 Apples (PDF) or Apple Calendar only (PDF):

Passez au contenu.
English

Certaines fonctionnalités de ce site nécessitent Javascript soit activé pour le meilleur usibility. S'il vous plaît activer Javascript pour fonctionner.

Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales

Taches vésiculaires

Les premières taches vésiculaires sont souvent décelées près de l’œil des fruits exposés au soleil sur le pourtour du houppier. Les taches vésiculaires prennent tôt ou tard l’aspect de cloques brunes auréolées de noir pourpré dont le diamètre atteint tout au plus 4–5 mm à la surface des fruits. Nécrose de la nervure centrale sur des feuilles des pousses tendres infectées par la bactérie responsable des taches vésiculaires. Lésions croûtées de couleur brune sur la nervure centrale et le pétiole à la face inférieure des feuilles infectées par la bactérie responsable des taches vésiculaires.
Cliquer pour agrandir.

Débutant

Nom scientifique
Psuedomonas syringae

Identification           

  • Les symptômes sur le fruit se manifestent initialement par de petites cloques aqueuses à la surface des fruits souvent décelées près de la cuvette oculaire (œil) des fruits.
  • Ces lésions prennent l’aspect de cloques brunes auréolées de noir pourpré dont le diamètre atteint tout au plus 4–5 mm à la surface des fruits et ne pénètrent que rarement la chair sur plus de 1–2 mm de profondeur.
  • Aucune pourriture ne se développe dans les fruits, mais il peut y avoir de quelques-unes à plus d’une centaine de taches sur une pomme.
  • Une nécrose de la nervure centrale est observée sur les feuilles infectées des pousses tendres.
  • Des lésions croûtées de couleur brune apparaissent sur la nervure centrale à la face inférieure des feuilles, qui finissent par s’enrouler et se cloquer.
  • D’autres champignons peuvent à l’occasion pénétrer les taches vésiculaires pour laisser des zones pourries sur les fruits.

Souvent confondues avec
La tavelure du pommier sur le fruit
La brûlure bactérienne sur les feuilles

Période d’activité
La tache vésiculaire est observée dans les vergers du stade du calice jusqu’à la fin juin. Les jeunes pommes Mustu sont particulièrement sensibles deux semaines après la chute des pétales et pendant environ six semaines par la suite (fin de juillet). Souvent, les symptômes n’apparaissent pas avant le milieu ou la fin de juillet, après quoi la bactérie ne peut plus infecter les fruits.

Notes de surveillance
Lors du dépistage dans les variétés vulnérables comme les pommes Mutsu et Shizuka, noter les feuilles et les fruits infectés en inspectant pour d’autres ravageurs. Les symptômes sur les fruits sont observés sur ceux qui poussent vers l’extérieur de l’arbre face au soleil. 

Seuils d’intervention
Aucun seuil n’a été établi. Faire des traitements fongicides préventifs sur les cultivars sensibles (Mutsu et Shizuka).

Avancé

Nom scientifique
Psuedomonas syringae

Identification           
Les symptômes se manifestent initialement par de petites cloques aqueuses associées aux lenticelles (pores) à la surface des fruits. Les premières taches sont souvent décelées près de la cuvette oculaire (œil) des fruits exposés au soleil sur le pourtour du houppier. Souvent, les symptômes n’apparaissent pas avant le milieu ou la fin de juillet, après quoi la bactérie ne peut plus infecter les fruits. Les lésions prennent tôt ou tard l’aspect de cloques brunes auréolées de noir pourpré dont le diamètre atteint tout au plus 4–5 mm à la surface des fruits. Les lésions ne pénètrent que rarement la chair sur plus de 1–2 mm de profondeur. Aucune pourriture ne se développe dans les fruits, mais il peut y avoir de quelques-unes à plus d’une centaine de taches sur une pomme, ce qui réduit sensiblement la qualité des fruits sur le marché du frais.

Une nécrose de la nervure centrale est observée sur les feuilles infectées des pousses tendres. Des lésions croûtées de couleur brune apparaissent sur la nervure centrale à la face inférieure des feuilles, qui finissent par s’enrouler et se cloquer.

Comme les fruits sont couverts d’imperfections superficielles, ils sont impropres au marché du frais. D’autres champignons peuvent à l’occasion pénétrer les taches vésiculaires pour laisser des zones pourries sur les fruits.

Souvent confondues avec
La tavelure du pommier sur le fruit
La brûlure bactérienne sur les feuilles

Biologie
La bactérie passe l’hiver dans les bourgeons, les cicatrices sur les feuilles et les fruits infectés de la saison précédente laissés sur le sol du verger. Même si les bourgeons infectés semblent sains, les bactéries se multiplient au printemps et sont disséminées par des éclaboussures de pluie sur les feuilles et d’autres parties végétales présentes dans le verger. Les bactéries survivent et se multiplient sur les surfaces foliaires de même que sur les mauvaises herbes du verger, sans causer aucun symptôme. Les conditions chaudes, humides ou pluvieuses du printemps et du début de l’été favorisent la prolifération des populations bactériennes et l’infection subséquente des nervures des feuilles et des fruits. À la fin du printemps ou au début de l’été, une brève averse suffit à transporter les bactéries sur les fruits en pleine croissance où elles s’immiscent par les pores ou les lenticelles. Les jeunes pommes Mustu sont particulièrement sensibles deux semaines après la chute des pétales et pendant environ six semaines par la suite (fin de juillet), après quoi les lenticelles ne sont plus sensibles à l’infection par la bactérie.

Période d’activité
La tache vésiculaire est observée dans les vergers du stade du calice jusqu’à la fin juin. La bactérie passe l’hiver dans les bourgeons, les cicatrices sur les feuilles et les fruits infectés de la saison précédente laissés sur le sol du verger. Les conditions chaudes, humides ou pluvieuses du printemps et du début de l’été favorisent la prolifération des populations bactériennes et l’infection subséquente des nervures des feuilles et des fruits. Souvent, les symptômes n’apparaissent pas avant le milieu ou la fin de juillet, après quoi la bactérie ne peut plus infecter les fruits. Les jeunes pommes Mutsu sont particulièrement sensibles deux semaines après la chute des pétales et pendant environ six semaines par la suite (fin de juillet).

Notes de surveillance
Lors du dépistage dans les variétés vulnérables comme les pommes Mutsu et Shizuka, noter les feuilles et les fruits infectés en inspectant pour d’autres ravageurs. Les symptômes sur les fruits sont observés sur ceux qui poussent vers l’extérieur de l’arbre face au soleil. 

Seuils d’intervention
Aucun seuil n’a été établi. Faire des traitements fongicides préventifs sur les cultivars sensibles.

Moyens de lutte

  • Pour la plantation d’un bloc de pommiers Mutsu, obtenir du matériel de pépinière exempt de la maladie et éviter de planter des pommiers à proximité de blocs plantés de pommiers Mutsu plus vieux où sévit la maladie.
  • Le cultivar Shizuka donne des pommes qui ont un aspect et une qualité semblables à celles du cultivar Mutsu tout en étant beaucoup moins sensible aux taches vésiculaires. Il peut donc servir de substitut dans les vergers dont les pommes ont déjà été atteintes de taches vésiculaires.
  • Éviter d’utiliser un système d’aspersion sur frondaison durant la période où les fruits sont sensibles à la maladie.
  • Un bloc « propre » nouvellement planté de pommiers Mutsu demeure souvent exempt de la maladie pendant une longue période. Tôt ou tard, les bactéries responsables de l’apparition de taches vésiculaires se disséminent dans le verger, causant initialement de faibles taux d’infection. Si rien n’est fait pour maîtriser la maladie toutefois, 80 % et plus des fruits du verger peuvent être infectés.
  • La maladie peut être moins dévastatrice au cours des années où les conditions météorologiques ne sont pas propices à la propagation des bactéries et au développement de la maladie.
  • Une fois que les taches vésiculaires ont envahi un verger, rien ne peut être fait pour éradiquer la maladie, sauf qu’une gestion appropriée réduit les dommages causés aux fruits chaque année. Des recherches récentes montrent que certains produits dotés de propriétés bactéricides réduisent efficacement les taux d’infection.
  • Pour plus d’information sur les produits homologués pour la maîtrise des taches vésiculaires, voir la publication 360F du MAAARO, Guide de la culture fruitire.